Rent NBA 2K9 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K9

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
8.1

3164 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2k > NBA Live

posted by NY2MIA (MIRAMAR, FL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since May 2005

37 out of 40 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Once again 2k delivers the goods.AI is vastly improved on both sides of the ball.Spacing is very realistic and smart.No longer will you have AI defenders over pressure players that aren't a threat from deep and leave their overmatched teammate out to dry.Graphicly the game takes a rather significant step forward and gone are the unrealistic looking rookie players coming out of the draft.Overall gameplay builds on it's already strong core and pretty much all of the downsides to last year's rendition are gone.A definite buy for an NBA fan looking for a realistic basketball sim rather than the more arcade-like feel of Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA 2K9

posted by da85brs (GARLAND, TX) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I notice only a few reviewer mention the online problem. NBA gamers, if you love last years NBA 2K8 for it's online play... DON'T GET THIS GAME!!!

No more playing your friends online as soon as you get home from work or school.. nope, you have to wait in line like the rest of us. Yes, the graphics are GREAT! The graphic are suppose to be better from last year game, but to mess with the online play just make the game fun at home with the fellas.

Get the game.. if you love a real controllable NBA basketball game, but if you want to play online, play last years game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Most Authentic NBA Experience You Can Get!

posted by ssp0929 (KATY, TX) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game destroys NBA Live is every aspect. Game-play, graphics, animations, features, you name it.

The graphics are a great example of what NBA games should look like. The court designs, logos, hardwood, reflections are all stunning. The players? About 85% of them look amazingly identical to their real-life counterparts. The animations are very, very good, and the crowd is as realistic as it can get!

The game-play is probably going to be the best part of this game. It's very easy to learn, and get used to it. Occasionally, at times, the passes in the game are going to frustrate the user. You also cannot full-court inbound, and you frequently miss easy lay-ups.

Overall, I think this game will suit any NBA fan's needs... for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gameplay is painful

posted by sanks10 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Graphics are nice, players really look like they do in real life however the game play is really bad. It is hard to inbound the ball or throw a long pass because someone on the other team jumps out of nowhere and deflects it. When your driving you try to pass to the open man in the corner but it passes to someone behind you who is guarded. The game just doesn't flow well at all, catch and shoot is more like catch, pause... shoot, or by that time it is blocked. Big men inside are impossible to stop, they simply dunk every single time reguardless of who is guarding them. Worth a rent, atleast until football season

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED

posted by jacob59 (SHINGLETOWN, CA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

way better than live in every way. this game is for serious players, i sit and look at all the stats and every players and do trades and i noe how to my team better using not much cap room. i love how the roster updates and the players have hot streaks when they play good in real life.
THE FEW BAD THINGS:
-goes out of bounce on fast break pass and goaltending is made wrong, you get it even when the ball is out of the rim
-no more lobbies
-needs to have real all star weekend
-blacktop is a waste of time,can never wint slam dunk contest
-should be able to be a rookie and go through the season

it would be more real if if the bad teams only had a couple people in the stands and improves when the team is playing well. and you should be able to get updates in roster when you are in association mode

i definitly give it 100 out of 10 though :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Frustrating problem...getting a game online...

posted by AllDatNsom (miami, FL) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2002

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This will be a survey..If you have problems getting a game click yes on the review, if no problems WHATSOEVER click NO.
I will start by saying that I have had my xbox for 3 years and I have NO issues with any other online game(Halo3, COD4, etc...)
Just like previous versions, it's a pain in the a hole to get a game online. You either get disconnected as the game is getting set up, or people just quit because they do not like the team you picked. I think it should be like the Halo matchmaking system. As you rank up you play players close to your skill range, regardless of the team they pick!...I returned the game after two days of frustration with the online system...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Two thumbs down

posted by Gamer8109 (GROVER BEACH, CA) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

After playing this game I really got disappointed. It's good thing that I rented this game first, otherwise I would've wasted money on this title. It's has a very poor control, almost impossible to dunk, very poor sound effects, even though it has good graphics but the game play is really bad. I was trying to choose between nba live '09 and 2K9 and it wasn't hard to make up decision after I rented both titles. NBA live '09 is far better game than the 2k9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened??

posted by Fatmon1125 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of the 2k series. I have loved this game for years and honestly it has improved every single year except for this one. This game is just garbage. First of all the online play is TERRIBLE. How do you create an online play system with NO LOBBIES?? When you finally do get a game with someone you can not see there rank, dnf's, win/loss, nothing. Also the gameplay has definitely taken a step back. What was once a fluid game is no longer the same. It is extremely difficult to create a fastbreak without your own offensive player STOPPING as he catches the ball. Defensively...well there is no defense, every short layup or jumpshot is good, no matter the player. The graphics were a step up and that is the only thing. Overall this game sucks...I suggest that if you want to play this rent it and judge for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the time

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Besides the major glitch that wouldn't let u inbound the ball, 2k9 has totally let me down. Trying to argue that this is the better franchise is as pathetic as saying McCain is as healthy as a stallion. Blocking shots are way too easy, but shot percentage stays in the 50s and 60s. Team rating dominate the game meaning bad players on good teams will murder some stars on the game. The 5 on 5 online link up freezes constantly with lag and really was put on the game apparently before it was ready. Players still miss too many lay ups and the worst of all issues, players still have out of character abilities; for example Jason Kidd hasn't been a dominate scorer in the league for at least 3 maybe 4 years but on the game, he'll definitely be one of the players to kill u with 30pts 14 assists and dee u up the whole game. Get NBA Live 09 and don't waste your time with 2K Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad

posted by bigboy (DAYTON, ME) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

2K games always aren't that good but this one was like trying to be nba live 08 mixed with a street game. The controls aren't very clear, and you can hardly lay up/ dunk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I cant not belive it!

posted by gyratepupi (FALLSBURG, NY) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I cant not believe that 2k have not fix there little problem with there server. Last year they occasionally where updating it and you could not play the game and wait for them. This time it is even worse know it freezes, you can not go in the lobbies...what else can I say ooh yeah I will not Buy A 2k game again. Sorry but its the truth they must give this game a recall and give everybody's money back so that we can purchase Nba live09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by DaffyDuck (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only thing I dont get and how did they forget.... Intentional fouls!!!!!! They dont even call it. U bascially hug the dude and they drop the ball. U can catch up real quick if ur down. They need to update that b4 the rosters. Overall its a real good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Graphics are amazing but....

posted by Pilot01 (MOUNT DORA, FL) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What is with the controls, to shoot a ball you have to pull back analog stick and then push forward ( confused ) now compare controls to nba live 10 now which is easier holding the x button or pull back the analog stick and push it forward hard enough just so you can miss it every time and my point is, is that if some one gets so mad at the game and they push the analog stick to hard there contoller could easily break and I bet someday it will happen. I am sorry 2k lovers but if you think this game has easier controls than nba live 10 then you must not have played nba 10 yet. But the graphics are sick i will give you that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So many improvements over last years game.

posted by stratboyrt (WARWICK, RI) May 31, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rent it, then keep it, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by evilmagma (COPPELL, TX) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is an abomination. The play control is terrible and the game itself is just bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overrated!!!

posted by Lex250 (DELAND, FL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

All the reviews say this game is better than NBA Live 09-no way. The big attraction is the 5 on 5 team play. It is a complete joke because if there are more than 5 people total then it lags out so bad and you can't play. I think these review people just are anti-EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yeah but what about ONLINE!!!!!!!

posted by sob2356 (MADERA, CA) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game is great REALLY good but what sucks is that its hard to connect to anyone ONLINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No more Lobbies whats that about what were they thinking you have to wait until the game starts before you know how poor or how good your opponent really is. It wastes time doin that. 2k please fix your ONLINE besides thats how most of us play OOOOOONNNNNNNNNNNNNLLLLLL- LLLLLIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNN- NNNNNEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DDDDDDDDDUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- UUHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its ok

posted by Crbballer5 (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

In NBA 2k9 its hella fun but some times the plays you call get tangled up and the refs are calling stupid fouls and goaltending for no reason.
But the part that I like about this game that the sound, graphics, and the gameplay hecka fun. So NBA 2k9 is a game for expert sports video game players. And overall I gave A 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by dytavis (MIAMI, FL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is the best one yet, its so real,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA 2K9: 5 OUT THE BOX, 8-9 WITH SLIDERS/FIXES

posted by UncleFrank (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am going by Gamefly's scale when I rent this game, and a 5 is a Fair so that is what I will give 2K9. NBA 2K9 out of the box has many glitches, and issues with the game. The gameplay on higher difficulties is unplayable, and the guys at 2KSPORTS have yet to fix the problems with online games (5 VS 5 Team Play, Ranked Matches. The only part of the online that runs smoothly is ranked leagues. 5 on 5 is ridiculous. Even after the patch, error messages still come up saying you were "unable to connect at this time" or some stuff. JUST to play a lag free game you are forced to do Player Matches against guys and then join a Party. This mode 2K really fumbled the soap on and in 2K10 this needs to be MUCH BETTER. The best mode out of the box would be 2K9's THE ASSOCIATION 2.0. This is IMO the best season mode in a basketball game we have seen maybe ever. The A.I. trades are still kind of odd (trading Raymond Felton for T.J Ford?). The gameplay though can sometimes make you feel like the CPU is down right CHEATING YOU. There are so many collision detection issues it isn't even funny. The CPU is relentless and will score any way possible. They will throw balls through your players, shoot balls through the back of the backboard, and even do cross overs where they go right THROUGH your body. There is no point in playing defense when this happens. The CPU recover defense is physically impossible for a human player in the real NBA. Bruce Bowen is a good defender, but he isn't fast enough to catch Monta Ellis from BEHIND on a pick and roll to the basket. Many signature shots are off this year too and it seems like they are making the shots a little too sensitive to mess up. Same thing with freethrows. I can miss slightly late free throws with Steve Nash, but someone else will hit Slightly lates with Shaq? LOL. There are many other issues but I am running out of characters. I advise people to go to a sports gaming website and get SLIDERS for this game. It will save it for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA 2K9

posted by oneal32322 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 45 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Man, I just love sports titles, and I will play every new one it comes out, and it always seems that 2k sports makes the biggest leaps then any other gaming titles out there.

some pros:
player animation is fantastic! there are actual moves "layup, crossovers, jumpshot, dunks" that are unique to every player! Also the realism is there, fighting through screen, wrapping around a defender as you drive past him. amazing. oh and they even RUN like there real life counterpart.

aesthetically beautiful. picture is alot more clear this year, last yr was a little choppy, now the graphics looks great!!! whether HD or not.

AI is tougher! great team d by the AI, and makes you run a play to find an open shot... and once you make a nice play, you feel like a million bucks!! Just makes it a little more enjoyable.

Kevin Durant!!!!! enough said :P

CONS::::::

presentation. Lets be honest we all love some eye candy as well. There is no animation to annouce the line-up like live09. The halftime show is about 2 mins, and only list your stats. There is nothing between quarters, it just goes straight to the next quarter. So i must say NBA live09 WINSS in that category.

Menus are still a little odd. It sorta the same-ol from last year just beefed up a little bit, so i suppose you could be used to it if you played 2k7.

Overall i highly reccomend this game. In my opinion it is THE best baketball simulation this year! if you love bball games, it simply is a must buy, if your just a sports fan in general. You AT LEAST need to rent this game. And if you played 2k8 through and through, you will love the suttle nuances that 2k9 will bring to the table.

much love,
NiCK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2K has stepped there game up this year!!

posted by james23 (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i love the game, all the things that to make me angry from last year,where i was say, that ain't real. "My player would do this instead of that in real life." It's like they took the game and put it in the blender to make flow better. That might sound funny, but use the bulls and you'll see they fixed the chemistry thing. I would feel like if i put my created player on the some teams, the game would screw up my team. Sometimes i'd cut some good people and they'd player harder. That sometimes happens where a teams lets go of stars and they make an overall imporvement. I know in the real nba, you have to balance Money, Different Type Ego's, different Talent & making everyone happy. It was re tarted last year. This year they even made the defense better. The even changed the shot release for the better.

Meaning it didn't make since and wasn't real like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

why is their no 2k view online?!?!?

posted by DoneDirty (SANTA MONICA, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Great game! the only problem i have with the game is that there is no 2k camera view on Xbox live!... makes no sense, it really pisses me off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Sport Game In The World

posted by Vick91 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

If you dont got this game you a joke and anybody who compares this game to live they are joke too cant no sport game beat nba 2k9 graphics are completely amazing... loving this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The perfect example of how to make a horrible game

posted by ThaFlu84 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

This is easily one of the worst games ever made. Everything that is fundamental in the sport of basketball is absent from this game. Your AI teammates are so stupid and useless, they literally make me sick sometimes, and make you feel like you're playing 1 vs. 5 the entire game. The game has the exact same gameplay issues that made NBA 2K8 such a digraceful game. Also, it has bugs/glitches that weren't even in NBA 2K8. No thought was put into this game and I seriously believe that the employees at Visual Concepts (the developers of this series) are mentally challenged.

Playing against computer is a horrible and pointless experience. Every team plays exactly the same, they all run the same plays, and they play near-perfect defense (even if their defensive awareness attributes are low). Also, for some reason, the game is geared towards the computer winning. Your teammates allow them to attempt alleyoops, wide open layups, and jumpshots with no resistance at all. And, this happens almost EVERY possession. (For anyone who has played this junk, this is why the Point Guard always gets 10 assists).

And, please don't get me started on how ridiculous this game is when you play online. People constantly try to steal the ball, but often get rewarded instead of called for a reach-in foul. The small amount of strategy the game offers (situational lineups, playbooks, etc.), sometimes randomly dissappears when you start a game. Also, it is basically impossible to guard a player one on one, no matter what your player's On-Ball Defense attribute is.

They are a TON of other things wrong with this game that I haven't mentioned (players staring at loose balls, how slow the animations are, the unrealistic Association mode, etc.). But, just know that this is an embarrassment to the sport of basketball, the NBA, and video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse