Rent NFL Head Coach 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NFL Head Coach 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.8

1171 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A niche game

posted by mbezlr (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I got this with the special edition of madden and have a month of experience with it, so I have seen most of what there is to see in this game.
I was surprised by what I liked the most about this game, and it wasn't the gameday stuff. The roster building, drafting and trading system is completely changed from madden. Rather than simply tinker with prices as you did in madden, there is an actual live auction for free agents and assistant coaches. It is deeper and more fun than anything I'd seen in madden, and if you're into fantasy football or particularly like the GM mode in Madden, this should be a rental based on the offseason alone.

The gameday planning is fairly disappointing, and while the interface and scheduling is far better than the last version, the game comes up short on a few accounts. There is very little gametime adjustment or halftime speeches or anything like what you see in movies. It's just calling plays and occasionally activating boosts, but on the whole, very little has been improved from Madden and the obvious downside is you can't play. Oh, and there are no audibles so the no huddle is really lame. In fact madden's play adjustment at the line is far better in just about every way.

The career mode is fairly deep, with RPG elements, approval ratings to worry about, player egos, play designing, and injuries. It is truly were the game shines and this prevents it from failure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing games for football strategy buffs

posted by pmoney14 (LORTON, VA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I am a 32 male that has loved playing dynasty mode in Madden and NCCA Football for years. The Madden Dynasty mode always was very lacking when compared to NCAA football. But now, with NFL Head coach 2009, I think there is a closer match.

So in this game, you are the Bill Parcells of the Miami Dolphins, you are a teams Executive Vice President. So you have the ability to hire the coach (or create your own) and the rest of your staff. Then you have to keep the owner, the staff, players, media all happy. This is done by a goal system and of course winning. For example, the owner might give you a goal to acquire a QB that is at least 85 or do not draft a 'bust' in the 1st two rounds.

I can go on and on about the details, but one of the best parts of this game is something called player potential. When you draft a player or sign a free agent, a stat called potential is hidden. Once you have them on your team, this number is revealed. So let’s say you acquire a player rated at a 75. Well their potential could be 75 or higher, such as 95. This means that by playing him in games, he can become an elite player. In the Madden games, this type of stat was never known. The coolest thing about this is that is makes the draft amazingly fun.

So you can draft a 1st round pick that is and 79, with a potential of an 80. This would be considered a bust as you just signed him to a very large contract. But you can draft a 6th round pick of a 70, that has a potential of a 95, now you have a sleeper. Of course, if you never play the player, he can never develop into the elite player. So by really spending the time in figuring out how to find the sleepers and avoiding the busts, you really feel like you are the VP.

Oh, and you need to sim as watching the games is not fun. So if you are 12 year old and love playing actual Madden games, then this game is not for you. But if you really want to feel like Bill Parcells and build an elite team, then this is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game For The Type

posted by slevel (FORT SMITH, AR) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you want a game where your main focus is the intricacies of managing an NFL team, this is for you. The menu is fairly difficult during games, but rather easy to use during out of game segments. If you like playing football, don't be a coach, and don't play a game called Head Coach, but if you want the details (lots and lots of details), try this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game if you have the time

posted by moorefrank (RIDGWAY, PA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I enjoy games that give you a lot of control. This game lets you control a NFL franchise as the coach and somewhat the GM. I love the draft feature of this game. The negative is you need a lot of time to play this game. The more you play the more it gets interesting. I could easily spend 10 hours a day on this game. The problem is I dont have 10 hours a day. A good game, you just a lot of time to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not very good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I read a review about this game and i though it was prouble ok but amazing. And honestly thats what it is. There is nothing special about this game. It has some cool things like making your own plays which i wish was in NFL Madden 09. And then you get to name it and some other stuff related to making your own plays or editing one of the pre-made ones. But one thing i noticed right off the bat is the graphics were not even close to what i would expect on the 360. Loading was a bit slow(but that might be my xbox, which is really really slow at loading). The clipboard which is what you find your plays from is somewhat confusing because there are so many plays and groups of plays. If you dont have anything else to play try this out, besides that dont try this game out. You prouble wont play it that long anyway. And certainly dont buy even though its only $40.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game if u know football really well

posted by naughtyd0g (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Okay first off this game isn't bad but in order to do any of the career mode you need to know a lot about football. And not just how to play how to draft players, budget your money and all of that fun stuff. So I didn't like it because I had no clue how to do any of that stuff but with all of that said I would definitely rent it. ONLY IF YOU KNOW FOOTBALL THOUGH!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!!!!

posted by PAPAWOLFE (Panama City, FL) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS EVERYTHING I EXPECTED IT TO BE AND MORE. COMPARED TO THE ORIGINAL HEAD COACH FROM THE XBOX VERSION, THIS GAME IS EXCELLENT. IT MAKES YOU THINK MORE, AND IT IS COMPETITIVE. THE IDEA OF THE GAME IS TO BE THE BEST HEAD COACH IN THE NFL. THE GRAPHICS ARE GREAT AND THE REALISM OF THE GAME IS AWESOME. I HAD WAITED NEARLY A YEAR FOR THIS GAME, AND IT WAS WORTH THE WAIT. COMPARE TO MADDEN 09, HEAD COACH 09 IS BETTER WHEN IT COMES TO HAVING CONTROLLING EFFECTS OF REALITY VIA FANTASY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bounced of the Goal Post!

posted by GridIronDM (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a good game, but it gets boring. I used the Patriots and dominated, and after a day, it didn't get very fun.
The Good: Create your own Head-Coach is awesome. Input from other coaches makes it more lifelike. Signing Free Agents is good, competition was added very well for free agents. The Draft. Being able to be fired made it more realistic.
The Bad: Cutting players. The Draft(others put in too much info and if you don't like their opinion then they don't like you). Salary Cap, I know it's part of the game but it made free- agency kind of pointless. Game gets too easy, I had the Pats Offense storm up and down the field relentlessly, and my D was unstoppable.

Overall: B
The minor mistakes took alot away from the game itself. Very Realistic. A few adjustments and it would have gone through the goal post!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cool look Bad play

posted by cnross (DELAWARE, OH) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first this game looked cool but then oh no when I played it this game was one of the worst ever. I mean its ok but so many confusing things take the enjoyable part of the game and just throws it of the empire state building and when it hits the ground nothing is left but the most little microscopic particles. I do not recommend this game to anybody not even the head coach of the Colts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't drink the EA Kool aid

posted by Aurawolf (SEBASTIAN, FL) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is awful, it doesn't have alot of realism on it since well my guys got injured on false starts. I am not sure I ever saw a real football game that had 15 injury's on one team in the same game, coupled with bizarre penalty's, players standing around after you called a play watching the clock click down at a crucial point or my fav your quarterback running for it on a halfback up the middle run. Whoever designed the AI needs to be shot I thought Madden was bad this is just plain awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really, Bad

posted by cougarboy (BOTHELL, WA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Okay, I really don't know why EA published this. I'm really disappointed. From the gameplay, to the graphics, to the interface. It could be the worst game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boooooo-ring

posted by JasIsEvil (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I wasn't expecting anything exciting, and i knew there wouldn't be much, if any, chance of actually playing football. However, with that in mind, i still had no idea just how boring this game would actually be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

HOOKED

posted by robwes3000 (TAMPA, FL) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I AM HOOKED ON THIS GAME....I SPENT THE ENTIRE XMAS EVE ON INTO XMAS AFTERNOON PALYING THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What was EA thinking?

posted by Justbeyou (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry, but this game was autrocious. Who in their right mind wants to play a simulated football game? On top of that, the navigations screens are terribly difficult to "navigate"!

You could honestly be trying to figure out where certain items were and miss an important event like someone getting hurt.

EA...take this one back and bury it in the sand with all those unsold E.T. cartridges from Atari.

I was highly disappointed with the schematics, and on top of that, you can't really design your own plays. Instead, you must modify existing one's. What kind of poo-cheese is that?! Everyone knows that all head coaches have their very own playbooks. That's why the offense changes when a new coach arrives.

I would not rent this game again...not even with YOUR money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Highly Dissappointing

posted by NBoss57 (TAMPA, FL) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I rented this game with high expectations, as EA Sports has the best sports games for the Xbox. I never played Head Coach until I rented the game. After returning the game, I'm not playing it again. Here are the goods and bads from NFL Head Coach 09.

Good-
I like the free agent bidding
Easy Achievements (About 20/23 in just a couple hours)
Training Camp
Adam Schefter from NFL Network

Bad-
Too easy to get fired or go over the salary cap
Can't play any games, so it's just a big simulation. You don't really play anything
Adam Schefter gets annoying after a while
Time Consuming achievements
Too easy to lose approval rating

So if you're patient, and don't play video games to have fun, then perhaps you'll enjoy NFL Head Coach 09. But I'd much rather stay with NCAA Football. I'm so glad I didn't purchase this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

head coach 09

posted by Bmike79 (PUYALLUP, WA) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I like the thought of being head coach, Instead of complaining about you current head coach or player, you can be in the hot seat and change it your way, now the problem is the patience and time and the
effort to make your team. You spend more time doing paper work to figure out if the TE you want is worth giving away your draft spot, than actually playing the game. yes there are option on playing with the current team on play now but it loses the whole purpose of the meaning of HEAD COACH. If you like a slow pace and thinking game this game is it, but if you want just to play football then madden is the direction to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NFL Head Coach: Sim Fan's dream

posted by f1ssport (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is one of the most engaging games I've ever played. I actually play it more than I play Madden 09.

The level of detail and the amount of control over the franchise is phenominal. If you like the cerebral inner workings of building a franchise and creating gameplans and plays, this game is definitely for you. The draft, free agency, hiring coaches, formulating a direction for your franchise, and salary cap are handled well. The scouting reports and Adam Schecter commentary are also pretty good.

Only gripe is that I wish the EA online servers were more dependable. Downloading and uploading is always sketchy for some reason. Also, multiplayer would have been more enjoyable if they used the graphics instead of the "sim" screen.

If you don't have the patience for building a franchise from the ground up, this game may not be for you. The learning curve is really steep with this game, and the manual isn't the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How it was

posted by Kiara1 (EMERADO, ND) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

The game itself was alright. But I still prefer the original head coach. It was harder and more complex in a way I did not like. The gafics could have been better, madden 09 graphics were way better than this. Really the only thing better about this game than the original was the game coaching like on the field game. The camera angles and controls were better. But basicly I would prefer Head Coach.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Deep End is Shallow in Places

posted by Roader (SANDUSKY, OH) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

In HC 09 you take control of everything to do with your team. The roster creation of drafting, cutting and free agency are where this game absolutely shines and blows any Madden game into thinly cut plastic pieces. But when you get down to the game and have to conduct the play-by-play, the game really shows its gamefly rating. The worst part about it is that if you want to succeed as a bad team, you have to do it.

To offer the player more flavor you’ll be asked to keep the fans, players, media, owner, etc. happy by completing things these groups want. If you do as they ask - like re-sign someone - then their opinion of you will rise but if you ignore them, they’re not going to be happy.

Over the course of a few days I was locked onto my screen and played steadily through a few seasons although due to the lackluster play-by-play, I simulated through most of the seasons. Its very addicting but there are faults.

I am not a beta tester:Apparently there’s a bug that if you try making plays outside of the play-by-play, injuries will become stuck. And if your Xbox 360 isn’t connected to Live, you’re not going to be able to patch it. (The patch fixes a few other minor problems.)

Audibles are for sissies:Be sure to keep your time outs safe because once your team enters the two minute drill they’re not going to want to audible.

Can someone die from boredom?:The play calling is a necessity if you want to win as a poor team. There’s no satisfaction in taking something successful and creating a plateau. Likewise there’s no satisfaction in watching the game seemingly play against itself.

Head Coach is good for what it tries to do and isn’t very good for what Madden does. Entering the actual football game is Madden’s world while handling things like trades and drafts is the Head Coach’s area. If you stay out of Madden’s world in HC 09, you'll have fun for a while because there’s a lot to offer. But there isn’t enough here to keep coming back to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Leave it

posted by GameCrit1c (STAFFORD, VA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

ok first ill just say it is a ver in-depth game and to those respects ill give it a 8, cause there are many things you can do to create your dream team.

but the rest of the game is bad and very un balanced. i say unbalanced because there are many problems with the team ratings and how they compare to other teams in the game. ive had several teams with A grades on over half my positions and a team with b's and high c's destroys me, wether im simming or calling the plays. ive had 5 instances that i can think of where i was playing the game, i was winning by atleast 2 touchdowns and in the last 3-5 minutes of the game the other team gets meraculous interceptions and fumble recoveries and ran them back for touchdowns. also does it make sence that a 94 rated QB, with 2 91 rated WR's and 4 87+ rated lineman would throw a minimum of 3 interceptions EVERY game? yeah doesnt make sence to me so i say do not get this game, dont rent it dont buy it, and the fact that you HAVE to give up draft picks to trade with any team is rediculous. there are many things they can do to improve this game, and balance it more. dont expect to have to many winning seasons unless yopu actually plan on playing each and every game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it stinks!!!!

posted by bigD0207 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

this is the lamest football game ive ever played its not fun no action just lame play calling i wouldnt uy this game ever even if it was for a dollar mike dika had a better game on saga than this one im just woundering why they made this one EA should be a shame of this they just should just burn this game and all software that made it and hopefully this want carry over to madden do not mess up the madden era of football or nfl street this game is boring and i even fell asleep because it was so boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Head Coach 09

posted by 2power (CLAYTON, NC) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Head coach 09 was more complicated then the first one it gave you a series of hard things to do i gave the game a 6 rating but for people who don't like to challenged this game is not for if you do vice versa.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA must've had some extra money laying around...

posted by DVSsk8r23 (ADAMSBURG, PA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I completely understood what this game was about before I rented it. You become the head coach of a team, sign free agents, draft players, create playbooks, and call plays. The downfall to all of this is that Madden still does a better job at all of this. In Madden when you finish a season, you get to look at all the players you want to resign and the free agents. Not in this game. You have to sit there and look one at a time and decide if you want him. Plus you can't resign players. The automatically become free agents and you have to resign them that way. Game play is very broken and a roster update would not have killed this game either. All an all, if your like me and you like to do the whole head coach thing and rebuild a team then just stick with madden. I only kept this game for a weekend. It is so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ouch

posted by Guitar55 (PITTSFIELD, MA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Not much to say....really boring, not very entertaining and just all around pointless. I knew it would be a cold day in h--- when they made a coaching video game....whats next towel boy aol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by shaw1995 (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

There should deffinaltly be a mode where you can coach but then join the game and actually play!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse