Rent NBA Live 09 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA Live 09

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Wii, PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

1525 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Worth Renting without the DNA.......

posted by wideglide (KELLER, TX) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

What's the point of renting a game when it doesn't include the code for the DNA and why should we have to go to XBL and pay $20.00 to download it??? That's just stupid. EA just played a bush card by screwing the loyal gamers who rent first and buy later. That was enough for me to mail it back the next day. Plus there's frame issues, glitches that don't make sense. Be a Pro mode is just stupid and unfinished. Don't rent unless you want to pay the extra $20 for the DNA download that you get for free when you buy it. BEWARE....get NBA 2k instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

You need to check it out for yourself!!!

posted by deeluxx (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

16 out of 21 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game has the most authentic player movement and control that i have ever witnessed. Everything is smooth, and passing the ball doesn't seem as unresponsive as past versions of live and 2k. I'll admit Live on the 360 hasn't always measured up, and truth be told 2k9 looks slightly better graphically, but the game play on live 09 is amazing. You can practice just about every aspect of the game, I just wish there was more instructions for the small details. Graphically live 09 is better than 08; the close-up views are better than 2k9; but 2k9 looks a little more life like (except for close-ups) and they definetly win when it comes to the stadiums and crowds. my opinion: live is great, 2k9 is great, but I really like controlling dribble moves with the right analog stick over the iso motion in 2k9. I would say rent them both and if you truly know basketball you won't be dissapointed this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thank god for NBA 2K9 and 2K sports

posted by dclazard (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a sorry excuse compared to the 2K basketball series. Passing is an absolute nightmare and differentiating between the players can be quite difficult (I have a 60 inch HDTV and had trouble telling the difference between Marcus Banks and Dwayne Wade). Also, only 5 camera angles, two which induced motion minor motion sickness and a lack of old school NBA players(one of my favorites parts of NBA video games) and greatest teams makes me very sad for anybody who would buy this when there is a superior product available for the same price.

Please note that I treat the release of basketball video games the way most people view the release of the Madden game. A mini-holiday and one of my favorite days of the year.

So do yourself a favor and take it from a guy who played NBA live in the early 90's on an IBM computer that there is a better way. 2k9!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Where is the Defense??

posted by JayWeb (HILLIARD, OH) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is an unbiased review, so take from it what you wish and experience it for yourself.

This game had a lot of hype toward it with the DNA function and daily uploads. I honestly think that is a cool aspect of this game, except that if you rent it from gamefly, unfortunately you wont be able to use it unless u purchase it from the market place at an additional fee.(sort of disappointing)

However, the graphics on this game are pretty to look at and the motions of the players seem superior to previous years.

I generally find playing season modes or play nows for these types of games to become tedious and boring overtime, so what I enjoy are the online leagues with friends and the online play. Most of GF members who didn't recieve this game upon release will be happy to know that I am sending mine back the very next day without a doubt in my mind! Online play in this game is ridiculously pointless.Basically, what happens is 1 or 2 guys will have 50 points each on a team, because there is no need to run plays or pick n roll etc. What I found typical was pass the ball down the court as fast as you can and dunk the ball or get it to the center and he is unguardable for a dunk every time. Defense in this game is non-existent, even holding left-trigger and playing auto defense is useless, because the opposing player has 2 choices, either toggle right stick and go right around him or jump straight up and dunk on them. You'll have to see it too believe it. Teams will never shoot three pt. shots or jump shots because the dunks are open every time.

Online play is a joke with this game and is pointless. If you like games that are unrealistic and race up and down the court dunking each time then this is the game for you, but if you enjoy realistic game play of running plays and playing defense then you'll absolutely hate this game as I did.

My comments are very realistic and I hope you found them helpful. Gears 2 and Fallout will be here less than a month save your money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than 2K This Time Around

posted by UrbanMerc (VICTORVILLE, CA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

It never ceases to amaze me how immature some of the gameplayers on this site are. I am speaking of some of the reviewers here. If you are going to take the time to write a review, then at LEAST make it an honest review. Giving trash scores JUST because you rented instead of bought is immensely mentally challenged. As usual, the gamers have it wrong again. The game makers are targeting piracy, and not the renters. I don't think they go far enough. I personally think that the tactics game makers are starting to employ are quite good AND FAIR, by the way. :)

As for the game, I think it is a GREAT improvement over last years game. The graphics haven't changed much, if at all. And why are people making such a big deal out of the crowds in 2K9? I have played them both now, and to be quite honest, I think people should care less about that. They have just as many repeating chants and movements as Live '09. I also think the animation in Live '09 is better than 2K9. The players movement is alot better in Live. I think Live also cashes in on the fun factor a bit more than 2K9. One thing that irritates me about 2K9 is the sloppy framerates and animation. The framerate drops HUGE during freethrow scenes. The players seem to skate around the court more in 2K9 than in Live.

To sum it up for me, after playing both, I like a bit more fun in my games. After all, that is what they are for, right? FUN and entertainment. I also think the difference in overall scores is ALOT tighter, so you really can't judge by even the game critics scores this year. It really comes down to your style of play, so I recommend you play both before buying one. You really can't go wrong with either one this year, but, Live '09 gets the nod from me this year. Good Job becoming relevant again this year EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If its in the game, Its in the game (For 10 bucks)

posted by m1r4g3 (BEAVERTON, OR) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first started hearing about this game I was very excited. The concept of Live 365 and DNA both had me salivating at the thought of having real-time rosters! Well, for those of us that rented the game, we will not be able to enjoy those features unless you are willing to plop down 800 MS points for those features. Of course if you by the game then they are included but I will not be buying it to find out if the new features are worth it. No matter how they want to justify it this is completely wrong for them to be doing and after five minutes of checking out the game I packed it up and sent it back. This review is for those thinking about renting this game. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pay for NBA Live 365??? Smells like BS to me!!!

posted by dman77777 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly this is probably the best version of NBA Live but it still pales in comparison to the 2K series, but I had to try it for the Live 365 feature. When I put the game in and they requested 800 microsoft points for the 365 feature needless to say I was kind of mad. I know the code for 365 comes with the game if you buy it but that is why I have Gamefly so that I don't have to buy games that I might not like. I'm just tired of how these companies nickel and dime console gamers for updates and other DLC that should be free. Just for this reason alone and the fact that 2K9 is a better game and a has a feature similar to 365 that is FREE I have to brand this game with a 1 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glitches!

posted by jwdillar (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game play is all jacked up. There are major glitches. You can run through defenders from time to time, the ball may freeze in mid-air, and your player may "dunk the ball" when really the player and the ball are no where near the rim. The other major NBA title is so much better than this game. I suggest some one get 2K9 before this game, and that is coming from a VERY loyal EA Sports user. I bet even the programmers of this game would rather play 2K9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun basketball game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Oct 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ive played some basketball games but not that many so i dont really have much to compare this game too, but i thought this was a very fun game. This game has very good graphics first of all. I think a new thing in this NBA game is NBA live 365 which i think is something where it updates everyday with real world things or something, i couldnt try it out because i didnt feel like paying 800 microsoft points(IMPORTANT!!! by the way if you buy the game it comes with a code for this). Xbox Live is pretty fun if you have some friends that have this game, but if your friends dont have this game i would just suggest you play alone. I think this game is difficult but very possible to win. Which will make it fun and not too easy or hard. I like this game a lot and it is a very good pick for your GameQ and i think its a very nice buy for many of the great features of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA 09

posted by Doggface (Copperas Cove, TX) May 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I Hate This Game!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

UGLY

posted by Jakesterr47 (NAPLES, FL) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I SENT IT BACK ON FIRST DAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by mrigetbuzy (DETROIT, MI) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

great game to own even for the casual nba fan. a little slow as far as gameplay goes but u can fix that in the game settings. other than that, great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nba live 09

posted by matte420 (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

good game really scratched getting the cant read game alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Keep 2k9's Controls

posted by eatdrumz (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I rented both, as I wanted to compare side by side. I heard some of the negatives and positives on both.
I personally found the EA game,to be much more user friendly. One can just jump in and start playing!
I didn't have to pull both triggers, the "A" button, while singing a song, and standing on head all at the same time to make the player dribble between his legs!

The EA game's graphics are every bit as beautiful, the game play was extremely intuitive, and smooth. The announcers did a great job on play by play, sound was great, and practice mode helped me work out the kinks.
I also found frame rate smooth, no hang ups, and as mentioned, the controls are INFINITELY more user friendly. I don't want to spend 2 weeks trying to learn to reverse dunk, I just want to play the game.

With all that said, Both are excellent! No complaints about the graphics, sound, announcing, or smooth play of the 2k game, but for me, the controls were the deal breaker.

I believe when you get two games of this caliber, it comes down to preference. It's the "Fender," or "Gibson" argument guitar players have.

As a long time Madden Footballer, maybe it's just that I'm more familiar with EA's controls. For me, and for those of you who don't like things un necessarily complicated this might be the one for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good

posted by Kiara1 (EMERADO, ND) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

What can I tell you, it was a great game. I love the new Play as an NBA Player feature, that was fun. The gameplay was amazing and fun. It also had great graphics. Best experience of NBA gameplay I have ever had. I just can't wait to try out NBA Live 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOO!! Get off the stage

posted by GamerOf09 (TOLEDO, OH) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I know i'm late on this but this game is weak. First off the rebounding is stupid. If it weren't for NBA 2k9 I would kill sports. 2k all the way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What Happend?

posted by Frost3016 (MERCEDES, TX) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

EA sports usually creates great sport games but when it comes to the NBA Live franchise they continually let us real basketball players down. How can a 6 foot guard constantly take it in spot up and shoot over YAO MING, not once, not twice, but constantly. This game is ridiculous hopefully NBA Live 10 fixes all the little flaws in 09. lets hope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AIR BALL

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Jul 26, 2009

Member since May 2007

Maybe if i had this game during the season i might have had a better time because of the whole live stats and game tracking ea put into this years edition. playing rewind game was interesting, but not enough to get me excited about this years live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

When is it gone

posted by TAMIKA (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

When is live or 2k gone to get a superstar mode this is really getting me mad thats all that these two game's need is a superstar mode. The reason why it needs a superstar mode is because it makes the game real and look how it helped madden get better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Send this game Back to the store, trade it in.

posted by Jmackchica (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

This game sucks , Before i paid for any basketball game in 09 i downloaded the demo on xboxlive after playing this game for 10 minutes i went to gamestop and bought NBA2K9 as fast as i could. This game is a waste of money , Dont do this to youself. save your money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointed

posted by swoosh (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

i'm a bit disappointed about the live series. i've been a loyal fan since 1998... i bought a copy of the game every year until this year...

ea 360 is a good concept, but not for rental people like me, cant get updated roster because i dont have reg code, i dont want to buy it from live market either, so i'm stuck with last year's roster.

there are only 3 in game camera modes, not many to choose from

all and all, game play isnt what it used to be anymore... too systematic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Game

posted by SOLIDSTIX (MARTINEZ, CA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I like this game alot, the controls are easy and fast to learn, they have a great selection of songs, Dynasty mode is fun, Be a Pro is a great new addition...etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad... but not good either...

posted by ssp0929 (KATY, TX) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Let me just start by saying that the graphics, are undoubtedly excellent. The animations are somewhat smooth, and the presentation is pretty cool.

The game-play, however, is a huge letdown. The pace of the game seems too slow, and when shooting, you just don't feel like you have control of your shot. It's also incredibly hard to steal in this game, and the quick-strike function is just a failure.

Their features have pretty much saved them from total Armageddon with things like Franchise mode, Academy mode, complete All-Star weekend events, etc.

Final Conclusion? If you like eye candy and nothing else, go ahead and buy/rent the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA Game

posted by Nismo350z (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

First of all the game is good not the best but good, the only thing with this game is that it was made back in 2008. That would be ok but how it says its made fresh daily that is not true the code that you need to connect to the live365 is not included in the game package so you can't update skill or trades without that code. They should include it in there you can maybe call the CSL and find out what you can do. The lakers being the best team that year they suck in this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Basketball Game Ever! but great extras...

posted by Steve76 (WEATHERFORD, TX) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

This will be short. This game has some great features, but the gameplay is by far the worst of any bball game ever. The player movements are aweful, rough, and by no means any fun. I am shocked that EA put this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse