Rent NBA Ballers: Chosen One for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA Ballers: Chosen One

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.2

2080 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ballers NOT so Balling after all.

posted by CNTRINSGNT (MANVILLE, NJ) May 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

41 out of 46 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

As always I give you the Good, the Bad, and a final thought.

===========
The good
===========

The game is very addicting, You will want to play it just to get to the next level.

The ability to play or play against many of the NBA'S top star players is great. You also can create a player and do story mode which is very fun.

The cut scene graphics are amazing, and the game's graphics are pretty good, I wouldnt quite call it next gen though.

SOME! Achivements are easy. I would say the game is an easy 500 at least.

==========
the bad
==========

The game allows just 3 retries if you fail which is very annoying when you are playing vs 5 players in many matches.

You will need to restart the entire game if you fail on the first attempt because you will for sure fail at least twice.

NO settings. There are no settings for difficulty which really stinks. Because this game is very very hard.

Some achievments are really hard. Such as play through the game two times.
And being as it is so hard you will need to spend at least 50-60 hours doing this.

THE AI CHEATS!
this is by far the worst part of the game. You will find that when you are up in points the AI will pull of unreal blocks or rebounds that make no sense at all. Only to lead you to lose or come really really close. this gets worse at the end of the game or the "boss challenge".

=============
Final thought
=============

This game is a good game to play IF you love basketball and want a real challenge. However it will lead to you being very angry after a while because of the unfair AI. all in all its a ok game with an easy 500 points or so

P.S. foolmanchu stop ripping off my review format

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not very good

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Apr 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I like basketball. I like playing basketball games with my friends. I really wanted to like this game. Problem is, it's kinda broken.

It's supposed to be a fun arcade game, but there are too many complicated moves, too many easy to mess up combos, too many match-the-button mini games right in the middle of a SPORTS GAME. I've played tactical shooters with easier controls.

Still, if you don't play too much Single player, then you won't get too frustrated. I enjoyed the game while playing some friends locally... then I tried to go online.

I tried all day to play a ranked match and finally got a game to actually start and it froze on me the first time my opponent tried to do a special move. I must have spent half an hour in the lobby, waiting for a challenger. I would have smashed this disc if it didn't belong to Gamefly.

NBA Street is better and 2K8 is much better. I don't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS ISNT BASKETBALL!

posted by allTRUE617 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) May 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

CONROLS ARE NON RESPONSIVE.
IT SAYS PRESS 'A' WHEN U PRESS 'A' IT JUST DOESNT HAPPEN, ITS AS IF YOUR ALWAYS LATE.

IM SO ANGRY WITH THIS GAME I CANT EVEN WRITE A FULL REVIEW... MY FIRST GAME WAS VS PAUL P. AND RAY ALLEN. NOW TO SUM THIS GAME UP I CAN SAY WHAT THEY DRESSED RAY ALLEN IN TO PLAY BASKETBALL...SHOWS HOW MUCH THEY CARE ABOUT REAL BASKETBALL FANS. HIS OUTFIT IS AWFUL IT MIGHT JUST BE WORSE THAN THIS GAME ALTOGETHER. ONCE HE STOLE THE BALL FROM ME WITH A DEFENSIVE ONE OF THIS GAMES WACK SUPER MOVES, AND THEN DID SOME RETARTED DUNK...I EJECTED THIS AND DID A SUPER MOVE WHERE I DO A FLIP INTO A AROUND THE BACK NO LOOK SLAM INTO THE GAMEFLY SLEEVE...SEALED IT SHUT THEN DID THE DWIGHT HOWARD DOUBLE DUNK INTO THE MAIL BOX! IF THERE WAS NEGATIVE RATING NUMBERS ID GIVE THIS THIS THIS.... WILDING GAME THE LOWEST ONE. STAY FAR FAR FAR FAR AWAY FROM THIS...GO RENT YASELF A RIDE-ALONG MOWER AND CLEAN THAT BACKYARD INSTEAD OF THIS...
IT HAS TO BE MORE FUN THAN ATTEMPING TO PLAY THIS WILDING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can it Possibly GET WORST!!!????

posted by Outtellect (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst street basketball game, better yet worst video game period. The controls are horrible. As a matter a fact who knows what the controls are because there's no option that identifies it. Ever get blocked and dunked on by Steve Nash??? You can time a block or a rebound for nothing. Because the ball won't get blocked and you won't get the ball off the rim. You can be literally in the guys face and you will not get the block. Or TRY TO Counter his trick move only for the ball to go right in the opponents hands. What's the purpose of that? STREETS HOMECOURT IS BY FAR MORE SUPERIOR!!! The Graphics are horrible. Why have Goaltending in a arcade like game? And Why isn't there a clear distinction on what goal tending is? Basically whenever the computer decides its a goal tend. Oh yeah, if the balls in the cylinder you can knock it out or rebound off the rim. Clearly a goal tend in the NBA but not in Ballers unless you block the initial shot... ONLY THEN COULD IT BE A GOAL TEND. The achievement points aren't even worth it. They have one game mode were there's no take backs and you have guys dunking, grabbing the ball as it drops through the net and constantly dunking it again until they get to match point. ITS FRUSTRATING TRYING TO BEAT EPISODES!!!! DON't Waste Your TIME, I DID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Have game

posted by Flygamer33 (CHICAGO, IL) May 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you want to experience a Basketball game with "Show-time" moves, then this is a must have game.

Graphics from Midway always cutting edge, baby!

Dwight Howard and Tracy McGrady are phenoms, baby!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a game that says"put me in coach,i got hoopdreams"

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Apr 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

12 out of 30 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

hold on to ur hat, cuz heres my latest review!

now let me just say, i LOVED nba street:homecourt. it was FUN, INNOVATIVE, and excitingly PLAYABLE. when i saw the trailer for nba ballers: chosen one, i had hoped it would feel very similar, but maybe more....NBAish? i dont know if that realy describes what i was hoping for, but after playing it, let me show you what i realy found...
THE PROS:
1: this game is definitly over the top, from the moves to the courts, it may just leave you trying out for the pros only to realize that NO ONE can realy pull off those insane moves or afford houses that would cost as much as some of the basketball courts...but thats half the fun.
2: it has local play....thank you.

now...for a change, im going to introduce something that i havent yet had to...a split review. this is where i couldnt decide if it was a PRO or a CON of the game...cuz its a little bit o both.

the SPLIT: the gameplay is a LITTLE bit tricky. it realy IS fun to pull of the stunt moves, and adds a bit of flare to the game, but it IS a bit TRICKY. the buttons are difficult at points, and you will mess up when you dont expect it...but the thing is,it looks cool whe you DO pull it off! so....hence the split.

the CONS:
1:the graphics look like REALLLY GOOD...xbox graphics. not entirely worthy of 360 next gen. im not saying theyre BAD, they arent. but the faces on the characters look goofy at points. the ENVIORMENTS look pretty wikid. but over all,not the best.

but thats realy about it. if you loved nba street, you MAY b dissapointed in this, or you may love it as well. thats why i put the SPLIT decision. but i know you probably wont HATE this game. it is fun, and if you play with a friend who doesnt know the controlls,its just fun to dance circles around them. so i have to recomend that you at least rent this game. a 7.5/10

this review was brought to you by Pucheo films. the newest Youtube sensation. Search Pucheo on youtube for off beat comedy and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wait a sec...Havent i played this before?

posted by denny417 (GLEN ELLYN, IL) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Ok well some of may have been waiting for this game and you wont be too happy. once you pop the game in you go ok this IS pretty cool but i made sure before i wrote this review i played it for a long time to make sure i had everything right.

The Good: Game play is fun with lots of nba players old and new, and many nicknames for your created baller.

The Bad:Controls are complex and they really dont need to be and VERY repetitive game play.

LAST WORDS
the game play is fun but the game types have very poor variety. Once you get into the chosen one tournament with your created baller you will have some fun in the beginning. But as you move up in the tourney you will notice that the you are constantly player the same game types with just different players. The next nba ballers needs to up its game types and then this might be worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA Ballers Chosen One

posted by jumpman5802 (NEW YORK, NY) May 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

NBA Ballers Chosen One is like NBA Jam in gameplay and controls the graohics are similiar the game is decent tough to get all the achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game blows this game has bad graphics

posted by noahclay (BLACKLICK, OH) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

i hate it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not very good

posted by Sin2199 (FRISCO, TX) Mar 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Personally I liked the first game better. I created a new character and i automatically knew all these crazy tricks that I didn't even choose or know about. And I beat Tim Duncan in a 1 on 1 match on my first try. You just run around pressing X until you steal the ball then shoot a jumper and you are unbeatable.

Terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is raw i give it a 10 rating

posted by CubanSouja (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jul 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This is game is so better then street and the live is is also perfect too also the the story mode also if u wanted to rent a basketball game wit street in it this one would be it this is cubaansouja review and iam out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not really ballin

posted by Degoody (BOISE, ID) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

I found the game to be ok, but the moves were really repetitive, and the AI always finds a way to come back. I remember at one point, I was even missing wide open layups and dunks, while the AI made
everything it took.

There needs to be a difficulty setting, because if you're just playing the NBA Ballers series as I am, it doesn't give you a good impression about how the series is. I think I'll stick to NBA Street series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is tight

posted by romillio (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game was off the chain. Iwas balling people up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NBA Ballers: Chosen mistake

posted by jmor72 (LODI, CA) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

The newest adaption to the NBA baller games is a letdown. With a wide variety of moves avaliable. It fails to tell you how to do them 1 out of 10 is being generous if I could I would give it a 0!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An ok game with a few tough challenges

posted by tacdian09 (EAST THETFORD, VT) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game definatly has its pros and cons, cons being the annoyingly bad outfits you can dress the ballers in. The pros are that the game is pretty tough in certain spots and if your looking for a challenge where in the end when u succeed you will be yelling at the tv then try this one out. The mechanics do get pretty annoying in two vs. two (don't let your teammate shoot whatever you do.) Overall the game definatly was not what I expected it to be, if your easliy annoyed or are a true NBA fan do not get this game. It will end in you swearing repeadtly at the screen asking yourself why you have to wait another three days to get this game out of your x box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by RobertH (DENTON, TX) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

There is a reason I rate this game good instead of Fantastic. I will tell you the good and the bad of this game.....

((((((((GOOD)))))))))

I think this game is good because of it's great moves you can do, plus, when you do one kind of move it goes slow-mo and takes a picture of your guy. I also like it because of it's not too easy. For example, Usually the first level of pretty much all games are very boring because their so easy, but this game (in the first level) is not too hard and not too easy ( a medium.)

(((((((((BAD))))))))))

I think this game is not realistic street-ball. In the first level when you are playing the game almost every time you try a lay-up/ dunk he misses, ALMOST EVERY TIME, but when you win more games you get better

(((((((((OVERALL))))))))

Overall this is a good game, If i were you, i would rent this game and have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hated having this game

posted by Stankyleg (AKRON, OH) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

This game was horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA Ballers: Chosen One

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

hard as well lets just say got made threw game in case and sent it back what i wood do to the players if it was real game and i was playing i am sarry but it is tru good luck to you if you rent the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

:(

posted by wickedninj (BROOKFIELD, IL) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is horrible i is very bad.First you cant even get past some levels the directons are impossible to get unleess you go online so i do not no how to do specials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yikes

posted by mrbarky (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

Awful game. I understand this is an "arcade" style game. I expect, however, something that looks better then a 1995 arcade game. Seriously, the way the players move is just awful when compared to the natural movements of games like 2K8.

I don't have an HD TV or anything, and I know there is more to games then graphics, but this was just weird.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GAME IS VERY FRUSTRATING!

posted by phxgamer (TOLLESON, AZ) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

This game at first seems really promising,but then really leaves you disappointed!

At first you create a baller, then take him through the chapters. The chapters however get REALLY hard to the point where you cant even do a move or try to play defense.

The mechanics of this game are horrible all of a sudden the guy will dunk backwards and the ball goes the other way. The camera is horrible many times will you find that the ball flies out of camera range.

This game also has no options it just throws you into the game to figure out the controls.

Overall disappointing to how much hype was around this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by DBOX12 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is really out there. The game play and controls are horrible. Story mode is really bad. I cant see another one being released. I can maybe see a 5 year old haveing fun with this, just pressing buttons and seeing the guys on the screen jump up and down. Stop trying to be like NBA Jam. Just make another NBA Jam with no changes. Now that is a great game, this is a wanna be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

nba ballers stink

posted by cmurda053 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

it is not that good. the graphics is not bad. even the storyline is ok but the reason the game is not good to many different combonations people have to do and to many buttons you have to press. if you to slow you get the ball stolen and some of the challenges are hard to do like the 2v2 being down by 22. i was expecting it to be a lot better like nba street.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this one was bad

posted by Foodstamp (Milwaukee, WI) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

theres no other way to say it nba ballers c.o is a bad game with bad visuals horrible controls mediocre sound qaulity....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not really worth renting!!

posted by MrMayesJr (NORWALK, CT) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Althought the game looks good graphicly and the sound track is great, the game lacks basic basketball concepts!! The controls are very hard to grasp for people who have never played this street/arcade type basketball!! And without any real in-game instructions & no booklet from Gamefly you'd probably never find out how to do most moves!! If you don't care about doing the spectacular moves I guess you could give it a try but otherwise keep this at the very bottom or even better off your GameQ!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse