Rent NBA Street Homecourt for PS3
view large frontback

NBA Street Homecourt

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

1017 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A lot of Fun

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Apr 25, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun and the online play is very solid. This game is worth renting and possibly keeping for a good price. The only drawback was the lack of create a character options. With next gen I expected more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Something the PS3 needed

posted by SmileyDude (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) May 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Now, while this is no killer sports game that everyone should buy, it is a pretty darn good game. First off, the pros. The graphics in this game are just stunning. Even though most PS3 games have wonderful graphics, this game is just...wow. The clothes blow in the wind and the hair looks spectacular. The courts and environments are great, and the players look really good. Next, the physics. I already mentioned how the clothes flow in the wind, but the way the ball moves is crazy. No more bricks flying around, this rock is solid. Shots can vary because the ball bounces around, like a real ball. Next, the game play is great, not perfect. Being able to create you own character based off of other player's faces is pretty sweet. More options would have been nice, but the ones provided are fine. You get to level up your character by playing games, and whatever you did, like making just dunks and passes, will increase your skill in that category. You get 2 team mates, which you recruit(pick) when you play them and in a sense, "unlock them". There are also basic modes where you pick your team and play, and some trick modes where you can dunk and pull off sweet tricks, and there is a practice mode to hone your skills. The game play it self is cool, but I found it hard to make shots. It seemed that I only made jump shots through sheer luck, even though there probably is a way I don't know about. Dunking is cool, and there are lots of different moves too, like alley-oops. Cons, well, this is a basic street basketball game with some cool graphics and features, but the moves are UNREALISTIC!!!!! People jump like 10 feet in the air and slap the ball across the court! But this is kind of fun, and not for realism freaks. If you are one of them, don't play this game. If you aren't, go rent this game, not buy. See if you like it first, like I did. Okay, overall, unrealistic game with great graphics and basic street-ball rules.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BIG Dissapointment (Get it, EA Sports Big)

posted by TheKMan (GLEN ELLEN, CA) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

From the beginning, this game has incredible graphics. Before you even play a game you are amazed at how good it looks, but then you play the game. The gameplay is flat out atrocious. The right-analog stick is no longer used so for tricks you are forced to press the square button and "modify" the moves with L1 and R1. The dunks are incredibly stupid with the initial dunk, ball gets caught in the dunkers legs, and finally another dunk to finish it off. I played two games and decided I couldn't handle anymore because it was so bad. The games have just gotten worse and worse since NBA Street. I'm sad to say it but this is the end for me, and probably the NBA Street franchise if they keep releasing garbage like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Homecourt Lived Up To Its Hype

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Mar 11, 2007

Member since May 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

NBA Street Homecourt, has great up to date rosters, nice graphics, and its fun. Homecourt has really worked on its realistic players and courts. The control are sort of new, but easy to adjust to. Its a fun challenge game. It has new gamebreakers, new tricks. Personally, it all easy to perform. That's why I rated this game 8-10, its too easy. Therefore, playing on single player mode its boring, but playing against a trash talking friends and online its quite fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA Street Homecourt

posted by soxwinital (EAST HARTFORD, CT) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are a hardcore sports sim nut, this game is definately not for you. It is filled with super human antics and unrealistic tactics...let me correct that...no real strategy, just mash buttons and test your reflexes. Graphics are pretty good, except for a sepia tone during gameplay. Makes it look old school. Music and effects are good. The oncourt chatter is quite humorous. If you want a good arcade style basketball game then this is for you. It won't keep most hardcore gamers occupied for too long though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA Street Home court

posted by spowell44 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) May 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game really took a few steps back from the Original NBA street. Hard to believe due to it being on a next gen console. There so many things bad in this game I almost don't know where to start. The single game campaign is way to short, not Diverse or challenging at all. They took the concept away of playing certain people at certain parks for ownership of the park and added a cheesy respect point barometer. Play in tournaments are severely Limited (I may have played in three total). More importantly the game play of the characters Suck. The push a guy feature takes away from a big part of the game , the tricks. I don't know whose idea this was but they should be fired. This is basketball I never seen a game where you push a guy 40 times for the W in the NBA Or the in the street. Stealing the ball is far too easy, again it takes away from the tricks. They move to fast, and every one can blocks shots(gets annoying seeing Nate Robinson block three's) The trick sequence is gimmick-ey and harder to do specific tricks as in games past. Game breakers in this game are redundant and sad. I'm a big fan of NBA street, and this game is like the Rocky 5 of the collection. Stay far away from this Title its a waste of money and more importantly Time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lives up to the name ... good graphics and gameplay ... gamebreakers have been improved radically and the tricks and dunks have been improved quite a bit ... good game overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA Street Homecourt

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this is the best NBA Street game since the original.this game also has some of the best looking dunks ever,and I love playing as Vince Carter and doing a double dunk.One thing that's wierd is that you can play as WNBA star and they can dunk,but Steve Nash can't?The graphics aren't incredible,but courts and environments are beautiful.This is also the quietest game of the series.No crowds screaming,no announcer,and the music isn't really something you would hear at a basketball game.Overall this is a good game, but after a while you feel like playingjust normal basketball like NBA 2K7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing

posted by trickster3 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the graphics amazing it could of been better but its highly addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game basketball game that ever made

posted by pontz93 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

its so fun not like others nba game trust me you will not get bored rent this game now. but if you have xbox360 its gine be suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

game

posted by plevet2509 (YOUNGSVILLE, LA) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible

posted by easygamer (YORKVILLE, IL) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The only good thing about this game is the graphics. They were incredible.

Other than that, really nothing. The career stunk, really it was keep pressing the same buttons over and over, and you have to discover new moves. The moves were stupid, and didn't make me want to go out and do it myself (very important). The create your player was actually "pick out one of the 30 faces you like". This could have been so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The game was WACK!!!

posted by lvfballa15 (BLUEMONT, VA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game stunk to high heavens. when i got it i played it for maybe two hours then packed it up and its wait to get sent back. what was EA thinking. the game is lacking a lot of features that were in the prior editions of the game. and the control were wack overall this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay, but nothing special

posted by mudixon (GRIMESLAND, NC) Dec 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

This game became old quite fast, suffering from repetitive game play that spent more time spilling tidbits on NBA player's old stomping grounds than making the game more fun. Granted, this game is well over a year old, but It just doesn't offer enough variety to keep my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NBA Street Home court

posted by gamester08 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game was suppose to be about building your own homecourt making a name for yourself and the city you come from.The fact you can't fix your player up the way you want to sucks this game was terrible and since its called homecourt you would think it would let you customize your own court but you don't it seems like the game was only based on certin players carmelo anthony,and rip hamilton there are more players in the nba then just two it should have been called melo and rip homecourt.You don't get to travel from city to city to really defeat others on there homecourt or maybe i didn't realize it because of how much it sucked!i didnt even know i had a home court until the end of the game EA GAMES should be ashamed the came soft the next game they come out with should 110% not -110%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by ilovebball (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

I played it at my friend's house and it was good. The thing that stinks is it is only for PS3 and PS2, which most people have, and the only thing I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so hot

posted by Gb755c (MCKEES ROCKS, PA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I've played other games in this Erse that have done better. I understand this is the first PS3 title in the NBA Street Series but the controls are lackluster at best. You can't get the characters to do half of what you want them to and the accuracy of the players left a foul taste in my mouth. I've tried to shoot baskets when my player is right on top of the basket and 99% of them miss. I found the other players getting the ball because of the stupidity of the players. The backgrounds and graphics are great. The speech is good and the sound effects couldn't be better but when you make a game with lousy controls you might as well have made this game for the ATARI 2600. EA does great titles I currently am renting EA Sports Madden NFL 2008 from Gamefly and it has WAY better stuff than this game. Gamefly had better be ready for the prepaid mailing containing this game to come back tomorrow because I hate it. I will definitely tell my friends NOT to purchase this game. EA Sports BIG better get it right next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice

posted by SlickJC (BEAUFORT, NC) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I haven't played NBA Street since V3. When this first came out, I was still on PS2. Now I'm next gen so I finally had to check this out. I like the realism look of the players. Game doesn't have a cartoon look like the other versions. Game play is just as good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good.

posted by Kraneman (MIAMI, FL) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

This game was pretty good but i liked it either way. It was pretty good but i liked the career mode better than anything in the whole game. (LOL).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game

posted by jcbball55 (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

I don't understand why this game has a bad rating. The graphics are good, not great but very, very good. The sound is entertaining and fun it make the game enjoyable. Also, the game play is easy it may have a little bit too much in terms of moves but it is not hard to control your guy. The game is fun and easy too play, perfect formula for a great game. I have played all the other NBA Streets and this is tied with me as being the best NBA Street that I have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, Could Do Better

posted by FensterBos (WAYLAND, MA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

I was comparing this game to the older versions (PS2) and comparably I found that the older games were more fun to play. The second I got a newer game in, I sent this game back to Gamefly. I think I would have been more interested in playing the game if the controls were a little easier and if there was a better "create your player" feature.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All show, No Go

posted by lbz999 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Game is okay. Graphics are very good on ps3. Game has some very cool and interesting dunks. After awhile, you get tired of the same thing, over and over and over and over again........

Pass, 5 trick dribbles/moves, then the dunk.

Same thing, even online. Pass, trick dribble/move then the dunk.

You can only really shoot against the computer, cause it is way too easy to dunk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!! GAMEPLAY !!!! GRAPHICS!!!!

posted by GameRater1 (SCARSDALE, NY) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this is one of the best games i have played yet on the ps3. to start out the graphics are amazing spectacular. But the game play is even better creating your own character is the funnest part and online is pretty good too. great rent and good buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

End of NBA Street's winning streak

posted by BIGG2991 (DELTONA, FL) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

First of all I loved the graphics, Amazing!!! But if you played the first three Streets your not gonna like this one. The moves are repetitive unlike Street V3. There's only four buttons to do tricks I prefer the challenging analogue sticks in the last Street. It was too easy to beat but that's how its always been. Fun for little kids not for real gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fast yet Fun

posted by NeoJester (ABBOTSFORD, WI) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game is very fast paced and on the easy difficulties is a cake walk. The mechanics are very fluid and the passing actually shines through as a major feature. From kicking basketballs to bouncing the rock off opponents faces. The game is great fun with a group of people and works well as a party game for something to just play and let you talk trash to you friends. Sit down lace up your sneakers grab the rock and own the court.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse