Rent NCAA Football 13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Football 13

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.8

1637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA 12 with minor improvements

posted by rams78110 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I'd like to start this review off by saying I am an NCAA fanboy, so take the review with a grain of salt.

The Good:
-Super LBs/DBs are no more. There is no need to worry about 250lb men with 60" verticals and superhuman reaction times.
-The passing game is extremely improved. You can actually lead receivers again and put 3 different speeds on the ball to get just the right touch on a pass.
-Recruiting is... fun?! I didnt think it was possible, but recruiting is actually more than a chore this year and I'd go as far as saying its enjoyable scouting and recruiting players.

The nice:
-ESPN studio updates add a nice feel to the game
-The RTG mode has been improved to focus more on your player, so your WR will no longer have to sit through 10 run plays for every pass.

The bad:
-Run blocking AI is still criminally bad. Youll spend more time yelling at your TV than complimenting the offensive line.
-The freezing issue is back. Contrary to popular belief, one year is apparently not enough time to test a game once before sending it out. It is not an issue of if your game will freeze, but when.

The ugly:
-Nothing, actually. NCAA 13 has managed to dial the game-breaking screw ups from NCAA 12 and turn them into mere annoyances

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just ncaa 12 again.

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

No noticeable changes from ncaa 12, even the menus are identical. Obviously, the new game mode "Heisman mode" was where most of the innovation went. I admit it was pretty cool taking barry sanders to stanford and playing him in the 2012 season. Unfortunately, the thrill wears off quickly.
The biggest change promised was the removal of psychic DB's. This did not happen. A corner can still look directly away from a receiver and mirror his cuts before he even makes them. It is very frustrating. If you must play a football game, I suggest madden. If it must be ncaa, I suggest ncaa 11 or 12. Or you can invest in NCAA 13, just another copy and paste sports title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by soonerman (ELMORE CITY, OK) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have no idea what you people are talking about.... "They forget Stanford" ??? What??? I dont know about anyone else but Stanford is on my game lol... The overall product is a better faster, more realistic looking football game... I dont understand what people expect when they get this game... Of course its going to look like last years its still college football. What do you want to change?? Do you want them to slow EVERYTHING down and add all the Divison II and III teams??? As far as passing Defense apparently you guys are just terrible with your CB's... If you play with a horrible team dont expect to beable to use your CB's... As far as Ohio winning.. To me its realistic, ya never know any team could win at any time.. You guys are out looking for excuses to be in a bad mood... I'm going to rock out and play 2013 until 2014 comes out... Another great game for EA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NCAA Football 13

posted by PLavocat79 (DURHAM, NC) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This is a fun game BUT..... Wow there are a ton of issues with the game freezing. I tried a couple play modes and they all froze up after I saved them and tried to re-load. I looked on various sites and this seems to be a common theme. I created a Dynasty spent all this time recruiting and creating players, but now I am NOT able to load it. Restarted Xbox a few times, but no luck. Disc is brand new so there is no issue with that. I really hope EA has some patch to fix this as this is a MAJOR issue affecting MANY players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The dynasty mode is great, just as others

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The dynasty mode never gets old, and whenever I find something that I don't like about this game, I quit it, and then I find something new-the good times never end, but it freezes occasionally and Teambuilder is a nine of ten, so this game rightfully deserves the nine pointer here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA Football13

posted by Razor2nd (LAKE VIEW, SC) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is great. A must have for past players. The graphics are excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

AVERAGE

posted by Diggernutz79 (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Jul 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Wasnt overly impressed with this one. Graphics were a little less than, disappointing uniform selections, AND RTG MODE WAS TOO FREAKING EASY. COULD BREAK OFF 105 YARD RUNS WITH EYES CLOSED. JUST STICK TO RENTING THIS TITLE AND YOU WILL BE OKAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic game without gettin hurt

posted by shadows68 (ALTOONA, PA) Jul 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

an awsome game i won the Heismen trophy plus the BCS title game i can't wait to play it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ncaa football 13

posted by evan34 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this is the best ncaa football went the passing game is the best ever also the new heismen mode is great when u can play as all of these legneds it is awesome also the fact u can put them on any team so your favorite team can have a great heisman winner

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by falconfever2 (DALTON, GA) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game for football fans!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring!!!

posted by ukboy87 (LEXINGTON, KY) Aug 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Usually a brand new game I won't stop playing for hours. This definitely wasn't the case for this game. I got sick of playing this game after two games in RTG. On defense you can't audible. The reaction time on defense has taken the place of squaring up your defender making defending passes at safety more difficult than it already was. My game froze up about 3 times in those two games. It seems the quality of EA Sports game is going down, down, and down. Madden better be RIDICULOUS this year because obviously not enough time was spent on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No export to Madden

posted by revjtanton (HANOVER, PA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I only rented this to get the draft classes. Removing this feature makes this game completely useless to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same game as 2012

posted by jaydeisel (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is the same game as last years. EA exclusive deals in football makes them not improve their football games. Since, 2k is not making any game because of these deals, EA is putting our bland games. Without competition nothing improves. Overall, a basic game. Nothing to brag about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No immediate update

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Oddly enough that is just about the only good thing I can say about the game. Ride to Glory is pointless, make a running back and only run. I'm not kidding, I made a balanced HB and while I played it was only run plays. Most of said plays are runs to the right, makes for a very annoying series of downs.

Made a QB, and got some pass plays, but moving up to the goal line you only get run. The computer decides the plays you get and it doesn't know football. Just about every single play picked for me as a QB I'm trying to figure out why. There is still no pass defense so it didn't matter how bad the pass design is.

Control wise it's the exact same as all the rest. Good since you can pick it up and play immediately, unless you forget the set up. Movement is the same as any other in recent memory. Really this game is barely even a different game. The only change is the Heisman thing. You play as a past Heisman winner, there are a goodly number you can play right away, and more that are downloadable.

Everything else about the game is like last year, and the one before. Really pick any NCAA football from the last ten years and it will look the exact same. This game isn't worth a rent let alone a buy. Online might be fun, but then you have to buy it first. Course with no pass defense there's no reason to buy it. You just pass it all day long and you have 106-112 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just like 12 just a little better

posted by jhsfb71 (BOTHELL, WA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I honestly love the NCAA and Madden games and in NCAA 12 they did a great job at making it unlike Madden where they just took 11 and put Peyton Hillis on it. Anyway back to Ncaa 13 I like how they put the new hiseman challenge which is actually alot of fun. In franchise the only thing they did different was they added the in game updates and changed the recruiting a little bit. Road to glory is the same exact same as 12.

Overall if u want to save money I would buy Madden then this. This isn't a bad game just the same as 12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Yea..

posted by SidTheCreator (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was extremely bored throughout...theres no real differences besides the fact that the o line hates you and wont pass block

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid game

posted by StevenH505 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I love football games but this one was bad first still 5 min quarters in RTG mode why can't we change the time second the commentary is bad they say the same thing over and over call a timeout your confussed third the glitches are bad too freezing after some plays and players come and go from the screen during replays don't waste your money on this one get last years its the same game with a lot better game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by madvenom11 (FISHKILL, NY) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game has been tweaked this year to make the college experience better. I received the game as a gift the day it came in the mail so i lucked out because i was going to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

STUPID PEOPLE......GREAT GAME

posted by baltillidie123 (WATSON, AL) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Give this game some credit yall own kno nun bout football if u a runnin back y u dont wanna run da ball it takes gaming to a whole new level rode to glory and dynasty are awsome
this is by the far the best ncaa eva

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wow what a dissapointment!!!

posted by XxxJmoneyxxX (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying i could careless about ncaa i am a madden guy 1. It freezes during dynasty so theres a big problem
2.Rtg sucks oline is horrible defense is way to good like super defense lol
3. Ncaa is behind madden every year and it continues to be that way!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ncaa Football 13

posted by xxunderxratedxx (CAMBRIDGE, OH) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is very bad from the terrible new passing system to the new defense reactment. The new Dynasty score ticker while playing a game is a nice new add-on. The new defensive reactment makes it even harder to pass the ball and the new passing system doesn't help. The AI blocking system is terrible. The players can't block one on one and the tight end doesn't chip block when going out for a pass. My game rating is a 4. The graphics were good but the overall gameplay was bad, it doesn't even feel like they tested the game before they released it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Its the same game every year

posted by ItsGameOverNow (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Its the same game every year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wrong game

posted by mroutlaw (CHESTER, SC) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

you guys send me the wrong game and it wasn't my top game I dont understand

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

good or not good

posted by opeter (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

not good at all when you play as a running back you beet your defender in 3s. Your players get hurt to easily they barley touch you and you have a broken rib. At first it looked fun i was so wrong IF YOU WONT A GOOD FOOTBALL GAME GET MADDEN 13. All so do not pass if you do to a open player not like in madden 13 it is a in complete pass every time it happen to me like 300 TIMES I only had it for 2 days. I would like good NCAA football game. Now if you are new to running back GET MADDEN 13 IT WILL HELP YOU 10 TIMES MORE. Do not fall for the tricks. New at Quarterback MADDEN 13 BE THE BRONCOS vs RADDERS. FOR THE LAST TOME DON'T FALL FOR THE TRICKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the game

posted by steelcity1 (GILBERT, AZ) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

the game just didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse