Rent NBA 2K8 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K8

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.7

871 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definately A Winner!

posted by DaMessiah (BELMONT, MA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

here are the facts, no essay:

Pros:
-Excellent attention to detail
-Great realism
-Much improved A.I.
-You feel as if you are there
-Players play as they should not as you want them to play
-Plenty of replay value

Cons:
-No sense of speed
-Dunking is at a minimum
-A lot of really ugly NBA players
-I don't like E.A. but man, use the right stick to control crossovers and such

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest Basketball game SO FAR!

posted by AntDaGamer (CHERAW, SC) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MORE Signatures Moves and styles. The game is setup so teams play like their counterparts. Amazing !! Association(you can do it all on there) Dunk Contest, real NBA playoff tournaments, NBA Blacktop, great All Star weekend Presentation!! Did I mention announcers show emotions toward players that are hot or great Dunks! LOL IDIDNT EVEN TALK ABOUT ALL THE POSTGAME SHOW OPTIONS GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Horrible Get Live 08 Instead

posted by TenzoX (CHATSWORTH, CA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this after renting from gamefly. Menus are solid but gameplay is horrible. Graphics barely look next-gen. I thought the game was rushed and looked horrible overall.

GET LIVE 08 INSTEAD. YOU WILL FEEL THE DIFFERNECE.

I think 2K8 is a step back from 2K7.
2K needs to get it straight and set a good basketball game like last years 2K7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Year, Another 2K Victory

posted by Lakermania (INGLEWOOD, CA) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game; again is more realistic than NBA Live 08. Yeah Live has the cool feature of getting real up to date ESPN radio updates and video highlights, but that's what ESPN News or Sports Center is fore. I want a game that's going to give me the best simulation of basketball possible. 2K8 delivers that from the animation to the overall game play. The faces can look better IMO, but it's definitely the way to go in terms of the best basketball simulation out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The little things

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

There are little things in this game that make it a great game and little things that keep it from perfection. NBA 2K8 is the most immersed sports title I've ever played. The crowd is alive, jumping to their feet when you take a big shot and cheering when the home team knocks the ball loose from the offense. Also, nothing feels better than having your bench root you on while you shut up the home crowd with a big 3. The off-ball controls really help the game become more fast paced in the half court giving PHX fans a reason to play this game. Overall, this game is the most realistic basketball game out there.

The flaws that keep this game from perfection are little but could be annoying to some. First, there is only one camera angle. Lucky for me, its the one I prefer, but one camera angle hasn't been an issue since '95. The player's animations still interfere too much with the game play. While it does stop unrealistic cuts and jumps, it does put your ball handler in position you don't want them to be in.

All in all, this game has some graphical power and they fixed up some stuff on last years version, but the little things are what keep this from being the perfect balling simulation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice roster update

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

2K has taken the basketball title from EA since the birth of 2K basketball on the Sega Dreamcast. With that being said, unless you HAVE to have this game (for updated rosters and a just a few overall improvements), I see no reason to run out and get this game unless you had serious issues with 2K7. Franchise modes in basketball games are long and very tedious and I still find my self only in year 4 on 2K7 so why start over again completely with a garbage 76ers team on 2K8 when I built a championship contender on 2K7?

PRO’s
- 2K8 is built around defense, lock down D, anti online cheeser D and plan on working for your shot D
- The player models are slightly improved but it really isn’t a reason to spend $60
- The animations have been added too but not much, there is also “some” new commentary from Kenny Smith and Craig Sager for specific teams
- Game wrap up to view replay of your star players performance
- A game bar shows your players court strength shooting from a particular spot (no hitting 3’s with Shaq of course)
- Crowd is really into the game (unlike Madden)

CONS
- same corney dialogue from Kenny Smith
- halftime show not as deep as 2K7

RENT/BUY

- if you don’t have 2K7 then buy 2K8, if you have 2K7 (with the patches to fix those nasty release glitches) you don’t “need” 2K8 unless you just have to own this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Live '08 Rules

posted by KenKen5 (BERWYN, IL) Nov 27, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am so glad that I purchased NBA Live'08 before this title. In my opinion, Live'08 has really stepped up it's game this year. Not only are the graphics astonishing as usual, but the game play this year is fluent and extremely lifelike. It's like actually watching a real game. 2K8 still doesn't match up in graphics, the players look more blurry facially. The gameplay is smooth and fluent, but the graphics are a mess....Live Rules!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by x360gamer (MC LAUGHLIN, SD) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I read alot of good reviews of this game, so i was pretty excited when it showed up.. but the game play on this game is terrible. honestly it is one of the worst basketball games ever. much better off to go with the new live 08 or nba 08 played it two full basketball games and am sending it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gameplay not up to par

posted by bseiffert (LAFAYETTE, IN) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Graphics in this game are fairly good, but game play is lacking. Controls are hard to get used to and are very different from the EA sports NBA Live. Decent game at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great basketball game

posted by funsized (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 11, 2008

Member since May 2007

Once again, it beats NBA LIVE 2008. This should be your number one choice for a basketball game. The graphics are great, nice additions such as the dunk contest. Although not perfect, it's a real good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome graphics

posted by mrcole37 (GOLDSBORO, NC) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

Overall I thought this game was pretty good.Hard to play defense and block shoots.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best basketball game available!!!

posted by deathrage (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

There is no doubt that 2k8 has taken this genre by the balls and will not let go! If you are one of those people who are still saying that Live is the best, then you have never played this game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great Association mode !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lanen2 (NEW IBERIA, LA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

NBA 2K8 is one of te best basketball games of all time. The associtaion mode just makes the game that much better! There is only one downside to this game (crossovers) the way u have to crossover is stupid over all I rate this game a 9.5

But don't buy it just wait until 2k9 comes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best NBA game out there

posted by OkanBS1987 (NEWARK, DE) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is a little slower than 2K7, but overall it makes the game better.

You can now see where to place the ball when you run a play and the overall feel of the game is very real.

The only thing that hurts it is the fact that the game can get really hard at random points, but you can fix that with the game sliders.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another year of bball

posted by BLCKSH4RC (DICKINSON, ND) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

NBA 2K8 is great..if youve never played a bball game before..its just hard to make a game new and exciting when its the same thing year after year..the graphics are great and the players move fluently, the only bad thing is no annoucer. but it is a good game if you like bball games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2K8 vs Live 08

posted by SlickJC (BEAUFORT, NC) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I know most either like one or the other. I've been a 2K fan since 2K5 but since owning a PS3, I wanted to see the difference in between the two games. As much as I like the 2K games, I've been highly disappointed in the next gen versions.

True the graphics look great, but the gameplay just unrealistic. I like the PS2 version of 2K7 and 2K8. At least on the PS2 versions, the difficulty settings worked. I don't like to adjust team sliders or game sliders, I like to play with everything at default, everything even. Not with the next gen versions, if you don't "LOWER" certain cpu sliders, you're sure to catch an L everytime. Also the game calls fouls like real NBA referees, where there is barely any contact and you go for a steal, FOUL. You run up in the paint and get swatted at by 3 players, NO CALL!

And the online play is a joke to me. It's set up nice with the lobbies but there is a TEAM SLIDERS option in the online menus. WHAT? WHY? How can you have a balanced online game if the other person plays with a team, with the sliders up to max? And why do you have to shoot free throws sixaxis style online? BOOOO!!!

Another thing I don't like is how the button assignments changed on the PS3 versions from the PS2. What was the reason to make the sprint button R2 instead of R1 like it's always been before PS3 hit the shelves? It would be nice if you could rearrange them yourself, but you can't.

I gave both games a 7, cause they look better than their old gen cousins. The next gen versions are set with some Ninja Gaiden difficulty settings though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good graphics.. smooth gameplay.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

This game is right up there with NBA Live 08. The graphics are good and the gameplay is smooth... a little improved over last year. If you are a true NBA fan, you will probably like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Basketball game I've ever played

posted by Schmagurty (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The most realistic NBA game. The controls are easy to use and the gameplay looks real. Teams perform how they should. In other words, if you play the Bulls versus the Lakers, you'll find that you can't stop Kobe and your team doesn't have a go-to scorer to offset Kobe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slightly better than mediocre

posted by deadgrl81 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I wasn't particularly impressed with this game. I'm not a die hard basketball fan, but I love playing sports games in general. The graphics aren't terrible. The faces of the players are all vaguely similar, but the details in the crowd are kinda cool. Load times aren't bad, but I get frustrated with the gameplay very quickly. Sometimes I'll go for an entire quarter and only score 2 points, even though I've used the controls perfectly, the ball just won't go in the hoop. Whereas the other team won't miss a shot for the entire quarter, which isn't realistic either. I know 2K is trying to make it as realistic as possible, but sometimes you just want to play a fun game, even if it's not 100% true to life, and unfortunately this one isn't that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweet Ballin Action

posted by gameJay (LYONS, IL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

Get ready hoops guys & girls cuz this game is HOT..
You will love this game from Tip Off to the final Buzzer. It is really not a easy game to compete against the computer. The AI is very good and I can say it really makes me mad that I cant slam when I want and enjoy a 25 pt game like I do on the PS2 version.
Very Challenging
Very Good Graphics
Simple button control
ALOT OF FUN.
Peace out from Your Chicago Homies -
JJ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best NBA Game Ever

posted by FIVESTARR (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Love the signature moves, new added editions dunk contest, 3pt shootout, etc. All I got to say is 2k dominates EA All day and everyday

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA 2k8 blows...

posted by SolidFung (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

At the 1st glance, NBA2k8 may look extremely realistic with its fancy graphics/animations and recognizable moves from most NBA stars. And even at the 1st few games, you may even feel you're playing an alive and real NBA game. However, once you get deeper into the gameplay, you'll notice flaws and glitches almost everywhere in the corners.

Let's start with the positives; the best feature in 2K8 is the ability to fully customize the game. Missing lay ups and close shots a little too often? Tilt up the percentages. Too hard to make a free throw to go in, tilt down the difficultly of free throw. You can customize just about everything to make the game feel just right. Another big plus is the animations; the game looks realistic period. (especially when you have a not so great TV to notice the cartoonly parts)

Now here go the negatives, a whole list of them.
2k8 introduces a new mechanics called.....whatever it’s called! It's a cell phone signal bar like thing on a player. It basically let you know the hot and cold zones of each player. For example, 3 point specialists like Ray Allan or Peja Stojakovic would most likely a full bar at the 3pt line. The system uses real NBA stat so different positions would have different result. The signal bar also changes as the game goes on, make a few shot will make the bar full red causing the percentage to go up. Miss a few shot and the bar will turn blue causing the percentage to go down. While it's an interesting idea, IT'S TOO MUCH. Imagine this in a real NBA game; Kobe misses his 1st two shot. You may think: big deal! And you are correct; it IS a big deal because Kobe won't make a single shot by then for the rest of the game. Why? You asked, because Kobe went COLD and the freaking signal bar is BLUE so he won't make a shot even when there's no one else but him in the whole freakin building. And this is the only freakin thing that you CAN'T turn off, so you have to live with it.Nospacetowrite more, gameflysux

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA 2K8

posted by ppurisima (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

When I received this game I hoped it was better than the previous and that it would offer more for game play. It was obvious the graphics were enhanced to a better standard but it didn't offer enough for me to purchase or keep for a longer period. I own 2K7 and it gave me the same game play as 2K8 so I felt it was not worth keeping. I could play the one I owned and not feel like I'm missing out on anything new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ehh...

posted by granados17 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

this game wasn't really all that great after all. i was counting the days until this came out but for what it sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If this is the best on the market, we are hard up.

posted by GarKeith (CLARKSBURG, WV) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I dont really care much for the game. The players dont seem to react instantly to controls. If you want to pull up and shot on the run you need to hit the button about three steps before the spot you want to shoot because it seems like that is how long for the animations to process. The court looks good as far as graphics, but the players are not all that amazing. Overall I would say it is just a little bit above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse