Rent NCAA Football 08 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Football 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
8.1

4165 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA keeps getting better each year.

posted by Lordcledus (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like most sports gamers, summer brings bliss to me when the new edition of NCAA is released. This year is no different except this game is the best there has ever been for a college football game. New features and slick graphics are always welcome, but it's the little things that made this game the best do far. Graphically the game has gone through an overhaul and it shows. Stadiums have been improved, and pretty much every D-1 school has theirs created in all it's HD glory. But what about the gameplay? The folks at EA didn't take any shortcuts when it came to the game play with the exception of no two player co-op, and no alternate uniforms. Hopefully the uniform issue can be fixed with ones that can be downloaded.

Lead blocking control has been added, along with "trick" plays to team play books. Flea flicker, hook and lateral, end around, statue of liberty. All there, granted they take some luck to pull these off successfully but the reward is worth the risk. These might not be huge changes, but they make the game more enjoyable and adds a little realism. Player editing has returned with most things being able to be changed. Helmet and face mask, wrist bands and tape, plus many others I didn't mention. Even your brand and style of cleats can be changed.

A new feature called campus legend was also added this year. Basically you create a player or you can play as a current college player and control him throughout his high school and college career, all with the goal of becoming a campus legend and getting drafted to the NFL. How you perform in high school gets you scholarship offers from schools, which in turn can help or hurt your players progress throughout the game. Some schools will offer immediate playing time, while others will offer you a spot on the bench as a 2nd stringer.

All and all, NCAA 08 is the best looking and playing football game there is out now. This game is a must buy for football fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best NCAA game yet!

posted by IceMaster (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

37 out of 42 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is everything u can hope it to be. They have gang tackling, good graphics, more teams have there home field, and smooth animations. Campus legend mode is my favorite and much better than before, with deeper game play. You can start off as a high school player at the championships. Or already be a college player. You can even create the high school. The weather channel also has an effect on this game, and it makes you feel like your actually there. And Dynasty mode has a all new meaning to it. Although I did not play it online (because I have to renew my subscription) This IS the best NCAA game they have ever made and I recommend that every single one of you buy it NOW! Because you will enjoy it and you will never regret getting it:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short and Simple

posted by Kilroy37 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just a basic sports game. It includes most of the game modes ever featured in a football game and a few more. Its fun to earn tropheys and create memorable moments using the new feature. But in the end each game you play is just like the last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still needs work BUT Great Game

posted by JColetrain (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Besides having a few issues with achievements not unlocking (like last year)as well as still not being able to create your own school, NCAA Football 08 is still a great quality play which will entertain you for hours on end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty awesome

posted by gophins23 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i hated it at first then learned to love it. the dynasty mode is pretty good and the campus legend is awesome, i cant wait to use my player in madden. maybe it isnt worth a nine, but it is a great game, and really fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Far better than Madden o8

posted by captainANV (NORTHFIELD, OH) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Where as madden 08 was nearly impossible to play on all pro this game isn't.
I never took the time to play a dynasty but instead I choose to multiple Race of the Heisman modes as different position players and it was a blast. Whether you choose to be a rb, qb, wr or ss to play a career as, it is a blast. The graphics are great and the game play is challenging but not impossible like on madden. The season is short so you don't have to spend weeks getting through a season.
Overall a great game and worthy of a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same

posted by sentineles (RESTON, VA) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The jacked up frame rates (from 30 to 60 fps) slows the screen changes way too much for the minimal improvement that is noticed in on-the-field game play. The same issues that have plagued EA football games years are still unresolved. The following is my continued list of complaints with EA football:

1. Poor defensive back AI
2. Incompetent blockers
3. Inability to lead the receiver (IE throwing the ball where the receiver is not where he will be)
4. Inability to throw a lob or bullet
5. The absurd leaping ability/closing ability to DBs
6. Too many broken tackles by computer
7. Computer offense's ability to move the ball at will at times regardless of my superiority or play calling. To this end, the inability of my 90+ defensive linemen to make any headway against offensive linemen ranking in the 70s while my 90+ offensive linemen cannot stop the push of d-linemen in the 70s.
8. No-value added gimmicks (ie snapshots which is what I find causes most of my slowdowns)

Other than that, the game is enjoyable. Recruiting has never been more fun and the overall game is improving but the fundamental flaws cause any EA game from getting a higher score from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid, not amazing, but fun

posted by mbezlr (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Let's face it, the last year of EA was kind of light on improving gameplay. The same bad reciever and DB AI, same awkward interactions, just a really fresh coat of paint.
Yeah, 08 is still an EA football game, but most of the kinks have been worked out. The defense isn't quite as stupid, there are no more pantomime tackles, and the campus legend is a nice addition, especially with the 'sim to my next play' feature sony's had for 4 years. There are nice hits, way more animations, and no cutscenes. The actual graphics appear largely untouched, but considering the amazing graphics were the best part of 07, it's good to have some decent gameplay behind the shiny helmets. Dynasty mode is way deeper than last year, the new recruiting is at least a little better than having 4 pitches like last year.
This is a really fun game, and I'm glad to see somebody pull together a decent football sim. If you love football, by all means, go for it, while it's a long way from perfect, 08 is a substantial improvement over last year, and finally, you can sim to the end of games. So, this game will not disappoint you, and if you like football video games, you'll like NCAA08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Football is back

posted by FSUdude (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I HATED the "next generation" grade F junk that has been released over the last few years. EA has bounced back with NCAA 08' with awesome recruiting, SMMMMOOOOOTTH graphics, and player movements. If you have been disappointed by the past few Madden titles you will be shocked by this great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's about time

posted by RAFFEL75 (APO, AE) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was very impressed with this game. Finally a full version of the title I was used to on the original XBOX and Playstation. The shrine feature is back so very excited I can look at the Little Brown Jug whenever I want. The feature where you can save replays and share them to your friends is a nice touch.

The Legends mode is fantastic. Drastic improvements have been made on the camera viewpoint from the Superstar mode in Madden. I was excited to play with my high school against other schools I was familiar with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW the next gen is caught up with the modern

posted by Ps24life (BOISE, ID) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Finally they make a NCAA football game for next generation console that is better the then modern like ps2 and gamecube.08s Legend mode is fun especially the high school play off where you can play as basically your actual high school. you have to play well for the college scouts to rate you a 5 star prospect after each game it tells you what scouts were there you play first three rounds at a neutral high school field and just like in real life the championship is played at a instate college. also the newly added my shine is cool you can save replays and pictures and the play on your menu screen. also you can unlock cool rival championship and conference trophies the graphics are hands down the best the box has to offer if you always thought recruiting players in dynasty was to easy now its a little more difficult cause to recruit them you have to make promises and if you don't keep them they could transfer also When playing a home game it shows you which prospects are there top 25 toughest places to play is always updated on a week to week bases. so no more waiting for the next pre- season to see if you made it to #1 or if you just cracked 25.This game gets a two thumps up ten out of ten, 1,000 out of 5, 10 popcorn's. don't even bother renting it just buy it. trust me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Getting Close to Perfect!!

posted by LEftyhookz (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

While no games so far have lived up to what game publishers flashed in front of us a few years back, there has been a steady improvement in the quality of the video games they have put out.

NCAA football 08 is a prime example of what EA can do after having some time to tinker with the NEXT Gen.

The graphics are great 8.5/10
The framerate is perfect 10/10
The jukes react nicely to a skilled touch 9/10
New additions and improvements 9/10
Over all 9.2 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

RUINS NCAA FOOTBALL

posted by numba10 (CUMMING, GA) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game has horrible graphics, i honest to god felt like i was playing blitz, gamplay is not realistic at all. Dynasty mode is absolutely horrible. the ncaa08 on PS2 was honestly much better. This game has no extra features. no create a team, not 1-AA teams nothing. Dont waste a rent or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2nd best game of da year

posted by usctrogan (VANCOUVER, WA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NCAA football 08 is da 2nd best game in the world i play it everyday it is dee 2nd best game in dee universe my favorite is da usc trogans and favorite player is tim tebow or rey moualung and probobly john david booty my worst team is illinois and the frsno stae bulldogs they are not good my worst players are arkansas running back and dats what i like about dis game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Causes 360 to click and lock up...

posted by Doyle005 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NCAA 07 and NCAA 08 are the only two games for the 360 that always crash the system. I cannot get through an entire game without the system clicking and the disc is dirty error.

I have played three different NCAA 08 discs in my system and got the same results each time. It is the only game that does this, I'm beginning to belive it is a game flaw and not the system as I first thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game is good but gameplay is not quite there yet.

posted by msxdaly (DALY, CA) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is good. The graphics are great the player mechanics are great, but when you want to user defense a pass or have it thrown directly at you for a pick it doesnt seem to do what it was suppose to. I can know exactly where the play is being thrown and my defensive guy gets all stupid. It seems to work correctly only on bomb plays. I can pick the cb and user defense that. Other than that your better off playing the lb or dl. Another major flaw is that the playaction is too good on this game. It is dumb that I cannot commit a lb or dl to the pass on third and a mile. I had this guy do it to me all day online. It would be third and long and my opponent would do a playaction and my guys would be all over the running back. Ridiculous, one time i had all eight blitz and 4 guys went after the running back. The guys that went for the fake where all americans. Tell me how fake is that. They serouisly need to fix this stuff. Also, why is it there is no line shift. This guy was exploiting all kinds of bs up the middle stacking the line. It would take them all, but 1 sec to get to the qb. Too funny. The guy did all game I even had everyone block, and he still got me before my rb's could get into position. The dynasty mode is right on par with the best of the past. TOO BAD THE GAMEPLAY RUINS THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So-so

posted by mase46 (THORNTON, PA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My issues with this game:
-Game play needs work; the RB can dance literally through defenders or even crowds. Player interactions are very poor.
-Defending is difficult, with defenders often completely missing target in the open field. Esp when diving or using hit stick. This was not the case in previously.
-Dynasty mode took a step back. They dressed it up but made it a frustrating mode. Most of recruiting seems arbitrary.
-Player animations cause problems. For example a dump pass near the sideline to my FB caused him to drag his feet with no defenders in front of him. He was 4 yards from the sideline and had no need to drag feet.

-All in all I guess a step from last year, but not worthy of a good review, especially from EA sports. But a big let down. EA needs to play the game more before releasing it. Many of these flaws could have been improved since this is basically last years version polished up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is the best ea can do?

posted by sooners8 (JONESVILLE, VA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst football games I have ever played, the game is slow and clunky and turnovers is a big prob, graphics could be better and no updates I wish ea sports would give up and let 2k sports make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Unrealistic!

posted by Wright1 (PARIS, AR) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Some of you who have played this games may have thought that i'm an idiot... which i guess when you think of getting hit in the air after a catch, or the receivers keeping their feet just barely in bounds that your right. My point however is based on the point that the University of Kentucky (which is 85 overall) is not a better football team then lets say Arkansas (which is rated 83 overall). Also when playing many teams the defensive side is frustrating to say the least, now what i mean is that your defensive backs never seem to be able to keep up with the receiver!!! What makes this aspect so frustrating is that your computer counterparts DBs can and do cover your relievers very well, as well as providing a deadly blitz. Now i must say that because of this fault BYU's quarterback (for example) has an amazing completion percentage at 7/10 complete. His passes never strayed off target, which makes me pretty skeptical of the games ai, because i highly doubt that BYU's quarterback could ever dream of completing 70% of his passes. Really what i wish to accomplish is for people to stop going crazy over this game just because its the only college football title out, and start focusing on what they need to improve upon! This is why i give it a 5 out of 10, because there is A LOT that is needing improvements. Now don't get me wrong, the out of game options, such as recruiting, are awesome. Now really i have just grazed the surface of this game, I'm sure there is much more to complain about and complement about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA Takes another game and Ruins it

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well you have to hand it to EA Sports they can take any game and ruin it by letting the Morons that Program for them make the game, why do they think they have to Change the games every Year? Why because there isnt a Brain cell one to be found anywhere at EA I give this Game A One simply because the Morons at EA cant leave a great game alone they Have to "Improve" it, and in the case of EA Improve means to screw it up so bad no one wants to play the game Whatever you do dont rent this game if you liked the Old Versions because they took those games and turned them into pieces of Junk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is the same game we've played forever

posted by dpsommer (DENVER, CO) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the exact same game as last year. Period. Don't buy this, rent it first. The player models are hilarious. The QB's look like LB's. The linemen look like they ate the LB's. The gameplay is the same with a different layout. I beat the computer by 100 with the same 5 plays from last year's game. EA is taking our money. I'm sure Madden will be the same old deal with a few little tweaks. Don't give them your $60. I've been playing college football games since Bill Walsh on Genesis, so I've been playing quite a while. Trust me. If you played last year's or any of the versions on XBOX, don't bother with this one, unless you want to watch little videos or look at photos of your 100+ point victories. Another year goes by and EA puts a new wrapper on the same garbage from 5 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dumb, major stupidness

posted by drehawk (CHAMPLIN, MN) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

best one so far, until u try to play legend mode with any position other than quarterback. which makes this game one of the top five worst football games i have ever played period. and madden is just as bad. do not rent an deffinately do not buy. simply dumb. to sum it up. WHEN STUPID PEOPLE HAPPEN TO GOOD GAMES. REFERRING EA OF COURSE. RETARDS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ncaa Football 08

posted by Tigers (ALEXANDRIA, LA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome it has good graphics and everything else you could want

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by NBoss57 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This is a great game to play if you want to play with stars of the past in College FB, such as Colt Brennan, Darren McFadden, Graham Harrell, Michael Crabtree, Chase Daniel, etc.
Also, the achievements aren't difficult at all. the only ones you'll have trouble with are the #1 Recruiting class and Invite to BCS Conference. But it's a fun game to play just for fun, and if you're just looking for achievements, it shouldn't take much longer than 7-10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An....Okay game

posted by mjiiig (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

This is another obvious title for the NCAA league. This game degenerates good gameplay and basic-advanced play modifications. This is my first time playing an NCAA title at all, however, I feel this game is somewhat good, besides its few flaws. The good things about this game is that there is smooth gameplay, play modifications that you can make, you can call bluff play arts, you can basically do the basic allowed mechanics as other Madden titles following 08, and 09 of Madden. Also, you can go into "Campus Legend" mode where you create your own character or choose from another character in NCAA (A older legend, that has to be on your harddrive or another memory unit) and basically go through the average schedule of a football player going to college. In order for you to actually play in the team football games, you have to 1) participate and more than likely win the preset games with a default team at the beginning of campus legend mode 2) You have to go to enough classes that you dont fall under 2.0 grade average or your gpa.(I have a 4.0 by going to all of my classes.) I am sorry if I am being biased about the game. I have personally played better titles amongst the Madden series(like Madden 09). I do think that this game does deserve at least a rental or a look at the utmost. This is my review of this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse