Rent NCAA Football 13 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 13

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

1170 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Played this game for a long time....

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game when it first came out and I have continued playing it every day or so up until about an hour ago. This is what I can tell ya:

Pros - It gets you involved during dynasty mode and you end up spending most of you time "wanting" to manipulate your recruitment board. The gameplay is good, not great. The layout of the game is perfect and I thoroughly enjoy the recruitment portion of it.

Cons - The refs are a freakn' joke and so are the booth reviews. The graphics need alot of word and so does the AI. The announcers say the same stuff over and over and over.....

Conclusion - Can we please put a little more effort in the details? The game is so close to being perfect. It's stupid stuff, like the user knowing when the refs call for a booth review it'll be overturned every single time. Also, rating teams in the top 25 based on the programming projection and not how they are currently playing during the season. FIX IT! ;o)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NCdoubleAyyyye?

posted by OpiodDream (MONTGOMERY, AL) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NCAA really tried to step things up from previous installments. In true EA form they up'd the ante by smoothing out the graphics, making the controls more fluent and really stressing on play ability over the normal scope of "You will buy this, because you like football". Lets face the facts, MANY sports releases have that feel to them. Including a few of EA's past ventures into the sports gaming community. However, here they obviously wanted to do more, and in most fields, they nailed it. That being said here are the pros versus the cons.

Pros:
Enhanced graphics.
Better gameplay physics.
A college interest system that FAR surpasses previous installments where you played through and chose where you want to go and just worked your way up the roster. Here as you progress it tells you what colleges are interested, who and when they offer a scholarship, and a point based system to let you know how you are doing over time.
In-game names being said. No more constant "#23 etc"
Mulitplayer is done WAY better then how it has been in the past.

Cons:
Player creation. You still can only create a very generic looking person.
Commentators. There is still that "Player sacked at the X yard line" even though you gained "X" amount of yards. Or them saying the wrong name of the person you completed the pass to.
Crowd people look the same, EVERYWHERE.

Rating: A solid 7.

While there were a few Cons, many are to be expected in this type of game, and I tried to leave out more opinion based Pros, or Cons, like liking/disliking the slow motion effect for concentration. I personally didn't like it, though it did help if you were playing on a harder setting SOMETIMES. On an easy setting unless you're new to sports games, or just not as good, or even just really rusty because you haven't played in a while I don't see you ever needing it. Its a good game, worth a rent or even a buy if you're a fan and like to play your friends. Otherwise nothings there really to keep you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good!

posted by jsmooth2010 (TYLER, TX) Aug 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I usually buy my sports games every 2 years, and this was year 2 for me so I bought this game. But I rent every year. It was different enough from 11 for the purchase. But it is still pretty glitchy and sloppy. The passing game is much more easy and fun to use. There are new animations like always that are cool. The presentation is much improved and the score updates are totally awesome. I don't know if it's worth a buy though over 12. Only reason I bought it is because I skipped last years. Anyway, it's worth a rent, but you might want to wait until 14 when they introduce the new tackling/physics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Love the series but ...

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jul 13, 2012

Member since May 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

My second game in Dynasty mode crashed just after i won the game while waiting for the final menu. I also found selecting plays slower for some reason and the main menu movement lags about 2 seconds. Add in the fact that you cant export or create draft clases for Madden i wont keep it despite the $20 savings through gamefly.
I really wanted to like it more but i give it a 7. The passing game is better with more control but not enough to place it over last years version for me. Thanks gamefly for saving me $$!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok game but feels the same as lastyear!!

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jul 15, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

You can have alot of fun with the new NCAA!! But it still feels alot like 2012. EA Is very good with adding a few new things then say hey look a new NCAA Game. Great Rent Game - Toss up for a Buy. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YES!!!! It's better than the last one.

posted by mesnc48 (DURHAM, NC) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

They tweek the passing and it is da bomb. The graphics is about the same but it's still worth trading in the last one. Also the in game ESPN scoring update is pretty neat. The heisman feature seems kind of cheesy to me but others might fun with it. They also upgaded the recruiting in the dynasty mode were you can scout prospects before you start recruiting. There's some other stuff but go get it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Football Game Of The Year

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The passing improvements make this game. Playing as Heisman winners is awesome! I'll be playing this one LONG AFTER Madden comes out! A must rent & a MUST BUY for me! Loving the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by trock78 (PORT ROYAL, SC) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this a very good game but the loading time are a lit long. but all in all it a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Online Pass = I'll Pass

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 22 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Can't support GREEDY EA anymore. Nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by banana72onpal (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I hate this game. they made a few minor improvements from NCAA 12 and added some new features, my favorite is slow mo at the begging of the play.But the AI is even worse in this game. The defense gets through the line almost every play and on defensive if you're a line backer its a blitz every play. If you're a running back it's hard to run because the offense won't block and the defense can be 10 yards behind you and suddenly tackle you. the WR and QB play is good, but everything else is terrible. If you get blocked by someone half your size they can push you down like nothing. I do play football and I'm currently on the all star team, so if you want a good football game rent Backbreaker

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA Can Really Suck Sometimes

posted by egmhookem (JAY, OK) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

No draft classes this year. I was a big fan of that capability even though it had it's flaws I still enjoyed drafting real people into the NFL. Now because of a new engine in Madden that capability is gone. Me personally that is a big knock on the game and the reason why it gets a 6 instead of a 7 or an 8.

The game is still fun and they added a couple of new features but the graphics are the same. I like the game but again a little upset at what went down with the draft classes. Will be sending it back soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game SUCKS

posted by dogtown (TORRANCE, CA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

this game is soo slow it always loads and lags and its way to slow if u played one sports game then youve played them all to be fank...... if u have ncaa 11 or 12 just keep it because there is no point to get it!!!!!!!!! i tomed myself and i did three things and it took me 10 minutes because it lagged and loaded and took forever!!!! dont get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same 'ol same 'ol

posted by duk774 (EAGLE POINT, OR) Oct 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I rented it for 1-day only. Wasn't very impressed. I have 2009 and I think it's better. Returned it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lame-

posted by barichristopher (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Like really that's the best NCAA could pull off in a yr is the slow down time button or skill? I think its called precision time. Also i was upset to hear you can't port your player over to Madden anymore. Which was the main reason I was buying NCAA games.
Lastly I liked the version of Road to glory when they had you feeling like you were a prospect they were following.
Def not a buy unless you find it less that $20. Rent only GF fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wow

posted by grandman (CHATTANOOGA, TN) May 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I give this game a 8 I'm just going to wait for NCAA14

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WTH

posted by AreA_17 (DENVER, CO) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Worst entry yet!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Antoher great EA football game!

posted by BlaketheReaper (GATE CITY, VA) Mar 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

I play EA's Madden and NCAA every year and usually end up buying both it was no different this year as I bought NCAA back in Sept, everything about the game is solid and the Heisman challenge is stellar I just wish you didn't have to buy some of the best ones but it's worth it to do so,
Graphics-good
Gameplay-fantastic
Controls-same as every year
Online-great

I gave this game a 8/10 even if you're not into sports games you'll love this one and if you do enjoy sports games you'll end up buying this, Like I said everything about it is fun from dynasty, online, to the new Heisman challenge so put it in the Q or even go buy it it's well worth it because it's a game with a high play value!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent I guess

posted by rkirkland (BUFFALO, NY) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Decent game. Road To Glory can get boring. Can relive the careers of the greatest college players ever, i.e. RG3, Barry Sanders, Hershall Walker, Carson Palmer, etc. Gameplay glitches include lead blockers not accounting for blitzing LB's. Online play is USELESS! Hard to believe how that wasn't fixed before release or atleast with a patch download seeing as how it happens often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by BiggPapaPump (BUENA PARK, CA) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great Gameplay and starting off in High School is Awesome. A must play game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What Madden '13 could have been

posted by onefusion (PEARLAND, TX) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

As someone who has followed the EA Sports franchises for a number of years, I was incredibly pleased by the flow of gameplay. After having played both Madden '13 and NCAA Football '13, I must give the nod to NCAA Football '13 and strongly suggest you ignore Madden '13 altogether.

NCAA Football '13 brings back the Dynasty Mode, which is essentially Madden's tried and true Franchise Mode but with a focus on recruiting versus free agency. It can be played both online and offline, and you can choose whether to be a full-on head coach or control only the offense or defense as a coordinator.

Every week brings new challenges, whether on the field or off the field. Recruiting takes up almost as much time as an actual game each week. You are given a set number of prospects you can target, and then a set number of hours you can contact them and try to figure out how to win them over on committing to your school. After a certain point, they want to visit your campus and you get to choose what activities they experience while on-campus.

All-in-all, Dynasty Mode is a well thought out concept that delivers in a number of ways. Alone, I would give it a 7 out of 10. When coupled with the Online Modes and Road to Glory -- where you take the role of a freshman in college and play your way through your college years with your eye on the Heisman, this game easily comes out at a 9 out of 10.

If you are a football or NCAA fan, then this game is for you. Forget Madden '13. It's not worth the box it's shipped in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by bigboygiantsfan (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This is an amazing game if you are a football fan!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LOVE THIS

posted by azpelayo21 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is amazing. It's gonna be hard to top that once 14 comes. along. dynasty mode is awesome. Being able to create recruits representing my high school teams players is fun and makes me proud of my school. It's even more fun attempting to recruit them to my team!! The only thing i could ask for is some sort of system where momentum carries a team. A 10-0 boise state team should have more momentum/confidence than a 6-4 alabama team and therfore win, but instead simulation seems to just randomize the victor without accounting for record. Also I would love to see FCS teams in here!!! How amaizng would it be to put columbia in the big east or harvard in the big 12?? awesome game, cant wait till next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent game, not rentable.

posted by jeremy52048 (YUBA CITY, CA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

played the game for a week and it was a decent game, better than 11 but not enough for me to keep it! better graphice and love the new engine it has... im more of a madden player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game is slow...

posted by TreJames (GREEN BAY, WI) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Not really a fan of this game. Too slow. Too many replays. Feels like a 5 minute quarter -- takes about a half-hour.

Played 6 games -- before I got bored of it.

Sport games no longer seem what they used to be any more. Which was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bad Graphics / Great gameplay

posted by Crawfordd (ORANGE BEACH, AL) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I'm not sure exactly why this game would have as horrid graphics as it does but I'm not happy. Although the gameplay is great I'm not sure how the heck the graphics could be edgy on a console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse