Rent NBA Live 08 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA Live 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1026 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME

posted by ryns038791 (COMPTON, CA) May 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is so lifelike and very easy to manage. I Strongly recommended for die hard Basket Ball Fans...A Must Play Game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much better that 2K8

posted by GarKeith (CLARKSBURG, WV) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I read all the reviews from the "pro's" and heard over and over how much better NBA 2K8 was, WRONG! This is a much more fun game. Dynasty mode is better and the game runs alot more smoothly. The players look good, and the areanas look good. Not even close as far as gameplay this is a much more fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS JUST FINE.

posted by NCAALOVE (BALDWINSVILLE, NY) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I HAVE COMPLAINING ABOUT EA BASKETBALL GAMES FOR ABOUT THE PAST, UMMM, 7 YEARS. BUT BY GOLLY THEY GOT IT RIGHT THIS TIME. GAME PLAY IS SMOOVE, PLAYERS MOVES SEEM CLOSE TO REALITY(NO FAKE CRAZY STUFF)AND VERY FUN PLAYING AI OR FREIND. I DO HAVE ISSUES WITH THE CONTROL CONFIG AND THE PLAYBOOK. ALSO, EA COULD HAVE ADDED SOME CLASSIC TEAMS FROM THE PAST AND SOME MORE FAN,CHEERLEADERS AND MASCOTS BUT THATS SMALL COMPARED TO THE IMPROVMENT OF THIS GAME. ITS ABOUT TIME. TAKE MY WORD, ITS JUST FINE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA Barely Live 08

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 30 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you hated Live 07 you will be glad to know that EA has remained consistent with their practical joke of a basketball game. 08 is almost as garbage as 07, very pretty graphical garbage but still garbage. EA loves graphics and the players look like players, the balls look like balls (no pun intended) and the courts look like courts. HOWEVER, who cares about graphics if the gameplay sucks? Don't get me wrong, it has taken major steps above 07 but it's the equivalent of upgrading from a Yugo to a Ford Focus in terms of gameplay.

CONS
-Players still make weird shots (Dirk with a behind the head line-drive hook shot after a rebound)
-Glitches galore (EA loves to release unfinished games)
-More arcadish gameplay with superhuman, super hero players (Shaq pulling off cross overs, point gaurds posting up power forwards, etc..)

PRO's
-pretty game, like a pretty girl till you realize she's dumb as a brick
-Commentary

WHO CARES
-Slam dunk contest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not what i expected

posted by cmkiller (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

I am a big nba/nba games fan. The graphics in the game was really good to me & very realistic. However, I didn't like the limited options to call plays on both offense & defense. This game was ok to me but if i had a choice would go with EA sports nba live 2008 all the way, all the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game needs to get better!

posted by OGBANG (INGLEWOOD, CA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Graphics are good but there are alot of flaws

The Bad: inconsistent foul calls, players step out of bounds, no 3 second in the key calls, player ratings are not accurate (Kwame Brown on the Lakers is a beast, and he's really a bum)Too many all stars who miss lay ups. delayed response from controller to player.

The Good : Graphics are awesome, player signature free throws, timeouts are much better, oh and the graphics.

All in all its a good game would be much, much better if they would concentrate on realness of the game instead of graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nba O8

posted by whosyadady (ODESSA, FL) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

This game has very good graphics.But it needs a better rookie carrer challenge so you can feel more into the game.If i had a choice between Nba Live 2008 or Nba 2k7 I would choose 2k7 because it has better carrers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STUPID!!!

posted by megadeath (CLEARFIELD, UT) Apr 25, 2008

Member since May 2005

This game is the stupidest game you could ever play. In game play the other players don't even do a thing to help you. They won't recover rebounds or stolen balls and they sit around like idiots while the other team scores. Even with the rebound recovery setting on the highest it can be. The only fun thing on the game is the trivia you get to do while it's loading the games, or the free shoot at the start. One other good thing is the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet

posted by gibbyfer (LONG BEACH, WA) Apr 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this games awesome i play it all the time. its awesome i like it alot cause its awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA Live Not NBA Real

posted by DCgamer (CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MD) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Live on the PS3 for the First time is cool. It looks good. Online Play is good and friend to friend is good.The Pre-Game Show and starting line up intro is cool. Also the post time out stragey changing is good. You don't have to go into the start menu anymore.You can chage line ups while dribbling the ball. I enjoy not watching every hit jumpers from all over the court. Every one has there spots and even once you learn them your still not Automatic. But there is still some negative, which still keeps 2K ahead of the game. Some of the crazy shots are made by superstars. Taking shots behind the basket happens to often, especially when your hitting the shoot or layup button and your not behind the basket. Also once you turn the game speed all the way up, the game really takes off(you can see the full range of moves Live has to over) and you can finally get to the hole against the CPU but then you also have Yao leading a fast break past your Point guard. "NBA live not NBA real". The moves are great put some moves require the CPU AI to take over and when the shot clock is running down and you just want to shot the ball, you may be on the part of the court where the CPU AI takes over and tries some fancy move and therese your shot clock violation. Shooting free throws are kind a hard at first, but once you get the motion down every ones(player) on. Even the worst in History can make every last one, so don't try the hack-a-Shaq. I don't think I missed since my second game. Besides some of the negative, Live is still a good game and I still spent hours playing. Just remember its "NBA Live not NBA real".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good... not the best.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is definitely better than last years!! The graphics and game play have made HUGE strides in the past year and finally make this game worth playing again. Most of the glitches and bugs have been fixed and this game is back to where it should be. If you like basketball this is a good one to try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Live 08 vs 2K8

posted by SlickJC (BEAUFORT, NC) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I got 2K8, and I rented Live 08, I wanted to see the difference in between games. Well I love the graphics on 2K8 over Live. Gameplay on Live is a lot better to me, you can actually "outrun" the cpu players to make plays. 2K8 cpu players seem like they're "always" there when you make that move to the basket, no matter what difficulty.

If the good of both games could be combined, you would have the ultimate basketball experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Looks great but needs more features

posted by Greenstal (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

By far one of the best looking sports game I have seen graphics wise but The 2k basketball game played better. When I have a nice game I would like to see more post game highlights than what NBA live gives you, plus the camera angles during the post game highlights are very bad. Most of the time your player don't even show up on screen. I would also like a feature that allows you to practice your free throws. I did get the hang of it but it took longer than it should. I say if you combine the looks of NBA Live with the features of 2k basketball then you will have a really nice game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

really boring and lame like real basketball

posted by FAHQGAMEQ (EMERYVILLE, CA) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

EA really nailed it this time. this game is just as boring as the real thing. i dont know what i was thinking ordering this. waste of rental. if you are a diehard basketball fan ok go for it but otherwise skip this garbage. so boring. give me coach k college basketball or live 95. this shiz is weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best basketball game yet

posted by usednirvan (WEST JORDAN, UT) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

NBA Live 08 is not only a huge step above NBA Live 07 but is far ahead 2k8 as well. Live is more realistic of a basketball game I've ever seen. It is very offensive minded and up tempo, the only thing the gameplay really lacks is defensive intensity you have to depend on an opponents missed shot rather than your defense getting a key stop. Player's dribbling and passing skills are displayed in an ultra smooth fashion. Go To Move is a great addition for this years game, when your team needs two points, your best bet is giving it to your go-to-guy and have him use his Go To Move. I am definitely looking forward to NBA Live 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA Live 08

posted by ofinfan83 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I love EA sports games but I must say that 2ksports did a much better job with their basketball games. I have played both NCAA titles and both NBA titles, and while the Dynasty/Franchise portions of the game are better in the EA versions, the overall game play of the 2K games was much better. One of the biggest issues I had with NBA Live 08 was the delay during the game when it comes to passing the ball. In the 2K version it is instant, hold R1 and press the corresponding icon, in NBA Live you had to hold it for 2-5 seconds before the icons appeared thus making fast breaks almost impossible at times. I play with a buddy on the same team and it was very disappointing. We both enjoyed the 2K versions much better. While I appreciate the depth of the EA titles the game play killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Need to work on online performance

posted by reese125 (NEWTOWN, PA) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Although they upgraded the game play and added team match play online, this game still needs a lot of work. After playing so many times online, I found myself to get bored after a while mainly because of this:
1) non-stop fouls--comp setting too sensitive
2)everyone quits during game forcing you to play undermanned
3)no rankings for team play, so quitting is no big deal
4)way too long of download

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah

posted by Fuslas (SAINT PAUL, MN) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Has decent graphics, and gameplay is allright. Not alot of control, many glitches, and long load times in between games. I was close to buying this game, but I'm really glad I decided to rent it b4 I actually played it. NBA gamers will enjoy it, choppy level of almost everything will make it quite annoying along the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is great

posted by iloveracin (JEFFERSON CITY, TN) Feb 12, 2008

Member since May 2007

i got into nba recently so i didnt know how bad the old ones were but htis game is great and tou should rent it right away. GO LAKERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Non Stop Excitement

posted by ikedog33 (ASTORIA, NY) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This NBA Live is the best of all Play Stations.
To all the people crying that it is hard to shoot, or layups get blocked, just change the AI settings and make it a little easier to shoot from outside and inside. The dunk contest is great as always. Great announcers, dynasty mode, and now international teams. Can make the speed of the game quicker, and you can actually have a say in rebounding in this game.

Calling plays or subbing guys out while the game action is going on is another awesome feature. It is like you are coaching and playing at the same time, and you dont have to wait for a timeout to make subs.

Graphics are great, and PS3 always delivers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Review live 2008

posted by bashan (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

its almost perfect, only if the left the tap button still in the game.. the rest is just like real nba... missed calls by ref wrong calls, tht stuff happens so im pleased

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE

posted by ianrocks (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

this game is the worst basketball game i have ever played. i used to like nba live. this is just unrefined junk that looks like its in the early stages of development. horrible camera angels, shooting likelihood to go in(layups are hard to shoot all of the sudden) and wide open shots are bricking. then the announcers say that you bailed them out. i have played many better and more refined games on a gameboy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game i think is the best NBA live game ever. Great graphics and the game play is awsome!

A MUST BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Fine Game

posted by TenzoX (CHATSWORTH, CA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

NBA Live 08 is a solid game. From menus to the graphics to the gameplay. NBA Live 08 has a lot of options. Last years Live game was horrible, and 2K7 won the basketball game war last year, but Live 08 beat 2K8 out of the ball park. The go-to moves are superb, it was such a good idea to implement this into the game. It has a fine Franchise mode. If you are looking for a basketball game GET NBA LIVE 08 you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so good

posted by Straughn (PLYMPTON, MA) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I have never played a NBA Live game i did not like until now. This must have been the worst basketball game i have played. To many things to do to make a simple move. Not what it should be. This must be the worst year for EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse