Rent NBA Live 09 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA Live 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

923 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun and entertaining

posted by lilTigga (DUBLIN, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NBA live 09 is sport game of the year for me.
NBA live 09 is very ffun to play and amzing graphics. Online play is fun also, but connection to the other player can tend to be bad, but for me it was good most of the time. Dynasty mode mode is really fun and it is well planned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I USED to play 2K Live wins this year

posted by McLovinit (Charlotte, NC) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Try to be open minded, ask yourself what you want from a basketball game. Realism, presentation, graphics, a challenge NBA LIVE is your game. If you like graphics only on cut scenes, glitches, and easy drive it to the hoop basketball try 2k9
I hate 2k8 but i hated live even more, you will hear the same thing about live 2009 Much better but not there yet, this is from people that love 2k9 and are in denial, i was there too but after 5 games of both the truth set in and when it came a choice of what to do with my 60 bucks live won.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FIRST REVEIEW OF NAB LIVE 09

posted by dpaperz22 (HARRISBURG, PA) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I THOUGHT THE GAME SHOWED MUCH INPROVEMENT FROM 08 ESPECIALLY THE GRAPHICS, I CAN SEE AFTER A COUPLE OF YEARS THIS WILL BE PLAYERS FAVORITES EA SAYS THEY STILL HAVE ALOT OF TRICKS UP THEIR SLEEVE FOR THE FUTURE EDITIONS, BUT WITH ALL HONESTY I GIVE IT AN 8 PLUS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i like the but

posted by chris8 (SPRING, TX) Oct 9, 2008

Member since May 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i like this alot but i just need to know the NBA Live 365 code to work it if anyone knows it tell me please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME SUCKS

posted by Aaron05 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Where can I start with this horrific game. First, get 2k9 it is a real basketball game. Now...That is off my chest please understand I tried to give this Live a chance. Once again they fail me!! In the NBA when you dunk the rim usually moves. Or how about a floor that does not light like Mario Kart Rainbow Road. Players still skating like I am playing NHL 09. Poor detail too realization. DNA is a nice thought fortunately 2k9 did it two times better. Why do I have to buy the patch online to get the updates that the gamee is supposed to do. 2K9 is where it is at when you want to play a true to life basketball. I hate LIVE!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NBA live 09

posted by GeezUs (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Since you are renting the game, you dont get the code for live365, so the best part of 09 is not even available to you unless you want to purchase the service... BOOOO

The game play is slow and stiff. i have been a fan of live since it first came out, but this years version just sucks. After 3 days of attempting to play the game I gave up on it and returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Live 09 vs 2k9

posted by JSmoovez (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I own both of these games (Live 09 and 2k9). I will be selling NBA Live 09.

Let me tell you this first, Do not Buy into the DNA in Live - IT IS IN BOTH GAMES - I REPEAT - IT IS IN BOTH GAMES

Live 09, while and improvement from last year, is not as in depth as 2k9.

Live, plays fast and feels like more a arcade game, while 2k9 is a basketball purists game. Also, the way the dribbling is handled in live is not as smooth as 2k9. The Shot stick in 2k9 is very nice. Live is more of a button adapted game.

Player movements seem more realistic in NBA 2k9. Also the player graphics are more realistic in terms of their counter parts.

This is a short review but I REPEAT BY 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not what I expected

posted by abc127 (AUBURN, NY) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

It was good but not great. I expected more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKY GAME

posted by samuel345 (KENNESAW, GA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

THIS GAME SUCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stupid intro

posted by netxm123 (STAMFORD, CT) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Intro lasts about 5-10 minutes, no option to skip, it explains how cool this game is every time I turn my console on + T-mobile ads... I hate it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nba live

posted by jimmy23 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

i think live is about the most realistic bball game out there today! still feel like there could b sum improvements.ea sports hopefully will leave what they did to 09 live alone and just add alittle more d. u no like where r da pin shots on the backboard or follow dunks on missed shots. plus i like when u can jump in air for shot but then pass it u cant do that on 09 live. plus i always noticed no matter who i play with seems like i cant stop the opposing point guard no matter who it is. come on man raymon felton 30 pts. no thats funny.. but all in all graphics,gameplay r da realist..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by josh24e (LAREDO, TX) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

awesome perfect gameplay way better than 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LIVE WINS THIS YEAR

posted by NY718NY (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I LIKE THIS GAME GOOD GRAPHICS EASY CONTROLS. ONLINE PLAY IS A LOT OF FUN BUT THRE ARE SOME GLITCHES DYNASTY MODE IS GOOD AS WELL BUT THEY HAVE TO IMPROVE MORE ON REALISIM BUT WAS MUCH IMPROVED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

wats up dogg from pc oklahoma

posted by basket23 (PONCA CITY, OK) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

hey i havent played the game yet but i like the demo and every one said the new 360 mode on it is cool so y is the game rated so low

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT A GOOD GAME

posted by masistmac1 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING IS THE SAME FROM NBA LIVE 08 THE ONLY THING NEW IS THE PICK AND ROLL CONTROLS AND THE TRAINING CAMP. THE ROSTERS ARE NOT UP TO DATE FOR EX. THE ROCKETS ROSTER THEY DO NOT HAVE RON ARTEST OR CHUCK HAYES AND THEY STILL HAVE BOBBY JACKSON AND STEVE NOVAK SO NOT GOOD IF YOU DO NOT HAVE ACCESS TO THE INTERNET TO BE ABLE TO UPDATE THE ROSTERS. NOT VERY GOOD GRAPHICS PLAYERS DO NOT LOOK LIKE THEMSELVES ESPECIALLY YAO MING, ALSO THE WAY PLAYERS SHOOT THE BALL LIKE CARMELO ANTHONY DOESNT EVEN JUMP OFF THE GROUND. CROSSOVERS ARE SUPER EASY SO IT IS DIFFICULT TO GUARD YOUR OPPONENT. ALSO YOUR DEFENSE WILL GIVE UP ALOT OF OPEN JUMPERS AND 3 POINTERS NO MATTER WHAT TYPE OF DEFENSE YOU CALL. IT IS ALSO DIFFICULT TO MAKE A SIMPLE PASS THE COMPUTER JUST STEALS IT LIKE NOTHING. THE COMMENTARYS ARE EXACTLY THE SAME FROM LAST YEAR. PERSONALLY I DONT KNOW WHAT THEY DO WITH THE YEAR IT TAKES TO MAKE THE GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WORTH A RENT

posted by JiGgZ96 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

AFTER PLAYING 2K9, THERE IS NO COMPARRING THESE 2. 2K9 IS WAY MORE SUPERIOR IN GAMEPLAY, BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR THE BEST LOOKING GAME LIVE O9 IS FOR YOU.

HONESTLY THE ONLY THING BESIDES THE GRAFFIX I LIKED BETTER THAN 2K9, IS THE FACT YOU CAN PLAY WITH THE FIBA TEAMS AND OF COURSE THE US TEAM THAT WON THE GOLD.

SO IN CONCLUSION ITS NOT THE WEAKEST BASKETBALL GAME IVE PLAYED, BUT JUST LIKE IN REAL LIFE... U CAN COME ON THE COURT LOOKN PRETTY, BUT THE PLAYER WITH THE BEST GAME WILL WIN. BIG UPS TEAM 2K.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »