Rent NCAA Football 11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Football 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
8.2

3777 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best NCAA Football Game Ever?

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

NCAA Football 2011 could be the best college football game ever

Everything has been improved from years past. In years past, I felt like that NCAA Football was simply the college roster version of Madden. Not this year, it has distinguished itself finally

The presentation is absolutely awesome. With new menus & ESPN finally being used correctly it adds to the gaming experience. Also Facebook/Twitter are integrated. The menus aren't cumbersome as 1 may think.

The graphics are off the chart, with some exceptions. The crowds were as normal. I had a few hitches in frame rate, but they are extremely rare. The graphics are delightful to look at & are smooth.

The sound is fresh & the crowds can be felt. The music is great. But as with any sports game, the announcers become old to listen to. I wish there was a fix to this, but alas there isn't.

The game play is the best part of this game. There is something for everyone. If you want to play a dynasty, you have the option to play online with others or alone off line. If you want to play one game you can. If you want to play as one player and integrate your player into the upcoming Madden you can. You can play one game online also. The AI has been dramatically improved and is finally something to brag about instead of rail against. For example, instead of the blockers blocking the man directly in front of them, they actually play their assignment. The schools play exactly like they actually do and run the same offense which is a plus.

The only complaint: Online pass. Unless you buy the game, you have to pay to play online. You do get a 7-day free trial though (that is for ALL EA games. So use it wisely). However, with my recommendation that shouldn't be an issue.

I very rarely give this recommendation, but BUY this game. I will be keeping my disc. I'd also recommend buying that way, since it is cheaper. You will also get the online pass code along with your box when you buy it through Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'm very impressed

posted by gamefrkgam (ONTARIO, CA) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I'm not a HUGE college football fan, but I got to say that I'm impressed with this game. The animations are great and the atmosphere feels real, the presentations is night and day from last year.

I believe that IF you love your college teams, this game should be great for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best NCAA Yet

posted by alabamafan (MADISON, AL) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

26 out of 36 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I got NCAA Football 11 and by the looks of it when I first started it, I could tell it was going to be a great game!! the overall gameplay deserves a 10 out of 10, not even including the other game modes. There is Dynasty, Online Dynasty, and continuing from last year, Road to Glory. The Dynasty mode is great!! You can Play as all 120 FBS College Football Teams. The Dynasty and Online Dynasty Mode also have a brand-new recruiting mode that is more realistic. The Online Dynasty allows you to join any dynasty you want just by searching it. You can also make user-created stories throughout the dynasty. Once it is bowl week you don't have to wait your turn for your bowl game. Every bowl game is at the same time in Online Dynasty. There is still Season Showdown and Teambuilder. You can also access your online dynasty on your computer by going to by visiting the website for Online Dynasty. There is the new 120 ways to win featuring every college football teams Authenic Offensive Play Style including One-Back, Spread, No-Huddle, No-Huddle Spread, and Air Raid. There is a new locomotion system with gameplay improvements. There is a new ESPN Broadcast with the scoreboard, songs, and Presentation. Last but not least is a new pre-game entrance system. Touch Howards Rock at Clemson, Lock Arms at Ohio State and Run through smoke at Miami!!!! NCAA Football 11 is a must buy game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good if you like spending MS points for add-ons.

posted by ericlsu (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Why I gave it a 6:

a) If you enjoy online play, online dynasties, teambuilder, etc; then buy the game or else you are going to spend $25 in MS points just to use these features.

b) Also I have once yet to see the EA servers working when connecting, which is actually a common issue with EA.

c) Recruiting has changed (more like a routlette wheel) and is even more tedious now more than ever. The logic makes no sense. Why would a recruit continously bring up topics that he doesn't care about? Then when you go to a new topic, he'll bring up the topic he doesn't care about again? No one in real life does this.

d) Gameplay is good (not great). There is almost no discernable differences in speed between players. The pass blocking issue remains, when players will just let defenders run by them even though they aren't blocking anyone. Players really cannot juke that well, even HBs and Wrs.

e) graphics are great. Stadium renderings are amazing and uniform options are all there. The gleem of light reflections on the helmets is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much imporoved from last year.

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Gameplay-9.
It's brilliant. They fixed all the annoying issues from last year and made play-calling better. The running mechanism is odd at first and makes things awkward during punt returns, but when you run the ball it feels great. You really acn't juke or stiff-arm, it's possible, but it slows you down so much that it makes no sence. Passing is better, too, almost perfect passes can finally be batted down by linemen. Many people complain that the atribute threshold keeps the players too even, but they shoud be that way and it can be turned off.

Pesentation-7.
Better than lst year, but that was terrible. They added some cutsences, but it's a lot like madden 10.

Graphics-10.
Looks real.

Other-4 The Career mode is the same exept now you can play in skill positions only instead of addeding kickers and punters. The recruting is kind of lame, its the same, exept ramdom topics which sometimes begs the question, If that dooen't matter to you, why bring it up?
Also there is only dynasty or Career mode, other than exibition or mascot games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An upgrade, but, still needs some tweaking....

posted by bamaman84 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love football. I love football games. The last couple of years of NCAA have really just been remakes with updated rosters. NCAA 11 really seems like a new game. New animations, better gameplay, and great playbooks make this a great game for the college football fan. There are still glitches (QBs sometime continue to run backwards on a Play Action play; AI blocking is still lacking, especially on kick returns), but, it is a solid game for the average college football fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST SPORTS GAME EVER!!!

posted by QueenCityRebel (BUFFALO, NY) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This installment is the worst ever! The most glaring problem is the ridiculously stupid the AI players; they wont pick up blocks they are supposed to, the wont look and catch the ball, and the Referee AI has missed so many interference calls they would be fired on the spot in real life. I truly cant understand why people like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Would be awesome if it worked

posted by maxpower64 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It gets a 3 instead of a 1 because all the new features are great and vastly improve the game... when it actually works. This game is practically unplayable do to constant freezing, especially in Dynasty modes. No game I've ever owned has induced as many random system freezes as this one. It'll do at game load, it'll randomly do it mid-game, it'll do it as I scroll down a list of something. It'll freeze as it loads out of a game back to the main menu. I've given up trying to play this game for more than 15 minutes without it locking my entire xbox up. And it isn't just my disc, I traded the first one in and it continued to do it with the replacement. EA released an update that was supposed to fix this and many other game play issues but it only got WORSE!!! And I know I'm not alone, there has been plenty of chatter on the forums at EA's website that others are experiencing the same problem. My advice.... don't bother with NCAA 11, wait until they have a version that works or go back to NCAA 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good But still need work

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jul 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok I have Played NCAA for many Years and they get better every year. One thing That doesnt Get better is The Running Backs in The Road to Glory Mode, They and the Recievers will still run Right To The Defense even if there is a Hole for them big enough for a City Bus to Go Through sideways. There has to be some way of making Them Run for the Hole and Not To where there are Players waiting to Tackle them. I read the other Reviews and I am Puzzeled By The ones That Give it a Low score. I Have had None of those Problems I guess if You dont Like American Football You wont Like this game.Now if EA would get the AI Right They would have a Great game but as it is They have a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Close...

posted by Jcavatar (FRUITPORT, MI) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

after a while the shiney menu's wear off, and the glairing holes in the game become more glairing.

There is a few annoying bugs, if a hand off fails the QB will run about 30 yards behing the line of schrimage, and you cannot comntroll him... this can destroy your game if it happenes at a bad time. The qb often rifles a throw over a recievers head, the reciever could at least make an attempt to catch it but he doesnt, not sure if this is intended by the game developer but it feels forced at times especialy when A) your QB is not being presured, B) the WR is wide open.

You CB's have stone hands, and will often drop a pass right to them, or swat a pass that they should have tried to catch, often i see a QB throw a ball to an open area and a LB or Saftey that is looking down field at the QB and has position to make an interception, will not make that play, they wait till the ball hits the ground then they run towards it.

Some game sessions become really frustrating... not sure if it's the AI or what, you can totaly destroy a 1 ranked team one week, only to have an average team nearly knock you out of the BCS rankings, this feels a little too forced at times, when you expect the tougher teams to give you a run for your money, but then again sometimes it's reversed, and 2 top ranked teams leave the field 13-10, and you blow out a lesser team 78-0... just feels off to me

dynasty modes seems limited, and recruiting new talent becomes boring and frustrating after one season, so i just let it do it's thing on its own and check it once in a while to at least try and get the best players availible that interested in the school. Overall this portion of the game ends up as a time sink, and often you feel cheated by even using it.

I mainly rented this game to get a few draft classes saved up for madden 11, If madden has any of the bugs this game does i will be unhappy, but it's a different section of EA that makes it so i am still hopefull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

And i thought 2010 was bad i was completely wrong

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The passing is terrible in this game, line backers will swat everything if you try to pass it over there head, apparently Terrell Pryor of Ohio State which is 92 speed can be caught by an 82 speed line backer because of the terrible idea of speed threshold, they make it sound like its an amazing feature but all it does is make your fast people slower, recruiting is worse than ever, you cant choose the topic you want to talk about to the player and it just chooses a topic at random, your players seem to always drop interceptions, rent this game don't buy it yet, i usually always buy ea sports titles because they are always good, but I messed up and bought this, don't make the same mistake I did, NCAA 2010 was terrible too 2009 was the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Most Frustrating Game Ever!

posted by thetruth12 (MARSHFIELD, WI) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Uggh, where to start... I have always preferred the NCAA games more than Madden, but unfortunately they have turned NCAA into Madden. Gone are the days of options and scrambling QB's, because for some reason the cpu's DE's are faster than anyone out on the field. I was actually intercepted by a DE on the goaline, and not even my WR's could run him down, I just stared at the screen helplessly with my mouth agape...

I spend most of the game in amazement of how unfairly unbalanced this game feels. I've seen the computer's defensive players actually defy the laws of physics and morph through my WR's to make interceptions, while your DBs might as well have hoofs for hands, cause the ball is hitting the turf if they touch it. I stress the word IF, because it's a big IF that they will even be near enough to the ball to make a play on it, whereas the computer always seems to have your players blanketed. Also, it never seems to fail that the computer is always falling forward on tackles, no matter what angle they are hit from, unfortunately, this perk does not seem to work both ways, you are always going backwards. I've actually seen plays where they cpu catches the ball at a standstill, facing the line of scrimmage and gets hit by a safety, only to push ahead another five yards.

I guess the main source of frustration seems to boil down to the fact that the computers players feel faster than yours, on both offense and defense. Even in matchups that should feel more balanced (such as Northwestern vs. Illinois), the computer players blow yours out of the water. Even in instances where you hit a long pass, 9 times out of 10 you seem to be getting run down.

One last thing that burns me about this game is the kick/punt returning, I have never played a game where I have enjoyed this part of football less. If you break 20 yards on a kick return or 5 on a punt, you are doing pretty well.

I don't know, some people are going to rave about this game, but I say rent first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFUL

posted by Burndog (WHEELING, WV) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is the same as all the other ones minus the graphics. I used Noel Devine for my RTG. Now West Virgina is a RUN FIRST team, running 80% more than pass. So its 1 and 5 and we run Hail Mary, get sacked 2 and 15 and we run quick slant incomplete 3 and 15 we run hb draw form the shotgun. WHY, that makes 0 sense, and the fact that your QB is the biggest idiot ever and decides he's gonna throw it away when your wide open 25 yards downfield! THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE, dont buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Back to the drawing board, EA

posted by Biizz91 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I thought that finally this would be the year they fix the AI issues that have plagued EA sports games forever, I was wrong. I don't even know if you can call it intelligence really, it's like watching the special class at recess.

It REALLY stands out in the Road to Glory mode. When you have to depend on the AI for simple tasks such as delivering the ball to an open RB in the flats it's very very very obvious that something just isn't right. I was in this one game and the CPU called for a QB keeper 3 times in a row (I have no control over the play calls), of and of course he was immediately smashed in the backfield every time.

The CPU called for an option, I took the D end with me and the QB had plenty of room to turn up field and get a first down. What does he do? Pitch it directly to the D end for a pick 6. Lineman missing blocks then running into open field. Secondary who don't react to balls they could intercept or knock down.

No only that, but you still can't see your receivers until they get to the middle of the field. This makes many plays completely useless because you can't see where the defenders are. You should be able to scan the field with your QB and only be able to throw where you can see, but of course that would make too much sense to implement.

They have added a few new animations and what not and I like most of them but this is not enough to get over the glaring AI problems

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not even a completed game

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 26 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

This game was released about a year early, I am very not kidding. There are in the few games of the road to glory mode any videos of Erin Andrews giving a report on you. Granted I didn't get player of the game or week honors but not a single video compared to last years where you got one every week if you started. The replays are irritating obviously borked, on a pass you can see the ball stick in mid air, the pass animation not complete then the ball is landing in your players hand.

Graphically it's a step down from five years ago, gone are the dirt and grass stains on your jersey. There may be rain not that I ever found it it looks to be every single game is a sunny day.

Course the biggest problem, the controls and AI, when you are playing as a QB road to glory, your players will only catch what is right to them, you lead by a little tiny bit, they don't catch it. Screen passes do not work, your the HB, get a screen pass just skip it it's pointless to even bother. Defensively is screwed up, the camera sets on you and angles to the ball, you may or may not get through the offensive line, it's a matter of if the game wants you to. Offensively receiving as a HB is borked, you only see the landing circle when you are next to it or the ball is. You don't see the field worth anything as a QB, or any position.

There is no dorm room that gets better looking, there is nothing to keep you in the game besides playing and well playing is screwed. This is a game released at least six months early by EA standards. A year or more by any other company, there is nothing actually in the game, you love college football, play last years. This is a don't rent, don't buy and write to EA saying this game really blows fix it.

I really wanted to swear this game is so borked to worthless land. add about 50 F words to the above and you get where I am with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

RENTER BEWARE

posted by backusduo (AVONDALE, AZ) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 38 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I know this just shocked me (see note below). I planned on renting it and then purchasing it anyway, but right now Gamefly doesn't have it to purchase except for new. I could have gotten this game from Dell for $40 bucks if I hadn't cared about waiting a week, and I just cancelled my order figuring I could purchase through Gamefly for around $45 and get it by Wed.

NOTE: This game requires an EA SPORTS Online Pass code to access online content. The Online Pass code is included with purchase, but not with rental of this title. A 7-day online trial is available via your Xbox LIVE gamertag while renting this title. For more information, please visit the EA SPORTS Online Pass site.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dynasty mode terrible

posted by grizadams (A, AL) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I have bought this game every year, but now I pay $60 for it and it keeps trying to sell me more stuff to help with recruiting and training my players. I did not buy anything and played two seasons and my players did not improve at all over the 2 seasons and turned my team into a terrible team because I didn't feel it was necessary to pay more money to have a fair chance at this game. I already stopped buying Tiger Woods 2 years ago, it looks like I am done with EA sports completely

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Buggie

posted by futureboy (SHORT HILLS, NJ) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Game felt buggie and repetitive...past games have played better. Curious to see what they do with Madden - expecting great things!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun,Awesome,Exciting!

posted by Gamer7843 (WESTON, FL) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 31 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

It's once again the same gameplay.A little more modes Making replay not to well.Dont reccomend buy unless your a die hard football fan I bought this because I have been playing football since I was 6 and I'm 11 at the moment.The multiplayer is alright same elements as Play now but I have played dynasty still playing though pretty good though.Get to recruit and all that good stuff.When I bought Madden 2010 and went to Dynasty I made my dream Team With my Qb as Sammy Sosa Gale Sayers Larry Fitzgerald Polamalu you get the point but When you Play NCAA 2011They really isn't any Superstars.I mean you got Percy Harvin Tim Teabow and I'f your wondering why Tim Teabow is in 2011 Because Techinically it's 2010.I like NCAA 2011 more that NFL.I dont know why but lately its Madden thats been doing better my opinion.I just feel like they run faster like in NCAA I remember one of the years they ran ridicously slow. Percy Harvin running like a Tight End.I just can' stand that especially when my mom pays 60$.Fortanetly they made them run faster I reallly liked how they did it in Madden 09 Solid achiements.Another thing I noticed was Rightbefore the game they have the commentors and then you see the Home Team getting pumped up in the Locker room or whatever they do Like Ohio State pust there arm's around there Teamates.Then there is The teams offensive Plays Like the spread or the pistol the Notre Dame Do the No huddle but I am not a fan of Notre Dame its all about the U and Ohio State hit me up on Xbox Live iitz dropshotz.Hope you found this helpful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game but could be better.

posted by Jrock2725 (CORCORAN, CA) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Having played NCAA Football games on the 360 since the console came out NCAA Football 11 Is one of my favorite installments yet. They actually changed up a little bit of the features and made it feel more real with the on field play. The Road to Glory mode is pretty cool. The addition of the pregame rituals in the playnow mode and such is pretty good. The graphics are pretty awesome and I would say the replay value is pretty good.

The downside however has to be the mechanics of the gameplay. The passing game seems to be lacking in accuracy. Even though you throw to a guy that is wide open and only hit his reciever button the pass will sometimes sail over his head to his feet in fron of or behind him. The run game is not quite as glitchy as the pass game but it has a couple of flaws in the controls as well. Another thing that gets to me is how sometimes even though the D isnt blitsing you your offensive line tends to roll over and give up on a play but they seem unstopable the next.

Overall this is a pretty good game if you can overlook the glitches that were mentioned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by bellesbabes (ALGONA, IA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game sucks i got for xbox and i hated it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad

posted by littledgt (BOX ELDER, SD) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

THE WORST FOOTBALL GAME YET.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SO SO SO SO SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ghghghrock (OLATHE, KS) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I LOVE IT!!!!! One thing bad is KU is better than KSU.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its either too easy or too hard

posted by ObiWanKenRoby (ANDOVER, OH) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I have played almost all the NCAA titles since '05. So i'm pretty good at them, and have been able to play through my dynasties on Heisman level with no problem. But with this game Heisman is so off its ridiculous. I usually play as Ohio State, which are usually A's across the board. But no matter whom i play, if they use the spread (no-huddle), its almost impossible to stop their offense. Your db's roam around and leave the offensive players wide open, and even if you're playing teams like FIU and Buffalo (D's across the board), thier offensive line blocks like all-americans unless you blitz. I feel like i need to blitz every play just to get a couple incompletions. Now the presentation for this game is the best i've seen, and the graphics are dazzling, but the gameplay on Heisman (which is the only difficulty setting i play on), is a real pain. Also, recruiting in dynasty is random for the most part. I liked the old recruiting system better, even if it was a bore. Anyways, if you're gonna play this on any difficulty besides Heisman, i would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse