Rent NCIS for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCIS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, 3DS
GF Rating
5.0

1102 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gameplay severely lacking, but easy achievements

posted by Corvald (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately, this was one of the worst games I've played on the 360. Almost the entire game was minigames - but not fun ones; all but one of the minigames were trivial, with the last being incredibly difficult with just a controller. My impression is that the game was designed for iPad, then ported to PC and then to a console (with Kinect/Move support), as it's almost entirely a one-button interface with a mouse cursor, which requires you to "click" on on-screen prompts with the A button. (the B button never goes back or closes a window; you have to "click" on cancel).


Each of the cases did seem somewhat like an NCIS episode, except that the characters often appear incredibly dumb (as you have to manually connect obvious clues together before they catch on). It's done that way to make the user feel like part of the case, but then you miss the "aha!" moments from the TV show.


The only redeeming value is for people who like an easy 1000 points of achievements, as it took less than four hours to beat the game and none of the achievements can be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCIS Stands For GOTY

posted by mlc1018 (ALAMEDA, CA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you're like me, you've watched NCIS a million times and thought, "you know what would make this mediocre show awesome? Pressing A periodically while viewing it!"

Lucky for you, Ubisoft has its finger on the pulse of that urge and delivers an A-pressing experience second to no other A-pressing game on the market today. You'll press A. Sometimes you'll be required to press A within a certain allotted amount of time. Sometimes the point at which you will press A will be up to your discretion. Sometimes you'll get stuck, but remember: pressing A will get you out of your predicament.

You will press A until you receive your 1000 gamerscore.

Ironically, pressing A will not skip this game's cutscenes. You are forced to watch them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worth a rent but not much more.

posted by N3xium (DETROIT, MI) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Ok so let me start by saying I am one of those huge fans of the show so it should come as no surprise I would hold its first game based on the show to a certain standard. What I found most disappointing on this game is that they only managed to get Robert Wagner (Tony's dad) and David McCallum (aka Ducky aka Dr. Mallard). All other voices are not quite even close to their respective actors which means you have to suspend some disbelief when you hear the others talk. As far as gameplay even though this is on the Xbox360 it plays like a point and click you would find on a PC and has virtually no action scenes and the cut scenes and cinematic would not do justice to any videogame made in the last 9 years. One for the pro and con collum is that the game is incredibly short which makes it a very good choice for rent but leaves no room for replay value. However with all that said the game does not cause any moments of frustration since it is pretty easy and just by playing the game to completion you will be rewarded with every achievement and 1000 gamerpoints if you play the 360 version. Overall I would recommend this game s a rent but highly discourage anyone from purchasing it. Hopefully the next one will be better since the bar seems to have been set low for this one. Rated as 5 out of 10 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good puzzle game for a kid

posted by olfox88 (ATHENS, TN) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

in two hours i just about beat this game way to easy. how ever i love the fack it stayed in tune to the show. a good game to kill a few hours in but no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good.

posted by Limowreck (CORONA, CA) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

NCIS the game is not good. There are many, many reasons for this assessment,but lets touch on the glaring ones. The game itself is way too short. If you have 3-4 hours to kill, you will beat this game easy. There are only 4 cases to go through, and while the mini-games do get slightly more challenging, its nothing 2 or 3 tries wont fix. As far as replay, there is nothing here. The graphics, oh the graphics. Think "D" on the Playstation, and you'll get the picture. Most characters eyes and mouths seem to acting on their own during most scenes and people walk as if there are 5 bones in their body. Abby especially looks nightmarish. Game play is close to nil, as this is a point and click game, and a bad one at that. Most clues hit you over the head, and the most action you will experience is furniture moving.
To wrap up, the only people who will enjoy this are die-hard NCIS fans who feel a special tingle when they see Gibbs. The only thing you might consider worth the rental is that you can wrack up 1000 achievement points in about 4 hours, so, there's that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a shame

posted by AJW7757 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NCIS is my favorite show on television, so getting this game was a no brainer. When I popped the game in, and saw Shanghai Ubisoft, I knew at that point the game would be a complete failure. Montreal Ubisoft should have developed this game. Shanghai is notorious for development of poor controls, weak game play, atrocious mechanics, and pathetic graphics. All one has to do is play Splinter Cell Double Agent to know that.

Rent it for the free 1000 achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EASY 1000 achievement!

posted by dvddude77 (HOBART, IN) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

EASIEST 1000 achievement game ever. Perfect to rent...beat it...and send it back within 24 hours!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NCIS--Wow! Truly bad game in every way possible

posted by olorin (CRANSTON, RI) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game fails on so many levels:
Graphics--sub par at best, with herky-jerky animations and bad lip syncing.
Voice acting--sadly, very disappointing since only one cast regular is in the game. The rest not only do not sound at all like their counterparts, they are horrible voice actors in general.
Gameplay--Awful. At least the CSI games are interesting, this one is just taking pictures and then doing annoyingly ridiculous mini games where the controls are shoddy and the challenge level is too simple.

I wouldn't even rent this game...just leave it be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright figure it out

posted by EthanBGC (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Not much action and very who done it (most of the time your taking pictures of stuff) but still fun for a fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a bad game

posted by Roberthalofan (NORFOLK, VA) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

This game was not that bad, it had a pretty good story. But the game-play was anything but efficient. There were parts during the game were it bored me to death, especially when when you are looking for evidence but you missed one last thing and you cant find it.
It does contain some confusing bits, usually dealing with the controls. But once you learn the ropes you will blow through certain parts. The game was not very long, it only took me a few hours to complete.
Great way to earn 1000 Gamer-score

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than CSI games

posted by jumpman5802 (NEW YORK, NY) May 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

NCIS is a good game it's easy to complete and get all the achievements the contols move too quick the CSI games have better controls but NCIS is better than any CSI game and I'm a big fan of the CSI games the stories in the CSI games are more thought out ande asier to figure out but NCIS reminds me of college that was a major at devry cis my major was bis more like bs NCIS is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game

posted by Tigerslady (GRIFFIN, GA) May 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

This gams is ok up until you get to Irac and try to catch the good doctor`s car via sattelite and then it becomes imposible to keep the reticle on the target vehicle without the ability to lock on was not able to play waste of time and energy I don`t recommend this game to anybody

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCIS

posted by mtrose84 (GREAT FALLS, MT) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

Good game. Controls could be a little bit better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same old, same old

posted by Lawrentz82 (STRATFORD, CT) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

There hasn't been any growth in any of the CSI games...from graphics, to gameplay, to story line. There are occasional one liners that may get a smirk out of you...but other than that...this is nothing more than an extremely easy 1000 GS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lame Game

posted by Dbstuck6 (PRIOR LAKE, MN) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I was excited to get this game since I watch and love this show. Man was I disappointed. Glad I got this as a rental and didn't pay for the game. Save your money, it's slow moving, and not a very fun game and I saw it as a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

John

posted by JVScheid (FORT SMITH, AR) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

It is a good game but the only thing that I did not like was that you cannot control the character, you can click somewhere in the screen and the person will go there but you can't really control it, but if you like NCIS, I would reccomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

too easy

posted by XXXMrRubenXXX (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game really easy points

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very easy achievements.

posted by SullnSkies (GADSDEN, AL) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

A single play through will earn you all of the achievements and a play through takes you about 3-5 hours. Good luck! Easy 1000 Points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCIS Game review

posted by Newmanmltry24 (GREENEVILLE, TN) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I enjoyed playing the game. If you enjoy collecting clues and solving puzzles this is the game for you.
I wish that the real voices could have been used.
Graphics are ok and its easy to learn how to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for fans of CSI

posted by JanetDax (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

Fans of CSI will be disappointed. Evidence collection is reduced to taking photos (regardless of what sort of evidence we are dealing with), plus there is an inordinate amount of furniture moving. Similarly, those player interested in actual evidence processing will be disappointed. One bright spot is the deduction board, where conclusions are formed based on the evidence.

Most parts of the game are ridiculously easy. However, apprehending the suspect always involves a satellite tracking minigame which can be quite frustrating for xbox 360 players forced to use a gamepad.

Rate this for fans of NICS only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by jackjack1685 (FRISCO, TX) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game was way tooo long it took me about to hours to finish the first level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

puke

posted by MMcFarlandphoto (COLUMBUS, GA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i can not believe how horrible this game is. First the voice over work is terrible. Ducky is the only original voice from the cast. the game play is something you might have played in early 2000. makes me sick that a tv show that is so good can have a game so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not to bad,but not great either

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

This is great for the achievement junkie out there. This game has to have the easiest achievements out of any game out or coming out for 2012 and that is the only reason why I rented it. Other than that I would'nt recommend it unless your a fan of the show. Even then the game may dissapoint.

Pros:Easy 1000g achievement points earned just by playing the game.

Cons:The game graphically looks like it was made for the original Xbox.

Extremely repetitive

Subpar voice acting

Unescessarily long storyline makes the game even worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful!!!

posted by gategoer74 (CORVALLIS, OR) May 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

Really for us hard core NCIS fans this is a awful game...no real voice over work...trying to funny like the show(but not accomplishing this at all). And the awful game play. Just stay away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great for achievements

posted by chedda1015 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

you can get 1000 just by completing game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse