Rent NCAA Football 12 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

2282 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't work

posted by MarleyDog (BROWNSBURG, IN) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

The CD was perfect, but the game itself would play past the first quarter. More junk by EA............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game

posted by ZRgamerpeople (LANCASTER, PA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is awesome, if only i got to play the game. The game has so many scratches, i can do every thing in the game, but play a football game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by hodgedcctchsr (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game is horrible it freezes every second and I cant enjoy the game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Trash

posted by mckelso (CYPRESS, CA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Game is not realistic at all. Out of no where your opponents defense becomes super human. Game is not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ncaa football 12

posted by dudejersey1 (WILDWOOD, NJ) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

not the best football game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good Game But Flawed

posted by azncoleone (AURORA, CO) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Once you get to week 15 in Dynasty Mode, it will not let you sim to get to week 16. I looked around a numerous other people have the same issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good game but froze all the time

posted by XxMistaBeatzxX (LINCOLN, RI) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

enjoyed the gameplay when the game actually didnt freeze on me. did some research and it seems to be a problem with the game its self. even after the update that was supposed to fix the freezing still had problems even getting past the initial loading screen. its a shame cuz i was destroying people online with boise state. wouldnt waste your time with this, just get madden instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

LIST OF PROBLEMS

posted by augustekidz (ALLENTOWN, PA) May 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Me?Im not so fond of this ncca.First off.
1.(THE PASS)The game offers you a two day pass to play online.However when this expires you have to pay 10 dallars to get it for a limited amount of time.
2.(THE RADIO)Actually i thought this was a good thing,at first.I thought finally i can keep up on whats going on!But was wrong they give you the same reports for a whole hour.Sometimes they even go back and play the old reports.FOR ANOTHER WHOLE HOUR!!!!!
3.(DYNASTY)I was excited when this game was in my mail expecialy for this Dynasty Mode.You start off by making a coach.But they dont give you much options on that his body can either be medium,XL,or XXL.THIS,this is what really made me wonder about this game..You can choose what you want your coach to be,caucasion,or African American.ALL AND I DO MEAN ALL!all of the African American faces are all racist in a way(MY OPINION)they either have weird head shapes , messed up foreheads, Long and squished in noses,Buck teeth too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The more you play, the worse it gets

posted by edlglide (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I loved this game the first couple of weeks I had it all the way back in July. But as I've played it on and off over the past few months (usually only playing when I've got nothing else to play at the moment....only buy a couple of sports games, everything else I get from Gamefly) the massive flaws really come into focus.

First of all, it seems like the player ratings essentially don't matter. When you play the computer, some games 68 overall defensive linemen will blow up your 95 overall offensive linemen on every play, or 75 overall WRs will be wide open torching your 95 overall CB regularly. This kind of stuff happens all the time, and is infuriating.

Even worse, however, is the absolutely terrible line play and CB/secondary/WR play. At least 3-4 times a game I'll have a CB in perfect position to intercept or knock down a pass, but instead of jumping to get it, they'll stand flat-footed with their hands up like they are waiting for the ball to fall to them, and the WR just jumps in front of them for a catch...or worse yet, the ball just goes right over the CB's helmet to a WR for a long TD. This also happens on offense to WRs -- sometimes they will be the ones standing flat-footed waiting for the ball to fall into their hands while the defensive player goes up and gets it. It's the most unrealistic part of the game, which is saying something.

The blocking is also horrible -- some plays your linemen will engage a player, then disengage immediately and sprint upfield while the defensive player gets a sack or tackles your HB in the backfield.

There's also the absurd 60 inch verticals from LBs when you try to throw a pass over the middle -- they will jump up and intercept or knock down a pass that's going to someone 15-20 yards past them....something that is physically impossible in real life.

EA needs to start over from scratch if they want to make a good football game -- the NCAA series has had these exact same flaws for far too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Frustrating

posted by theburritodude (LAS VEGAS, NM) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been an avid Madden and NCAA player for years, that being said, NCAA 12 is very frustrating compared to others.

I like to run a ball control type offense, run the ball and short passes, but I have yet to score on a drive that consists of more than 8 plays. What makes it worse, I have yet to allow my opponents to have more than an 8 play drive for a score. Therefore, all my scores and my opponents' scores have come on plays of 20 yards or more. It is nearly impossible to complete passes between 1-10 yards, as linebackers and defensive backs seem to have super human abilities. This takes away many strategic elements to the game, as the game boils down to who can complete the most deep routes.

So if you enjoy running deep posts and vertical routes every play this game is for you, as you WILL score frequently. But if you want a more strategic experience that involves the entire playbook, stay clear of this game.

NOTE: If you want to play online be prepared to fork out 10 dollars for the online pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Terrible Road to Glory Play

posted by Marine0311 (BOISE, ID) Jul 21, 2011

Member since May 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm not much of an online player, so I can't say much for that. I love building dynasties and I love playing the Road to Glory mode. I was really excited to see how you earned points to purchase skill points and different abilities on the field. Plus being able to play both sides of the field was really cool addition this year. The tackling is way better in this year's game. But all of these new additions are completely spoiled but a dumb AI system when it comes to play calls. Running a two minute offense they'll give you multiple running plays in a row. They'll call hail mary's from the 20 yard line. I've had the same screen play called 3 times in a row. It is just straight up frustrating and annoying and there isn't anything you can do until you get your guy leveled up, but it is so frustrating to even get to that point that I can't take the stupidity anymore. I don't know why it does this for road to glory, the AI when playing the computer in dynasty doesn't play like that. Also I had one character go to OK State since it was an "Air Raid" offense. I think my offense ran the ball about 60% of the time. There are more and more glitches with this game. For the most part dynasty mode is fine, just don't expect to play road to glory and not pull out all of your hair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same thing as 2011

posted by mando23 (MARYSVILLE, CA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Same version, just changed pages and backgrounds...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could be ALOT better

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

While the game is Ok it could have been ALOT better,BIGGEST problem is the Non-Human Jumping Abilities of Defensive players, Sorry but there is not a Human Alive or ever was or ever will be that could Lump as High as the Programmers have them Defensive players Jumping. no way that a Human can jump 10 ft+ in the air I mean where thier Feet are 10 ft in the air and they do it usually from a standing position. Maybe if EA would not get the fantasy games and Games like football mixed up they wouldnt have linebackers that jump at least 19 ft and sometimes alot more because the Human body isnt capable of Jumping that high in the air, except when programmed Into a Sports game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game!

posted by GeneralxRampage (COPLAY, PA) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I've never been a huge sports game fan, but I do like to play some and this is one of them!

Pros: Great graphics and good game modes, like road to glory where you start off as a senior in high school.

Cons: Alot of loading and can be slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by ptownguy56 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Overall very good game. Graphics are good. accurate rosters. cool additions are multiple traditions per team. after a while like anything playing by yourself gets old in a hurry. predictable over time. Of course on line and muti player modes it'll keep you entertained. worth renting, heck i might even buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More work to do....

posted by rehab92 (MARION, NC) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

First off, RTG has a few things that are going to bug you every time you play. I played as a QB. You can not pick your play, and at first you can not call an audible for the bigger part of you first session. Then sometimes it just does not work. After every game there is a 5 minutes of pics and plays you have done that you can not skip. If you are wanting to play online then forget about. You get 2 free days, but after that you have to pay 12$. And if you are playing RTG you can not change the game time. 5 minutes is all. And its not that big of a deal but, when making your guy they leave you helmet on. So you can not see the face face your picking. You can go back and change it till you find one you like. But its still football and at the hardst setting it more real then other games. I played through 4 session before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent improvments

posted by applegab (COWETA, OK) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Slows down when going no huddle. I wish it would have had all the teams new uniforms on it. Head coach should be able to choose his coordinators. Also the head coach should get to do things like interviews, pregame speeches, and actually be interviewed for positions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One Question?

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Why do the play routes automatically come up before each snap? I cant find out how to turn this off. It takes away the realism of the game for me. Every other ncaa had a button like R2 that u could push if u wanted to check your routes before u snapped the ball. Now some idiot at EA decided that they should automatically come up ! I hate EA sports so much . I hope there is a way to turn this off , if not i hate this game. Somebody please tell me if i can turn this off. Please help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by murfdog221 (HAZLETON, IA) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

First of all this game is the best football game I have ever played, the graphics are great, everything is great about this game. Especially when you can go online on teambuilder 12 and create a college team of your liking, I recomend this game to everyone who likes football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NCAA COLLEGE FLUNKBALL

posted by TuChico7 (BRONX, NY) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The graphics look great but the game has a couple of bugs maybe i'm the only one that has encountered them, but almost every single game my starting QB and RB always get hurt and i can't adjust the frequency of injury it's either on or off. Also when I try to adjust the D line to crash it and forces my line man if he's highlighted to encroach the O line. It also constantly freezes in between snaps. Like i said maybe it's just the disc i have but the game overall is still exciting and very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No online gaming?

posted by mosejas (AUBURN, GA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Why rent this game with no online. I'm not going to pay to play online with a game I'm renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by johntrylr9645 (CANYON, TX) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This years version of NCAA Football is a solid addition to the collection. The game play is much smoother than in recent years. The Campus Legend mode has been reworked and improved. Dynasty mode is also a bit different with the option to start out as a cordinator. All in all the game is solid, however there just isn't many ways to improve the game itself. Maybe putting the ESPN the magazine covers and things like that would help. There also could be an option for voting on the coaches poll. What about the trophy games? It used to be a big point of this game and it doesn't seem to have the same importance in recent years. I would grade this a B+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Football, Football, and more Football

posted by ParkerKimchi (AUSTIN, TX) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

As someone who doesn't really see the point in constantly getting the latest football game every year, I must say NCAA12 is one of those you want to update your collection with. Ncaa12 adds new school unique pregame cutscenes from Florida State's Mascot throwing a spear to UT's petting of the longhorn horns in in the hall. These just help immerse you in the game further and make you feel like you're at a game.

The game looks pretty good- lighting isn't the best in the industry but its still not bad eye candy. Players are still fairly cookie cutter when it comes to making your player.

Gameplay improvements include the moementum based tackling already present in the Madden series, as well as the ability to play iron man football in a full high school season in Road to Glory. Dynasty is largely unchanged from previous games- leaving you to do what really matters- play.

Ultimately, the game is still how NCAA games are expected to be with no drastic changes, but the graphical update, momentum tackling, and new additions in the Road to Glory mode make it worth shelling out the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Dynasty

posted by slevel (FORT SMITH, AR) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

OK, to get this out of the way, the main reason I get NCAA games every year is to play the Campus Legend mode. It seems however, that EA has started giving up on them. The legend mode games are all 5 minutes, and the other teams sim at 15 minutes (no way to change this). Needless to say, there is not really any chance of winning the Heisman unless you are just a beast at QB. They don't keep records for legend mode, and when you export to Madden, your 99 player is a 70.
Now the good news. Dynasty mode includes a new coaching carousel that lets you be a coordinator, and get realistic job offers at the end of every contract. The stat tracker, and performance based job security make dynasty one of the best features I've ever seen. The ability to change your play style and gameplan is still a great feature, and the 60 year career gives you plenty of time to finally take someone like UL Lafayette to the national championship.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse