Rent NCAA Football 11 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.2

2651 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicted

posted by SDSKAPUNK (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Plain and simple i was addiected to this game. So much so, that my roomate had to unplug the PS3 just to get me to go eat dinner. RTG mode was steller. I found that taking a bad tean (i.e. my hometown SDSU Aztecs) and making them into a powerhouse was so much fun. I highly recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game - way better than 2010

posted by Kruelgor (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow. This game is truly amazing. Long gone are the easy bomb passes. There is more focus on strategy as interceptions are much more common. There's a lot of great options and content available. The online game does much to discourage "cheese" play as it awards points to each player at the end of the game for the leaderboard, and things like running up the score, onside kicks when not necessary, all give negative points. You also get more points if you win as an underdog team. Very fun game. 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

surprisingly schocked

posted by LarsLuzak (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the first time i played this game i was blown away on how real this game feels. the players movements r incredibly smooth and responsive. the A.I. blocking is a huge step in the right direction. i can agree the defense A.I. may need a little more tweaking. nevertheless its what ive been waiting for since madden 94. the gameplay feels so good & real its amazing. the graphics/animations r in a class of there own when it comes to sports games. madden engineers need to have a sit down with the geniuses at ncaa 11 and let them explain how a real football game is made!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA Better Then EVER!

posted by JvitB22 (DIX HILLS, NY) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For all of those EA haters out there, I have 5 things to say to you:
1. Improved Gameplay / Locomotion
2. Improved Run Blocking
3. Improved Dynasty
4. Improved Stadiums
5. MOST REALISTIC SPORTS GAME EVER
6. ESPN!!!

This years installment of NCAA Football is arguably the best one yet, deffinately MY personal favorite. At first I knid of put this game down, put then I discovered on youtube a guy named Versuz2 put out a custom slider set and it makes the game SO REALISTIC, even on Heisman! I also discovered a downloadable roster from PSN name Luvtotha9s. This guy went over every single individual team and added the teams real player names! It's amazing. These two added bonuses make the game so much more fun and it makes it feel truly real!

I can't decide which I like more in the dynasty: playing my weekly game or my weekly recruiting. Recruiting is so much fun now because EA added a lot of new features to it.

Running the football is at an all time high thanks to the all new run blocking engine. Thank god I dont have to helplessly watch as my fullback runs idly by a defender 2 yards in front of me. It is truly about time they fixed this; this was my biggest problem with the NCAA Football and Madden franchises. The overall gameplay is so much better.

And as an added feature, and this has no effect whatsoever on game play, but now just like in NCAA Basketball, NCAA Football has partnered up with ESPN, and the game presentation looks like you're actually watchin a Saturday morning game on ESPN.

This game is the most realistic sports game I have ever played; Its my favorite game out right now and probably for a long, long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ncaa 10

posted by cenation (REDFORD, MI) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its pretty good but denard robinson is 2nd string when hes supposed to be first,you cant see their names on their jerseys,unless you make a player,if your a football fanatic i would highly reccomend this game.YOU WONT BE LET DOWN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A love hate relationship!

posted by gait79 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics: A-
Realistic gameplay detail: A
AI: A strong B+ if not A-

I really loved the attention to detail EA payed to indiviual player reactions to being hit or sacked, even allowing us to see a grimmes or two from a quarterback or linebacker after making the hit.
I do have one question though. What the h.ll happened to the crowd. It looked like I had been taken back to Super Techmo Bowl, for all of you that actually remember that game. Graghically I think EA should definitely take whatever they did with NHL11 and apply it to all of their games, especially with the crowd.
In Dynasty mode I didn't like that I couldn't actually make my own coach and work my way up in the coaching ranks by winning and being offered better jobs later. Rather you are simply taking over and changing the name of an existing coach. You couldn't even see you coaching achievements and the coach of the year award was left off the list of trophies that could be won.
Aside from this I found that the Heisman difficulty level was way to easy especially for recruiting. I loved the format used for recruiting and being able to create players to through into the recruit field. However I was out recruited by UCF, USF and another low level team that I can't remember for my 5 star created recruits more then once. Oh did I mention I was playing as the florida Gators!!!

Outside of this in all modes the gameplay it's self was great. Fullbacks and guards getting upfield on a regular basis to make the perfectly timed block to let me get free into the open field was a definite pleasant surprise.
The computer never loses a challenge and it seems the player never wins them but over all I did like the penalty and big play fairness of the game. There was a slight glitch however with the challenge replay. If the quarter ends or a timeout is called most plays wil be unreviewable.
Overall I would say this is definietly one to buy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A major step forward, but also some set backs

posted by Sean101 (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

EA Sports NCAA 11 is a huge improvement for the series, and as always EA is always evolving the game play to stay on top of its game. The graphics, as expected, are crisp and clean and look quite realistic in the photo mode option. The unique entrances each team has adds a great sense of pride and realism to the game that had been needed for a while. The football players are more animated, and players act more as they would in real life, attempting to make that big hit however possible or avoiding it. I also enjoy seeing the team celebrate after every victory personally, not just the championship games.

However, there are several flaws. For us gamefly users, you have to purchase online abilities to partake in the Season Showdown, which I thought was a brilliant addition to NCAA 10. I also find it frustrating that players would seemingly run into each other, be it wide outs or a wide receiver running into a linebacker, and be stuck there for a split second; just enough time to allow the pass to fall incomplete. If you are playing in a zone, and the QB is just standing there, your DE will seemingly just stare at him and not go after the hit.

Commentators are nice, but can't seem to keep up with the pace of the game, and only use side line reporter Erin Andrews to report injuries. She could be used for interesting facts for each team, but maybe next year. And perhaps the most disappointing thing is that while playing on the grid iron, the fans in the stands are still cardboard cut outs.

Overall a much needed improvements towards making the virtual football world become real; however, still a long shot to go. 8.5 overall game play, but a 7 because you need to purchase the game or purchase the ability to participate in Season Showdown.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply the best

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Dynasty mode is sooooooooooooooo much fun. I spend hours recruiting. You can take any slug university and turn it around in 3 seasons if you get yourself a bluechip QB.

The graphics are really nice. I was a bit surprised how much it blows away Madden. The motion of the players is the closest to the real thing I've ever seen in a game.

For those who don't care much to play online... let me just say, I love online play... I've had this game for almost 2 weeks and I haven't even bothered yet.

Play this game in the hardest mode possible ONLY! You'll get REALLY good realism out of it if you do. Easier modes are just that... EASY. The CPU is a bad mo fo when you set the AI up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA only the leader by default

posted by KnightEnvy (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

EA sports have been the leaders in sports games for years, but in the football category they did not do it by being the best game, they did it by ensuring there was no competition. This is not to say the game itself isn't good, but it has been years since I have seen a truly finished product, and this years NCAA is no different.

Graphically, you get what you have come to expect from EA Sports. Realistic movements that help gamers escape from the fact they are playing a video game and immerse themselves in a realistic gridiron match. For years this has been EA Sports' strong suit, and they show up yet again with a visual masterpiece.

Gameplay is only slightly behind graphics in excellence. Most of the time the reaction is what one would expect if watching a game. The struggles for extra yards, the juke moves, diving for extra yards or over a pile... they all look realistic. Of course, there is still room for improvement (can we say running through the back endzone wall not realistic?). Overall well done.

Where I find it lacking is the lackluster attempt at the extras they add on. Why is the same practice system still present, and why is it still so mediocre? The Road to Glory is only improved by a few extra voice over lines that get repetitive fast, and the week to week grind is boring. Statistically, the stat system really doesn't allow for failure at all, and to me is less than challenging. If EA really wants to create a true experience of the struggle to be the best, they they have to do much better than practice/randomized stat bump method each day (rinse wash repeat).

Lastly, games should be a finished product when they are released. 5 months later, there are still crashes after every third game or so, and even with the bugs, they still have multiple menus pitch added features for even more money. Fix your game before digging into us for more money.

To me this is a great series that is settling for less because there is no competition for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MUCH MUCH MUCH BETTER!

posted by rara776 (Montclair, NJ) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game continues to make improvement. I definately rec. playing it..the men get lower for tackles it is more realisti!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by DoubleR420 (DANVILLE, CA) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is better than last years fun gameplay not as good as Madden graphics wise but all the extras is the best, I never tthought recruiting would be that fun good game check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Major improvement!

posted by JRStocker (AMES, IA) Jul 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

First thing I'd like to say to all these nay-sayers writing reviews.... 1. Some of you clearly are biased against EA. Talking up All-Pro Football like it was the greatest football game ever, that game was TERRIBLE! Controls were awfull, graphics were awfull, bottom line that game isn't worth the 8 bucks you can get it for now! 2. Auto-Save is annoying but go into the options page and turn it off. Problem solved. Lol. NCAA 11 is a great step in the right direction. Gameplay is almost perfect. The only problem I still have is with the gang tackles. When you have 5 or 6 defenders around a ball carrier and only 1 or 2 of them tackle him.... Not too realistic, he should have a pile of defenders on him. But other than that, sideline catches are fixed, running looks and feels way more realistic, and everything just runs alot more smoothly. School entrances are realistic in that the cool walk ons that certain schools have are in the game. Makes it feel like you're actually watching a game. Stadiums are exact matches. I will agree that the 2D animations for the stands at some points are a little lame. And the field doesn't show many signs of wear and tear as the game progresses. Madden has always been good about that but NCAA seems to forget. Dynasty mode is more or less the same other than the new recruiting tool which I am a big fan of. Road to Glory is the same, but EA knows that not many people play NCAA and Madden for that mode. I'm guessing next year will focus more on Dynasty and RtG modes. But this game is awesome, very few flaws and many many improvements. Make sure to download the demo and unlock the sweet Nike pro combat jerseys that some teams used last season. Can't wait for Madden EA! Keep it up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not the same flavor and thats good

posted by BensonB (NORTH PLAINS, OR) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

NCAA 11 is leaps and bounds better than last year and previous years. Locomotion is a huge addition. the new recruiting system is great and the gameplay doesnt have the same glitches like exploiting passes to the flats.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A game you cant miss out on!

posted by Arista68 (CRANE, TX) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

NCAA 11 is here! improved HD graphics, the most realistic game play i have ever seen. Every time you play this game you actually feel that your in the game. EA sports put a lot in to the game, thats why this game is one of the games to have. the game play is realistic, its like watching a real football game on your tv. the game play has improved by a lot, the players are smarter then they where before. You dont have to hold the sprint button down anymore your player knows when to sprint.. overall this game is pretty awesome, it wont hurt to try it, and if your a college football lover you will love it more than ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I'm torn on this

posted by nootchmyer (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

PROS:
The gameplay is clearly improved. The physics of throwing on the run, lowering the shoulder and tackling is much more life like. I like the greater options on the play calling as well. The dynasty mode has been revamped allowing you a more precise approach to getting your targeted players. It's now possible to get a 5 star player on as low as a 2 star team with this improved recruiting tool.

CONS:
THE AUTO SAVE SUCKS!!! you can't do anything without this game saving itself and it's impossible to turn off. Everytime you back out of a screen it auto saves. It got so annoying during my Road to Glory campaign I had to throw in the towel. You won't be able to play Road to Glory without spending half your time waiting for the auto-save. That's ok anyways... they didn't make any adjustments to the Road to Glory.

BOTTOM LINE:
This is a great franchise and it has improved the gameplay and graphics. Its clearly much more lifelike, and you won't go wrong getting this game. It was always an hours-eater because you can't stop playing. Now you have to balance that with the wait time on the dang auto save.

7.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ncaa 11 Football

posted by bryandenton (RIVERSIDE, RI) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For any football gamer wheter its Madden or Ncaa, this is the best selling football franchise ever its fun always exciting online, achievements are exciting and challenging as well. The best Football game ever.. Once again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA

posted by CXB552 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is excellent. They really promoted the player mode. But I'm more of a madden guy so I like to do team play better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

way better than madden and any other ncaa

posted by ips3er (PERRY, FL) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

graphics are amzing ,the auto run and all is good but the only thing that gets me is u cant see ur audibles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best football game of 2010

posted by ShadowMonk (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

EA did everything right this year. Stadiums and uniforms are up to date,improvements to dynasty mode are very good and gameplay feels very much improved (especially blocking). However not one change has been made to Road to Glory in fact they even used the same cutscenes from last year I wish they would make Road to Glory better maybe include classes like they were on the ps2. Also another downside is online gamers. Plain and simple...they cheat. Theres so many glitches online that it makes it impossible to win a game without playing dirty. And if your one of the unlucky ones who rents or buys this used then get ready to cough up some extra $$$ to pay for a online pass product of EA being run by a form M$ employee.

Overall i give it a 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA Football 11

posted by aquadragon (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a great game, I just wish they put all the teams from the old ones back into the mix.

Personally I have more fun offline trying to take a low team and make them a 4,5,or6 star ranking team

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online Play

posted by etech1979 (MELVINDALE, MI) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just a heads up if you want to use the online features you gotta pay extra for them. Since your renting the game you don't get the online code you need.

However the game is a lot of fun if you just do the solo stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

More blahh

posted by OneEyeRed (PALISADES PARK, NJ) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

9 out of 24 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Okay so the field play looks better so what. The fans in the stand are so 2d outdated its ridiculous. Yea, I know, many have argued its the game play well there is just no excuse anymore for mediocrity especially when HD is stamped allover the the place. All Pro Football still looks better, plays better, and its several years old now.

Just no excuse EA and all your fanboys will scream hoorah but I am tired of the mediocre drab from you when it comes to football games. I imagine Madden will just be more of the same craptasitca as well. I see no field deterioration even when its pouring down rain. My players hardly get dirty and many not at all?!? All this is still in All Pro Football. I don't care abut the NCAA, the NFL, blahh, blahh, blahhh. You really need to lose the exclusive license so you get some competition back to force you lazy developers to deliver. As I said several times, there is just no excuse for this garbage year after year after year. Not to mention the idea that you want to stiff people with massive download content on release day is a further kick in the head to gamers. Sadly disappointing as usual.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as past years

posted by bulltsgt (APO, AP) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

After Playing NCAA Football 2011, I'm not sure where the improvements have been added. This game is basically the same game since 2007. I have the same complaint about Madden though. The addition of the online franchise is good I guess, but I'm not sure how much value added there is for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ea is a ripoff

posted by CANEPRIDE5 (MIAMI, FL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

solid gameplay but ea is a ripoff you have to pay TO PLAY ONLINE LAST TIME I CHECKED THIS IS PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Football Game I've Ever Played

posted by Scuba1234 (LAKELAND, FL) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game sucks, don't waste your time playing it. it seems like the made a worse version of last years game, with worse graphics. unless you just have to have the college teams go with madden 11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse