Rent NCAA Football 09 All-Play for Wii
view large frontback

NCAA Football 09 All-Play

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.8

652 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game, but lacks special features.

posted by Pitch328 (FAYETTEVILLE, NY) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I decided to try this game, I was hoping for more than what was given.

The game does feature a Mascot and Dynasty feature, but this game seriously lacks the ability to create your own school or player (which was available even back in NCAA Football 2003). What's more upsetting is that you can only edit a football player's profile and ratings, but you can't change the player's equipment nor appearance.

For the pros, you can create your own playbook and audibles, and the game features a unique way to use those motion-sensing controls. Of course, the game would be more entertaining if you were playing against another player.

Although the game is entertaining at first, it'll get boring without the features that the past NCAA Football titles had. Overall, not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better than it's Ratings

posted by Jets24 (KYLE, TX) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been playing football games since Tecmo Bowl and 10-yard fight on the NES. This game is much better than it's getting credit for. I would have to guess players aren't giving this game enough play before making their evaluations. I've put a good 40+ hours in and this game is a hit.

PROS
- Great use of the WII motion controls from Tackling to throwing.
- Dynasty mode is very deep and detailed
- Challenging but easy enough to pull of running TDs, return TDs, and long bomb TDs.

Cons-
- Graphics aren't great, but this is typical of NCAA games that eat up memory with all of the details
- Lots of Fumbles and INTs, but makes it fun because games can turn in an instant

This game also features a simplistic system for younger players so they can enjoy it too, such as simplified plays and controls without all of the buttons and details. If you're a sports fan, give this game a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An Insult to NCAA Football Fans

posted by Bozo33 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jul 18, 2008

Member since May 2006

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I've owned every NCAA Football title since 1999. I've loved all of them. Until now. This game is an insult to fans of this series. They've completely dumbed down this game. I can understand the All-Play control setup so parents can play with their kids, but they didn't have to kill the rest of the game. I wouldn't play this game if somebody gave it to me for free. I feel insulted by this game.

Positives:

- I guess the All-Play controls for families

Negatives:

- Cartoon-like graphics after scores. Stupid celebrations. Cartoon style movement when sprinting.

- No Campus Legend Mode

- Old style recruiting, rather than the next-gen style.

- No ability to export draft class to Madden

This list really could go on, these were just the biggest negatives. This game truly is a piece of trash that totally alienates long time fans of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCAA for All to Play

posted by rupertandi (HOLIDAY, FL) Jul 23, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have seen quite a few user reviews on this game and I feel too many people are looking at this game from the experienced player view. This game is fun and that is what the Wii is all about. I agree the graphics are not as good as they could be and not all of the stadiums are realistic, but I do not feel that those issues take away from the fact that the game is fun and it allows for every type of player (from beginner to experienced) to be competitive from the first time you play the game. The new ALL-PLAY feature allows anyone to jump right into a NCAA season and actually have fun and be able to control the different players on the team. The ALL-PLAY feature makes performing an action very easy, and at times maybe too easy, but once you get the hang of it you can take almost total control of a player at any time. It allows you to learn the game at your pace without the frustration of losing over and over again just to gain experience. I think this is a great addition to a football game because some people do not have the time it takes to get really good at learning all of the controls one needs to know to be competitive in a football game. You can have fun without hours of learning. If you are already an advanced player, then you can take complete control the first time you play the game. The game does not allow for on-line play and that is an area that I would like to see in the future. The mascot games are nice for younger players and it does give you a fun alternative for hosting party night with a group of friends. I think EA was trying to turn the Wii version of NCAA Football into a version that anyone could play and I think they succeeded. This version will allow for parents to play with their kids and grandparents to play with their grandchildren. It is a version of NCAA Football that can played during your family night time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST SPORTS GAME EVER

posted by ankitm514 (Ann Arbor, MI) Jul 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is really bad! The graphics look like they are atleast a decade old and are far below the graphics of Maddden 2008. This game is made for 5year olds even though it is a COLLEGE football game.
To any employee of EA sports, thank you for wasting my time and my money and for making me lose all my respect for your organization.

Sorry all my fellow Wii users but one of the world's largest game producers just produced arguably the best football game ever for xbox 360 and ps3 and turned the exact same game into the WORST game I have ever played. I urge EVERYONE TO COMPLAIN TO EA and bring parity in their game production. I am very, very upset and disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad really bad

posted by coltsnerd4 (WAUWATOSA, WI) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought this years college football game was terrible i was hoping it would have campus legend no it did not. did not live up to expectations the game play was just really boring. and the thing with the mascots i mean really who cares if you can be a mascot it is just a another wii failure i was one to buy it on the frist day so what i have to say to you is save your money it is barely worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to play in Mascot Mode...

posted by g8rpit (SANFORD, FL) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not a "gamer" but this has an easy setting and a coaching setting to help us "newbies"

I especially liked playing in the "mascot mode" where your players are actually the mascots... think of a field full of albert alligators vs. a field full of elephants in red jerseys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You have to admit it, the wii really doesnt have very many decent games. And thats because there are a lot of companies out there making wii games that dont have enough experience to make a good game. But you have to think of wii games in this point of view. There are few good wii games out there. So you have to rate games to the selection and demand of the games on the market. This game is not good. But that doesnt mean you should just give this game a one. This game diserves around a 4 and a 5. If a game has a one, that means that the game has absolutly no meaning or point to it and there are so many flaws in it that it will just make you angry to play it. I do think the wii games that are sport games need help because they do have flaws. I think that some flaws really cant be changed unless you have a more entensive controller because the wiimote really is not the right controller for some sports game. I think that the graphics on this game could need some help. The controls need a lot of help in this too. So i wouldnt suggest you buy this game, but you have to think of how many good games are on the market. Not very many. So you cant just give this game that bad of a review on this console. NCAA 09 for the xbox is pretty good though so its just for the wii that isnt that good. This game is an ok rent if you dont have anything else to do but if you know of better games play those.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

: (

posted by topherskil (LAKE MARY, FL) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the worst game i have played in a very long time

For starters they try to make the game so easy that not even the hardcore gamers really get a chance of what it felt like to play madden

Next the graphics are just terrible i mean come on ea why go with the cartoon graphics and i know that the wii cannot produce xbox 360 graphics or ps3 graphics but to tell u the truth im perfectly satisfied with madden 08 graphics and to think that ea said that they use the same game engine the two games look nothing alike

now the only thing that they did do right in this game is the teams and their ratings other than that i dont think they did anything right

and yes you could say that this is their first year working with the wii or whatever but i mean come on i remember a few years ago when ncaa came out on the psp i used to love that game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

umm well...

posted by champloo (DUBLIN, OH) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

umm well if you had or have a ps2 then stick to that version. if you have a 360 or ps3 you should never think about the wii version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is awful

posted by iouiou (LAPEER, MI) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game does not deserve a rating higher than a two. the graphics on this game are worse looking than a gameboy game.I was very excited to get this game and went to the video store as soon as it opened and rented it. I put it in my console and was disapointed when i played my first game. If madden 09's graphics are this horrible it would be strike 2 for ea sports last two games. The game designer has obviously changed. The 03 version of this game is probaly better. Campus legend mode is one of my favorites too and i wanted to enroll at my favorite college[oklahoma state/michigan]. Dynasty mode is worthy of being better than playing a game of play now. one thing that also bugs me is you can not create a player at all. The big improvement is that teams in a confrences with teams that are not amazing can now make a big bowl game [the bcs national championship.]The biggest problem with this game is passinng passes of users are too low to the ground as computers are high up and make it to the endzone everytime. if you dont believe me face ohio state with the quarterback with the number 2 as the starter. one thing is very annoying is too many turnovers on offense and defense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get it

posted by hunter246 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

the game is awsome it was better then the bowling game the game was like that you control everything that is how it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst football game i ever played

posted by GMRAMS (LAKEWOOD, CO) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 word=sucks
the controls are stupid it is imposible to master the controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NCAA Football 09

posted by Bohica1125 (DALLASTOWN, PA) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Being a huge fan of Footbal and loving both the NCAA and madden games this was just pathetic for football. The graphics are extremely poor and the game play is inept at best. I found it somewhat amusing with the use of the Wii remote but at best I would not even recommend this game to a blind man. The Wii has a long way to go with sports titles and need to make sure they get the whole thing not just giving you more action in the playing of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

posted by dkfllmfdl (MONTGOMERY, AL) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

THIS GAME WAS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game Was Not Close To What It Is On Other Systems

posted by Shortd81 (DELAND, FL) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I would say try it out if you want but it's not good at all. Graphics are ok but the game play and inability to play on line for me makes this game a waste of time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst football game ever

posted by apd9122 (APPLETON, WI) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Quite simply this game is aweful. You can't create a player. Teams that are not in power conferences can't recruit anyone that is any good. Gameplay is like Madden 95. I would recommend waiting until the WII system puts out a few more football games before renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It pains me to say this...

posted by nintendo82 (LOVELAND, CO) Oct 14, 2008

Member since May 2007

Like many other reviews on here, I am extremely disappointed with this game. I too have been a long time player of the NCAA series. I always felt that the gameplay had superiority over Madden. However, I can successfully say that I will consider against owning this game in the future. The biggest disappointment to me was the lack of game features. Other systems get many more game modes, and the Wii has been reduced to all-play as it's biggest perk of the game. All-play is great, if you are playing with your 6 year old son (or 40 year old dad at that). I was thrilled to see that dynasty mode was still available, but very upset to see the team creator and the legend mode disappear. Furthermore, the playbooks were extremely limited, and very predictable. This game is an excuse for the series, and it seems that EA is short selling all of their sports games on this console. I would not say don't play this, but I would say play this with the lowest expectations possible. And if someone from EA does happen to read this in the future, please take some time to develop your Wii games as much as the other, if memory serves me right, it outsold the other two consoles during the holiday season, and you are doing nothing more than aggravating long time fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA Football 09 All-Play

posted by reveiwer22 (HICKMAN, NE) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

NCAA Football 09 All-Play is a good game. It is really easy on freshman but, I like using that level to play dynasty. I liked the game. It was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what the heck happened

posted by jessiets (LARAMIE, WY) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

i got Madden 09 before this one and as usual I was impressed by the quality of the game. So the major question is what the heck happened? NCAA 09 looks like a game that came out ten years ago at least. The graphic quality is absolutely horrible there's no realism to the players the fields are bland at best and it just completely ruins the whole experience. The game play itself is the same used in the wii version of Madden which is incredibly fun (except for the whole celebration controls they are just dumb and annoying after about the third time you have to do it). Unfortunately the control system just isn't enough of itself to save this game. Hopefully EA will come to their senses and do better next year. Come on guys the game is supposed to get better every year not worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

College Football the Way You Expect

posted by etussey (DECATUR, GA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

NCAA Football 09 is pretty much what you would expect from this EA franchise. The controls for the Wii are fun, the atmosphere is exciting and the depth of teams and options keeps it interesting. As a big college football fan I would love to own this title. The EA sports game are clearly making a concerted effort to captalize on the unique controls of the Wii. This game does a good job of it with the all-play.

Some criticism, way too many fumbles and turnovers. You must hold the direction arrow of the receiver you are throwing to all the way through your motion. If you don't he computer will throw it for you. And obviously the graphics aren't stunning.

Overall a rating of 7 out of 10 because it does most everything you want it to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Aug 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

By far the worst football game i ever played. I was blown away with how much this game blew. Don't even waste your time and enegry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Good for the Wii

posted by sobo86 (Macomb, MI) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I've seen this game played out on PS3 and Xbox 360, which needless to same is unfair to compare to. The concept of "All-Play" is a good idea to get people to have an easier time of playing the game, however,my thoughts are that this would drive more people to buy one of the other systems to get not only the better quality picture (as a review earlier related it to Madden 99) most may buy 360 or PS3 just for games of this type. As much as I looked forward to getting my hands on this game I was very disappointed with the graphics and game play of the Wii. Perhaps Nintendo needs to stick to games it know will works for them such as Zelda and others that are classics or have a better play then that of NCAA 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ncaa

posted by nealdunn (CANONSBURG, PA) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

this game is very poor the whole reason i rented this game was to get some draft classes for the madden, but to my dismay it doesnt support draft classes. the coolege has been doing draft classes on the other system for years its just a bit ridiculous and lazy of ea not to include this feature. very dissapointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont play this game

posted by eaglesfan (BETHLEHEM, PA) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

this game is lousy from the beginning ea sports really blew it with the all play which is basically simple controls unlike previous ncaa and madden games you had control over receivers here he just throws the ball play calling is limited i was all excited to play this game on my wii but now i dont even want to look at it its your own choice to play this or not i am not happy and suggest you dont waste your time very disappointed with ea sports this year madden is going to be the same way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse