Rent NCAA Football 09 for PSP Games
view large frontback

NCAA Football 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.9

226 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome PSP Game

posted by ReppyMania (POMONA, CA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics are cool for a portable game.
The controls are easy and gameplans
are nice & always workout the way i want.
All of the teams are amazing.
My favorite team is in it too!
Really cool game i recommend
renting it. And buying it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great potential, but Ultimately Disappointing

posted by SMShadow (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jan 14, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Longtime madden fan here, so I thought I'd give this a try for a slight change of pace. Plus I'm just as much a College Football fan as I am a pro. So, as expected, I found the game to be similar in many ways to madden, with some nice differences.

Of course, the psp version of the game is going to be a scaled-down version of the bigger console's versions. So there are a limited number of game modes, there's a pretty nice dynasty mode, and no online play. For a portable game, however, it's more than adequate. The graphics are as nice as any other EA game.

Gameplay action is where the trouble starts. The control scheme is familiar, with a few key college-ball-oriented differences. However, there is a severe turnover problem. Fumbles happen at least twice a quarter. Whether I'm on offense or the cpu is playing, it sometimes is as if neither team can complete a drive without fumbling! This is not even close to being realistic, and certainly is not fun.

In addition to the rampant cases of fumble-itis, there are other odd AI bugs that occur with too much frequency. Sometimes, while the ball is in the air, the computer-controlled receiver will randomly break away from his route and run in the opposite direction of the ball, leading to an incompletion or int. Again, this happens for both sides.

Like madden, NCAA 09 enables you to throw lob or bullet passes. But I'm not sure why they bothered with this feature, since bullet passes are -never- completed.

Upon first trying this game, I was quite excited about some of the gameplay features, the ability to run real-college-style wildcat or option offenses, and the dynasty mode. But the problems I described above turned out to be showstoppers. I kept this game for 3 days and spent several hours hoping I just had some bad luck at first, but finally became too frustrated to bother with it.

It's baffling to me that this game was allowed to be released with such glaring defects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyed this game..

posted by jaydollar (COLUMBIA, SC) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is alot better on the psp, i have played this game on the psp and the wii. Psp is alot better. If you gamers like this like i do then you are ready for ncaa 2010 coming out 7/14/09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA Football 09

posted by jkent99 (TULSA, OK) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! It's got great graphics and enhanced controls.I give it a 10 out of 10 in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by bobble (GREENSBURG, PA) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was good being the first NCAA I played for the PSP. It would have been better if they have Campus Legend on there but they never do anyway. The worst part about it was the similarities between PS2 and this. There are no extra features on this and it was missing the best part of the game, but it still was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No

posted by pace45 (PASCO, WA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Very disapointed that since the 07 game, they still could not take the time, to put in individual stadiums, instead the have 3 or 4 different ones that really don't look like the real ones at al. The graphics are similar to madden for psp. The ps1 even had the stadiums in it. If you don't care about that you'll enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

okay

posted by Ps24life (BOISE, ID) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is one game u rent before u buy its appeals to different ppl i my self dont like it but my bro loves it and its way better then the wii so i recomend u use gamefly to ship u one give it 3 days and decided then to buy it i have better hopes for madden

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

passing

posted by tnl29578 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

the game is couldnt figure out how to pass under the freshman mode or advanced mode. but everything is was good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

PITIFUL

posted by TrevaT (EASTCHESTER, NY) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

O my god this is sad horid graphics they ruined the psp game so that you would buy the ps3 or xbox360 vesion. Wow and why the #$%! does evryone run away from the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »