Rent NCAA March Madness 08 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA March Madness 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

399 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

great basketball game!!

posted by lycaeus (TULSA, OK) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

veiw and grqaphics suck..but the gameplay and dynasty mode are awesome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A huge disappointment

posted by marmit66 (ELKHART, IN) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a diehard EA Sports fan and this game fails in every way. The gameplay is slow and choppy. The graphics have taken many steps back. I normally own all of the EA games and I only played this one for 10 minutes before I was sending it back. The 2k8 game is much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

DON'T BUY

posted by Gemayal (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

As a fan of Ea sports and its basketball series I must say that this is worst game basketball I have ever seen on PS3, I don't understand, its like Ea Sports took a step back!!! I am honestly embarassed, I have been defending NBA Live over NBA 2K for years and this year Live stepped its game up and I was really looking forward to March Madness doing the same, but this game is terrible, I would recommend that you don't even rent it let alone play it, graphics terrible, game play terrible, Overall terrible!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Even worth a rental

posted by thgold (GLEN ALLEN, VA) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first started playing this game I spent a good deal of time setting up a coaching legacy and doing a lot of pre-season activities such as recruiting and modifying my schedule.

The Recruiting aspect of the game was quite in depth and was actually some what fun to mess around with.

However, as soon as I actually started a game in my season I stopped almost immediately.

Gameplay: This game is border line unplayable. you have the freestyle stick to make cross over moves but everything just felt and looked clunky. The shooting mechanics and defense just weren't fluid and made the game not enjoyable to play.

Graphics: As bad as the game play was the grapichs were much worse. I have an HDTV and I am using HDMI cables so I was expecting a nice clean presentation and for the players and the court to actually look good. Quite the contrary, it looked like I had the PS2 version of the game. I even double checked it when I ejected the game.

Overall this game is not even worth renting. I sent it back the same day I got it in the mail. If all you wanted to do was setup a coach and simualte all the games you may get a few days of fun out of it. However I would say if you are looking for a NCAA basketball game try the 2Ksports offering. It is just a much better product at this point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

CAN EA DO ANY BETTER?

posted by NCAALOVE (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I REALLY HATE TO B---- ABOUT GAMES SINCE THERES LOTS OF BAD THINGS HAPPENING IN THIS WORLD BUT IN THE WORLD OF SPORTS GAMING EA REALLY IS STARTING TO SUCK. I UNDERSTAND THEY HIRING THESE EGGHEAD JUNIORS OUT OF SCHOOL WHO REALLY DONT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT SPORTS. FIRST, THE GAME SEEM TO ARCADISH. PLAYER MOVEMENT SUCKS,PLAYER ANIMATION COULD BE BETTER AND GAMEPLAY IS NOT WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT IN A NEXT GEN GAME. ICE SKATING I THOUGHT WAS ANOTHER SPORT BUT IT SEEM EA MIXED UP WHAT GAME THEY WAS MAKING. DYN. MODE STINKS. ITS NOT DEEP,YOU CANT EVEN GO SEE THE RECRUIT PLAY IN ANY TURNMANENTS(ALLY 2KSPORTS)AND MOST OF THE RECRUITS SUCK. OH YEAH, WHERE IS THE COACH, SIDELINES LOOK SO UNREAL, THERE IS NOW REALISM. SMALL PLAYERS ARE ABLE TO PUSH BIGGER GUYS OUT OF BOUNDS ON DEF TO EASILY,WHAAAT!AND IT WAS A WASTE OF TIME PUTTING CROSSOVER IN THE GAME IT DONT WORK. I COULD GO ON IT DOESNT MATTER,EA WHO I USE TO LOVE IS SOME GARBGE NOW, AND I HAVENT GOT IT THROUGH MY THICK SKULL THAT TRYING TO PLAY THIS GAME AND ITS NOT GOING TO GET BETTER. MAYBE THATS WHY ITS ONLY 49.99,GLAD I DIDNT PAY THE FULL PRICE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NCAA March Madness 08

posted by seanjohn (DENVILLE, NJ) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

IT WAS THE WORST GAME EVER! I AM SO MAD I EVEN TRIED IT. NOW I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE NEXT BASKETBALL GAME TO GET.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst basketball game ever!

posted by Jongib666 (PARK RIDGE, IL) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I accidentally got this game when I tried to get ncaa basketball 09...don't ask me how i did that haha...but i played it anyway and I can honestly say this is the worst sports game ever. nba jam is a better basketball game then this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pros outweigh the cons

posted by stark09 (CONCORD, NC) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

I enjoy playing March Madness 08 because I enjoy college basketball. This is my first PS3 game, some things I love, some I don't. Even though the post-up moves are better, I think I takes away from the perimeter players. I don't have an HDTV so its hard for me to see the scoreboard during gameplay. The gameplay is pretty slow but I enjoy playing this edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucked everybody. Don't waste your time.

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game really sucked very badly. The graphics was unrealistic, the gameplay was boring, overall it was lame. When you are playing dynasty and you get invited to an invitational and you get put again some no name college (Tennessee Tech) you will have a hard time winning. At the in of the first half I was down 63 to 28 (and I was using the Texas Longhorns. I ended up winning the game though 87 to 82. The game would have not been that close if for real. But I am just letting everybody know, do not waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it is the best game ever

posted by hjfdjj (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jul 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game is the best. I really liked dysanty mode it seems so real the recuriting.the only way i can explain this game is in these 5 words THIS GAME IS THE BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK but waaaaaay to easy

posted by AILDfreak (RIO RANCHO, NM) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Well overall the game was ok, but there were many things wrong with it. First of all the graphics were terrible for a next gen system. I felt like i was playing a PS2 game. Second of all it was way to easy. The shooting system was just holding down circle. Waaaaaaay to easy. The dynasty mode is pretty cool. It would be way better if the gameplay wasnt so dull. The crowd is very unrealistic. theres about a thousand people doing the exact same thing at the same exact time. When you look beyond the first few rows the crowd is 2d and weird looking. Its just not a good game. EA, common now both of the college games you put out this year a very boring. 6 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »