Rent NHL 07 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NHL 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
7.0

1075 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game, but very predicable.

posted by l2yaaan (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jan 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have recently become a very big hockey fan, and I admit this is a awesome game to have if you are one. The game play looks amazing, and it can really get your heart pumping sometimes.

Although like I said in my title, its very predicable. After you play if every so often, you get a feel on the game actually works. For example the face off. I know every time when he is going to throw down the puck. I also can get a extremely good feeling when the opposing team is going to score a goal on me. It can get rather annoying to.

None the less, it is a amazingly good sports game and just puts NHL 2k6 or 2k7 in the dirt. I would recommend buying or renting. Cause I have found my self re-renting this game 3 times now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by connor121 (NASHVILLE, TN) May 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2003

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the funnest and best hockey game i have ever played. The new "skill stick" makes is soo much fun and more real. When you have a few friends over that like hockey this game will make everything fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first Next Gen Hockey Game!

posted by greatone (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I always chose EA's sports games over 2k's, simply because the first sports game I ever played was made by EA, and it was for the Super Nintendo console, NHL '94 I believe it was. Anyways, this game is definitely worth the money to own. Its graphics are amazing, and the new controls are an excellent addition, however, I haven't mastered them yet, it can take some time getting used to. But aside from that, the realism of the game is incredible. I have never seen a better hockey game than NHL 07. If you're still unsure, rent each before trying, but from what I hear, NHL 2k7 is the same game as last year but with slightly improved graphics. This game is completely remade, and it shows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally, Innovation in a sports title.

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge hockey fan and the EA NHL series on the genesis was what made me the pathetically huge gamer I am today.

With all the exclusive rights garbage out there in sports games, this years hockey titles prove why its bad for games. Not because the hockey games are bag, buy because we have a choice and both choices are good. for me though, its NHL07 by EA. Finally hockey games are fresh and fun again. Thanks to the innovation of the skill stick. Anyone who bashes the skill stick is either a 2K fan boy or just hasn't given it time.

you never have to touch the face buttons on the controller again. (trust me, 2K will copy this next year). Everything just feels right. Anyone who plays hockey will tell you this game feels genuine.

Franchise is deep, complete with the CBA, everything you would expect. However the on line is as bare bones as it can be, Its time for EA to step up on the on line department.

Finally I have to say thanks to the NHL and NHLPA for turning down both EA and 2K for the rights to the NHL, we all win.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nhl 07

posted by marykate22 (Hagerstown, MD) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is great proabbly the best hockey game I've ever played if your a hockey fan and love playing video game hockey you owe it to yourself to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor attempt at the coolest game

posted by Puma67 (WILLIAMS, AZ) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Poor AI, Poor puck physics, does not resemble the greatest game. Give EA credit for trying something new ie left stick - right stick control but it Bombs. They do have cool commercials but very misleading. The shootout is cool but.......... 2K7 8.5 +++

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

All Flash, No Substance

posted by jxt216 (BUCKINGHAM, PA) Sep 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This review is based on the Xbox 360 version of this game. I have owned every EA Hockey game since NHL 95, and have spent countless hours playing the AI and other gamers. There have been bumps in the road (99, 01, 03), good ideas (player icons, emotion meter, player types), and ideas that just don't work (Open Ice Control/Support, Fighting from 03 on). But the common theme that kept me from jumping to another franchise was a wealth of options in HOW to play the game.

If I didn't like the game at first, I could try many different senarios. If I did not like the Franchise mode, I could play a single season. If I wanted to replicate a post season I could set up a playoff. If I was having trouble scoring, I could practice in the Free for All. EA sports has removed all of these features.

This game was billed as the Next Step in Video Game Hockey. It has a totally new control system, that is quite innovative. Gone are the days "Flopping" goalies. The goalie AI is very good, but could be a bit better. The visuals, (graphics/navigation screens) are outstanding, and clearly the best for any game available.

So if you are reading this, you might ask, why did you rate this game a 3? Well, its just not any fun to play. Gameplay is smooth, but the skating is CHOPPY. The new skill stick can be difficult to shoot with, if you are making a deke. If you get a clean breakaway, head down to the corner and buy a lotto ticket cause you will prolly win! I have played 100-150 games and have had ONE break away caused a puck that got kicked during a line change. There is no clear cut determination of how fast a player will skate in relation to how far you push the left stick. Thats right! NO more speedburst!

A friend summed it up best for me. He said that it might be a good game, but its lack of playing features, online leagues, and manageable speed burst just don't allow for an enjoyable experience. Don't buy this game. It will frustrate you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by rangers (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Wasn't sure about EA and their recent hockey titles on Xbox. What a surprise! This is the first time I choose NHL07 over 2K7 hockey game. 2K7 is basically the same game as last year with better graphics. What is surprising, it plays more like an arcade game than a sim. Which has been EA problem for many years.
NHL07 gameplay is right on track. The graphics are great. My only concern is the camera angles. When the puck is further away, it's difficult to see the puck, same on the closer end. And too many goals slip thru the goalies legs.
EA, keep up the good work ! 2K, don't sit back on your laurels. Make next years's game better and I know it will past EA game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good arcade hockey, but with a learning curve

posted by Spandrel (FAIRPORT, NY) Oct 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I have pretty much avoided any EA NHL games since getting NHL 2K3 on the Dreamcast. Despite being a 2K Sports NHL fan, I decided to GameFly this one, despite the lackluster Shootout Demo on LIVE.

Essentially, this game lives and dies by the innovative Skill Stick control, which is definitely going to have its share of fans and detractors. It does provide a new way of controlling the game, and for the most part it works well. The problem is that there is a bit of a learning curve. Even after a good 15 games, I still have trouble doing exactly what I want when I want. Of particular difficulty for me is the hard wrist (snap) shot. To do well, you really need to master this shot, and I can only pull it off when I want about half the time, still.

Many of my early games have been spent learning and mastering the skill stick, so it is hard to comment on the quality of the AI. I've been playing the weakest teams on the easiest skill level in an effort to get the control down. I'm getting better, but I'm still having trouble "lighting up" the weakest goalies on Beginner level. To that end, the game is kind of hard. I'm sure everyone else out there is averaging 10 goals per game on Beginner, but I'm a pretty decent playe and I'm only averaging 3 or so.

The options are not as plentiful as for 2K7, and fans of the other game will notice that you can not independently change the sliders for Humans and CPU. One thing that bugs me is that I seem to have to set my sliders before each game, even though they are saved. I'm not sure what I'm missing but that is annoying.

Overall, this is a fun arcade style hockey game that may have limited appeal to the sim fans of the 2K Sports game. It would be recommended here on GameFly if only for a few days to give the new Skill Stick a whirl. That innovation, alone, is worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is Next-Gen Hockey!

posted by tytyhull (RENO, NV) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is what you expect to get from a next-gen sports game, not just a roster update and better graphics but a truly innovative game. The new skill stick in the best thing that any company has done for and sporting game ever. While it does take a few games to get used to once you get used to it you will become to swear by it. This feature allows you to control you player and really makes it fun to break into the zone deke a defender and then decide do you simply go 5-hole or make a deke and go glove side high. The other great thing EA has done is a tweak the AI so that goals now come much more like real hockey were the best way to score is to feed it to a man in the slot and get a shot on goal scoring now comes in every fashion from a slap shot from the point to wrister from in front and every were else. This is a big change from the one-timer happy ways that still plague 2K7. Another great way to score is using screens, for the first time having a player obstructing the goalies sight has a drastic effect on his ability to make a save, again 2K7 goalies will make a save even with a wall in front of them. Also NHL 07 is a beautiful game from sticks flexing when shooting to players digging into the ice has they cut and stop to goalies moving like there real counterpart. On contrary to popular articles this game plays more like a real NHL game then does 2K7. First of all gone are the huge hits players lay onto other players, now defense is more about poke checking and blocking shots than big hits, know while you still can lay a big hit it is much harder to pull off just like in real hockey, also gone is the speed burst button which plagued hockey games more many years you players speed rating will determine how fast they skate and that is that. Now like all games they are still are a few problems, too many elbowing penalties and weak teamate AI and some pretty unusual goals but given what was added to this years game NHL 07 has redefined the hockey world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont bother...

posted by LS1POWERED (SURPRISE, AZ) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Let me start off with, I love hockey, I love hockey games... this game has great graphics. But the play itself it no good. i spent about 4 hours playing the game, its hard to see who has the puck which player you are controlling. the most difficult thing is actually shooting and controlling the players, i miss just being able to smack a button and have my player shoot the thumbstick is not fun to use. i returned the game the same day i picked it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I hate the skill stick!!

posted by starsrule (WEATHERFORD, TX) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The skill stick is one of the most frustrating things that EA sports has done since I had started playing EA games. If it wasnt for the graphix this game would get a one!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HE SHOOTS, HE...... oooohhh off the post!

posted by 65Impala (Grand Rapids, MN) Oct 24, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is a disgrace to the E.A. hockey legacy! The new player controls are pretty cool, but the game controls are difficult, and not like all the others. It took me nearly 30 minutes just to update my roster, because you go through 4 different screens to adjust your roster, its ridiculous! I have played and or owned every E.A. hockey game since ps1 and this my friends was a waist of money! The graphics are great, but the game sux!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by bdoggggg (WOOD DALE, IL) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is way better than last years. better graphics and gameplay.The only thing i didnt like was the rosters, for example when you pick up a guy he goes to the minors and you cant bring him up unless you scatch somebody from your list, last year was better how u edited ur lines. Overall this game was awesome and better than last years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I would give this a negative rating but I cant

posted by gerbopyl (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This is perhaps the worst hockey game ever made. The list of the things wrong with this game is longer than the nile river. To start the ai often stands around as the puck slides right past them. Sometimes when you pass it to them they dont feel like taking it so they just keep on skating and let it bounce off of them. They will also skate away from any puck floating in your offensive so they can go stand still and watch the computer score over and over again. Dont even think about trying to score a goal with team mates that retreat to neutral ice as you enter your opponents zone. If they dont do that then they will make sure to race across the blue line first that way you have no chance of winning a game ever. The oppositions goalie will stop almost anything you throw at them doesnt matter if its a 5 on 1 odd man rush the goalie will stop it with his eyes closed. So you would assume your goalie does the same. Not quite he actually lets any shot through if they are on a breakaway or odd man rush. I even got so desperate as to make my own goalie and max out his stats and he ended up being worse then my other goalie that had an overall rating of 81. The thing that I cant stand the most about the game is the hitting. You can skate full speed at an opponent who is skating full speed at you will gently nudge him but he will hold on to the puck and most likely pass it to a team mate who will score on your goalie who was too busy staring at his reflection in the ice to block a shot going less then 5mph. To make things worse the fighting looks more like the 2 guys are cuddling. You have the option to kiss his chest or to get punched in the face. Another extremely annoying thing about the game is when you skate within 2 feet of an opponent they magically have control of the puck and if you try to poke check it away you get called for tripping. So when you try to play along the boards the puck goes crazy and you will have no clue what happened until they score. Thats not all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good

posted by jamesson (LYNNFIELD, MA) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun and alot more relistic then the first. In NHL 06 if you do a one timer its an automatic goal but in this you actually have to try. Also fights are fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bd

posted by kingsfan (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game was nice.The graphics are great but the skill stick is to complicated so i cant deal with it.But its a great game Ice Fanz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sweeeeeeeet

posted by venom71 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this games graphics are amazing along with gameplay it is worth buying so you should. you actually have to try to score which makes it more fun the controls are different but you get use to them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EXCELLENT!

posted by taz2006 (TULARE, CA) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

First of all I want to start out saying that this game truley is a NEXT-GEN. step in the Xbox360 system itself.This game also uses a new different control which gives a realistic feel of the game,but is also a lot easier and more realistic view of what the true game is all about and EA did it's job good in this one.If you are the one that complains that the graphics aren't good enough,then you should definaltely come play this game,if the graphics don't get you then the facial expressions sure will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by thegreat8 (ANTIGO, WI) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the game was so gosh darn choppy i thought my xbox was dying!!!!!!!!! the ai sucks, the other team can steal the puck faster than a new york second, and the list goes on and on and on!!! god, the only good thing about the game was alex ovechkin on the cover!! i want to give it like maybe a negative sixty five.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

He shoots and Scores...

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) Feb 2, 2008

Member since May 2004

I tell im not a huge hockey fan but this is a solid game. The introduction of the shot stick is a very well put together tool. The commentary is good online is good graphics are really good.

Positives:
-Graphics
-Shot stick
-Commentary
-Live

Negative:
-Checking
-The menu is really difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nhl 07

posted by robocop74 (CHULA VISTA, CA) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

this game sucks it only tells you two controls: move and shoot. not pass or juke or hit. rent nhl 06 not nhl 07

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NHL 07

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

This game is a double edge sword, which is probably why other reviewers aren't as positive about it as I am. I love the concept that you can use the analog stick to control your moves, but I found it harder to be good at the game, because I suck. So in that respect I kinda wanted the old button setup. It'd be nice if you could go back to the old way. I also wish it had some other camera choices, but other than that I'm not sure how you could make a better hockey game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This Game Stinks Hope 08 Will Be Better

posted by Rhezekim (HEREFORD, AZ) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

I hated this game, the only controller functions you use are the right and left joysticks for both offense and defense. No buttons are used except for the trigger buttons. I like using the buttons, it's easier, having to use the joysticks to control everything is just way to confusing for me, I have to remember to hit the RT to pass, and then with checking or fore checking it's using the right stick like you shoot, I like being able to hit buttons for turbo, checking, fore checking, poke checking, graphics on this game were good but no functions other than joysticks, I highly recommend you not rent this game unless you want to play with just your thumbs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 2k7

posted by starsfan (GRAPEVINE, TX) Jul 19, 2007

Member since May 2007

When I 1st got my 360 i bought nhl2k7 and liked it and some of my friends on my hockey team told that 07 was better so i bought and i now have sold 2k7 b/c it is trash compared to 07.

I love the skillstick EA added this year and thats what makes it so much better than 2k7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse