Rent NCAA Basketball 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NCAA Basketball 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.0

1151 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

So-So

posted by jwhitt101 (HUFFMAN, TX) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did enjoy the competitiveness of the game the graphics lacked quality. Enjoyed playing the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Far From Awesome

posted by sbussy89 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

OK but far from Awesome. Graphics look good at first, but then people's shoulders start poking through their jerseys. A few times my player got caught up in traffic and was magically transported to another part of the court. Passing is also difficult... you can use one of the bumpers to bring up a button over everyone's head and pass that way, but the point-and-pass method doesn't work at all; the ball never goes where you are pointing. The most frustrating part was that, no matter how much you were losing by and how little time was left, the players always took their good old time getting the ball to the baseline after an opponent scores, sometimes running as much as 5 seconds off the clock just lazily jogging to the ball. Even though I like NCAA basketball better than NBA in real life, I would probably go with one of the NBA games. As far as basketball goes, this doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game is.......um....not good

posted by gobucks1 (MARION, OH) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i dont really understand what has happened to the EA basketball games. the only games i really play are sports games and the occasional shooter (gears and cod). I think that ea did a great job with ncaa football and madden this year. they are both much improved and in my opinion the best in each series to date. however both basketball titles have went down hill. I would not recommend this game, while their are some good qualities (game tempo, coaches, old school teams) the overall game play and graphics leave much to be desired.
i think that the ps2 versions were much better and that the 2K basketball games are the best basketball sims available. i hope that something willl be done about the ea monopoly so that all game producers will have to bring their A game for all games. it really is a downer that their is not more competition in gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Migrating from "The Best" to "The Only"

posted by FuriousbEz (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

EA stepped up their game (New Title, New Engine), but did not step up all the way to their former nemesis as far as the Colege Basketball Genre is concerned.

As an avid gamer and administrator of a gaming site (Furious Gaming - Community :: fg-c), I beleive that the migration over to the only source of college basketball in 2008/09 has been unsettling.

Beyond the obvious, I would have to say that EA has at least improved their previous offerings. As a die-hard fan of EA's NCAA College Football, I can only hope that the future is bright for NCAA College Basketball.

As for now, I will enjoy the current offering for what it's worth, and if the competitor(s) fail to return to this Title Genre, all I can say is buckle down your seats and try and enjoy the ride that is the EA Monopoly Train.

I submited a rating of "6"
GameFly Rating at the time of this article was "6.9"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This was a pretty bad game

posted by BLD360 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was not as good as i expected it to be. The graphics are nothing to get excited about. The controls are ok but when you try to drive to the basket you can hardly ever get by your defender.
The franchise mode isn't good. The teams schedules are generated at random and you don't play the correct teams.
I expected more out of this game as other 09 games were very good. (ex: Madden 09, NBA 09)
Overall I didn't think it was worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DISAPPOINTING

posted by coachslakr (MOBERLY, MO) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

You can tell this is the only college basketball game this year and EA Sports knew they didn't have to compete with anyone. This is, by far, the worst NCAA basketball game in years. There are glitches, bad recruiting, bad gameplay, and bad simulation. The 2009 Final 4 at the end of my first season was Alabama A&M, Indiana State, New Mexico, & North Carolina A&T. Enough said. What a disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre College Basketball game...

posted by xsaint53 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Where do I begin....
The Good:
Nice graphics
New uniforms for some teams.

The bad:
MANY missing teams-- not just teams not in a conference, but some conferences are missing a team or two.
Arcade gameplay. College teams don't shoot near as well as they do in this game. Score-fest. Not realistic.
Inaccurate player ratings. Some average/bench players on Mid-Major teams have certain rankings way higher than All-American candidates.
Mr. Vitale. He was great like 15-20 years ago.... Getting kinda played out.

Summary:
If you want a REALISTIC College Basketball Game then go pick up a used copy of College Hoops 2K8 and download updates rosters from 2K Share. If you want a better EA basketball game, NBA Live 09 is a better choice than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bring back the 2K Series

posted by Buhler02 (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was really glitchy, and very inconsistent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A complete waste of my time

posted by MikeyG2772 (MANASQUAN, NJ) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is really bad. I agree with another poster who said don't waste your time. The gameplay is terrible. The right joystick which is used for freestyle moves is absolutely pointless. These freestyle moves are for the most part ineffective, and the only moves that are consistent are simple crossover left and right, but thats only if your stationary.

Also, there is no play-calling. You can't call for a pick, or an isolation, or basket cuts, or anything. They do run plays on their own, but good luck knowing what your running, or getting anything out of the play.

Also, the ratings for some of the players in the game is ridiculous. I havnt gone through all of the teams, but I go to Virginia Tech, and Malcolm Delaney is probably the 3rd best player on the team. I know this because Ive watched every game. He is rated something like a 68, which is one of the worst rating of all the players on the team, and other guys like Hank Thorns, who cant score ever in real life cuz hes like 5'8, has awesome ratings.

It really seems like EASports put little or no effort into making this game at all. I would rather play NCAA 2K7 by 2KSports, because it may not have the new players, but it is a much much better game. Heck, I'd go back to playing NCAA 2005 on my PS2 before playing this P.O.S again, that atleast had plays that you could run, and effective freestyle.

This is really sad because I love college basketball, but there is no reason to play this game. There is nothing fun about it.

Pros:
Graphics (kind of good)
Arenas and Crowd (whoop-di-do)

Cons:
Gameplay (overall terrible)
Player Ratings (EA scouts should be fired)
Pretty much anything else you can think of is bad

Seriously, if you have not gotten the point, please do yourself a favor and dont bother with this game. I honestly pity and feel really bad for anyone who likes or thinks this game is even average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this Game

posted by KyCats54 (BRISTOL, TN) Nov 23, 2008

Member since May 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I came over from college hoops 2k8 i never did like the way ea made thier college basketball games but this year i was excited to get my hands on this one and i love this game online and offline the dynasty is really good the also have a legends trny which is fun with the classic teams they brought back the maui invitational they also added old spice classic puerto rico tip off and the anaheim classic but i have some good and bads

The Good
Graphics
Crowd/Sound
Gameplay

The Bad
The camera angle when you shoot free throws you have to get closer to the tv a little bit

Sometimes when you put subs in the game and your on a fast break they just stop running

but all and all this game is still awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stop it EA

posted by hiphop (LINDENHURST, NY) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I used to be a big ea basketball fan. Until i started playing the 2k games. The Ea basketball engine isn't getting any better. Compared to NBA 2k9 this game is horrible. One thing i do like is the fact that you can play a full court zone press. Thats the best thing i can say for this game. If you manage to get in the paint you either make the shot or the game calls some unbelievably charging foul against you. There was no thought put into any player details. All the big men shoot the same. All the guards shoot the same. All the forwards shoot the same.
I spent 60$ on this game. It was a complete waste of money. Rent it from here or somplace else dont buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Game

posted by ratedoc (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was dissapointed at EA other than the graphics, the game seems bulky and bland with no real excitment or thrill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ncaa basketball 09

posted by Ran513 (MILFORD, OH) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 19 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

Had to be the worst basketball game ive ever played,i cant believe this game is the only college basketball on the market this year.Absolutely horrible, if your coming over from 2k8 dont even waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks...

posted by baller11 (LEANDER, TX) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best NCAA basketball games that has ever come out the best part is that when you create player you can give them Hyperdunks I have a pair of my own so if you don't already own this game I would highly encourage you to get it as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by Shiift77 (BOTHELL, WA) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

best game ever the dynasty is so fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

niiiice

posted by infinnerty (CLARKSVILLE, IN) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

People need to get over the fact EA is a monopoly and outselling 2k in the college bball ranks along with considerably better game play.. SO with the new and improved NCAA Basketball 09 from EA Sports we can finally get 2k out of our heads.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by Jordan1772 (CALERA, AL) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game sucks because it froze so many times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game i have ever played

posted by mmurp009 (HILLSBOROUGH, CA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this has got to be the worst game i have ever played horrible game play as other reviewers have pointed out. annoying announcers a ton of glitches this is the first time i put a game right back in the mail right after i popped it in my 360 what a waste of our planets resources this game was the only thing i reccomend you do with this game is use it as your pets frisby or something lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blows

posted by xploit21 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Game sucks...you play one year of dynasty and its like every team is A-. Absolutly horrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seriously? This is the best we can do? It's 2009!!

posted by jbmoran77 (ODESSA, TX) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I like sports games. A good sports game can keep me busy for weeks. A great sports game may stay in my console for 6-8 months. This game lasted 3 days. First of all, the positives.

Good Dynasty setup. Like the recruiting format, and the fact you start off as a coach with several offers to choose from. I was the Delaware Blue Hens! That would never happen if I got my pick of any school in the nation (my apologies to the Hen Nation) Parts of the gameplay are good, such as post play. My Center was a stud daddy, considering that all I did was dump it in to him and post up (everything else was too painful...read on)

Arright, that's the best I can muster. So many things were frustrating. I played 6 full games, and never once grabbed rebound myself. I found it necessary to pick a Guard on defense and let the computer do it. On breakaways, often times the guy you pass to just stops! wide open basket and he STOPS. The animations also take over the game and you lose control. Like if you're engaged with a defender, you can't back up, you just hold the left thumbstick back and your guy continues to dribble around every direction...except BACK. Oh, and I used to coach and hated officials, but WOW. Way too many charging calls, and not enough other fouls called (once, to get me in the bonus, the computer had to foul me 6 times.) I had a guy foul out on solid charging calls.

I could go on, but you get the point. Gameplay is frustrating and awkward which is a shame, because I would've loved to have guided the Blue Hens to the Big Dance!

Oh yeah, and Richard (can't type his name...) Vitale? Ugh....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

upset ea sports fan

posted by 1bigtoak (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

now i used to be a ea sports fanatic,but after playing ncaa college 09 i feel like ea is trying to push me away..the handles were weak.the fact that the defender can take a charge in air still boggles my mind.there is no hop step an that jus furthers complicates things..im upset only because ea sports used to have standards im just hoping that the class of 2010 brings back whatever respect they have left.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

08 is way better.

posted by CashIsHere (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I just want to say they they ruined this game. The features 08' had now aren't in 09'. Big Mistake, thank god it's a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A... How do I Put It

posted by crazydude4 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is horrible. First I don't think its that easy to shoot a basket ball,[THEY MAKE IT SEEM LIKE ITS A PIECE OF CAKE.] Some teams were missing and a u think they would have better graphics. Would you honestly make so many shots in a quarter.this game stinks more than a rat that died on the floor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

similaries and differences of 2k and ea

posted by syrkid777 (CICERO, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I am a player of this game and college hoops 2k8 and i would rate this game fair. The two shooting button is really cool but in 2k the shotting stick is way better. Dribbling and cross overs work but they are the only moves you can use to get past your oppoent. Overall i would say that 2k is a way better and if there was a 2k9 game i would of never played this game. RENT THE COLLEGE HOOPS 2K8 INSTEAD OF THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Played It Twice, and BLEH!

posted by RonMexico (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

There is no creativity in this game. It's boring and has little positive to note. I will stick to 2K8, and will pray that 2k reenters the college basketball market.

Also, I'm guessing anyone writing a positive review of this game, is an EA developer. It's just turr-ible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse