Rent NCAA Football 12 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

2282 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by corey420 (LOGAN, OH) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

this is the best sports game ever i loooove it this game is a game that needs to be prayed over hard hitting taunting great commentary just good over all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The more you play, the worse it gets

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I loved this game the first couple of weeks I had it all the way back in July. But as I've played it on and off over the past few months (usually only playing when I've got nothing else to play at the moment....only buy a couple of sports games, everything else I get from Gamefly) the massive flaws really come into focus.

First of all, it seems like the player ratings essentially don't matter. When you play the computer, some games 68 overall defensive linemen will blow up your 95 overall offensive linemen on every play, or 75 overall WRs will be wide open torching your 95 overall CB regularly. This kind of stuff happens all the time, and is infuriating.

Even worse, however, is the absolutely terrible line play and CB/secondary/WR play. At least 3-4 times a game I'll have a CB in perfect position to intercept or knock down a pass, but instead of jumping to get it, they'll stand flat-footed with their hands up like they are waiting for the ball to fall to them, and the WR just jumps in front of them for a catch...or worse yet, the ball just goes right over the CB's helmet to a WR for a long TD. This also happens on offense to WRs -- sometimes they will be the ones standing flat-footed waiting for the ball to fall into their hands while the defensive player goes up and gets it. It's the most unrealistic part of the game, which is saying something.

The blocking is also horrible -- some plays your linemen will engage a player, then disengage immediately and sprint upfield while the defensive player gets a sack or tackles your HB in the backfield.

There's also the absurd 60 inch verticals from LBs when you try to throw a pass over the middle -- they will jump up and intercept or knock down a pass that's going to someone 15-20 yards past them....something that is physically impossible in real life.

EA needs to start over from scratch if they want to make a good football game -- the NCAA series has had these exact same flaws for far too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by ptownguy56 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Overall very good game. Graphics are good. accurate rosters. cool additions are multiple traditions per team. after a while like anything playing by yourself gets old in a hurry. predictable over time. Of course on line and muti player modes it'll keep you entertained. worth renting, heck i might even buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great GAme

posted by talleywacker26 (FORT MEADE, FL) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Nothing like when I used to play on PS2 or even some of the more recent football games, much more realistic. But sometimes I do wish i could score easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA Football

posted by callepogi (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is great. I love the road to glory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA 12

posted by tyrannmatheiu_7 (FAIRFIELD, AL) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This game is beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ncaa football 12

posted by dudejersey1 (WILDWOOD, NJ) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

not the best football game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA 12

posted by teddy11 (GRANBURY, TX) Dec 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Are you kidding me? I am seeing a whole bunch of people hating on this game? This game is amazing, they have made so much stufff make road to glory soo much better. Like two positions that is cool and making your high school team and teams you go against. You even get to make your own coach!!
Rate this game 10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Dynasty

posted by slevel (FORT SMITH, AR) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

OK, to get this out of the way, the main reason I get NCAA games every year is to play the Campus Legend mode. It seems however, that EA has started giving up on them. The legend mode games are all 5 minutes, and the other teams sim at 15 minutes (no way to change this). Needless to say, there is not really any chance of winning the Heisman unless you are just a beast at QB. They don't keep records for legend mode, and when you export to Madden, your 99 player is a 70.
Now the good news. Dynasty mode includes a new coaching carousel that lets you be a coordinator, and get realistic job offers at the end of every contract. The stat tracker, and performance based job security make dynasty one of the best features I've ever seen. The ability to change your play style and gameplan is still a great feature, and the 60 year career gives you plenty of time to finally take someone like UL Lafayette to the national championship.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Real College Football Dynasty!

posted by 44machine (STEPHENS CITY, VA) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Every year I find myself waiting in anticipation for the newest NCAA Football and every year Im very satisfied. This year I wondered how they could improve last years game but the did! If you are a college football fan and wait every year like me, well then this is a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More work to do....

posted by rehab92 (MARION, NC) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

First off, RTG has a few things that are going to bug you every time you play. I played as a QB. You can not pick your play, and at first you can not call an audible for the bigger part of you first session. Then sometimes it just does not work. After every game there is a 5 minutes of pics and plays you have done that you can not skip. If you are wanting to play online then forget about. You get 2 free days, but after that you have to pay 12$. And if you are playing RTG you can not change the game time. 5 minutes is all. And its not that big of a deal but, when making your guy they leave you helmet on. So you can not see the face face your picking. You can go back and change it till you find one you like. But its still football and at the hardst setting it more real then other games. I played through 4 session before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its good

posted by CADIN (GLEN ROSE, TX) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA Football 12

posted by GoBlue1991 (CLAY, MI) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is very entertaining. Not much difference from last year but it is still fun. Really like road to glory now, with actually having a high school schedule instead of going straight to the state playoffs. You actually have to practice so you can have more control in the game, that was pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA Football 12

posted by BigOneThreeOG (CUDAHY, CA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Great Game....Game Play Awesome....Road To Glory Is the Best....Love This Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game but froze all the time

posted by XxMistaBeatzxX (LINCOLN, RI) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

enjoyed the gameplay when the game actually didnt freeze on me. did some research and it seems to be a problem with the game its self. even after the update that was supposed to fix the freezing still had problems even getting past the initial loading screen. its a shame cuz i was destroying people online with boise state. wouldnt waste your time with this, just get madden instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what i'd like to see

posted by Flyersfan3 (CLARKSBORO, NJ) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

i think this game should've had villanova in this game so the rivalry with Temple would be included and the battle for the mayor's cup. next year's college game should include small schools and drop the FCS south and so on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trash

posted by mckelso (CYPRESS, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Game is not realistic at all. Out of no where your opponents defense becomes super human. Game is not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One Question?

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Why do the play routes automatically come up before each snap? I cant find out how to turn this off. It takes away the realism of the game for me. Every other ncaa had a button like R2 that u could push if u wanted to check your routes before u snapped the ball. Now some idiot at EA decided that they should automatically come up ! I hate EA sports so much . I hope there is a way to turn this off , if not i hate this game. Somebody please tell me if i can turn this off. Please help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by murfdog221 (HAZLETON, IA) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

First of all this game is the best football game I have ever played, the graphics are great, everything is great about this game. Especially when you can go online on teambuilder 12 and create a college team of your liking, I recomend this game to everyone who likes football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by celticdude2011 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Ncaa 12 is a great game. The graphics are awesome and entraces are very realstic. I prefer this game to all sport gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NCAA COLLEGE FLUNKBALL

posted by TuChico7 (BRONX, NY) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The graphics look great but the game has a couple of bugs maybe i'm the only one that has encountered them, but almost every single game my starting QB and RB always get hurt and i can't adjust the frequency of injury it's either on or off. Also when I try to adjust the D line to crash it and forces my line man if he's highlighted to encroach the O line. It also constantly freezes in between snaps. Like i said maybe it's just the disc i have but the game overall is still exciting and very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Game But Flawed

posted by azncoleone (AURORA, CO) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Once you get to week 15 in Dynasty Mode, it will not let you sim to get to week 16. I looked around a numerous other people have the same issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game as usual

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

The only reason i didn't give this game the perfect 10 is because of the lack of being able to change camera angles and not being able to save in the middle of a game........ what's up with that?
Other then that, the game is pretty awesome. The graphics are awesome, game play is great and the stadiums are pretty close to scale. I love the coach mode on the game, i enjoy calling all the plays and watching them come to life. I think that's the coolest addition to the game by far. I am gonna buy this game for sure. It's worth the rent to play but if your a true college football fan like i am, you'll wanna buy it after you rent it
Good job EA Sports

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No online gaming?

posted by mosejas (AUBURN, GA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Why rent this game with no online. I'm not going to pay to play online with a game I'm renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse