Rent NBA Live 08 for Wii
view large frontback

NBA Live 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

684 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lacking in so many areas

posted by dapimple (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

NBA Live 2008 for the Wii could have been a much better game than it is. While it is fun to play as an arcade game experience, Live falters in too many areas to be considered by anyone looking for a more serious sim-like experience.

The motion controls for shooting, blocking, rebounding and stealing are fun and add an additional visceral feel to the game; successfully blocking a shot by flicking your remote with authority is especially gratifying. Outside of that, though, the game begins to wither. There are so many basic facets of modern basketball games that have gone missing in Wii's inaugural version of Live:

- No button/ability to pump fake, while the CPU can
- No button to post up
- No consistent or comfortable way to cross over (this is done by tilting the nunchuk but can rarely ever be executed effectively)
- No true widescreen support (the picture is just stretched out to fill the screen on widescreen tv's making players look short and squat)
- No franchise mode
- No create player feature
- No online roster updates

While the Family Play feature, which allows beginner players to focus only only shooting and passing (movement is handled by the CPU), is appreciated, the game in reality has more in common with the 90's NBA Jam than a contemporary NBA Live. The core features that any basketball game released today should have are no where to be found and this will ultimately prove unacceptable to most basketball fans, myself included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth A Rental! Very Fun! Pick Up and Play!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 5, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The AI is realy good and the controls are top notch; however the audience is "flat" for a next gen, the menu screen and audio could be better.
This is very fun and easy to get into. This is my first Basketball game I played. I hope EA did better with Fifa because I want to buy that one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid first effort, but not a buy.

posted by Grimlok138 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the first NBA Live I've played in quite some time, so I'm not a hardcore NBA game fan by any stretch. However, I could easily pick up the game and get engaged. The lack of features like create-a-player, franchise and even a turbo/speed burst button do hinder this game significantly. Where this game shines however, is that it's just a flat out fun game that you can pick up and be successful. I suggest increasing the game speed and thereby making the player movements seem more natural and less clunky.

The Wii controls can be a bit frustrating. If you drive the lane with K-Mart and try to dish it back to Carmello don't expect to have a quick shot. There is a lag in the shot movement that can kill some 3-pt attempts. Dunking and lay-ups are simple enough. Free throws are a lot of fun and you'll be ecstatic when you set the perfect Alley-oop.

Overall a good first effort from EA who seems to be having a bit of difficulty on their first try with their sports series on the Wii. Rent it if you love the series, but I'd wait till next year to buy NBA Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA Live 08 is good, could have been more.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun for the basketball fans. It's just a lot more could have been added to make the game a lot more worthy:

-Party Mode only offers 2 events: Slam Dunk contest and 3-Point shootout. They could have had at least 10 mini-games to add for the fun of it.

-Season mode isn't really that entertaining. Can get dull a little fast after playing a few times.

-Some of the team rosters are a good fit. But why are the legendary teams missing Michael Jordan? They have Reggie Miller, Patrick Ewing, Larry Bird, etc. Jordan is nowhere to be seen, except for a "Jordan Player of the Game" award.

The gameplay is great. Graphics are alright. I feel if you are really a fan of the sport, then it's a decent buy. But I'd rent it before consider buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Speed burst

posted by CDubbya (NORTH PORT, FL) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No Speed burst. That really effects how you play the game. The controls are pretty cool and gameplay is clean. I wouldn't buy it but it sure is fun when its the only basketball game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD

posted by AANowlan (SEAFORD, DE) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

When we received the game, it did not work. Therefore we could not play it. My son was very upset, because he waited for it, and then once he got it it didn't work!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Thumbs down overall

posted by SDean98 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

We (my son and I) played the wii version of this again and again and it was frustrating we never seemed to get any better at it. It seemd the defensive movements were delayed making it hard to defend esp against dunks. Also, players didn't get back on defense fast even on good teams so you would get killed. i.e. We were the Heat and played the Cavs and I don't think the Cavs shot a "j" all game......nothing but DUNKS and why not when you can't get the rest of your team back for help. I can see why the rating is low.....we agree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do Not Waist Your Time

posted by Hemphasis (LINDEN, NJ) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

The controls are awful, the graphics are fair. Just get 2K8 it poops on this Live Garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NBA live08 review

posted by wiiloverha (FOLSOM, CA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

it was fun but it was confusing how to understand how to shoot and dunk and everything most of the time the computer was playing for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NBA Live

posted by dlareg (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the gameplay was good but....

posted by bayballer (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

everything was good from the dunk contest, 3 point shootout and the gameplay but the one thing that ruined the whole experience is that it doesnt have a franchise mode which sucks! whats the point of playing a season when you cant see your players progress and cant draft or sign new ones? this game gets old fast because of that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA Sports Nails It

posted by Qweczol (BALDWIN, MD) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

When I first saw EA Sports was making an NBA title, I didnt expect much. However, this title, while hard to learn at first, provides intuitive gameplay, for every age, with the family play mode. Also, the controls are pretty straight-foward, and addicting to play. Overall, EA Sports delivered on a great title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by tinemb (MILFORD, OH) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

If you're a basketball fan you'll love this game. The grapics are up there and the play is lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NBA Live 08

posted by mrhigh2u (RICHARDSON, TX) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I am sure the game is great if I could have played it, the Wii would not read the game, so I will rent it again to give a better review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA sports really needs help

posted by Socksmell (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 2, 2008

Member since May 2007

NBA live 08 is fine, but could do a little bit better. The shooting seems to be perfect, but the speed of the is the weak part of the action. The family play is just crazy! It is horrible! It automatically moves the players for you. Lets say you wanted to go inside the paint and dunk. You can't do that in family play because it's ridiculous. The graphics are sharp, but the players don't seem tall and the players have too much muscle. Like Steve Nash he(some)muscle, but not ALOT of muscle. See they are exaggerating everything in this game. I like the all-star weekend alot. The FINAL thing I hate about this game is NO FREESTLYE. No highflyers no power players no playmakers no shooters no scorer no stopper NOTHING! EA sports really needs help!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game

posted by Sheena09 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is very realistic on the wii console. It is actually like you are playing the basketball game and it also helps you gain better accuracy I liked this game and had a lot of fun with it. However it could of had better graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game is alright I guess...

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

The controls are alright, along with the graphics but the gameplay is just kinda slow paced. I'd much rather play a game like NBA Hangtime for Nintendo 64. This game is worth a rent...thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nba Live 08

posted by Knox2414 (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The gameplay as far as the controls are excellent,it really puts u in the game...but the weakest part that made me send the gameback quick is that u can't create a player and customize the shoes and all the other cool stuff like on the regular ps2 version...I like the game but without the customization the game is hella weak to me...I sent it back quick..lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by kstatefan (BEATRICE, NE) Dec 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

This game is BORING. it had bad graphics and i didn't like the controls. I guessed it might be like you take a real shot to shoot. like goose neck and everything but its basically a flick of the wrist. but i did like the fact that you could challenge other mii's. that was kinda cool. I would say if you have a little kid that likes NBA and gets how to play the wii and would get this controls i would say get it for them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Really enjoyed the game

posted by dcjungalo (HARPERS FERRY, WV) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

First off I am not a big time gamer and maybe I am a little easier to please, but I must say I really enjoy this game. Its pretty easy to pick up and play and the controls have you feeling like you are a part of the game. The only parts I dont like, I think have been covered over and over... There is no turbo button. When your guy has a fast break it takes forever for him to get down the court. Also it seems as the controls are delayed. When you hit jump, it delays for a second before actually jumping. It takes some getting used to. Overall though I enjoyed playing it and want to keep playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SUCK!

posted by pspnwii3 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

BIG FAT SUCK! FROM GRAPHICS TO GAMEPLAY. EVEN GAMEPLAY!!! PLAYS LIKE A GAME THAT WAS MADE IN 3 DAYS. VERY DISAPPOINTING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Pesto1776 (WATERTOWN, CT) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This Game is awsome. I love basketball and this game made me love it even more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's A Fun Game.......

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

But not if your a hardcore basketball fan. I am not one myself but this game I really don't think will appeal to hardcore basketball fans. It doesn't have the realistic touch that those sports fan need to have. Here is why.....

Graphics -
The graphics I was actually surprised with. The game doesn't look that bad at all. There pretty smooth graphics. The environment from the floor to the fans to the players all look really well. The game is not lacking in this category. Unless you are comparing it to the PS3/Xbox360. Lets face it. The Wii will never compare on graphics to those consoles.

Controls-
This is where I think the game is going to lose hardcore fans. The controls are kind of weak and don't make much sense. You swing the wii-mote back and forward and he shoots. ( But you have no control over how he is shooting.) Its seems to me its all luck if you make the shot or not. Or you flick the stick left or right by the hoop to dunk or layup. To steal you flick the stick left or right or if you want to jump you swing the the stick up. Really If find the controls to be confusing and difficult. I like the PS3 version 10 times better. Even this one is fun to play. I just feel like a idiot flailing the stick around madly not knowing whats going to happen.

Gamplay-
This is the same as always. Exhibition, Season, All star weekend, Online play. ( Which this is the first game I played online with the wii and was impressed. No glitchyness or getting booted off. I have gotton booted off several times on the PS3.)Party play is pretty fun. 3 point shoot-out and slam dunk contest.

I would pick this game out just to try if you like basketball. Since being the first basketball game for the Wii. But I still think you'll like the realistic PS3 version better. Try it out though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW

posted by kedro3 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The words that came out of my mouth when i saw the ridiculous graphics on this game. Come on I know that the wii isn't a powerhouse like xbox 360 and ps3 but this was awful. When I can see what the gamecube and wii did with resident evil and legend of zelda:tp this seems like psone trash. But looks arent everything right? So what if everybody looks like bobble heads? But there is so much more wrong. when i heard that this game was coming for the wii I was excited finally a basketball game the I could pull of the stylish moves that I want, I was way off. It seems like there is less control than a any other basketball game. I would sit back and wonder if I was even playing sometimes. Also the wii remote makes the most annoying sound, and it makes it when you make a shot and when you block (why would they have the same sound associated with them). Then the ratings for the teams are so messed up. I love the clippers and i will always be a fan but I know that they shouldnt be rated the second highest team in the game. I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody not even die hard basketball fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Generally Impressed...

posted by rbmario (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

For a first Wii effort, it is quite a good rental, online, family play, and gameplay make this a no brainer rental. I really enjoyed this more than I thought it was going to be, but EA, fix the graphics a little bit for 09, ok?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse