Rent NBA Ballers: Chosen One for PS3
view large frontback

NBA Ballers: Chosen One

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.6

738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played one, played them all

posted by SlickJC (CLAYTON, NC) May 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played one NBA Ballers, you've played them all. I like this one better than last years. Like how they have Chuck D introduce the sections of the game like Sportscenter. My only complaint in the game so far is the 1 vs 1 vs 1 match where you don't have to clear the ball and no take out after shots. basically all you do is fight under the basket and score, try to get the ball after your shot, and score again. No skill to it at all, and unfair advantage to the player. Plus the game isn't no near as hard as the previous versions, I'm breezing thru it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by biggsboy (HARRISON, TN) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game sucks its own balls. I hate it so much. please dont rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Difficult

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being bias of the other reviews on gamefly; I myself rather like this game. I played this one for the first time at one of my friends and he was stuck on a stage which was crazy hard so we took turns back and forth for around 3 hours until we finally beat the stage. Controls are a little difficult to get a total grasp of but you will have plenty of time to master them if you play this game complete. Graphics are decent, its not like they are trying to make them very realistic. I myself like the layout; how you have different chapters with sections in the chapters. Don't get me wrong, this game will probably have you cussing several times due to the fact of the difficulty at times (like when you have 3 minutes to overcome a 24 point deficit) but me myself; I like a good challenge. This game is worth a rental at least but personally; with a price tag under $10 at the moment; use those 5 gamefly dollars you got stashed and add a fun challenging game to your collection for less than 5 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ho hum

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Jun 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a boring remake of the first, nothing better. I kept looking for any reason to keep playing because I liked the first, but there was none. Sent back later that day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The things wrong with the game

posted by heman1 (Cuba, MO) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The thing wrong with this game is that the controls are not the same as the first one was and that the game set up is not the same. You can't go to the story mode and pick your person you want to play as.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Interesting...

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Some games you should play without caring how IGN and Gamespot rate it. This is one of those games. First the good.

The gameplay. IGN and others say that the gameplay gets boring fast, but i say they are wrong. The gameplay is very arcade like and the pace is fast, which will keep you on your toes and almost reminds me of NBA Street Vol. 2. The gameplay has many challenges. Maybe this game dont have the best graphics you'll see these days, but it has good gameplay. Personally, i would rather have good gameplay than good graphics. If your looking for graphics, get NBA 08. For gameplay, i say this is where its at. Now for the bad...

Now dont get twisted with me. It has good gameplay, but there are some flaws, like every good thing. There are actually "Charging" and "Goaltending" fouls. Im serious. Now, in my opinion, that was an extremely bad choice. Its supposed to be a fast paced arcade game, usually if you going for that your not going for realism. And beyond that, its supposed to be a street themed game. Do you call charging fouls in a street game? That would be the sort of action someone would get beat up for. Another bad spot is the superman-esqe moves that can easily ruin any game. By press a few buttons, you can automatically win or lose matches. I remember a couple of times going into the last few seconds of a game and the computer pulls that instant win stunt. I was really mad. It made me feel like sending the game back that very moment.

Theres the good and bad. Take what you want from it, but i do reccomend renting this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by tmoney72 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty horrible. It's kind of a pointless game. The only thing good about it was the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

this game simply sucks.

posted by ADDerol (NY, NY) Apr 30, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game pretty excited to give it a try and it was poorly made and the gameplay was robotronic. The game is nothing like an NBA Street like i was hoping for, it's more like every other flop of a basketball videogame that has come out on PS2 and PS3 in the past. Don't bother on this game, i honestly can't imagine someone renting it and truly enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor Quality Game

posted by cpstreets (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was extremely disappointing. It felt and looked like a PS2 game. The game was constantly loading content that other games handle on the fly. The menus were slow. The horrific textures and inconsistent frame rate were appalling. Controls were not explained or even hinted at. I'm disappointed that this game failed to live up to the legacy that preceded it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a good game at all!

posted by DWEENT (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had potential based on the trailer. I knew it wouldn't be as good as NBA street, but though it would be fun none the less... I was wrong. the graphics look like a high end playstation 2 game. the gameplay is bad. its choppy, and the constant cut scenes everytime you get a steal or do a "special move" is annoying. Did i mention you can't skip that cut scene either.

Overall, if your looking for a streetball kinda game with NBA stars, just get NBA Street. This one has a 1 day turn around. I got it in the mail, played it, and I mailed it back all in the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont Waste YO Time

posted by Cedman (DALLAS, TX) Jun 11, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst basketball games I've ever played! The graphics are bad of the PS3. The game is kinda of sluggish while controlling the players. It gets worst when you try the 3 point shootout and the 1 on 1. I've played better B-Ball games than this I thought it would be better since it was a little hype about it. It was all hot air. Very Very Disappointed with the game and just to think I almost bought it instead of renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by drsfines (BRONX, NY) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Isuggest killing ur self before u play !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NBA Ballers Chosen one

posted by steve2 (COVINGTON, KY) May 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

it was not up to my standerds. i was also disaported in this game due to its grapics and story mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Weakest NBA Ballers Game OF ALL TIME!!

posted by kWGreen (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

They have the DUMBEST game modes and the controls are so choppy and slow I was VERY disappointed with the PS3 version of NBA Ballers!!! This was Terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pure garbage

posted by reaperaz (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Sep 5, 2008

Member since May 2008

one of the worst games i have rented yet. It gives you no hint at how to play the game. It just starts you playing against the cpu and you have to figure it out for yourself. Im pretty good with games and i couldn't even figure out alot of the moves and what button did what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Neeh

posted by JPoppie (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

It was aight I expected better. Didn't bother to finnish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

descent game

posted by XafromanX (LONGMONT, CO) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

After playing this game for minites there cool game mode but the story mode lacked. Played like the firts nba ballers should be better it was made half #%$. Charicter making is the worst part.cotrols were not thought out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really hard at first

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

When I first played the game I has no idea what to do. then I finally realized. It is actually really hard to beat the other person, it took me a while to actually do it. Then I got used to it. If you don't like challenging then I don't think you should try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do Not Buy, or Rent This game. Give it back.

posted by PlvcThrust (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I thought this game was trash. It had decent graphics, and the story mode was kind of cool.
However, that is the only good thing I can say about it.
Alright, let's start with controls. They are unresponsive, they lack fluid motion. I felt like the character I was controlling was carrying half his weight with him. The tricks are pretty much the same, and you were pretty much doing the same thing over and over again.
Second, the games you had to play were extremely difficult at time. Some might take up to 30 minutes to complete;however, you have probably already trhown your controller by then. Its just extremely frustrating with the bad controls, and the impossibility of the game.

DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!! DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just plain bad

posted by MrToast (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) May 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

With basketball finals upcoming a basketball game was in need. So i placed Ballers on the queue inspite of all the negative about it. Thinking at least the flash would make up for it.

How little did I overestimate the amount and ease to use those flashy moves would be. You get thrown into the game with no tutorial what so ever. So you start of guessing what each of the buttons do.

What a fun first couple of games that made! once you do get the controls down you'll next learn that offense is just a drive to the basket and dunk. While defense is either swipe at the ball and hope for a pick or camp the basket and swat anything in your way.

So beyond having shallow game play it's biggest value is supposed to be the super moves things. No only is it a mystery how to execute them, it completely kills what little momentum there is in the game by taking you of the game and into an cinematic, unskippable, short scene.

All in all this is a game that very quickly is going to result in a quick return and on to pick up something new.

The create a baller offers a lot of fine tweaking, but very little pre built to pick from. You essentially pick if you want to be white, black, or a shade in between.

The idea behind the story mode is interesting and probably would make a good TV show if you could every get the all-stars to participate in it. However it makes a very unappealing video game.

With everything said and done, the only good thing is the soundtrack. That's only if you don't play enough for it to start getting repetitive. Which for me didn't end up that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What were they thinking

posted by Deadpool3g (BROOKLYN, NY) May 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

This is the worst basketball game I've ever played. There was no reason for them to make this game. The game sucks something very horrible and it would give Freddy Kruger nightmares. My 6 year old sons thought it was horrible. If you really want to play a street basketball game your best bet is to get NBA Street Homecourt which I think is the real Chosen One.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA Ballers - Mediocre game

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) May 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Nice graphix, nice moves and dunks but loss of interest comes fast. Boreing single player mode and too repetitious. Nice for rental, once, but not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NBA Ballers Chosen? I Think Not

posted by AbsolutG (HIGH POINT, NC) May 16, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Well Lets get it down and out about this game , love the graphics, grrreat.. love the moves and the action.. now as far as Game play it is totally lacking in the aspect of getting your street ball on!! The freestyle is by accident and never allowed to set up a long string of impossible handles.. Point blank this was not well thought out and i am disappointed.. this was about as lame as the dwight howard super man dunk that everyone is so amazed by!! better luck next time..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Home Court over bling-bling anyday!

posted by Indigo72 (TOMS RIVER, NJ) May 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I really couldn't get into the game at all. Granted the idea behind was interesting and I liked the various venues with the emphasis on richs and fame. However, the graphics weren't impressive to me and the NBA Street Homecourt just felt more real and alive. (Take away the triple dunks and the off the wall moves, but remember it is EA Big). All in all, if you are looking for something with a rags to riches And 1 feel to it than go for it. But, it just doesn't do it for me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A decent basketball game

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

A unique concept for a basketball game. If you can devote a lot of time then this game is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »