Rent NFL Head Coach 09 for PS3
view large frontback

NFL Head Coach 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.7

558 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A game not for kiddies

posted by corrosive (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game is almost everything fans of text-based simulations have wanted in a graphical representation of the genre. This is not a game for little kiddies (not that some younger folk won't like the game). While it doesn't quite give you the level of control of most text-sims (i.e. Front Office Football), it does make the transition to consoles well. The menu navigations and "clipboard" where most actions will take place work well in the absence of a keyboard and mouse combination.

The game play itself is solid but where this game really shines is draft-day. The scouting mechanisms are great and the systems used for rating the draftees is something console gaming has needed for a while. Instead of just giving the player a single overall rating many other things are taken into consideration. You must also look at the players potential. This potential grade will fluctuate from coach to coach as different players will do better or worse in different offensive or defensive systems.

The game is not without its flaws however, and this is what prevented the perfect 10 score, although it is very very close. There are some issues with the two-minute drill. There are a few glitches that cause scrub players to demand high salaries, and using the in-career play-creator feature causes injured players to never recover. However plays can still be created on the fly during the actual games and from the front menus. However the developers have promised to address these issues in a patch, at which time this game could easily receive a perfect 10 score. The play creator design itself also leaves something to be desired, but it is adequate. The option to export those plays to Madden is pretty neat too.

All in all, I don't think this is a game for the mainstream. However, those who are serious about football strategy and/or love text based sims should give this game a try. I have been playing this game much more than Madden and see myself playing it long after I have tired of Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very ps2 like....

posted by TMAC06 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the thought that was put into this game is great. good tools and i like the drafting and free agent signing. but the game graphics look and play like a ps2 version. i would give it a shot to rent but just would not buy it, wait for next season if there is a head coach 2010....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deep Game

posted by jedijoker2 (NARRAGANSETT, RI) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so this isnt madden. Is that so bad? Lately Madden has been the same game as the past yr with only updated rosters. If you are looking for something more,that makes you think a lil and can get those creative juices going, this game can be it. It takes a lot of time to get into but once your in it can keep you going for hours. That is, if you like creating plays and sitting through off-seasons of contracts. The only thing I find wrong with the game is the bug in the create a play feature, but heard that can be repaired with a patch(no idea how to get it) so save often and restart if it happens to you. I give it a 7 cuz I wanted to players to be a lil more realistic and they never seem to go where I want them to. Other than that, deep game that makes me think and challenges me. Rent or buy only if you have the time and patients for a game that makes you think. Again, if your looking for Madden, this isnt your game so stop treating it like it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA should be ashamed of itself

posted by spidercali (Palmdale, CA) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Head Coach 09 wow were do I start? First lets talk about the good things in the game. The game has good scouting and interesting player and coach development aspects and the draft is sort of OK(except for the fact I could not find my draft board after it appeared as a task like 3 times before the draft). The daily practices and evaluations and play creator are enjoyable. Where this game falls apart is everything else. The game is ridiculously slow even if you sim all the games it will probably take you over 10 hours to get through a season. This is unreasonable since on all of their other football games if you sim the games and tend to the other football operations it will take have the time at best. The menus way to complicated to find the things that you need for new users and things that you want to do like re-sign players or trade them is hard because the task are set up linearly and you have to wait to do most things. The game also crashes regularly which may set you back 2 or 3 hours of waiting for the tasks to reappear so you can complete them again. The game has all the space available of a blu-ray disc but the gameplay looks like it is from the Playstation 1 or at best Playstation 2. The game makes you wait to complete tasks and wade through alot of tasks that you don't want to complete, task need to be readily accessible and it needs to be streamlined. With the fact that it does not need to hold the enormous rosters of NCAA 09 or the finesse game playing attributes of Madden 09 what is using up all the space on the disc its not fast or dynamic in any way. EA probably had a very small staff to work on this and had most of the staff working on the real football blockbusters. The Head Coach idea has so much promise but this is for the diehard fans only for the rest of us I say EA should be ashamed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improvment but will never be there.

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well pretty much everything improved this year! Except for actual AI intelligence. For those of you who take time away from playing Madden 09 to play this game will see that the menu and overall controls in the game are much easier to use and actually less time consuming! BUT in the end it just doesnt beat calling plays in a game were you actually control players and outcomes yourself and it doesnt beat Madden 09 physics and graphics! For those of you that are actually bored of Madden 09, I say why not give it a shot and see how it turns out! Madden aside, this game in a great overall improvement from last year and should be commended for this improvement!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a good strategy game

posted by MIMAS19 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is ok but it is a good strategy game for adult who like football but if your a kid and your not into football don't buy the game the graphic are ok there not perfect but they are OK the game itself is ok but nothing out of the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this is NOT madden

posted by JoshBols (AUBURN, CA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok, this is NOT madden. With that out of the way, this game is actullay not bad. Unlike madden where you call and follow your plays, this game, all you can do is call the plays and watch from the sides and hope for the best, just like a real NFL coach would do. You do have to keep up with your players needs and wants also. If you make them mad, they won't play good. If you keep them happy, they will make all those "hard to catch" catches. This game is pretty decent, it's a good game to play if you really want to think and gamble on plays. But if your looking for the original football video games that have been around for many years, stick with Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Missed the mark again

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is improved this year, without all the tedium the last game had (but still a lot of it). That's as far as I can go. While it kept my attention for 3 weeks, once I opened up NCAA 09' and Madden 09' I couldn't go back. Decent rental for something different, but still no real lasting value. And while the gameplay graphics aren't the focus of this game...they need to make it better than what they've thrown together here. I think with the new memory capabilities of disks these days, EA is better off making this a Madden feature rather than a stand alone title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Only some people may have a taste for this game

posted by BG1997 (Dix Hills, NY) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NFL Head Coach 09 is a video game that only certain people may like. It didn' surprise when i saw it had a rating of 5.1. This video game is NOTHING AT ALL LIKE MADDEN!!!! In this game you play a head coach in the NFL, NOT an NFL player. Before beggining your career, the game lets you pick one of two places in time to start at; the offseason before the NFL Entry draft or before tha preseaon, having the appropriate rookies on their real-life teams.

I enjoy this game a lot, and to people who may not be so good at the Madden games, I highly recommend it. Rather than picking the plays and executing them and determining the outcome yourself, you pick the plays and let the computer execute, so be sure to pick the right plays!

Overall I rated this game an 8 out of 10, only because the graphics and AI movement look like they came from sega.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Terrible....

posted by connor1939 (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game has no hook, plot or anything else that makes it interesting.
It makes sense that they were selling these w/ madden 09 just so they could get rid of inventory.
The game is so boring and the AI is just terrible. On 3rd and 10 it will throw it to the running back in the flat?! I was like are u high? But yah i was very generous when i gave it a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did EA really let this become a game???

posted by matackett (COLUMBUS, OH) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

In the game's career mode, you assume the role of an NFL team's head coach. I took the mantle of the aforementioned Nolan. You begin in the offseason with a set of goals, planning for the draft and free agency. You can tailor the draft board to your team's needs/appraisals, scout college players, and browse the free-agent pool. The season goals quickly soured me on the game (why would the 49ers make finding a tight end the top priority when they have so many other glaring problems?), but the draft system works, as your ability to scout players is tied to your general manager's skill level -- the higher it is, the more players you can scout and the more you learn about them. But free agency's a wreck. Instead of jumping into the pool and making offers to the players you're interested in, you can opt to enter bidding for players that appear each "day" in your clipboard (this is where you manage day-to-day tasks). So you end up waiting for players you want instead of actively pursuing them.
You get plenty of information to help you prepare for foes and select plays, though. The scouting report breaks down how often a team runs and throws, highlighting their most successful plays. During a game, a table tells you the tendencies of your opponent on any given down, allowing you to prepare an effective response. You can select plays (some of which you can design yourself in the play creator; these plays may also be loaded into Madden NFL 09) based on your success rate, your level of mastering plays in practice, or even by your coach's suggestion. You even get special abilities to deploy thanks to plays you worked on in practice.
But none of those options make the games exciting or interesting. You can sim or SuperSim the games -- SuperSim
Multiplayer is more of the same -- I played in SuperSim, and it's a little more fun playing against a live player instead of the CPU. The game also crashed on me twice when coaches appeared in the info/commentary window to tell me that I

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow! that sucked

posted by ventura (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this probably the worst game i have ever played. it is amazing slow for what it is doing. there is no options or anything other than madden would give you. you just look at a shot of your stdium and pick from catagories what your team should do. when you make your own coach he stinks so bad you cant win a game, you dont even realy know hwo your actions are changing the team. it is just bad. i tried it for about ten hours and hated every second of it. the only reason i kept playing was i thought if i got better at it os something it might be more rewarding. BIG MISTAKE!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Head Coach

posted by NickyV1414 (NEWTOWN, CT) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Are they serious with this game? I played the first head coach game and it was pretty simple and a bit repetitive but this game is awful. I put this game on a few times and I couldn't play it for more than 20 min. The graphics are terrible, the GM makes all the moves for you and wants you to trade for players that don't fit your style of coaching at all. Really all and all this game is just horrible they shouldn't even bother with another one. Its cool to be a coach maybe make it an option in madden and combine them but having a strictly just coaching game is weak!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow

posted by Thimecules (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

even on fast speed, there is too much time waiting for things to happen. I literally timed it and in a one hour of game play, I sat with nothing happening for 20 minutes. just between tasks. Even "Simming" takes forever. You also don't have access to do anything out of order. you cannot fire assistant coaches until End of Year, the playbook creator doesn't allow for trick plays and should. overall it's OK but I would rather play franchise mode on Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Long

posted by dyeboy5358 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is for someone that was nothing but time on their hands, i had it for a week and only played one game. I like the game play and all the features but man does it eat a day away, really slowly..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Head coach is back but is it worth it?

posted by Goldfox17 (STEVENS POINT, WI) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

When I first tried out the game it was hard to navigate through the menus and I thought I would hate it, but after a little time I got used to it. for the people who think it takes to long that’s because your doing all the stuff a coach/ GM does so your not just doing a Madden were your only really playing a game. Head Coach is like the real world of Football. The graphics are a little bad and feel like PS2 but I think we can get over that. The create your own play was annoying since I could not create any wild cat plays. The other thing is that the plays you call seem to matter more than Madden. one of the bad things is that it does at times freeze up which can be a pain and that unlike the older head coach now you have to wait for the FA you want to sign to appear in your menu. Over all this game is for people who love off season during Madden and like being the man who makes the big moves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome Football Simulator

posted by Grawtail (NIAGARA FALLS, NY) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

This is not your typical football game. It's not a game you just insert and play. It takes a lot of work to build a respectable team if you don't start with one of the premier teams. Again this is a coaching game, not a player game. If you're into the strategy of football this is an outstanding game.
The problem with most football games is that a skilled player can consistently outplay a better team, which rately happens in real life. In this game the better team usually wins, but not always - like in real life.
The benefit to a game like this in not being able to manipulate the players is that it adds more startegic depth. For instance, players actually have to learn the plays before being able to execute them correctly. Also, player tendencies take over so a DT that is prone to a bull-rush won't try spin rushing everytime because that's what I can controll him to do.
As far as some of the critics about the graphics, I found them to be mixed. The fans and sideline graphics are sub-par but setting the display to Cinematic for on-the-field action is phenominal and definetly in HD.
If you're looking for an in-depth alternative to the typical button-mashing football games that takes more thought than reflexes, this is the game for you. If you're looking for a lot of action and button pushing you'll be very disapointed with this game and should probably stick to the typical Madden games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not a very fun game

posted by trevort (EAGLE, ID) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

head coach 09 is not a game to play if you're looking for a game where you can get into all of the action. you just call a play and watch it happen. it is one of the most boring games i have ever played. i really do not recommend that you rent this game, or for that matter buy it. oh and it also takes forever to set everything up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A good reason to Create a "Zero" for Ratings

posted by zendba (WILMINGTON, DE) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

EA Sports has once again stolen hard earned money from gamers with yet another sham product. How they make the NFL so boring for people that love Football so much is astounding. Amazingly complicated & slow interface, which is no change from prior versions.

If EA Sports would take the time to build a voice interface that would be cool. But that is asking way too much from these clowns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THIS GAME IS TERRIBLE

posted by danielbluv (HAYDEN, AL) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

this game is not good at all.....the whole GM mode thing is ok,like drafting,free agents,etc. but after all that time u spend on your team you dont even get to play the football part....but why would you the graphics suck...they look like ps1 graphics...if u want an NFL game and do all the player signings and contracts just get Madden and play franchise mode..this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

So you like to be the general manager

posted by yonkers076 (Clinton Township, MI) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If you like the way the madden series is going with the style of play then this game is NOT for you. When I play Madden 09 I spend more time making trades and signing free agents than I do actually playing. If you are a fan of that style of game then you will HATE this one. I feel the game is poorly done and not what I would expect from the Madden series of games. Right now the game has a 4.5 rating and I think that is way to generous. A 1.5 sounds far more realistic. Do your self a favor and don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Only for die hard NFL fans..

posted by Ensamvarg (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game started out promising but fell a little short in my opinion. Mind you, I am not a die hard fan of controlling every mundane aspect in the life of a coach.

I can see how this game is appealing for those who really thrive on being able to change just about anything in regards to their team but for a general player this game does not offer very much.

The graphics and models are both horrible and not very accurate. The game play is slow and it took me more than one press on the controller to actually activate the displayed function.

I had fun playing a few pre-season games but as soon as I left the play calling to the AI my team would lose.

AI is horrible and is by far the biggest weakness of the game as a whole.

If you're someone who just happens to enjoy football then this game is not for you.

If you thrive on Fantasy Football and so much stats that it almost drowns you then you might just have struck gold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TURRIBLE

posted by BamafiveO (TROY, AL) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The idea of the game is great. Its an improvement from the previous NFL HC. The thing that annoys me about the game is I drafted a GREAT HB with great hands. He fumbles the ball 3-5 times a game without getting tired. Its very frustrating. The drafting part of the game is nice and I enjoy that, but as others have stated the graphics are PS2 like and way to many bugs in the game to fully enjoy. I do not suggest this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »