Rent NBA Live 09 All-Play for Wii
view large frontback

NBA Live 09 All-Play

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

377 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

NBA Live 09 for Wii leaves mixed feelings

posted by IanADale (AUBURNDALE, FL) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

First off, I'm not a huge gamer -- not since the original NES have I been all that active in gaming. That being said, I tried NBA Live 09 for the Wii before buying, and I'm still not sure I'll drop $50 on this one.

The gameplay is pretty good, the All Play and Classic options give great flexibility for controls. I was disappointed that the Slam Dunk Contest was limited to 1 round in single player mode, but I was glad to see simplified controls compared to the last NBA Live game I'd played on PS2.

I still gave this game an 8, so it has a lot going for it. I loved the 3-point Contest and the 5-on-5. Superstar mode looks like a smart idea too. Maybe a fantasy draft like Madden would be a fun addition, but I'm a little biased to that game franchise.

In summary, this is a fun game and probably the best basketball game out now. The graphics are more fun than realistic (of course it's not the PS3), but it was a good overall experience. I would recommend it still for any sports fan, especially if you have friends to play it with -- locally or online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"NBA Live 09" Lacking Enthusiasm

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When the title said this game was "All Play", it meant it was to be played by the casual gamers.
The controls are so simple that you don't have to move the player about at all. You can pass, shoot, or try to block or steal. It's easy to pick up and play.
But the problem is the experience is very sluggish. The players walk up and down the court in a leisurely fashion, making the game very dull to watch.
Defense is almost non existent; it's easy for the ball handler to dribble right to the basket or pass it to the open player for the automatic shot.
The commentators don't add anything to the mix; sometimes they say the same remark three or four times in a row.
NBA 2K9 isn't a thrill to look at either; the graphics are the same as they were in 08.
In fact, most of the features of this game are copied over from 08; there's very little improvement in this installment.
The copied features include the Party Mode with mini games that have the same lack of energy or enthusiasm that is in the main modes. Definitely not worth $50.
Unless you really want to play a very basic and simplistic basketball game, skip NBA Live 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!

posted by MichaelW (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This has to be the worst basketball game ever. The "All play" controls are annoying for anyone who actually wants to play the game. There doesn't appear to be anything that allows you to disable the "all play" settings, and just control everything on your own. Instead you'll constantly fight with the computer over control of movement and other controls.

The players all move slow, it's WAY too easy to steal, for instance, I averaged 20+ steals a game, while passing is annoying as it's completly too easy to have passes picked off.

There is nothing to this game, calling plays do not work, instead you just make a regular pass. Find your 3-point specialist on your team every play, and have him shoot it, as long as he's got some space he'll make it over 90% of the time.

I absolutely hate this game, it is horrible. Not to mention, the stats for most players are unrealistic.

Examples - Dwight Howard has range just short of 3, Deron Williams cannot dunk, and sucks at passing, Mike Dunleavy is a top 10 player, Carmelo Anthony is an elite rebounder, and the Knicks are decent.

The people who made this game obviously do not watch basketball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun but really ez

posted by awesum34 (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i loved this game for the first few days. but then it got kinda boring and way 2 ez.the gameplay is very very simple.if ur an advanced gamer skip this 1 , not a challenge.but if ur a casual gamer or u really luv bball then i reccomend it 4 rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very fun

posted by chandulal (BEDFORD, VA) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game is very enjoyable you can get up and its just like playing the real thing but your in your house

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good for the serious gamer

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

overall, this game really dissapointed me. at the beginning, the graphics dont seem too bad, and i enjoyed the game. however, after playing for a little bit, it was way too easy. i even switched to superstar mode, and both teams shot about 90% from the field. with some selected players, such as steve nash and kirk heinrich, you can score on every play while driving to the hoop. however, other players miss breakaway layups consistently. the game is just wayy too easy, especially when you figure the game out. do not rent this unless you have young kids, or want to have a family game night. this game is not fun when playing multiplayer is head to head real nba games, but the multiplayer games are slightly fun. the slam dunk contest and the threee point shootout are fun when played with the rest of the family, and the two on two games are fun when the players aquire special powers. bottom line: this game is not good for someone who actually knows the game of basketball. however, this game should be rented if you are having a weekend party or a young kids family game night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

buy it for Xbox 360, rent if you must for Wii

posted by soflyat30 (BRONX, NY) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Not as responsive and dynamic as for Xbox360, but has some fun factor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not the best.

posted by SniperKat (RED BLUFF, CA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is the worst basketball game I have ever played. The controls are so stupid that when you make a shot and don't sink it because it looks so easy, it makes you feel stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stick with 2008

posted by jdbabe (CARMICHAEL, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

The graphics are horrible. This is definately a downgrade in graphics. It must have been made for kids. I am going back to my 2008.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NBA Live 09

posted by decourcy73 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

A really terrible basketball sim. NBA Live games have been steadily getting worse since the creation of the 2K series, but this one is really bad. I only kept the game for one day and returned it. As far as I could tell, you cannot even create your own character. I thought that was a requisite to sports games nowadays. After I found out I could not create a character, the game was pretty much lost on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is Simply Not Worth Your Time

posted by SpecialG (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

I played this game with my sister who has never played a Game before. I tried it because it is supposed to be for casual, inexperienced players. I am a fan of the PS3 NBA live 09, but this is just not worth a play at all even for inexperienced players.

The graphics are grainy to say the least. I looked at this and found myself thinking of my old PS1 games. It is terrible that a great idea, like this goes to waste with terrible graphics.

Graphics are not the only issue. Controls are indeed very simple, too simple. You do not even control the movement of your player. You simply control shooting, passing, blocks, or steals, and those control systems are unresponsive and tricky to time properly. So much for including the casual gamer.

The Idea of having street modes like 21, Horse, 2 on 2, ETC. is a great one. But the controls, graphics, and overall simplicity destroy the fun of street action.

The great ideas are the only things keeping me from giving this game a lower grade than I did. I see potential here, but until that potential is developed this game is not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its missing alot of features

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game is good except its missing alot of features. The roster is not up to date

The graphics are pretty bad

but somehow its still a fun game to play

Even with that missing its diffuntly a good game with some of the new gameplay features

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same Old Song And Dance

posted by 360fever (GRIFFIN, GA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

Nba Live 09 All Play,Is the same game as last year.Live has just changed the name.To me,this is a boring game.You hardly ever miss the shots,and your opponent never misses.the graphics are alright,the sound is ok,I could never get the camera to look like the 360. I am sick and tired of EA Sports games on the Wii,Being watered down,And taking a back seat to the PS3,and the 360.Try this game for yourself,and see what I am talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Above Average but one of few aval for Wii

posted by kevvy1979 (GENTRY, AR) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

If you have played any of the previous NBA live games like I have ,then expect the same type of up and down game your accustomed to. The only difference is the 3 point shootout, and slam dunk contest along with the 2 on 2 option added in party mode.

The slam dunk contest has you do a certain motion with the controller to perform a type of dunk. For instance for the tomahawk you would move the controller upward then back down when prompted. The 3 point shootout has you grab the ball then raise the controller up to jump up and then swing it down at the peak to release it.

That's how you shoot in a regular 5 on 5 game as well, with the option to switch to classic controller in setup so that you can just press 2 instead of the motion. I like both ways its just depends on what style fits you. Check out the controls first before you get into a game so know what to expect.

On the graphics front its not bad as reviewed if you are watching on a plasma or LCD HD with 480p.Dont expect 360/ps3 type character animations as the graphics are a little above ps2 level for the players/court.

I would of rated it higher if not for the lack of response when using the controller for the jump and steal motions and the same up and down ball play that has not been corrected in previous live games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

First Review: All Play Does Not= All Play: Get 360

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 9, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

EA said 08 was dissapointing well Fifa was outstanding, NBA was very good, Madden was great and yet this year is starting to be dissapointing!
This is slighly improved over last year; which was very basic. This year the menu is stream lined with better music and way more options.The texures are better but still lacking. However; with the new passing system it is a hit and miss. {I AM NOT looking forward to Fifa for the Wii; just the 360 and PS3}. When you pass you sometimes shoot the ball half court and all you wanted was to take the ball; other times it works. The AI is brutal to say the least; they score points from far away but even when you dunk it in it does not count. The 2 on 2 is sloppy at best and does not work well. I am not going to get the Wii version anymore (not even to rent)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »