Rent NCAA Football 10 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

2227 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Football Game to Date

posted by JacobC77 (RICHVALE, CA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

19 out of 24 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This is a really fun football game and the most complete college football expiernce since 2005. All the modes that have been missing are back, like create a team. Its better than ever. The presentation a sound is great. The physics are good a game plays smooth. Other than create a team there isnt too much new. One cool feature is player lock, where you can lock onto any player for a play and it has a specific camera angle the works very well. Other than that you can set ur team to play agressive or conservative at timeouts. So if you have 09 and you dont mind about new tackle animations and minor details than dont spend 60 bucks on this. But if your like me and want to get the latest and greatest, get this game. It lives up to its hype.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's the best NCAA Football in some time.

posted by amcanes (PELHAM, AL) Jul 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It plays a lot smoother than ones in the past and looks a lot better.I have enjoyed playing this years model vs the past 2 on PS3 and it's well worth a rental.When the season rolls around you will have the option of playing season showdown online each weekend and showing that your school is the best.If you make it to the 32 team play off at the end of the season.You'll get to prove that your team is really the best if your the last standing.

The down side that i have seen and maybe it can be corrected by updates.You get called for face masking on almost every play.Whether you really did it or not.Clipping is another call that seems to happen a lot.Doesn't matter if you turn them down or not.Your still going to get called for it.

Another problem is that they want you to pay for all these extra DLC.Which cost 12.99 if you buy it all at once.Then if you rented the game you can't use the teambuilder option b/c you need a code.Well you can get a code but you have to pay another 9.99 to get it.If you plan on keeping the game over a long period of time.I would say spend the 9.99 but IMO.Don't waste your money on the other DLC.A bunch of junk like extra pipeline states,boosting your team ratings to get recruits and some recruiting guru to help you with the guys on your board.There is some other junk but it is just that.I didn't waste my money and i finished #1 in recruiting, like i always do.IMO it takes the fun out of the recruiting and IMO it isn't that hard to pull a good class in.

Could the game have been better, yes.Is it worth a rental if you love CFB, yes.Would i advise anyone to buy it, only if you plan on not selling it.These games have an awful resale value.

By the way, if you want the complete roster with names.Go to the EA locker room in the online option and use my PSN-(amcanes).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Is it me or...

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

...does it just seem like this is the same game as last year with better player movements and animations?

I don't hate the game, in fact I played 6 games in my Dynasty in one sitting when I first got the game, but it isn't standing out as a "great" game.

Maybe I've been watching too many previews for Madden 10, but it just looks as if they are at least 3 steps up on NCAA right now. Remember when NCAA killed Madden every year? It seems as if those two have completely swapped places.

College enthusiasts will disagree and say Madden sucks, but in honesty, Madden will be better than NCAA this year by a looooooong way.

If you played NCAA 09, think of that game, smooth it out some, and add Erin Andrews. That's basically what it is.

The game is good enough for me to give it a 7, nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best football game yet

posted by Rolexus24 (BATESVILLE, MS) Jul 17, 2009

Member since May 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This is very similar to 09, but without the glitches (like the running animation that looked like you were skipping or skating on ice). The fact that weather channel updates your current weather conditions is an excellent innovation. Only draw back is having to pay extra for options that should be included in the game i.e. recruit advisor. Not expensive, but a cheap way to nickel and dime an extra 5 or 10 bucks out of you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

decent

posted by 7tHiRtY (EL PASO, TX) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pretty much the same as last years version of NCAA. A few minor upgrades are made here and there including a revamped gameplan mode during the game. This is similar to the perks you would get during time outs of last years version yet it is made a bit more complex and is available any time you are at the play call screen. The Erin Andrews and Kirk Herbstriet commentary during career mode is excellent and worth checking out due to the customized presentation. Other than that though, there really isn't much of a difference. The crowd still looks as pixelated as a snes game and the in-game marching band music will drive you crazy after the first few times you pop the game disc in. NCAA 10 takes little steps forward and is, again, just a teaser demo of the coming MADDEN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NCAA 09 with Extra Purchase Options

posted by Irishsaint (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential to be amazing, instead the money hungry idiots at EA have made this game NCAA 09 and the only way you can enjoy the enhancements is to pay more for downloads through the PS store..... what the heck is that? Even Call Of Duty doesnt do this.... they put out new enhancements and environments and if you want some extra levels then you have to pay but not for the enhancements that were not advertized as extra costs. Road to Glory is decent but the same as recent years except now with Erin Andrews talking alot. The supposed new Create a Team is a joke because in order to use it you need a code that you don't even get with the rental of this title, you can't use the feature at all without this code unless you buy the game. In order to use it with this rental you must pay 9.99 for it. Then there is Dynasty mode, you have the same EXACT feature of last year's Dynasty mode but if you want the new enhancements like recruiting help or more pipelines, then you have to pay 1.99 for each feature of 9.99 for all features. The gameplay is just as bad except you can't pay off the refs who (depending on the game) call more than 10 times as many facemask or Clipping penalties as ever before. I was litterally called for 5 straight facemask penalties in a row. Clipping is the other obsession but never do both obsessions occur in the same game and never are they accurate. The only feature of gameplay that is worth it is player lock but in this mode your player is slowed and you cannot do much that can help your team win. The new physics are a joke, a player has NO makeup speed on D if a pass is over his head, its over. All-in-All this game with less than a 3 because i found no reason to spend any time on it and it left me searching for something to enjoy in the end, ive since sent it back and im just going to pray and wait for Madden10 to not be like this and in the meantime play NCAA 09 because it is the same exact game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by nocal4fun (MIDDLETOWN, CA) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I used to be a Maddens fan but the changes to this part of the franchise are much better. Maddens slowed it down too much while NCAA seems to keep it closer to real life. Actually I think they should have flipped the AI and game speed between Maddens and NCAA. You would think that quick reads and split decisions would be harder in Maddens, however the game speed and availability of "college style" play make NCAA much harder to master. I would love to see a tournament with NCAA champs vs Maddens champs playing a 3 out of 5 tournament. I'm no gambler but I would give odds favoring the NCAA player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game

posted by bpelf00 (LEXINGTON, KY) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is very good game and they have added tons to it. But, the graphics, story modes, and loading process is still behind of what it should be be with the PS3 gaming system power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dont BE A VICTIM TO THE HYPE

posted by thamp42 (GARDENA, CA) Jul 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Whats sup people!!!! Dont be a victim to the hype... NCAA 10 is a rental for football fans, but not worth the investment of $60 .... EA sports has made some great changes to the dynasty mode along with other new play modes, but that doesnt cover up the sense of innovation of gameplay. The canned, uncontrolled running animations are terrible. The games speed is slower, and there is no since of physics in this game. Blocking assignments arent respected, AI is terrible, and there are a lot of glithes in the game. If your just looking for a college football game that can keep your interest, this is a good rental for you, but if your seeking TRUE SIMULATION FOOTBALL, DONT BUY THIS GAME. Your better off renting a real simualtion title such as Fight Night Round 4, Tiger Woods 10 , or NBA 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Road to Glory

posted by BradS123 (DEER PARK, TX) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I honestly liked this game better than any of the previous years. The Road to Glory was a fun path. It was harder to win the games or trophies than in other years. In NCAA 09 you could easier win the Heisman and the National Title all four years in a row. However, in this game it was harder to accomplish one thing lead alone all of them. The graphics were great, the stadiums looked amazing and it was fun to play in the weather. The only thing I really didn't like was the fact that there was no commentary during the game. Also if you are a quarterback and you throw an interception it activates this little mini-game which I think is just stupid and unnecessary. It wants you to pick the play the defense used to pick you off. If you guess wrong it activates home-field advantage if you are the away team and it gives you opponent a little bit of an edge. Things for your team can more easily go wrong. You are able to turn this off in the option menu, I recommend doing it, and I think playing with it on is just ridiculous. It was different only playing your role instead of the entire game like the other years. It makes winning or losing harder and more fun because you do not have complete control over everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Football Gameplay and recruiting

posted by Nick55B (YELLOW SPRINGS, OH) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For me this title has now surpassed the madden franchise. The fluidity of the game play and the detailed recruiting features are the best for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!!!!

posted by jayjayswif (SAVANNAH, GA) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. I love the graphics and everything, but I would have to say that the graphics for this game is better on the PS2. I do applaud them for creating so many ways to have fun with this game. Touchdown celebrations, jersey choices, etc. I loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best football game ever

posted by alwysworkn (New Rochelle, NY) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Serious gamer and former pro athlete. This is the greatest sports game ever invented ( better than nhl 94 for genesis) game play modes are great!! road to glory mode is unmatched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

slight improvement...

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played NCAA football on Playstation for a long time. Perhaps that experience has caused me to be more critical in recent years. The yearly versions recently just haven't offered much to interest me. Bugs have been fixed from last year, but this year adds "new" features that seem to be a reach.

Visuals are still quite nice for stadiums I'm familiar with, and animations are improved from last year. But the mode that lets you be a player from high school to end of college is not all that fun, and the dynasty mode is pretty much the same. I hate to say it, but it seems EA is treading water on this one. The PS3 has so much power and storage on the disc: why not do more. Have my player get interviewed by the media and let me reply and see the response! Instead of picking things to do from a list outside of practice, let my player physically do those things! Where's the college life in this game?

I can't speak for the online options, but again, I don't find them appealing enough to deal with it. I just wanted a slick college football game that is realistic enough to keep me entertained. It's doing that, but so did '09, and very little has changed. '10 better be a huge improvement or it's end-game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Football Game!!!

posted by CADavis199 (ASHVILLE, OH) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only reason why didn't rate this game a 10 is because:

1. Why aren't there any Refrees on the field.
2. The fans look fake.
3. Not the detailed when makeing a guy.

But other than those three things this is probably this funniest football game i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by OCHOCINCO (DELRAY BEACH, FL) Aug 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

wow for somone who only plays madden i love this game but mostly road to glory is fun and i cant stop playing it if your a hardcore college football fan buy it if not rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same old Game

posted by ClearCut83 (SPOKANE, WA) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Basically the same game as the previous year with very little improvement. Still, NCAA is a great game; I just thought this year's title would have impressed a little bit more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Good!

posted by 1gamer15 (ZANESVILLE, OH) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NCAA Football 10 has a lot of great features. A new tackling system with crisp gameplay. The player models and actions are like real life players. If you are a College Football fan then this game is definitely for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by phillyboss (Lindenwold, NJ) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I like the game, its better then last years game, not by a whole lot but better. The create team builder i spent a hr on that alone, its very good. The game play is bascially the same, there are improvements like tip catches and finger tip catches that will make u clutch ur fist in the air. The control feels little tighter also. Some of the running animations though u can still get lost in and the back will do something that will make u get tackled or the back will try to do a animation side step or juke and u try to get out of it buy by then ur tackled.

The game is the best football game out now...even though its the only one till madden. But its worth the buy and its a must rent even if its untill the release of Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA 09 1/2?

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well all I can say is this is NCAA 09 with the new video recap for Road To Glory. One can hope they dont muck up on there MMA game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by Jayfrost12 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 21 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

i like it i mean for a game that is literally the same as 09 but its much more improved. I hope madden can finally be better than ncaa football.
For some reason i feel like the ppl from EA that make this game, pay attention more to detail than madden does. I mean they have alike gaming engines. But just like madden they really cant fix anything except for the gameplay just like madden. All EA has to do for their games is fix the gameplay, thats it.Theres nothing really specific except for that. :] nice game i give it an eight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ncaa 10 is garbage

posted by jwoul21 (LIVE OAK, TX) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst football games that I have ever played. I would rather go and buy a PS2 and find a early 2000 college football game and play it instead. Here are some of my reasons why.

1. Too many fumbles
2. Too many penalties (facemask, clipping and holding every other play)
3. Choppy player movement
4. Every other tackle is a throw to the ground or a strip the ball to the ground.
5. Wide reciever routes are terrible
6. Running back has zero chance of passing the live of scrimmage without being either tackled or bumped in the backfield.

Nevermind to added features if the game plays terrible. Bought the game on Sunday and trading it in ASAP. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game suck big time

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Whats sup people!!!! Dont be a victim to the hype... NCAA 10 is a rental for football fans, but not worth the investment of $60 .... EA sports has made some great changes to the dynasty mode along with other new play modes, but that doesnt cover up the sense of innovation of gameplay. The canned, uncontrolled running animations are terrible. The games speed is slower, and there is no since of physics in this game. Blocking assignments arent respected, AI is terrible, and there are a lot of glithes in the game. If your just looking for a college football game that can keep your interest, this is a good rental for you, but if your seeking TRUE SIMULATION FOOTBALL, DONT BUY THIS GAME. Your better off renting a real simualtion title such as Fight Night Round 4, Tiger Woods 10 , or NBA 2k9. The people at the EA SPORTS Inc. suck big time. They took lots of good features from NCAA Football 2005, like the pennents and cheats. If your looking for a good football game, go with any of the Football game from 2006 and earlier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW!

posted by Twitkid (SAVANNAH, GA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

amazing game with very good graphics and smooth details. game is probably the best ncaa foootball out there. totally beats madden with realism and addictiveness. the new teambuilder is amazing with all highschools in the U.S to modify.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointing

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I was very disappointed on how bad this game was. First, the graphics were horrible and seems like they put more effort on Madden then NCAA Football. I can't say how the dynasty was, for it was not worth playing if the graphics were bad. I would recommend not renting or buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse