Rent NBA 2K9 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.8

1122 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k9 owns all basketball games

posted by alan23 (UNALASKA, AK) Oct 29, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

okay first of all i thought 2k8 was a big improvement but 2k9 is even better. 2k series can not make it any realer. it has improved on the movement, driving to hole, new lay ups, new dunks, players tendencies. this game is just like the players. Lebron drives just like in real life. you will see KG beating his chest down the court just like in real life. it makes your feel like your watching a NBA game with the halftime report and he beginning of the game. for all basketball fanatics out there,

YOU MUST GET THIS GAME!!!!!!
hope this helps you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Basketball Game PERIOD!!!

posted by Skinsfan (WASHINGTON, DC) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2003

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just the most realistic basketball game to date and it just gets BETTER every year! I used to be a NBA Live man, but once I started playing the 2K series, I haven't gone back (sorry EA, but it's NO competition!) EA needs to step up their game. As far as on line, it's FLAWLESS which I cannot say about Live. Some of the SAME glitches from years past STILL show up. If you're in the market to purchase a true to the game basketball game, 2K9 is the route to go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2K9

posted by SaintGamer (CANTON, MI) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply the best basketball game out. A distant second is Live 09.

Only improvement it needs is better announcing. Shooting system is top notch. You really get a feel for every jump shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by hjfdjj (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

u have to get this game its the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but Difficult

posted by Chizzdog (MIAMI, FL) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hadn't played a a basketball game since 06 till I bought this one. I must admit that this game is for the true basketball fan and is extrmely indepth. Graphics, sounds and gameplay are top notch in every way. Players faces are not as good as I think it should be though. Crowds are well done. Free throw system is nice. Etra features are great like Dunk contest and streetball. Bonus teams like Superstars and Jordan Brand teams are really cool. Developing players is great but realy hard to do. The only complaint I have comes in with the gameplay AI. It's that the game relies on the stars of each team far too often during play, No matter how they are doing in the season they are going to have an allstar performance on you. Too many players when controlled by the computer are UNSTOPABLE. Kobe, LeBron,Kevin Garnet, Dwight Howard and Dwyane Wade. Don't even bother trying to gaurd them, it's a futile endeavor on any difficulty setting above Pro. Players with even mediocre rating pull off the impossible on a REGULAR basis. If you try to do the same you better be plenty open. All in all the game is awesome but you will be frustrated a lot if your playing on a higher difficulty and be prepaired to get called on a lot of fouls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply the best!

posted by Sebastian9 (FREMONT, CA) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is simply put, a few notches above any EA sports title. The realism and game "feel" is as authentic as it gets, and the addition to update the rosters and ratings for each player at least once a week is genius and long craved by sports geeks like me. Online play is decent and making it world wide is also a nice feature. The only few knocks i have on this game is that Kobe and Lebron are almost a little too good. I realize that Kobe and Lebron are the best basketball players in the world and certainly are capable of making the shots they make in 2K9, the frequency of the insane, almost "non-human" dunks and shots are a little over the top for me. But then again, I am a sports Simulation geek. Bottom line is that this game will cater to everybody. Whether you like playing fantasy basketball by running every aspect of your franchise, or you like to dunk all over the place like the good ol' days of NBA Jam, this game will have something for you. I am really not just a EA sports "hater" but simply a basketball lover, and to be quiet honest, I still believe that if EA didn't snag the NFL license, there would be a better football title then Madden on the market today (compare NFL 2K5 to madden 05). I hope this was a helpful review to everyone and I hope to play some 2K9 online with all of you soon!!!
Game on,
Daniel-Sebastian

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by FranMac (PILESGROVE, NJ) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. The player movements are so realistic. The players will constantly hit three's if they're open, unlike Live 09 where they'll miss easy hoops. Only problem is that the game gets really boring when you start to dominate. After my third game i couldn't lose.

Overall a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best

posted by phillyboss (Lindenwold, NJ) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Is the best Basketball game on the market. Everything from Gameplay to Graphics is top notch. When U play with ur favorite player an see him shoot like him in real life and the dunks. its special makes u feel more into the game. The game is real, players have to adjust to shots, U can shoot over shaq with a hand in ur face and think ur gonna make it every time. U have to use the analog stick an shoot a alil different to make it. The game is great for the Sim player. I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

buy 2k9 its worth it...

posted by wolverine8 (RICHMOND HILL, NY) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been playing all the basketball games dating back to nba live 96 to nba 2k. This year 2k9 has made some really good improvements, and they obviousely crush the competition. If you're a serious basketball player 2k9 is your game, if not nba 09 and nba live are ok. My pick is 2k9 graphics, gameplay, realism, its all there. The only thing that i was disappointed with honestly was the create a player mode. Though they have made it really open to creating any kind of face, they took out the option of picking a generated face. Other than that the game is great and is definitely worth owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA 2k9 vs Live 09 - Get 2k9

posted by JSmoovez (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I own both of these games (Live 09 and 2k9). I will be selling NBA Live 09.

Let me tell you this first, Do not Buy into the DNA in Live - IT IS IN BOTH GAMES - I REPEAT - IT IS IN BOTH GAMES

Live 09, while and improvement from last year, is not as in depth as 2k9.

Live, plays fast and feels like more a arcade game, while 2k9 is a basketball purists game. Also, the way the dribbling is handled in live is not as smooth as 2k9. The Shot stick in 2k9 is very nice. Live is more of a button adapted game.

Player movements seem more realistic in NBA 2k9. Also the player graphics are more realistic in terms of their counter parts.

This is a short review but I REPEAT BY 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by balloholic (CHARLOTTE, NC) Aug 3, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will play this game over NBA LIVE series any day. The qraphics and the gameplay are great. Also if you have online connection you can get updated rosters. The only reason I didnt give a ten is because of mimi games such as the dunk contest and three point contest, NBA live wold win that battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by Jthom203 (MIDVALE, UT) May 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented both EA and 2k '09 games to try each, i found that the 2k was much better, it has smoother game play and much better controls, and much better guide for the controls in the manual, Ea has a lot of guess work with the controls. If you like basket ball and want the best game choose 2k9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

so so

posted by gilagame (LOMA LINDA, CA) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

good game......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME OF ALL TIME

posted by brodonny28 (WOODRIDGE, IL) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

2K9 IS THE BEST BASKETBALL GAME FOR YEARS TO COME AND IN THE PAST.LEBRON IS A BEAST ON THIS GAME,JUST LIKE HE IS IN REAL LIFE.THE GRAPHICS AND MOVEMENT IS SO SICK.THANKS 2K FOR MAKING THE BEST GAME IN HISTORY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Improved 2K9

posted by bman12 (SOUTH JORDAN, UT) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think Out of 2K9 and NBA 09. 2K9 Takes the cake !!Great Graphics, Great sound, and awesome new updates. The controls can be tricky like any other Basketball game, but you catch on. I recommend this game for any Basketball fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k9 dookies on all other sport games

posted by racerboy (SCHOFIELD BARRACKS, HI) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

yeah its that tight!

I first had 2k8 and was extremely impressed with it from graphics to gameplay to sound. I loved it and thought how much better can they really make 2k9?

well my friends that mastered it. controls are 10x faster then they where on 2k8 and the shot stick is alot better then it was.

I downloaded live 09 and NBA09 and they didn't get but a couple of minutes of my time because they suck compared to 2k9.

this is a buyer and keeper until 2kwhatever would be next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent but not what I was hoping for

posted by majorgamor (BOISE, ID) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Mar 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For someone withdrawn from the basketball gaming scene for roughly 5 years, I was really expecting to be blown away.
Cirtainly things have improved. Then again, they've had 5 years for god sake. The graphics are amazing, the player models are very good. There are lots of really cool changes like the clock in timeouts to adjust strategy, or the trading of players need to follow league rules (not just salary cap, but if you're over salary cap for instance, you cannot trade for a player and grossly increase your salary and go way further over)...
I think it may just be that I am just not a giant fan of basketball, but this game just doesn't have what I am looking for. It's far too in-depth for me maybe? I get frustrated with the menu and the 50 million things you need to do to create a player, and the hundreds of choices you have before you can start a franchise... btw - is that what "the association" is? WHy not simply call it franchise like other games do?
If you're looking for an in-depth b-ball simulator. this is your game. If you're looking for a game where you play basketball... look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game

posted by RAYRAY (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

i can not believe this game the graphics where horrible on my tv keep in mind i have a full 1080 hd tv and the graphics looked horrible cant express that any more i dont like how they try and imulate every single move there is to basketball im a core gamers that means only the best games get played i only had the game for one day and i sent it back the very next day this game was a major bust for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is no good

posted by chris8 (SPRING, TX) Oct 21, 2008

Member since May 2004

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i rented this game i got it on the oct 13 & i sented it back on the oct 15 this game is no good the game play is bad & everthing is bad on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

288659931479456875867685858564687925648685864864hi

posted by 202531 (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

you about my game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NBA 2K9

posted by clawss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

PROS: GAME TELLS WICH AREAS PLAyers are good in.
Cons: Players on your team do not try to rebound besides the person you are controlling. Every time your opponent misses a shot during a close game in the 4th quarter, they call a foul on your team, and when you miss, theer is a 15% chance for you to get a foul when you miss. if someone has an A in outside scoring, the ball still want even reach the hoop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

there is more to basketball than just dunks

posted by stpurgmup (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

the game is more concentrated on graphics crossovers and dunks and total disregards things like strategy, court balance, shot selection, defense and other things that real basketball gamers look for in a simulation game that i thought the 2k series was. ---its to easy to get by a defender--on simple spin move or crossover u can get to the rim for a dunk---in basketball there is something called the second defender that prevents guys like kobe and lebron from dunkin everytime down, this game lacks that,--they just watch the player dunk the ball, commit a foul or something.---the players dont run back on defense, too many fast break points--in this game u can get fast break points in even with the old and slow SA spurs---also it shouldnt b possible to score 60pts or have 20 steals or hit 13 3s or have a FG% over 70% in any given game-----this is arcade game and far from the simulation it claims to be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its okay but....

posted by colts894 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

NBA 2K9 has the potential to be a good game but there is one downside. one BIG downside. That downside is that it is almost impossible to come back after your team has lost the lead. The players can't make a shot for their lives and the defense will be so bad that a high school team could get past them easy. Other than that the game is good and I would reccomend this game to a person who loves sport games and especially basketball fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Medicore Game

posted by chicagoowh (NORTH AURORA, IL) May 21, 2009

Member since May 2009

Overall i liked this game one of the best basketball games out there at the moment but there is still so much more room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K9

posted by newsradiox (CANTON, MI) May 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Just a little better than last years version (2K8) This game still needs a lot more work. (like better control on Defense) Also it has glitches like being able to cause a turnover by pushing a player out of bounds with your body.

Compared to NBA Live and NBA The Inside, this game has the worst and most boring announcers. But it has the BEST shooting control on jumpers and free throws.

Bottom line: This is the best NBA game available. All the rest have major issues and are far less realistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse