Rent NBA 2K7 for PS2
view large frontback

NBA 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, Xbox
GF Rating
6.8

282 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best BBALL game out right now.

posted by Smartboy (NEWTON, MA) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why this game has such a low rating. THe game is very fun and smokes its competitors to the ground. The game speed is much better than the other two basketball games out there. There is much more in depth in this game than others. They have a cool half time presentation and the graphics are very good too. The only problem with this game is that not all the players are in it. Some of the rookies and less talented players are not in this game. It is a fun game to play and the ratings of the players are fare except for Steve Nash who is only a 91, he has 2 MVP's. This is a fun game and is very addictive and you can coach as many teams as you want and play against your friends in franchise mode too. TO me this is a game that all fans should buy and not even think of buying the 2 other boring and slow tempo basket ball games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA 2K7

posted by DPLIVE09 (OSWEGO, NY) Oct 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Its last years game in a different package. They could of done better on current gen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NBA 2K7

posted by charlesO (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

NBA 2k7 is back, with some new moves, sharper looking graphics and smoother game play then 2k6. Although removed from this years game is the 24/7 mode I never really got into the 24/7 mode last year so its no big deal that this years game doesn't have it but im sure some fans of the mode will be upset. On to the game play, If you played last years game a bunch like I did the first thing your going to notice is the smoother frame rate during the games, there are some chop ups but the game runs nicely most of the time. The ball looks a little crazy when your dribbling down court kinda looks like its jumping from magnet to magnet but most people don't even see this. Animations are good although this years game seems to have less momentum feel to it and there are some sliding feet to be seen but its not to noticeable. The ball physics are well done, really feels like the ball has weight this year and can go anywhere (looks nice going into the basket and or rimming off) I'm not even going to start to talk about the controls there are too many and that's a good thing, your going to need to put some time into this game before you really get the hang of everything you can do on the court so offense and defense are NICE on both fronts.
If you have last years game and are thinking about getting this years for a bunch of new modes and extras don't. If you don't care about extras and new modes and just want a better looking, smoother playing basketball game to square off with a roommate or some friends Then you cant go wrong with NBA2k7 I give it a 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NO CHANGE FROM LAST YEAR

posted by Stoudemart (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 27, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

IF your willing to spend $30 to buy this game, reconsider that it is identical to last year. The rosters are also all out of sync also. I loved this game throughout the years, but this year they having nothing new to offer. I would wait for PS3 to come out and purchase 2k7 for that. THEY HAVE CHANGED NOTHING. bottom line, NOTHING TO OFFER TO THE TABLE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by gamer5454 (CHESTERTON, IN) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is the same as last year do not rent . it seems like the graphics are for playstation 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best

posted by yungroc (ST LOUIS, MO) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 29 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

Im up earlier on the release date so the game hasnt came out. But I know this is absolutely gonna dominate NBA Live. It does every year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A sweet nba game

posted by gameness (CLARKSTON, MI) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is tons of fun. The graphics are good. This game is totally worth your time if you are a basketball fan or just a playstation 2 owner. This is a must have game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh my gosh!!!

posted by CGMONEY70 (SKOKIE, IL) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

I hadn't played the 2k basketball game since '05 so I thought I would try it out. 1) the graphics seem to have gotten worse they almost look like PS1 graphics. 2) The game play is just brutal. I could go on and on but to put it simply this is easily the worst game I've ever played on any system period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best basketball game I've ever played!!!!!!!!!

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

This game has everything! This game has great graphics, like when you swish it the net shoots up. The Association Mode is fun. It has all the offseason phases, and you have complete control of your team during the season too. The player movements are smooth and look realistic. One thing that bugged me is that when you try to back down a player on the post and just push a little bit, the player flops and a charge gets called against you. Other than that, I love this game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

same as last year

posted by zaneharley (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 1, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

if ur looking for something new,its not here, it is still better then NBA live but nothing next gen here yet, if u enjoyed the 24/7 on NBA 2k6 its gone. I never did use it, but if u like it ul be upset. Gameplay is a little smoother but thats about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good ballin games

posted by born2driv4 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

this game is a must for them nba fans. the game has some of the best graphics and game play you will see. controls are easy to get the hang of and is easy to get good at. its also unique how they did the trophy room.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 25bonds25 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

this is a great game. The graphics are great. It is very easy to play nice D.!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NBA 2KOOL

posted by KoolKev (MC LEAN, VA) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Awesome Graphics and great gameplay. The Shoot stick is unique, but hard to use and difficult to get used too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shaq on the cover is perfect, he is old and slow

posted by Hexpane (Daly City, CA) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

The game engine is really starting to age. While 2k7 supports 480p on the PS2, playing in that mode causes severe framerate problems.

Additionally even in the faster running 480i mode the framerate dips a lot when using alternate uniforms.

There are also sever bugs, like I was forced to play an Overtime quarter despite the 4th quarter ending w/ me up by 30 against the CPU. Should clearly be game over, but nope, another full quarter of OT for what reason?

Players constantly go out of bounds for no reason, the game sliders need to be adjusted otherwise the CPU will shoot 80% and you will miss 50% of your layups. Other bad AI problem are the coaches burning early time outs constantly and PGs and SGs leading rebounder stats in game (simmed seems ok)

Basically any glitch you noticed is back, along with some possibly new bugs and glitches like the atrocious OT bug.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K7

posted by Lebron (SUGAR LAND, TX) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

This Game is off the hook.... One of the best game that easports has made.. with all new features and graphic.... also updated roster... u dont want to miss this game... I played it and it had everything... It is way better than NBA LIVE 07 so go rent it or buy it

10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K7

posted by jonh1991 (DUBLIN, VA) Dec 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This is the best basketball game i have ever played. It has great graphics and detailed players it has every little move a playerdoes even how they shoot free throws. I love This Game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA 2k7

posted by labfan91 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

The game stinks it is very hard to win. And the controlls stink.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice ballin...

posted by ddurham131 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Just getting back into playing b-ball and have to say this is a nice start. I got waxed the first game, but won my next couple and had fun doing it. The menu setup for starting a season was a little confusing, but my major gripe is the freethrow meter. Is there anyone one on the planet that can pull back on the analog stick in a freakin perfectly straight line and forward with any consistency out there? If you can, you're good cause I averaged 1 made freethrow per game which is a joke. Why can't they give you the option to use the old way(aligning moving objects to center line) if you so choose? It's also difficult to play defense without putting the computer on the line which usually shoots 98%. Was fun, but I'll be hard pressed to buy a b-ball game that isn't a simple rehash. Hopefully, the PS3 version will make my decision an easier one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »