Rent NCAA Basketball 10 for PS3
view large frontback

NCAA Basketball 10

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

670 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

My reviewof ncaa basketball 10 PS3

posted by Chilidog4 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not a huge basketball fan. But when i played this collage hoops game i was amazed. I loved how EA got in touch with BOTH ESPN and CBS Sports. The brodcasters can be a little bland saying the same thing over and over but they are definitly brought to life. I also like the update on real life standings and rankings which i think brings the game to life completely. Overall i would give this game a good 8 out of 10 because the game can be very bland but then it will put you in the game and bring it to life.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by seat19 (RICHMOND, KY) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ithink that this game was very good buts seems as if it doesnt let u do as much as older ncaa basketball games but very realistic and great graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very surprising game

posted by fsas87 (INDIO, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I was surprised when I began to play this game. I have been playing Ncaa basketball for years now and have never been really impressed. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the jump this game has taken. The graphics are leaps and bounds above previous titles. The movement is crisp and the shooting this year makes you feel like you have some control. I also have to complement the presentation of the game. You have multiple announce teams and the sound and commentary make you feel like you are watching a broadcast instead of playing a game. The recruiting still needs some work and the dynasty menus need to be laid out in a more efficient way. These however are minor complaints compared to all the new positive aspects of this game. This is by far the best basketball game for your money this year. Go out and buy this game and be ready to be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very fun at times, but this one fell short

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Negatives

Lack of game modes. There are 3 modes available. Play now, Dynasty, and tournament. Still some glitches during gameplay (backcourt violations, players running out of bounds, missed easy layups) holding circle on offense will start a pick. this works ok but not great, and far too often you get a moving pick called. In dynasty mode their is no practice or training camp for you it is all just simulated. I wish they gave you the option to run some drills and build up your players. That being said I wish they gave you the option to simulate recruiting. the recruiting system is old and is lacking content and they have to give us an option to simulate recruiting like ncaa football did. instead you are forced to manually recruit and this gets tedious. also the recruiting is very unrealistic.

Positives

Great college atmosphere (crowd, commentary, courts) The presentation is almost perfect. real espn, and cbs stat overlays with vital, and Gus johnson doing the commentary. the ncaa tournament in dynasty is also very exciting and has a great presentation, you can really tell your playing a tourney game. some good aggressive moves to the basket and hard slams. nice post game with a decent array of moves. and the new motion offense is the best play calling system for basketball games right now.

If you don't have a basketball game this would definitely be worth a buy if you like to run dynastys even though you will be yearning for a better product. This game has LOADS of potential EA needs to step it up alot next year though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet!

posted by skipperjcu (CHELAN, WA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

best game ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better Gameflow still needs lots of improvements

posted by Nick55B (YELLOW SPRINGS, OH) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Gameplay is improved and less repetitive, however the recruiting training and overall extras are the exact same as last years game. A super bummer for me, I was hoping theyd improve to something like the NCAA football but no dice. Ireturned it after 3 days of play. No go 4 me ..Big Let Down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SO unamazing

posted by kingcaliph (NEWARK, NJ) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

it was so plain even dynasty was plain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by gatatris (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yea No....

posted by buccaneers (SPRING HILL, FL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Well i was hoping for a basketball version of what u experiance in NCAA Football, but i just dont feel it. There Is no Carrer Mode and the lack of rivalries and must win games make it seem like playing at VCU is the same as Duke, i would never Buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So Short of Being Good

posted by Catfish25 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

Game Menus are great. Easy to manuver and understand. People complain about the lack of game modes but what kind of game modes would you be looking for on an NCAA Basketball game? Dynasty mode is good, well to a point. Im a little confused with the recruiting part. They clearly tried to make it like NCAA Football but tried to spice it up so much that it failed. There is no explanation of how to use it, no walk through, no hints nothing.

Throughout the dynasty there are goals that come up such as win your first home game and obtain funding for a new building. You pick a building to create, such as a new weight room, and your team gets +1 speed, agility and strength. This is cool. Gives you some incentive to destroy the away team. Plus the preseason and post season tournaments are fun.

The game play is where this game takes a dump. Graphics are terrible. Players look like they have marshmallow faces, it is obvious there are preprogrammed movements in the game. Sort of like NBA Jam Arcaid where you do a dunk at a certain angle to the basket and it does the same motion every time. Ive done some ridiculous dunks from two steps off the side 3-point line over 2 people. Thats not realistic. The prohop for scoring down low is junk. R2 plus left or right on the left joystick. Barely ever works. C and PF suck at ball handling skills so if you screw up the ball hop they try to juke or spin and lose the ball every time. Try running baseline under the hoop, this will never work. You get pushed out of bounds and your player trys to keep in and loses the possession every time. Players are confused when it comes to a loose ball and free throws are attrocious. Key on defense is to run a 2-3 Zone. Confuses the CPU all the time and I cannot lose. Play uptempo ball and you will cruise to victory. 3 point shooters with high consistancy are also death to the CPU. They have no answer for that.
EA Sports put this game out because they were obligated. Or so it seems. Maybe next year?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not that bad

posted by DJDemond (NATIONAL CITY, CA) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I have been playing EA March Madness/NCAA Hoops since the franchise came out and I feel that this 2010 version is a very good game. Some mistakes in AI and the backcourt and out of bounds issues are there, but less rampant that NBA LIVE 10. But the reality and the time it probably took to incorporate both CBS and ESPN's graphics packages in the same game is amazing. I play in surround sound and a couple of times while playing it was very hard to tell people that a real college game wasn't on. Especially how CBS incorporates that swoosh kinda sound on each replay and when they are showing any type of stat overlay on the screen. Maybe most aren't as into that aspect of sports gaming as I am, but since I am, I have to give this game a 9. Good job EA. I hope you guys incorporate this the college football as well since they are both mostly broadcast on ESPN and CBS as well. The CBS and Fox presentation styles would be sweet on the Madden while you're at it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »