Rent NCAA Football 09 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

1758 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but still needs tweaking.

posted by humans (GLENROCK, WY) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

There were some needed improvements over last years title, and here are a few examples:

Field/stadium:
PROS: Looks better especially during snow games. During blowouts the fans disperse. Lighting is very nice especially during cold and early evening (sunset) games.
CONS: There is no field degradation over time. Bad teams start each game with a sold out stadium.

Game play Graphics:
PROS: Hip flexion (they don't have broomsticks for spines). More variety in catching and celebration graphics. Cheerleaders, I know it's fluff and stuff but they are the most realistic and natural moving animations in the game.
CONS: Players have no awareness of sidelines (they step out of bounds too often when attempting a juke or spin near the sidelines). Awkward dive animation (they cross their legs before they dive and it takes too long for the player to dive).

Dynasty:
PROS: New recruitment option to allow the CPU take care of some of the more tedious options (like feeling out what the player is interested in during phone calls). You can improve a bad team year after year, and your national rankings start top 5 the year after winning a National Championship (unlike last year when a bad team would win, then the next year you would start ranked in the 40-50's).
CONS: Special games don't feel special. After winning the National Championship nothing special happens (just a pop-up stating congratulations for winning the National Championship). Commentary for the most part seems recycled from previous titles.

Gameplay:
PROS: Harder to score inside the 10 yard line. Homefield advantage; you actually have a harder time beating the home team (especially at the "hardest places to play").
CONS: Pass defense is weak (especially in zone coverage). Pass completion% way too high; for fun I maxed out all of my DB's ratings, and the small school (bad) QB still got an 80%.

Overall it is a good game and an improvement over last years title, but EA still has some work to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sadly like madden

posted by gamermania (PALESTINE, TX) Apr 22, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like this game dont get me wrong its just that the controls just dont let you block tackels that much the graphics are pretty good its more like madden 07 though and the game itself is bit slower but i kinda like it that way so you wont always be getting sacked or throwing interseptions every team is evenly macthed but say you have an opponet that has the skill level of 70 he'll act like he is level 80 witch gets on my nerves but im not trying to get people to not rent the game just dont buy it rent its a nice game just hope they do better with it in ncaa 2010

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not even as good as the PS2 version

posted by danielbluv (HAYDEN, AL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have the ps3 and ps2 versions of this game..i like the ps2 game better...there is way more you can do on it..the ps3 version doesn't have FCS teams(div 1-AA), create a team, it won't even let you edit your special teams except punt returner and kick returner,you can't do formation subs and i don't like the play selection screen when you play against another person you know what's coming..the punt and kick returns are ridiculous!you get like 40 yards every time...has swiss cheese defenses(full of holes)...Quarterback accuracy is unreal you pass for like 85%...but i do like the dynasty mode has very in depth recruiting, the stadiums look great,has good college atmosphere on it,you can add your own stadium music for different game situations

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best NCAA yet

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best NCAA yet. Its a big improvement over 2008, which had awkward movements and depth perception. It was like the guys were running but not really going anywhere, with a disconnect between the players legs and the playing surface. All in all, I considered 08' a step backward and 09' two steps forward. Fun, fun, fun. Still needs work with the AI. Madden finally made the step with real momentum (ie, you can throw it over the head of a LB with his head turned instead of him having eyes in the back of his head...if he's running one way he can't leap 5 yards the other way instantly to break up a pass, etc). What's really cool too was the "even teams" feature, but I'm not sure how long they've had it. That way you aren't at the mercy of the game ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Hokieguru1 (ROANOKE, VA) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

After playing this game I have to commend the EA Sports group on a job well done. This game is a BIG, BIG improvement over the 08 version which well...sucked.

The game really improves in two key areas:
The graphics are a lot better from last year
The gameplay is also a whole lot better from the 08 version.

So my breakdown.

The good:
Great Graphics... the stadiums look awesome.
Recruiting didnt change a whole lot but the new "Quick Call" feature saves a lot of time if your not into spending 20 minutes on recruiting each week.
The online dynasty feature is a really nice addition for those who love playing online. Its a great feature if you can get enough friends together to do one.
The add your own stadium music feature is great.. especially for Virginia Tech fans. Want Enter Sandman in the game... you got it. Just upload the mp3 from your PS3 hard drive

The bad:
I was hoping I could try and pull another App State upset but EA Sports still hasnt put in any of the D1-aa teams yet. You still play the horrible FCS East-West-North-South teams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you played NCAA 08 then you have already played NCAA 09.

Changes/upgrades:
There is a slight improvement in the graphics.
Running at a smooth 60fps
Custom stadium sounds (enables you to add songs from your PS3 hard drive into the game for certain situations, i.e. scoring a touchdown.)
Online dynasty.

Other than that, there is not much new with the game. It is a solid game and if you missed last years edition then you should check this one out because it is a more polished product. Just do not expect a complete overhaul with an abundance of new features.

Worth the rent if you have not played NCAA 08, otherwise just wait until Madden 09 drops to get your football fix.

My opinion is just that mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA 09

posted by jds2381 (PARKERSBURG, WV) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am now a college football game fan. This game has much more to offer than my original favorite, Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NCAA FOOTBALL 09

posted by Twelfflewt (Driscoll, TX) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Another good next gen title. I a big fan of NCAA football on the console and the actual sport. As you can guess the grafix are up to par with this one, plus you don't have the cutting clinches of 08. On the other hand I frustrated to see the new control system, and although you can change most of the controls to your liking some are locked in so you can't change them. This makes for a bit a pain because you have to relearn the controls. It does get better once you learn the controls though. I wasn't able to find the screen where yu can put together your own play book, don't know if they took it out or not. The game play get some getting used to also. The body motions are different and they seem to run funny, to me anyway. But even with these minor gripes the game has come a long way from 08, and i'm glad that they didn't just add a few things and throw the 09 stamp on it like in the past. If your like me this game will take up alot of you time and with football season a month away, this is time well spent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA FOOTBALL 2009

posted by chargersjr (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

GREAT GAME.LOVE THE ONLINE PLAY..I CAN FINALY PLAY A GAME I CAN BEAT MY KIDS IN...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Next-Gen college football? YEAH RIGHT!

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

One word.. HORRIBLE. This game is flawed in so many conceivable ways I cannot believe they are legally allowed to say this is a "Next-Gen" game.. FAR FROM IT! This game has only been out for a little over a week and already there are 2 patches in the works to "correct" several game play issues???? I will give u just the short list on the things that are wrong with this game.
Graphics - Choppy, spotty, unimpressive in every way. They look as if they are ice skating down the field, not running!
Defense - Well.. there is NO defense on either side of the ball.. CPU QB is literally averaging 88-92% completion rate.. NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO! Changing defense, positions, schemes, NOTHING changes this fact! There is NO defense in this game!
Controls - Spotty at best.. When you press a button is usually takes 1-1.5 seconds before it actually does it on screen.. Unacceptable.
Offense - If you like to be able to score each and every time you get the ball, you will love this game! However, if realism is what you want your game to be about, this game is NOT for you!
Kick/Punt Return - You will ALWAYS return the ball at LEAST 30-35 yards.. no matter what.. NO MATTER WHAT!
Special teams - I have had several instances of a kicker rated 60-70 in kick power and accuracy, only to have him CONSISTENTLY nail 55-60 yard field goals... and I mean nail.. they would have been good from 70!!!??? RIDICULOUS!!
Overall.. if you want an arcade style Nintendo 64 type game.. you will have no problems with this game. However if you are like most of us that bought a PS3 or XBOX 360 to play adult, "Next-Gen" games, you will be SEVERELY disappointed with this game. The sliders in the game do not work either by the way.. so there is no way to "tweak" the game to make it play any better. This is just an overall disaster of a game and should be avoided for now. I am not sure if the "patches" for this game will help.. but since the "patches" will not be available until Sept. go buy something else!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This was great!

posted by Codethomas (BRANSON, MO) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was awosme...
I can not wate till Madden 09
I am going out to buy this game now
But there was one problem.....
They made some people to big and some to small
but if not for that it is rated a 10% for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great football game

posted by killerking9344 (Lebanon, Or) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

great game but i got it for my friend to borrow and he eneded up getting it right before lol haha waste of gaming time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Such a blast...

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I bought this game because it was $12 compared to $50-60 for the '10 version. I would highly recommend the same for someone who is willing to not "play the latest". I downloaded the '10 demo and I could hardly find too many differences, of course that is solely regarding in-game play. The dynasty version of '09 is a lot of fun. I found myself wanting to play the recruiting aspect of the game more than the actual play by play. The Super Sim feature makes it easy to play offense only or defense only and is great to make the game go quicker and maintain interest. The AI is challenging and defensive pass coverage is tight. It was definitely a blast to have my ND Fighting Irish roll over Michigan...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard and Boring but Still Good

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

It's confusing in the beginning it does not tell how to play and what it does tell you is confusing. It has hard opponents and it's hard to see your guy. I had issues throwing passes and punting. But it is a good game for people who like a challenge. It is fun and has good graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same Old Game.

posted by amcanes (PELHAM, AL) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

Im giving up on this game to the point i will no longer buy it like i have sense they started it.

I would pre order it every year b/c i love college football but it's so lame spending 50 to 60 dollars every year for the same old boring game.

The only changes this game makes year to year is the roster or what ever stupid side games they can add to it.

Cons:Same old game

Pros:None

Until EA sports gives this game the attention that Madden gets it will remain boring.Madden gets everything yet this game stays the same.

Ea has ruined almost every game it has to the point i avoid their products.

Why not add a AD mode like Maddens owners mode that allows upgrades to your program but what do i know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Continues good gameplay

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

I'm a former PS2 NCAA Football gamer and this PS3 version is so much better. Buildings on campuses are much more accurate, as is fans leaving the stadium when the game seems decided (would be nice to see them walking down the isles instead of just disappearing!). It's fully customizable, and I like the dynasty (non-online) improvements made from previous versions. Overall, very nice and stable for PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA 09

posted by Denny0729 (ECRU, MS) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

If you have liked all the other NCAA titles, this one is more of the same! I wish the campus legend mode would allow you to pick your own plays though, I really miss that. But on the bright side, Dynasty is still awesome and the game looks as real as ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA 2009

posted by JoshuaHart (SOUTH PARIS, ME) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Wow, well if you have played other NCAA Football games like 2008 or 2007...then don't be surprised when you see hardly any changes to 2009. Personally I thought a lot of things needed work. First off, when your player runs, he does miss steps like every 3 steps, another thing is, is that the ball doesn't swivel in the air like it's suppose to. They say that you can link together jukes and spin-arounds but I haven't been able to do it...in my opinion the only thing that has changed in the NCAA Football World of Games is the title: NCAA Football 09...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by KSmith (PEABODY, MA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Like the title says this is an almost perfect game. The one bad thing about isn't even a big deal: they need to add the players names then it will be perfect, but other than that the controls in it are great they're easy to learn and easy to remember. The graphics are extremely good and i don't' have an HD TV and they still good. The game play is manageable on all the levels and overall this is an excellent game and you shouldn't just rent it you shout keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by 555555 (BORING, OR) Nov 24, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

This game is great. It is a true college football atmosphere. The ratings are very close to being perfect. The on line play is also terrific. I have also played it to the 360 and it is not as good. The PS3 is the dominate system in this case. If you want a college football game then i suggest that you rent/buy this one because it rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Passing Madden on the List

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

This is by far the best NCAA game ever made. You will have no greater satisfaction with a football game than when you take your college athlete and import him into Madden. In my opinion this game is passing Madden on the must play list by "fun factor" alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by willgc1 (BRIGHTON, TN) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is great. You will rent it but will want to keep it. There are great dynasty mode features the graphics are so cool you think you are there. I havent played the online feature but I hear its great. I love sports games and this one is top of the line

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ncaa 09

posted by Rob1s0n (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

it was really good.....................- .............except for the part about APPALACHIAN STATE NOT BEING IN THE GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid franchise play

posted by eugene22n (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

EA has a clear advantage over 2K when it comes to football games. The adjusted Madden mechanics translate well to this game emulating the "more wide open" college style accurately.

This game does a good job at capturing the college spirit with beautiful stadiums and correctly depicted mascots for every school.

The Quick Call feature also does a great job at helping targeted manual recruiting. Actually setting priorities for the CPU generates good recruiting results as well. The wide variety of gameplay modes such as super sim/coach mode also add depth.

The franchise/career mode is satisfying and keep you coming back for more. If you love college football this is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by 1andonly (ROEBUCK, SC) Sep 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Great football game. Awesome graphics and audio. I hope that I will get a PlayStation3 and NCAA Football 2009!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse