Rent NCAA Basketball 10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Basketball 10

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.8

1000 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8

posted by JonLP24 (MESA, AZ) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

8 is the score I gave it.

The best thing I can say about it is the presentation, ESPN score bar, music, etc. just like a television broadcast. CBS is just like watching sports on real TV as far as the score bar goes, music on breaks, and the stats that pop up time-to-time during the game. ESPN broadcasts are far more common in career mode than CBS, so I'm not sure if the CBS broadcasts has the same glitch. On ESPN, (Gamefly won't let me type his first name) Vitale will sometimes yell "We're going to overtime baby!" when you make a buzzer beater shot... right before the half." On top of that, the score is not even tied when he usually says this. Or he'll compliment every single foul either team commits, even when it is 3-point play opportunity. When it comes to that, I think EA Sports took a real lazy approach when it comes to commentary. Other than that I don't have any complaints.

As far as gameplay goes, it has the same jump shooting control as far back as NBA LIVE 07, maybe earlier. You release the button right before the player reaches his highest point in a jump before he goes back down. You can really do great when you have it down, but if you're like me you get into mind games where you're releasing the ball either too short a bunch of times in a row, than start hitting the button too hard a bunch of times in a row, and really blow games that way. The game is challenging from All-Conference to All-American difficulty levels. It is possible to keep it close on the AA level, however making free throws requires very quick reflexes but not too quick. I've cost myself many games due to free throws on the AA level.

For realism. I played anytime that wasn't at least an A- in two out of three (Overall, offense, and defense) I went to All-Conference level on the A teams. I probably lost about 90% that way. WIthin 2-3 years nearly all of the major conference teams are A's. It is not hard to pick up very talented recruits, especially if you improve year-to-year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NCCA Basketball 10

posted by Tannerm16 (LA VERGNE, TN) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

19 out of 28 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

If you want the true to be next level game of basketball NCCA style this is your game. Not content to just put you in the game, NCAA Basketball 10 puts you in the game just like you see it on TV with a dynamic new presentation. Pick your favorite school and see if you can climb to the top of the rankings and survive March Madness. A new play-calling system lets you trigger your offense by selecting sets and sending players into motion, letting you hit the open man at the right time. And, in this edition's big score, the franchise has landed the announcers and graphics from both ESPN and CBS. This game looks and sounds so familiar, you may forget whether you're playing or watching!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT GAME!!!!!

posted by gamer1323 (CEDAR PARK, TX) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If u LOVE basketball, get this game! The quality is awesome. The March Maddness is great. And when the game is loading u get to shoot around with Blake Griffen!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Comically Bad

posted by backusduo (AVONDALE, AZ) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is dissapointing. It reminds me of some of the first Basketball games that came out for Nintendo 64. They were all rushed to market and had laughable errors. Somehow this game has accomplished a step backwards from last years game, which was playable vs. downright frustrating. First the good news:

The new CBS and ESPN overlay on the game are fresh and new, though after watching once or twice you will soon be pushing x to fast forward over. The gameplay is not bad moving the ball up and down the court and driving to the hoop can be completed fluidly. You may notice lags between pushing buttons and the actual move hapening at times, epecially when passing. AI keeps games competitive, making it difficult to drive the lane, and doubeling in the lanes when attempting to back someone down. Actually on the defensive side of the court I find the AI really good.

Now for the bad. On the offensive side of the floor, AI can be just plain bad. Down by 10 with 2 minutes to go, you will often find the Computer dribilling at their favorite spot just over halfcourt on the bottom of the court. The only way to get the computer to move prior to the shot clock falling below 10 secs is to press the ball handler. It shouldn't be my responsibility to get them to shoot when they are down by 10. 2nd the end of every game can be painful, as you will rarely see fouls in this game, and so you if you are ahead you will have to watch the computer foul the inbound pass 7 times in a row. That leads me to free throws. There is no way to fast forward through their montage of stupidity, which is just further frustrated by the exact same verbal commentary when playing an ESPN game. Freethrows really interrupt the gameplay, and become very iritating quickly. Stats flashing the screen will often be wrong stating scoring leaders that are bench players and non-scoring streaks that are inaccurate. Commentary often makes errors, ie. talks of made shots that are misses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cool

posted by matt32 (MIDDLETOWN, OH) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

great game, good graphics and easy controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

could be better but deff not a bad game

posted by dj2yanks23 (LA FAYETTE, NY) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

my major beef is the lack of off-ball movement also the transition game if just sad. i play as an uptempo team yet my center will just stop at the three point line when i am trying to push the ball. i know u can hit LB to create motion but i still finding my self switching off ball and moving them myself. had to play with ai settings to create competitive game play would recommend others do so. with all that said i enjoy edited players to make them look lifelike and it's fun to build up small schools (UAlbany). there is such potential in this line of games maybe ea will step it up next year

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NCAA B-Ball 09

posted by justbarry2 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you really like college basketball, you will enjoy this title. It is not perfect, but it is a decent game of basketball complete with the feel of the college game. I truly enjoyed the presentation of the game--if you are playing an important game or tournament game it will be aired with the NCAA on CBS. Gus Johnson and Bill Rafferty's announcing the game sounds much like a real college basketball game. The ESPN inclusion with D Vitale is also enjoyable. The game itself plays much like NBA Live 10-- with an emphasis on running different kinds of offensive sets (which are easy to call on the XBOX). All Division I basketball teams are here and if you have an online connection you can even download roster names (which makes playing the game a bit more enjoyable). There are some issues with gameplay though. The players even with the offensive sets seem to stand around a lot--necessitating calling more plays. The reaction of the CPU players on your team also seems poor at times resulting in misdirected passes and steals by the opponent. Players behavior around the basket also seems wierd. Once or twice a player will actually get his shot blocked by the rim. Also posting up an opponent is rather cumbersome and difficult especially if you ratchet up the difficulty (the opponent appears great at stealing the ball). Overall, the game is still enjoyable even with these flaws. One major omission is the "One Shining Moment" piece at the end of the NCAA tournament. I actually enjoyed this from NCAA 09 and wished they had it in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great. still room for improvement

posted by Reviewer3 (HANFORD, CA) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a pretty fun game to play. its one of those where it can make you really mad at times but then it can get you really pumped up as well. the added commentary to the game was really great. the espn version is much better than the cbs but they were both a good addition to the game. some errors however deal with things coming up that arent true, like you may be on a 10-2 run in the last two minutes, but on the bottom it will say its been a 10-2 run in the past 32:43 which is kind of werid at times. i have seen it be correct though. for those who complain about not enough fouls..turn up the in-air collison foul frequency to 70. it will give the game the right amount of fouls and will get you and your opponent to the line when you deserve to be after being hacked pretty hard. EA sports is a great gaming company. they have always made great games but this one does lack some things that they should improve on. change up the dynasty mode a little bit, dont allow the ai to tackle you when your driving to the basket, have the crowd get pumped up more, etc..

overall an A- definitely rent this game, or if u love college basketball a lot like me, buy it, i truely believe its worth the money.

oh and p.s. for the guy who said madden 10 sucked this year.. ummm no. that was by far the greatest football game ever made in gaming history. get better at it and youll see how fun it is...

let me know if this review helped you!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...bad...

posted by bigmalc89 (ASTON, PA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is okay. Just okay. I want to like it a whole lot more than I do. Everytime I start to like the game a little, it breaks my heart. One thing this title could use badly is better freestyle controls. And by that I mean dribbling. Isolation is ddamnn near impossible. College Hopps blows this away. The reason I still give this game a chance is because I just love the College basketball atmosphere. I've never played the new NBA Live 10, but I can imagine it's not far from it. One thing that really annoys me is the lack of control the player has with the ball. As soon as you start driving to the hole, somebody from the opposing team bumps you and you drop the ball. You pretty much get tackled. EA should stick to the football games (NCAA football is a very good game, but basketball pretty much sucks under EA). But because I love College ball in general, I give this a 7 for it's potential. But it has a long way to go. Look...just bring back College Hoops. I still have 2k8 and won't hesitate to put that back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst College Basketball Game Ever

posted by Vertikle (HOPE MILLS, NC) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible and here is a list of my pros and cons.

Pros
Graphics are OK
Commentary is best thing about it

Cons
Horrible Recruiting In Dynasty Mode
Same game as last year with not many changes and the changes made are SMALL
Gameplay is horrible (Not enough foul calls for you but alot of fouls called against you, players stand around and watch ball dribble out of bounce, and players with faster speed then others seem to not out run those they are quicker than, and ect)
Lacking a team play mode online like the NBA counter-parts.

I gave this game a 1 out of 10 being generous to EA for such a horrible game. EA is a gaming company I may not buy many other SPORTS games from because this college basketball game and NBA Live 10 sucked this year so did Madden 10. If you are a fan of NCAA Basketball you may be disappointed as I was when I first played this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same garbage as last year's game...

posted by MikeyG2772 (MANASQUAN, NJ) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 20 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

If you didnt like the gameplay feel from last year's game... dont bother with this year. Its exactly the same. I hate this game. The controls never seem to do what you want them to do.

For example, the right joystick has like 3 moves for each direction and your guess is as good as mine what move your going to do. They need to go back to the drawing board and create an entirely new game cuz its the same inconsistent gameplay and it is frustrating.

The game is so far from smooth, its terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

By call of duty modern warefare 2

posted by syrkid777 (CICERO, NY) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

its ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NCAA B-BALL 10-13

posted by datboygosohard (BATTLE CREEK, MI) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

This game is the best game you could ever have as a sports game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game

posted by quadmom (WAKE FOREST, NC) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

this game is the best ea keep making NCAA basketball DO NOT LEAS TO THE BAD KIDS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by R0nd0 (WEST HILLS, CA) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Considering it was made about 3 years ago, I am still today very impressed with the game play of this game. I really wish they didn't stop making NCAA basketball games. They were my favorite games of all time. I'm glad these are available on game FLY though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ncaa Basketball 10 Game Rating

posted by Lucas1234 (JONESVILLE, VA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Hello, It is Lucas Sturgill.I Have a gamefly account and this game was Excellent it was just perfect.

Thank you for the games
Sincerlly,Lucas Sturgill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME AND ALWAYS WILL.

posted by clintonjk (MAHOMET, IL) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I honestly think college basketball is 10X better than pro. And I'm so sad that they cancelled this series cause all I do is play this game! This is all ive been playing for the past 3 years! I got it when it forst came out and I never regreted getting it. This game was the best money I've ever spent. This game is so much fun and I can play it for hours and hours! Great game! I would recommend anyone to rent this. Even buy it. I wish they made more, but this is still so much fun, it doesnt matter to me! I'll still play it when the next system comes out! Too good of a game right here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NCAA Basketball 10 XBOX 360

posted by NCAK1966 (SUNRISE, FL) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Game was Great!!!! But, why no online play?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by tigers6994 (MEMPHIS, TN) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The graphics were garbage as well as constantly lagging and freezing and the controls were so clunky all you had to do to score was hold the right trigger and hit x. The game when compared to other games like 2k10 just doesn't measure up as a fun compettive game even when measured against other college sports games it's terrible glad I only rented it with gamefly definitly would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same Ol'

posted by happyhack (OXNARD, CA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This year's version isn't very much different from last year's and that says everything.

Adding the TV broadcast is nice but doesn't add to the overall presentation of the game.

Rent, don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This should be better

posted by mike3223 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

I would've thoroughly enjoyed the game if it weren't for a few problems that are so frustrating, it makes it hard to love. It's incredibly difficult to drive past the computer. They did a great job with the crossover stick, but you do all of it for no reason if you can't blow by a defender. Also, The amount of fouls they call on you are ridiculous. I'll have 12 or 13 fouls to the computers 1 and half the time, it wasn't even me who committed the foul. It was the AI. Often the computer isn't paying attention to the ball and when you try to pass down into the post, the ball will just sail right past them and out of bounds. If you take the difficulty up (which you have to. I was blowing teams out by 25 to 30 points on varsity) you miss wide open jumpers with talented players while the computer rips through your entire team to hit a fade away with it's 10th man. Graphics are great, the presentation is great but they didn't pay any attention to playing a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game, dont recommend it

posted by baller32 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Ncaa basketball is a fun game to play with against your friends and online, but after about the 2nd month it got real boring. The game only has 4 game modes (tournament, dynasty, playnow, multiplayer) which get real dull and repetitive after a while. The gameplay is average, but should be way better. Its unusually hard to drive past defenders, make open shots, and perform post moves in this game. The one thing i was impressed with in this game was the graphics. The arenas, mascots and crowd are quite realistic and look amazing. I also do love the dribbling and crossover control. too bad theres no point in a sick crossover if you cant blow by your defender.

The dynasty mode in the game is pretty nice, but the recruiting process is horrible and after about the 3rd or 4th season its just plain boring. Hopefully next years version of ncaa basketball will be much better, because this one was a huge disappointment. I dont recommend buying this game, just rent it for a while and see how u like it. Like i said its real fun to play against friends and online but other than that its not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NCAA BASKETBALL 10

posted by teebroad (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Highly Overrated, did not live up to the hype at all. But dynasty was good, recruiting process was good as well, i give this game out of 10, a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

it sucks

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

it was to hard for me to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst EA Game I've ever played

posted by Bearsman (VENICE, CA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

I love college basketball and typically college games. However, this game was awful. It starts with poor lighting making the game look way to dark. The real problems are with the AI, players love to stand out of bounds and call for the ball or do a dribble move that causes a backcourt violation. There are tons of glitches and it's frustrating to play.

I'm extremely disappointed, hopefully the 2k version is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse