Rent NBA Live 10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA Live 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.1

1276 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Game that made Basketball fun again.

posted by Martin2180 (WARWICK, RI) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

I for a while was a 2k basketball fan up until the terrible 2k9-10. They messed with the player control that made the game so great in 2k6-8.

While I jumped back to Nba Live last year with Live 09, that game was a step in the right direction but lacked some fundemental aspects of Basketball. In Live10 they focused heavily on just that, the Gameplay. Added to the area's that were lacking like rebounding , passing,ect... If you are a SIM player you will absolutely LOVE this years game cause it keeps you guessing and dribbling over and over until you get a dunk is no longer an option (well u can do so on lower levels id assume) But on the 2 higher levels you will need to learn that mid-range shots and setting up a defender to get a uncontested shot works best.

I love the strategy behind the game. If you play a team like the spurs they will try and get Duncan the ball and when you start doubling him they will learn and hurt you elsewhere. Teams play like themselve more in this game than any basketball game I ever played. Play the Heat and D- Wade will constantly try and drive on you. Play Kobe and he'll set you up for the mid-range J all day.

Mike Wan formerly of 2k really brought over nice little touches from 2k and even made them better. As you can easily see and feel once u start up the game and are brought into the practice gym. There are 8 different players that you can try out and notice they all feel different (speed,weight,agility,locomotion) are all different from player to player. Each player has his own dribble style that makes the player likeness surpass that of 2k basketball.

Team play mode is actually playable unlike 2k's laggy server mode. And is lots of fun. If you have friends or not u can join a squad and compete against other squads each month to try and win the 1st place for that season. I believe it starts over every month but could be wrong on that.

Overall if you are on the fence do yourself a favor and rent this, Its Great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Realism for us sim players

posted by Swalt44 (LONGVIEW, TX) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

NBA Live is back on its feet!! Last year they were on there way back and now they have made it. I absolutley enjoy the strategy portion of the game. You just can't do the same thing over because the A.I. will catch on pretty quickly. If you still enjoy the run n gun style of NBA Jam aka NBA 2K series, stick with it. If you want simulation like me, NBA Live has brought that. There are still some animation bugs they need to work out, hence why I did not give them a 10. They can get annoying, but once you actually figure out the strategy part of the game, the bugs happen few and far in between. Last year, we got the foundation, this year we got the frame, next year, I hope we get the house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA Live 2010

posted by xFAxDemon (TROUTVILLE, VA) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was very good and more than i expected, i really enjoyed this game. The graphics were grade A amazing. There was not a second when i got bored of it. Good work EA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Job!

posted by RodneyM (WESTMINSTER, SC) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I really, really enjoyed this version of Live more so than I did the 2k offering. In my opinion the Live game has a much better atmosphere (for instance when you go to shoot a 3 you can hear the crowd go "threeeeee" - love that).

2K isn't a bad game, but Live just seemed more "fun" to me. I'd recommend it over 2K this year at least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 2K10

posted by SIRBUDS420 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Listen up... I've been playing this game nonstop since i got it. There's so much to do, it's got the deepest franchise modes ever in a NBA game. The graphics look AMAZING!!!! I've actually played both games and NBA LIVE 10 wins hands down. One of the reviews said Live 10's graphics sucked, NO WAY! He must not of been playin in HD. The gameplay is SO real, like the way Shaq ACTUALLY plays like a brick wall, unstopable!!!! 2k looks really nice but for an overall life-like NBA experince, rent or buy this game depending if your a fan or not! 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word...Amazing!

posted by MattBopp (Bloomsburg, PA) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I went out and bought this game Day 1 like I do every year with this game and can honestly say the hype that was built was met and I was still blown away. Although it took a little bit of time to get used to the new shooting styles that seem similar to 2k9 to me, once you got it down its the truest to the game you can get. Also you need to work for dunks. I played both Live 10 and 2k10 and I can honestly say hands down Live wins.

Live worked on the flaws I found in 09, although I dont like that team play with an actual team is unranked this year Live Run really lets each player on your squad run with a player that they are comfortable with and makes the games much more competitive. Hussel plays are very real and though sometimes the players will try and save dumb balls and cost you a possesion, it is very true to the game and a great aspect added.

Graphics are amazing they got everything down to the actual players from faces...all the way to Vince Carters weird shaped head haha. Watching before the games when the starting 5 comes out is cool with the animations weither its Kobe brushing off his shoulders or Dwight Howard doing the Soulja Boy. Sometimes Ill think Im watching a real game with the commentary, even though its very much like 09 but I like it, and feel of the game play.

I will give 2k10 one advantage over Live10 and thats the fact that in online play you can use your created player which is so much fun but I feel like Live 11 will have that feature that so I will stay true to 10. By the way two words make up for that feature...Dynamic Season.

All in all this game is a must rent for any basketball fan. It is the truer to the game then 2k10 is and I actually lean towards Lives graphics more too but both are spectaular. Id imagine that you'd have to pay to get the 365 updates if you rent but I think it'd be worth it.

NBA Live 10 is the truest, reallest, and best basketball game on the market now. So what are you waitin for...rent it already

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best NBA game

posted by Turok360 (SANTA FE, NM) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NBA Live 10 is one of the best games that I have ever played and anyone that loves basketball should get NBA Live 10. This game has great graphics and the controls are great.
The Good:
-You feel like you have complete control of the players
-Good graphics and everything feels realistic
-Everyone hustles after the ball
-Players try their best to crash the board
The Bad:
-Nothing that I have come across

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Live Is Alive Once Again

posted by blasphemy (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Live just feels alot more organic this year everything feels smooth and much real. people say 2k gameplay is better because it's too simple. no range of difficulty just pass and shoot all day. Live u must work for every basket just the way i like in any video game.

At 1st i thought the graphics took a step back..every player seem pale face and shiny but once i decrease the brightness in settings i thought i was actually there, i mean Lebron tattoos looks toooo real. the sneakers even looks more crazy dis year. I played 2k. Looks pretty much the same 3 years ago and thats not a bad thing its just not much changes to be needed but live looks and feels so much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Re-donkulous!

posted by BlackIC3 (ALTAMONT, NY) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The passes, the dribbles, the tongue hanging out while he's going to the rim......wait, its not that good... but its worth the money and if youre an nba fan, then buy live 10 not 2k10... this game is pretty good and will give you hours of fun so you dont have to spend time with your woman or kids.. greatness!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba live 10

posted by dkf2014 (SULPHUR SPRINGS, TX) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

nba live 10 is a really good game. It as some new game moods that are really good like addias live run which is club ball to 21.This game is better than 09 and with better updates and better graphics.If you are thinking about getting than do it cause u will love this game it is beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sorry...

posted by ZayRampage (LA PLACE, LA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game would have ticked me off all the way if I had bought it instead of renting it from gamefly. That being said it still managed to tick me off quite a bit. One question to the makers of NBA Live. WHY DO YOU HAVE TO HAVE TO USE AN ANIMATION JUST TO SHOOT THE BALL??!!! In this game shooting is completely tied into what animation you use to get open before you shoot the ball, which sounds like a good idea on paper.... but what if you're already wide the heck open when you get the ball??? The whole point of the game this year is to break your defender down to get open, and you do this by using the right stick. The problem is that EVERY shot you take demands an animation. I missed about 19 of 20 WIDE OPEN threes with Kobe, I mean nobody around for at least five feet on the court. So thinking he was just having a bad game I took him into practice, same result. Then I began playing around with the crossover animations and all of a sudden he starts making some shots. Quick question, in real life do you have to dribble the ball between your legs and try to And-1 a whole team just to get off a successful shot, or, do you have a better chance of hitting a wide open shot??? Not to mention this animation bull#$% leaves you with about a 10% chance of hitting a fade away or any type of moving shot becides a layup or dunk. And the same thing happens with post players, unless you get you back to the basket and post someone up, or dunk, you have a very low chance of making the shot. Even if you ARE wide open and standing right under the basket... EA has been glued to animations for years, which is why all the players in the game do the same dunks and layups, but this year it's gone too far..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, Better, but not the Best...

posted by haza12d (GLENDALE, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This installment of NBA Live is an improvement over the the last 4 games. The have made getting to the rim a little harder than the past, even on rookie difficulty you'll get stripped of the ball if you just try to hammer it in there. This forces you to get more "creative" in order to get through the paint. The graphics are great and character models are just a notch above 2K10 but the gameplay is what causes this game to fall second to the reigning NBA game for the last half decade. I rented both and decided to keep 2K but I say check it out yourself, this might be a keeper for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

High hope yet again crushed.

posted by MWGrindle (SURPRISE, AZ) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This is an average game at best. Much like it's counterpart NBA2K10 both games are sadly disappointing. Gameplay is just pathetic. I had Dwight Howard and Chris Bosh after doing a fantasy draft. Which you have to watch every selection being made. Never the less Howard and Bosh were both out rebounded by Dirk Nowitzski and some scrub. Dirk never missed only 3 shots and just abused my team inside. I've been playing basketball games my whole life and this is the most unreal display ever. Dirk dunked eveything and Howard settled for jump hooks. Anyone who knows NBA knows thats not going to happen. I couldn't even dribble the ball cuz the CPU makes a collision out of everything and you get the ball stolen. The other team constantly drains shots from everywhere and the only shots the user can make consistantly are the dunks which are few and far between. In the same game Travis Outlaw made 9 3's while being guarded by T-Mac and Ben Gordon on my team made 2. Also fantasy drafts are stupid cuz the CPU teams load up on PF's or PG's one team had 3 PG's in the starting lineup while another team had 3 PF's. Games a joke try again EA next time TRY HARDER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA LIVE 10

posted by danrhem (MESA, AZ) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Just doesn't flow right. The game actually costs $70! You have to go to the dashboard and buy the rest of the game! (Dynamic DNA) The fact that EA exploits the downloadable content feature on 360 just pisses me off! Before internet and patches they tried harder to release a game that was problem free. Now they release any ole thing and patch it up for a year! Also the days are gone of beating a game or season and unlocking a new court, course, level, etc. Now you just pay for everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than 2K and I can prove it.

posted by Pilot01 (MOUNT DORA, FL) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

No Cons but there is Pros so here they are.

The special effects are just simply amazing and what is cool about it is that the reactions form the crowds are just amazing and how sometimes in other basketball games when you go to a home game all you here is go Magic or depending what team you are but my favorite is the Magic so yeh. But anywho the crowds in other basketball games will only cheer for the home team but in live 10 everyone has different shirts of there favorite players and they shout out different team names on the court which is cool.The players are also amazing because all the players have there own signature moves like for instance Dwight Howard has his own superman dunk and he uses it in the game. The best multiplayer mode in this game is team play, versus is getting old but here comes team play and omg!!! it is simply wonderful. The last but not least the controls, it is much more simple than the 2K games because all you do is hold the X button to shoot and here is the trick, every player has a certain shot letoff which means you have to hold the X button a certain time depending which player you use and to dunk you start running to the hoop and just hold down X. Now 2K you have to pull the analog stick back and push it forward hard and to me someday thats gonna ruin the controller just watch and to dunk I don't know but I am sure its something that will ruin the controller lol. GET NBA LIVE 10 ITS FUNNER AND EASIER!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A step backwards

posted by AlanJobb (BRENTWOOD, CA) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Most people prefer the 2K NBA games, but I have always enjoyed NBA live and preferred it over 2k. This game looks great, with the most realistic graphics they have ever had. But I HATE the gameplay. I use to be able to have very good competitive and realistic games with the natural flow of the NBA. They changed all the controls and even after practicing with the new ones I find I don't have nearly the control I did with the old one. This one is going back in the envelope. too bad, I had such high hopes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yea right

posted by GamerOf09 (TOLEDO, OH) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

is this game a joke, pressing one button just to dunk, the animations are horrible, 2k all the way don't rent this its just horrible. what happened to nba live 05 that was the last great live that was out, i had every 2k basketball since 2k2 which is better than live 09 (garbage) and 10(horrible, fake)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yuck

posted by raddy5 (AMARILLO, TX) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i really dont like this game. the graphics are horrible. the menu is so dark i can hardly read it. the pictures of the players aren't that good.
if i could, id give it a 0. sadly, i cant.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

getting better!!!! but still not back to grace.

posted by matthewlee (SPOONER, WI) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After playing live 10 i was more impressed with the gameplay but i dont belive it even comes close to contending with 2k10. i was a die hard live fan up till the end of this year after playing 2k09 my loyalty has changed. but fingers crossed this game is a stepping stone to getting back in the runnning for best basketball game of the year. it just feels too slow to me. when i play it and it makes me feel like im playing in a fish bowl after playing 2k10's speedy gameplay. it is faster gameplay and more custom moves and dunks away from a contender maybe i little less plastic player look too.but next year im hoping live 11 will be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bad

posted by ufcsucks (MC DONOUGH, NY) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 22 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

just kidding.
its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

oh no

posted by bell26 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i just want to say this game sucks don>t rent or buy it please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

backwords

posted by grimis (STUART, FL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To be honest with you I love basketball! I've owned every nba live they ever made and this one sucks! 2009 made 2010 look like garbbage. Its like they have taken a step backwords in the attempt to make the graphics better. They game controls have no realistec movement like 09 did. You also have less options for game modes. Its either dynisty or championship. 09 You had 3 point shoot out, dunk contest, 5 on 5 black top and so on. EA should be ashamed on how they destrode the reputaion of nba live!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wasnt impressed !

posted by tikotiko (LITTLE VALLEY, NY) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i think they could have better than they did , although i did like the coaching part of it all . Graphics were not that great also . NBA 2K10 is next on my list !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bad Graphis, Bad Draft Updates. 2k10 ova Live

posted by Undefeated (LUMPKIN, GA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of Good Graphis & Draft/Roster updates, Nba live 10 is not 4 you..... I am a live fan, but 4rm the looks of this, IM 2K ALL DAY... THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE.. I LITERALLY PAUSED THE GAME 2 WRITE THIS REVIEW... PLEASE DONT GET LIVE 10, EVEN IF YOU ARE A FAN... 2K HAS PROVEN TO BE THE BEST B-BALL GAME.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

live fails yet again

posted by schiz0h (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

i wouldn't lie. do yourself a favor and buy 2k10 any person that feels otherwise would have to be on drugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse