Rent NCAA Football 08 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Football 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.7

1233 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad for a first attempt at Next Gen

posted by Daburnisit (ROME, NY) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a Solid 8 for me, and while there are issues with it, I must also say that for a first try on the PS3 console, this was a good job. One thing many people seem to be forgetting is that on EVERY console that is the next step up from the prior generation the sports games ALL lose some features till the coding teams for the game maker can catch up to the new hardware and system capabilities. Don't worry folks, NCAA '09 will have the Create a Team feature again.

Pros-
Looks good, while the frames may not be as high as it is on the 360 (30 vs. 60 according to some sources) it still looks fantastic while playing on my 40" HDTV.

Solid gameplay, while it is missing some features I loved in prior PS2 versions such as create a team and other things of that sort, the actual gameplay is still solid. Its solid enough where you can tell the difference between a guy with an 85 Speed rating an a 90 whereas is earlier versions there wasn't a noticeable drop off.

It meets my pigskin fix needs till Madden comes out

Supersim, good heavens above I love this feature, I stink at Offense, but kill at D, now I don't have to play both in order to get through a game!

Cons-
Lack of some features such as create a team, but as noted at the beginning, this is the 1st generation version of this game on a new platform, and it will take some time for the coders at EA to learn how to work with PS3 and then they will re-add them as they learn more with working on the system.

I miss the Crowd level meter, that was something that truly changed the experience of playing NCAA and Madden.

Recruiting in Dynasty Mode, I am a hardcore sim guy, I drooled over last years Owner mode on the PS2 Madden and didn't mind the system they had in place for NCAA on PS2 either. But this year it just aggravates me trying to recruit blue-chip prospects or anyone. They made the system very convoluted and more time intensive than needed. I want recruiting to be simple, easy, and then play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NCAA 2008 Football (WOW!) PS3 version

posted by MrBadd (RESTON, VA) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game's controls for the PS3 is very smooth I was pretty impressed. But the thing that makes this game amazing.. is the College Campus Legend Challenge... I'm having so much fun creating myself as a player and moving up the ranks on the team... shooting for legend status. The fact you can choose from any position... choose whatever school you want (depending on how good you show off your skills during the high school tourney determines what colleges will offer you)... able to increase your attributes, ectt.. all of that makes this games play back value go up 10 fold!

Dynasty mode is still wonderful, but the best part is the recruitment section... so much detail. I love it!

Very nicely done. I highly recommend playing it for these two factors!

9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by Grad96 (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Be careful before you purchase this title. It is overall a good game but it does not live up to the NCAA's of the past. My kids and I age 14 and 8 always in the past have created schools and added them into conferences. I, as well as my kids, hate that about the new one. You can not create schools. My Pensacola Wolves are no more! There is also no more 1-AA teams to build with if you choose.
On top of all that the new way of choosing plays is horrible.
Also I ask you why does the maker insist upon changing the controls every year.
Recruiting is very deep(a lot to do) and I hope it is consistent. If it is random this game will be a flop for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not all in the game...

posted by ddurham131 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

How in the world can anyone give this game a 9-10 score when it's running at 30 frames, and the "life" it had in earlier versions has been literally sucked out of it. I have been a fan of the series since it's inception and have always liked it better than Madden. However, they had an extra year of development for the PS3 version(didn't release at launch, but XBOX 360 got theirs), and this is the best they could do? Firstly, they removed the refs,cheerleaders, in-studio presentation. Then, they improved the models, but the motion captures aren't unique and collision detection is still screwy as players continue to run through each other. The sideline isn't dynamic as everyone stands around like a bunch of zombies not reacting to anything (unlike 2K's fantastic sidelines) plus the audio (tackles, bands, player chatter) is barely noticeable even after being turned up. Finally, game play hasn't really been advanced that much as the players rarely react with one another at all. I'm more passionate about this because this was one of the games I've been really looking forward to for the PS3 and I've been totally let down. I love that they added the ability to save game shots and clips, but that's the only thing of substance I've noticed. The recruit additions are overkill. It's absolutely worthless that the CPU controls the play calling in the Legends Mode and you only control one player. The 07 game had a few glitches, but it had way more personality and excitement than this version. Guess I'll trade it in for Madden 08 and continue to play NCAA 07 on my PS3 until next season. It's my guess that die hard fans of the series may pick 08 up, but I'd be shocked if they come even close the selling the units they typically sell. I'm sure XBOX 360 fans are loving their game(s), in it's second development cycle, plus a former Microsoft exec was named president of EA Sports which ensures they'll be "taken care of". Oh, the irony!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NO CO-OP = Bad Rating.

posted by Dizzuck (NEWBERG, OR) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game itself looks nice, and does have some nice game play features however. The biggest blunder that I see from EA this year is the lack of co-op play. I'm not sure why they decided to take this out, but I know personally since the inception of this game I have looked forward to it coming out every year. Once the game arrives I typically call up the buddies and we start a dynasty in co-op mode. The fact that I purchased the game this year and then had to find out it didn't have co-op mode is a HUGE disappointment. Typically I would be playing this game every night and spending an insane amount of time during the weekends. But now the game has sat for the most part in its case since I found there is no co-op play. I'm hoping that EA wises up and puts out some sort of patch that we can download to fix this massive error on their part. If not I'll probably be taking this one back to a trade-in store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A step in the right direction

posted by HerdJC (MILTON, WV) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Having been a huge fan of the NCAA series (I've bought every year since 99), I was very much looking forward to getting NCAA 08 on the PS3. I have to say as a first outing, it isn't a bad effort. The graphics, for the most part, are crisp, fight songs, crowd noise, and other audio are well done as well. The menus are laid out in a intuitive format. Dynasty mode and Legend mode are both excellent as well and the addition of ESPN Radio/TV/Web articles and pieces is a welcome thing.

However, there are some places where the game is lacking. The menus seem to move slowly when transitioning and the game itself slows down in a few circumstances. This should be expected somewhat, however, as EA has ported this version from the 360 and not optimized it for the PS3's computing power. As well, online plays a bit laggy and although the EASportsWorld is an awesome feature allowing you upload pictures and videos, it is currently broken for PS3 users in several key areas.

Overall, its a good entry into the PS3 market for EA with the NCAA franchise and well worth the purchase if you love college football. Let's hope for bigger and better things in next season's version!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good but not GREAT

posted by NCAALOVE (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I Love this series like no other game. Iam a madden fan but the last few years has been stupid for as madden goes for me. So NCAA have been my saving grace and was looking foward to this year on the PS3. The bad first, what happen to the fan interaction in this game,2nd what happen to the coaches on the field.The college atmosphere is not in this game and that stinks. Big fan of create a team, where is that this year. For next gen this game could be a little better. The good, gameplay is great. As I continue to play this game I like it more. I change the controls to my liking which should have not been change anyway. The graphics NICE. Like I said, with the look of the game EA could of added more atmosphere which the game would have been a 10. All in all the game is nice, worth renting and if you are a big fan worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wow

posted by Ducksquad (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The only complaint I have about the game for PS3 is the gameplay which can seem a bit laggy at times. Other than that, that the Campus Legend mode is fun and I still have to try Dynasty mode. Fun game and worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What happen?

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I use to play NCAA on the ps2 awhile ago and I remember that it had create a school that you could add to conference. For a next-gen game it seemed to take a step back on gameplay. I rather wait till madden come out. The only thing good about this game is graphics. Thats why its a 2 instead of 1. PS2 games are way better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Masterpiece

posted by 0Ghost0 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing with the graphics and stadiums seem so live as you control the volume of the audience. What pulls this game together is that it has the avoidance stick, motivation boost, and new Campus Legend. I love the fact you can start off as a highschool player. I forgot the new shrine mode is off the chain as the game takes pics and vids but you can take them yourself if u want. On top of that you can put the pics and vids on u pc and show them to your friends. Its a great game that I could easily tell someone to buy. As you can take your Campus Legend player to Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't wait for the future

posted by Sean101 (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I couldn't believe how much they have improved the game. It's amazing, and the game play couldn't be any better. One of the coolest new features in the game is Highlight mode. This mode lets you create your very own video or picture highlights. What's cool is that the game will take automatic pictures, which can be some sweet photos. But sometimes they aren't always the best so you can go into replay mode and take any picture your want, from any angle etc. The stadium atmosphere is so realistic, and the graphics are stunning. This has been by far one of the best NCAA football titles, and I can't wait to see what they come out with next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, but a great set up for next year!

posted by JShake (ALLENTOWN, PA) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They obviously took out some features from previouse years such as co-op, create a team, and the fan interaction. But they added featurs such as the Highlights system, high school, new controls, and smooth gameplay and great graphics. The recruiting system is unbelievable and this game is going in the right direction. If they keep the features they have and add the older ones, it will easily be the best NCAA yet.
With that said, it is still a fun game with two great main modes and fun mini games to passthe time. The online gameplay is good but play calling and anything other than gameplay are laggy (it's just annoying) and the online mode doesn't let you play mini games or overtime any more which I found very fun last year. The game can get turnover happy if you play carelessly but don't get frustrated, it will come with practice. The hit stick takes a little longer to react and the low hit stick goes a little faster so you may want to start out with the low one. So, that my 2 cents, have fun playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth Playing

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Aug 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of Madden then this latest addition of NCAA should be refreshing. I found that the gameplay was much more like madden and much more fluid when running plays. A lot of solid options to choose from and I would be lying if I didn't say I didn't enjoy playing as Boise State. Definitely worth playing and possibly purchasing if you are a fan of college football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like New Features Of NCAA Football 08

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Jul 23, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NCAA Football 08 has improved on the features. I like the gang-tackle, new trick plays, blocking scheme, players momentum, and tons more! Personally, it lacks the graphics on players. The football stadiums is realistically built on the game is great. On thing is, I hope NFL Madden 08 has better graphics. For college football fans, you've got a good game for new gens. Hey, try out the "Statue Of Liberty" play on the game. Its realistic just like the Boise State vs. Oklahoma game that send them back to Norman,Ok sad. Other than that it receives a 8 out 10 because of the graphics on the players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA 08

posted by mpk0303 (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game definitely lived up to expectations. The campus challenge will leave you playing for hours at a time, they have pretty much completely reshaped this part of the game. Game play at times does have a little lag but very realistic game play for college. Dynasty mode is great also. I would recommend buying this game. By far the greatest football game ever too come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No Co-op

posted by KTS2929 (SOMERSET, KY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Yeah the game graphics are great and the play is fun, but why change one of the best features of playing through a dynasty or even a single game with a friend. What is the point of taking this out? Why can't you play on the same team? every single ncaa has let you do this and all of a sudden they decide to take it out, this is one of the dumbest moves ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best NCAA football game ever!!!

posted by elway07 (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome the graphics are perfect the campus legend mode is awesome and the dynasty mode is A+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not a good game

posted by fdelacruz97 (HAGERMAN, NM) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

this game was not a good game it did not have very good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is a good game for college football fans

posted by cronom (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

There are really no extra bonus things except for the few mini games. So let me get right down to the point.

controls:8.0
gameplay:5.0
mini games:7.0
graphics:7.0
overall it was decent and there was no reason to hate it. It didn't try anything different though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Try, but left alot out of the game.

posted by GamerZach1 (LEESBURG, GA) Jun 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

NCAA Football 2008 for the PS3 has left a lot to be desired compared to the Xbox 360 and Wii version. The version for the PS3 does not include a "create a team" feature which for some players probably wont care and others may have wanted to have that option but alas its not there, and there's no 1AA teams on this version either. Some people (like me) like to mess around with the 1AA teams just for fun and play them in regular dynasties with the 1A teams. I think EA could have done better with this game for the PS3. Despite the fact that the PS3 version feels a little "left out" this is still a fun game that I have enjoyed since its release. This game does feature updates and news from ESPN which i think is pretty cool.

Pros:
Nice Controls
Very nice online play
ESPN news updates

Cons:
PS3 version is "left out"
SIXAXIS+this game= bad pre-snap on defense

OVERALL:
Its a good game and a lazy attempt on EAs part to make NCAA Football 08 for the PS3 because of the left features but we can live with it.

NOTE: when I say "SIXAXIS+this game= bad pre-snap on defense" here is what I mean: When your playing defense before the snap (pre-snap) ANY kind of movement will cause a "Jump Snap" so you basically have to be completely still so you dont cause yourself 5 yards...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WOW

posted by tuxedoturk (FAIR OAKS, CA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

What a joke, it's like playing NCAA 2003 on the ps2, except the 2003 was better.

the new playbook is different, don't know if that's good or not, and I seemed to encounter a glitch that let me kicker/punter move all by themselves without the AI settings.

well, like the other reviewers, I hope next year will be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NCAA football 08 ps3

posted by brahma04 (AUSTELL, GA) May 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The playability of this version was VERY substandard as compared to ps2. The only +'s would be the graphics, deeper recruiting and stats. Player attributes were more detailed. One of the major omitions is bluff playcalling. Anyone you are playing against can see your plays! Hopefully they will correct the major flaws in the 09 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good but not great

posted by gamer64 (CHESTNUT MOUNTAIN, GA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

if you play by yourself this is a great game but if your like me and play with other people then this game just dosen't have it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best college football game out!

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I love this game! Although many people are saying that not much has changed with this game over the past few years.. they are wrong. The game play has gotten noticeably faster, smoother.. and the graphics seem more clean and visually appealing. This is the college football game to get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An average football game

posted by BLCKSH4RC (DICKINSON, ND) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this is just like 07 and Madden. Same features and gameplay. But one thing i cant get past is the graphics look like a PSP game. They look horrible for a PS3 so if you like football id rent it, and if you just wanna play an exciting game dont rent it. Either way its not worth buying unless you are a NCAA fotball addict

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse