Rent NBA 2K7 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
7.7

1807 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GET 2K7

posted by mpc211 (WESTWOOD, MA) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

56 out of 60 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Positive:

+ Great NBA simulation
+ Realistic
+ Graphics
+ In-depth multi-season mode
+ Sound
+ Great online play
+ Replay value
+ Commentary is good

Negative:

- Difficult menu
- Lower scores (because more realistic)
- Definitely not for NBA Live diehards
- Multi-season mode can be overwhelming
- Retarted 24/7 storyline

Overall, NBA 2K7 is a very solid game and if you are a fan of the NBA, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best pure basketball game ever

posted by gorgeousp (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Before they fixed the glitches i would have given this an 8 (why cant they do that for MLB 2K7?). The game would occasionally freeze and your sliders would reset every month after player development. Since the patches, this game is perfect. No freezes, no glitches and with some nice sliders you will have some nail biting basketball games.

Association (franchise) is the way to go. My only gripe being is players in the draft will have twin brothers in the NBA (copy and paste faces)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I used to be a 2k7 Hater.....

posted by AllDatNsom (miami, FL) Sep 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2002

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

....Not anymore. Longtime fan of Live, I was blown away by how much better this game is. To me is all about the control response. Even though its hard for me to adjust to all the isomotion moves(I keep shooting the ball instead of performing a move), I am happy to learn. The players move On point and the camera is perfect. In Live I couldn't find a good enough camera angle that would make me feel like I was in the game. Since my experience with this game is only a few hours(still learning the moves) I can't tell you everything I like yet. But I CAN tell you that it blows LIVE out the water! 2K7 vs Live is like the Miami Heat vs. NY Knicks...a joke!
LETS GO HEAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best NBA game out.

posted by Kayotix (CANYON LAKE, TX) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If your a fan of the NBA, get this game.

Realistic, great game play, commentary is solid and there are so many options on line as far as leagues go it will make your head spin.

THE best NBA game on the 360 this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best

posted by ronjinx (ESSEX, MD) Sep 29, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K7 is hands down, bar none, the most authentic, true to life, basketball ever created. If you are a basketball purest, you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ALL HYPE!!! DON'T BELIEVE IT!!

posted by Outtellect (ALLEN, TX) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game has become all hype! They still have only one shoot button!! So instead of Vince Carter dunking when he enters the paint he does a one foot jump shot. Its ridiculous!! And the rotations are horrible. If you throw the ball inside to Shaq in the paint to do a post move, he'll instead run all the way out to the three point line like he's pulling up for a jumper. Also when you try to do a pump fake, the player sometimes will do a turn around fade away. You can set up a play for a wide open player on the perimeter and they never stay still. This game let me down. Mission Impossible:Trying to get a one block forget obtaining 5 or 10 blocks in a game. Driving to the paint is darn near impossible too! I've played both 2k7 and live 07. Although live 07 isn't the best product EA sports has put out its better than 2k7 and looks better. The only good thing about 2k7 is the hang time on monster dunks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K7 360

posted by sportsfan (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Here we go again folks. Another installment of the 2k basketball series for next gen. I am going to start off by saying that the graphics are once again disapointing. Yeah the uniforms move and there is emotion on the players faces, but those are not next gen graphics. Even though Live 07 is not a good b-ball game, it sure beats 2k in the graphics deparment. They need to take advantage of the 360 and make the game better graphically. Last year I had a problem with subbing. I hated pausing the game everytime I had to sub in Livingston for Cassell. This year they implemented subs on the fly which is good so us gamers won't have to pause for subs. The gameplay is far better then Live, but it still needs to be worked on. I get frustrated when I call I play and the players stand still. There is even times where your own teamates get in your way and screw up the offensive play. Another thing that keeps impressing me is the presentation. The halftime show is awsome and funny as Kenny Smith talks about the good and bad players of the game. With all of this said, if 2k improves their graphics and tone up the gameplay just a bit, we would have the best b-ball game in the world. But since that was not in this years game I rated 2k7 a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Basketball game hands down!

posted by Blaze1 (HAYWARD, CA) Sep 29, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ladies and gentleman seriously I doubt you will find a better basketball game ever than this 2k7. I know thats a very bold statement but it has everything. I don't even have an HD tv and I love this game. The post moves are easy to learn, players dive after balls, the AI is much better than last year, the players do practically all their signature movements...a.k.a. Steve Nash licking his fingers before he dribbles. When you sub you see the players sitting and checking in at the scorers table. It even has the new Lebron Nike airs! And finally I don't know of a game ever having this many good camera angles, the TV cam switches views in game like you would see if you were watching it on TNT or ESPN live. On the other hand this game is not flawless, now if you want to get nit picky some of the players faces don't look exactly like the real life player. Also when you dunk sometimes the hands don't look like they are holding the rim but I can take that. There is no question if you like basketball...don't rent buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what NextGen is all about!!!

posted by Modfather1 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hey it's 2K sports, what more is there to say except that this game is truly next-gen,and it's only the beginning. 2K has always set the bar high for the competition(EA Sports) to follow, hey if you can't beat it buy it out that's EA's motto.. The other guys just need to stick to boxing, this is what they are good at.. Everything else is mediocre and overhyped as usual. 2k7 is a winner with a very high replay value, I love it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Fun BAD Game!!!

posted by Randoo731 (HOLMES, NY) Nov 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I either really sucked at this game or the actual game sucks because it was not fun. the best part about it is probly the online. the graphics were horrible, aside from the nba superstars Shaq, Kobe etc you couldnt even tell who the other people were supposed to be.the shot stick was hard and took me awhile just to make a 3 pointer with it. also theres no good moves on offense to get around defenders. Even though EA puts the same games out every year with a new gimmick to it i still like nba 07 over nba 2k7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same Ole Same Ole

posted by NubNub (Marshallville, OH) Oct 1, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Good Game. but WAY too much like 2k6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest Basketball Game

posted by Momoney (CONCORD, CA) Nov 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the greatest basketball game invented!
Great gameplay, awesome graphics, and terrific cut-scenes. No basketball game can match up to this. Perfect roster, and 24/7 mode is off the charts! This game is amazing, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Refreshing

posted by 360newbie (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

In the first five minutes of playing this game I was thanking the video game gods that EA did not take over the NBA games like they did the NFL. The Game play is 100 times smoother than Live. The menu is a little weird and the player models are not all that accurate but the game play more than make up for that. This game would be a perfect 10 if not for those minor missteps. The Association is great and I can actually play the games. I ended up changing the length of the quarters because I was having too much fun. This game is well worth the 59.99 price tag. I recommend this game to anyone looking for the ultimate basketball game for the next-gen systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA 2k7 good, but annoying

posted by ntagdgmer (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I want to be completely fair about my review of this game. While it is the only 07 basketball game I have had the oppertunity to play, sadly I am put off by only a few quirks of this video game.

1) My main problem is with the diffeeance between playing online against a human opponent and against the computer. Online seems a bit harder to hit a majority of your shots. And I am talking about the high percentage shots. Also the free throw technique takes a bit to get used to online. The shot stick to me, really isnt needed. I long for the days of lining cross hairs up to make the shots.

2) Character creation. Its like this. Just because you have alot of options, doesnt mean its a good thing. If you go to baskin robins, they dont have all 31 flavors out at the same time, neither should this game. Make it basic. I dont like having to spend 30 minutes to work on making a character, ok its not that i dont have the time, I just dont wanna do it.

3) Superstar Mode. Are you kidding me. The individuals you associate with throughout the game, are at the very least opposite of their respective elements and get annoying really fast. Not to mention you cant manage to skip past it, even if you wanted to.

4) Online mode. It just annoys me that you can probably pick any opponent on this game and odds are you will spend a majority of your time getting mad that they are raining 3pt shots like your in the 3pt contest at all star weekend.

5) Isomotion. I liked what NBA live did with the freestyle stick, I am unfortunatly not that coordinated where i can do 80 things to try to pull off on move to drive to the lane.

With all the bad I have managed to say about this game, there really are some shining spots. I really enjoy the season mode and they have a practice mode to try to get the timing down of your shots.

All in all this game just has to many problems for me to find it to be above an 8. Thats why I just believe this game is an average effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GO GET IT!!!

posted by DahaKa (MIAMI, FL) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

WOW!!!.... yo, on the real, just go get it... best ball game out there right now... YES, BEST BALL GAME!!!, screw Live, yes SCREW LIVE..and im no fanboy, if you're a real gamer u can tell which game is better( EA has the name, but 2k got the game), c'mon I been gaming since atari so I know what im talkin bout...

I was shocked with the smootheness of the game man, everythin just flowwwwwwsssssss. Crossover are sick for all u street heads, post up game was changed a bit, very nice, very nice... but the best of all is the Real player gameplay, everytime I shoot a jumper with Jason Terry I wet my pants, THEY SHOOT THE SAME!!, PLAY THE SAME!!...its crazy

Like I sed man, just go it, its worth every penny

Now for the bad stuff, there is Glitchin in the game, but then again what game doesnt. The 24/7, ehhhhh, its your call, I say it coulda been better. Another thing it is like 2k6 in SOME ways, graphic wise and stuff like dat. But u will notice a difference, a good one! Low scoring is also an issue (not a big one) but if you like hitting 100 points or betta a game, then go get live, and drop buckets from whereva u want.

To summerize, real ballers, who are into real basketball simulation, THIS GAME HAS YOUR NAME ALL OVER IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Warning you will miss sleep

posted by vleboy (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This is the best basketball ever you will not regret buying this game trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by JDOUBLE360 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 24, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I DON'T KNOW WHO GAVE THIS GAME AN EIGHT OR HIGHER BUT THEY WERE ON SOMETHING WACKY. HOW COMES YOU CAN'T DO ANY MOVES WITH THE BASKETBALL? NO SPIN MOVE, NO CROSSOVER; IF YOU WANT TO TAKE IT TO THE HOLE YOU BASICALLY HAVE TO MOVE TOWARDS THE GOAL AND HOPE THE DEFENDER moves OUT OF YOUR WAY. YOU CANNOT MAKE THE PLAYER DUNK EITHER THE COMPUTER DECIDES WHEN YOU CAN. OVERALL THIS GAME IS VERY STIFF AND UNRESPONSIVE. IF THIS GAME IS SUPPOSDELY WAY BETTER THAN NBA LIVE I WOULD HATE TO SEE THAT GAME. THIS IS THE WORST BASKETBALL GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. I PLAYED IT ALL OF TEN MINUTES AND SENT IT BACK. BOTTOM LINE DOO DOO!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good

posted by suzuki2005 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

very good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for it's time.

posted by Kurrad (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Fun, basic b-ball game with some added complexity for those that thrive on that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

nba 2k7

posted by verryfunny (SARASOTA, FL) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I thought it was fair when I was playing his cloths always messed up and I thought when you fall you stay on the ground to long but I still thought it was still kinda fun and I think it is crazy to block a dunk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Slam dunk

posted by fmlmcd (BEDFORD, TX) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game makes even shaq look gifted. Okay graphics, good announcing, and realilistic game play and scoring. Good for oline geeks, like myself. 12 out 10. Buy it, because scoring from down town never gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad at all..

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Gameplay is clean and crisp and definitely better than NBA Live 07!!! This is the game to get if you are looking for a good simulation basketball game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K8

posted by HOMICIDE (SPRING LAKE, NC) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

Well this NBA game is like others but by far it is the best. It looks and sounds nice but could be a lil better. The players still kinda move weird and they dont really look like they do on tv.

For the most part this is a good NBA game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Oh ya that game...

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) Feb 2, 2008

Member since May 2004

Now dont get me wrong the gameplay is phenominal....that is the only good thing. The create the team and player is the usual..not cool..the online is poo...and the story modes graphics stink. Even thouugh i said if u are looking for a basketball game just to have one this is it,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Enjoyed this game. Good>Bad

posted by Statyck (BELMONT, MA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

I liked this game a lot. It may be 'Just another 2K Sports Game' But it is done very well. They just keep getting better don't they? There were good things like the player design, the options (helpful ++), swapping between controlling players is smooth, and different modes. It wouldn't be complete without Xbox Live play. I enjoyed this game but there are very few things I didn't. The free throws should have a meter so you have an idea of where to let go. It is hard to keep your player on another because of one stick movement. Lastly most of these shots your controlled players miss frequently leave you thinking 'I could have made that shot' ='( I give this game a 7 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse