Rent NBA 2K7 for Xbox
view large frontback

NBA 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.5

205 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

When does baseball season start?

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Although its good, there's little reason to have 2K7 if 2K6 already grew tedious. A couple new moves, a couple bells and whistles here and there, but all in all, nothing worth the new investment in time or money. If you've never explored the 2K series games, don't get me wrong, they're great as a whole, but with every season you should be getting more and not just a different date on the box. Its clear they were investing their time into the 360 title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little more realistic

posted by Hurricane1 (HEMET, CA) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was actually happy to play this game. You get to play with the superstars signature shots, which was a suprise, since all the bonus features have been added in the next generation consoles. That's just a little change in the game, other than that it's the same as last years.. But I'd rather play 2K7 instead of 2K6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is ok, I've seen better...

posted by thewdude2 (CASTAIC, CA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

I give this game a 5 out of 10, mainly because there are many other and earlier types of Basketball video games out there that I think are much better and realistic than this one.

The first thing I noticed was that if you want to play a team that is lower rated than yours, the ratings aren't usually a factor. You can be playing a team 30 overall rating points lower than you, and can be down 35-15 going into halftime.
In reverse, you can play the same team again in a different match, and totally kill them. I found this aspect of the game very inconsistent.

Also, I found that this game lacks action, in the sense that the computer is very easy to read, and you can easily figure out its next move. I thought this game was pretty boring for the most part, even during the "season" or "playoff" modes.

For the reasons above, I give this game a 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A waste of time

posted by incysor (MESA, AZ) May 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

I've never been a true fan of basketball games. However, I give them a try every once in a while. Kenny Smith is okay on the TNT post game show, but it becomes awful listening to his commentating in this game. I actually heard him say, "Nash is a poor ball handler." Next he's going to tell me that a Ferrari doesn't handle the corners well. Also, do I have to see a replay after every made basket?! It becomes annoying.

Why is it that when I make a good pass to one of the best dunkers in the league, and he receives it right under the basket, instead of dunking, he trys a hook shot?

And finally, when I perform a perfect pick and roll, and my picker rolls wide open down the lane, when I try to pass to him,the pass goes past him to a tightly guarded player outside the lane.

I can't wait till the game suspends my players for no good reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

man.........

posted by kingfrisco (RICHMOND, CA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since May 2006

this suck i played the playsation 3 one with was good but this one is horribe igo it about 2 hour and return it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The developers just didnt care this year.

posted by Spaceballs (TALKING ROCK, GA) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

With the Xbox 360 out and in power. The developers put nearly all the focus on the new console and paid little attention to the xbox version. It seems more was taking out then put in. Now that i think about it, nothing was added except new rosters and some different animations.

Dont get me wrong, if you liked 2k6, chances are you will like this game. The online modes still functions the same along with the association mode (which is basically just running a team). One mode taking out was 24/7. I felt there was no reason to remove this. If your looking to get a basketball game though, this is by far the best game for the xbox. I would reccommend to anyone who wants a good simulation.

But with the lack of the new features, and the same old game being put up this year. This game only gets a 6/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good at all

posted by darthkam (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

This game is not worth buying. Renting it is ok, but buying this would be a waste of 50 bucks. It hasn't changed at all since 2K6 except for a few new things. One thing it lacks is the 24/7 mode it had last year. And the Association mode this year stinks. Game play mode in games remains the same except for Superstar moves. But to use Superstar moves you must pull one trigger and hold it to execute any moves at all. There isn't a crossover stick so dribbling past defenders is much harder. And it is a little unrealistic as far as backups are concerned. When i played as the Lakers, Kobe Bryant had 4 fouls and was out much of the game. His backup who could not shoot worth crud in real life cam in and hit like 3 3 point shots and ended up with 18 or 20 points. Anyway to make a long story short, this game is bad and hopefully 2K8 is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nba 2k7

posted by ligergamer (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

In comparison to 2k6 little or no improvement. Very weak. If you never played this saga before and are into sports this might be a 8 or 9 but for last year gamers, this is a thumbs down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »