Rent NBA 2K7 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
6.9

569 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why such a low score

posted by sonicflood (COOLIDGE, TX) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game deserves a 8 or atleast a 7 this is the rating it gets because of all the ps3 haters out there........well basically this is the only basketball game to get because NBA 07 is a joke the visuals in this game the gameplay the reality!....its a solid game.....if you need a basketball game this time of year and your not sure wi ch way to go.........well 2K7 is the way to go......you wont regret it......solid visuals solid load tiems......and solid gameplay earns this title a 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2K7 is a MUST have for the PS3

posted by SteveGutt (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Alright so having to balance out an action game, sport game, and RPG game for my first PS3 games and I chose NBA 2K7 as my sport choice. Guys this game is OFF THE HOOK!!! I swear, IGN couldn't have said it better when they said it was unthinkable to make a good game better. The lighting on the court, the expressions on their faces, the playback, and even just the crazy game play- this is one of my top sport game picks! I would also check out NHL 2K7 too... 2K sports is killing it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good NBA game

posted by playingbig (AURORA, CO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

NBA 2k7 is a very good game in its first installment on the PS3. The gameplay is great, graphics are good ,and the presentation is great. That all spell very good game. With a tweak here and their I would have gave the game a 10. With this game out I can see why EAsports decided not to release a NBA live game this year it would have been hard to beat 2k7's gameplay and presentation. I highly recommend playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Even better on PS3

posted by ftrain9 (MARICOPA, AZ) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game for the Xbox, and the Xbox 360. However, 2Ksports has truly outdone themselves. They claimed that they enhance the PS3 version, with some added features, and they came through big. I love the shot meter they added although it makes shooting a bit easier. Great game overall and so far my pick for best game on PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best NBA Experience EVER!

posted by Stoudemart (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WHOA, this game is basically flawless. Everything from the gameplay to the Mascot halftime celebrations make you fell like your at a professional NBA Game. The shooting is realistic, having shots like shawn marion incorporated in this game. Online play is great by the new feedback system. No more playing unsim people due to the new geedback system. I recommend this game to any basketball fan. Its a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba 2k7 the good and the bad

posted by kunal990 (LOUISVILLE, CO) Apr 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is the best you have to play it because you can do so much i give this game a 10 out of 10 because it has features like quick game, street ball, and the association witch is kind of like the playoffs.
there is only one bad thing and that is the way they had to make the music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by gouncgo23 (SAVAGE, MN) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best game i have played on ps3! The graphics are amazing and the fans almost look real. The players all play like they do in real life like sean merion has his real shoot in the game. The only bad thing about this game is like all 2k basketball games is that you miss alot of lay-ups and close shoots. If you are a sports fan get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but connecting online is difficult

posted by Jahlah (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I won't bore you by repeating why this is the best basketball game that I've ever played. I'll just say that if you play this game on a HDTV you will know exactly what I mean. I was blown away by the level of detail that was put into this game (i.e. S. Marion's jump shot, or J. Kidd's free throw routine).

However, if you, like most of us, want to play this game online, then prepare to be frustrated. It is very difficult to connect to an opponent. I've recently set up my PS3 to connect wirelessly to my router, and I have not been able to connect since. Even prior to this, when I was "wired", I had difficulty finding someone that I could connect to. I am hoping that this is a issue with their servers that will be fixed eventually, because I can see me playing this game for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but xbox360 version does look better

posted by kuraska (VIPER, KY) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is the best b-ball game out there but side by side on my hd-tv the ps3 version is not as visually pleasing as the 360 version. There are also pixels that are rough on some of the player models on the ps3 version not on the 360 version.
The gameplay is the most realistic and the shot forms are fantastic(authentic for each player). I recommend the 360 version as there was slow down at times on the ps3 version and online play is awesome but xbox live is also doing a way better job than sony. Sorry sony fanboys go with the xbox 360 version its just plain better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA 2k7 is eke for now

posted by topgamenyc (FOREST HILLS, NY) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well Finally I had a chance to play a basketball game next gen style Funny thing is I really only wanted a PS3 for metal gear solid 4 and nba live 07 08 09 etc....However they scrapped live 07 for ps3 and metal gear doesn't have a date of release.
Ok back to the game. the graphics are very nice and crisp for my 1080i display 53 inches the details are nice but the game has glitches.
They will have to fix a few things I dont think much time was put into putting this game on ps3 alot like a few other sports titles.
The controlls are a little clunky in the menu screens I think that live has a sleeker menu system.
The biggest problem I had was the online gaming aspect of this I have high speed cable modem and pay for extra bandwith about 10mbps or so and this game does not let you connect immediatley to any person you would like to challenge. If you play nba live online this is nowhere near it. You cannot connect within 30 seconds and play a game against a online opponent like in live there are times I wait 5 to 10 mins its very fustrating wether you go to quick game or go to a lobby lookin for a game.
Play the game to see the new graphics and kool soundtrak I played 24 7 mode which was kool then lets you take your player to the nba.
All in all its a nice game but I still go play my nba live 07 for ps2 just because I can get a quick online game anytime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Competion = Great for the consumer - Living Proof

posted by BatMax01 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Since there is no exclusive license for NBA games, look at what we (the gamers) have, a near perfect basket ball game from 2K studios. Don't get me wrong EA has done great things for the gaming industry, but when it all boils down to it you want to have a game that is both beautiful as well as extremely fun to play. I have NBA Live 07 and 2k7 on the 360 and 2K7 on the PS3. NBA Live 07 seems like it runs at 20 frames per second. It's cotton pickin supercomputer, no excuse. And then we have 2k7 excellent display of the power and potential of both systems. And don't forget guys, this is a launch title. One word about this game, Amazing! If you like basketball buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

there are no good basketball games for PS3

posted by daratz1786 (KELLER, TX) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i have to say that NBA 2k7 is not all that good, the graphics are good and the variety of game is great but on 24/7 option it is ultra repetitive. you can't drive to the basket as much because the turbo is your best chance and its not very effective like it was in previous years. the passing in the game is very unreal because they steal every ball you throw.
to close it out NBA live 07 stinks! NBA 2k7 is ok except for the gameplay. its way to confusing even in the menu stuff. waist a couple of days in the mail if you want but you'll see how not good it is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Basketball game on the market!

posted by DatNugga (HEMPSTEAD, NY) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Great game, movements are smooth, much more fluent then live or any other basketball game. Players look and shoot like there supposed to. Cant wait for 2k8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its a good game

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

If you don't like 2k it could be for 3 reasons.

1. You don't play it with friends.
2. You like live better.
3. You just don't like basketball or basketball games that much.

But besides that 2k graphics are crisp and clean and i love the halftime show and some of the dunks are a little...well lets say it could use some improvement and the franchise mode is one of the best I have seen in a game. But the desperate attempt at making a story mode in 2k i think it was called one on one was very, very bad lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice first try at a Ps3 bball game. Great graphics

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is a good shot at a basketball game for the PS3. It is full of amazing graphics. The only thing lacking is the gameplay compared to NBA07. 2K has a shotstick which is quirky at best. The characters look somewhat like they're real counterparts, just not like you would think doing face scans. Shaq is on the front if that tells you anything, not Dwade, Kobe, King J or Dirk. BottomLINE: This is worth checking out if you have always liked 2k better than nba.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What was I thinking?

posted by swimboy4 (LITTLE SILVER, NJ) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was one of the worst games that I have played. The graphics were HORRIBLE! I would rate the gameplay a 3. It was just hard to get accustomed to the controls. Then when you finally have the controls down, surprise! Every single time I wanted to pass I pressed the pass button, but the player jumped forward instead. This resulted in multiple penalties that cost me points. Another thing, the score-miss ratio is completely off. The company that made this game made it so the opposing team ALWAYS and I mean ALWAYS scores both of their foul shots. Not even missing one shot. Whenever you try to steal the ball from the other team you have to press the steal button. But, when you do that you foul the person you are stealing from. Also, the best move that could be done, the alleyoop, has been cut out. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME!!!!!!!! And all you PS3 haters out there, bad graphics are not from the ps3, they are from the game. The companies just don't put good graphics in the games, resulting in bad games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the good and the bad

posted by weaver07 (PORTSMOUTH, OH) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

so im posting this review because before i got this game i read all the reviews and i was pumped for it. well its not all its talked up to be. don't get me wrong the graphics are awsome but the game play itself no so awsome. im used to playin nba live which i believe is easier to play and more realistic then the 2k games. liike for example wheres the freestyle control at on this game oo yea there isnt one the r2 button does these stupid moves that dont even help get to the rim and the the buttons are all crazy and wheres the alley-oop at. i mean ya gotta be able 2 dribble and oop isnt that basketball. and my last bit of info would be the glitches in this game i mean your running around all real and then bam your players shorts are gone and it looks like he's playin without shorts on which is pretty odd but i guess this will have 2 do untill october when the real nba game comes out and knocks 2k7 back into its little hole in the ground

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K7

posted by dagreat1 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

In the mist of competition of which game to purchase (NBA live vs. NBA 2k) from the past couple of years, this year winner is by far NBA 2K7. The gameplay is very smooth and download time is fast with the acception of fun aspect being to complacent for example when on a fast break (2on 1): Steve Nash running the floor with ball and Shawn Marion on the wing out of nowhere, in reality something special would have happen like a pass off the backboard or even a alley oop, basically something that would show up on sportscenter. On NBA 2k7 the outcome would be a typical bounce pass and Shawn Marion getting fouled and not dunking on someone or worse no and 1. But NBA 2K7 did have something special when they made option to create a player like a "Rags 2 Riches" mode which allowed you to groom your player into a NBA superstar and even the NBA MVP?. Bottom line it is one of the hottest basketball games purchases of the year for the PS3, only thing is when a creating a basketball game make sure u get all the fundemental attributes. MUST HAVE IN YOUR GAME LIBRARY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One glitch away from a 10

posted by Never2Old (DAVIE, FL) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This is an awesome basketball sim. The gameplay is very realistic. Each player shoots the way his real life counterpart does, Shawn Marion's funky release and all. The player ratings are very fair, you wont find some no-name 12th man whose skills in the game are comparable to D-Wade. Fouls, shot blocking, free throw shooting, player speeds, all very realistic.

The street gameplay is really good too. A bit heavy on the commentary from your two friends that follow you around as you play in different cities, but that is tolerable. Lots of different types of game styles and challenges.

So why the 8 rating? Performance. At the beginning of nearly every game for about a full minute, the gameplay is jittery. It is as though some parts of the game are still loading, and it is almost bad enough that you'll be willing to get a 24 second call for your first two possesions.

Aside from that, every now and then a player's jersey or shorts will inexplicably disappear. Not to worry, the players are... lets just say not fully rendered, and the clothing does come back after 20-30 seconds. But it is a little un-nerving.

If 2K Sports fixes those two issues, this gets a whole hearted 10 from this gamer. And being a hard core EA guy that's saying something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Choppy inferior graphics

posted by MacGuru (HOUSTON, TX) May 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

After playing NBA07 and also MLB2K7 I thought that NBA2K7 would be great. Upon playing it for a few minutes however, I was very disappointed with the choppy graphics and overall badly rendered characters.

This title does no good to the otherwise very good 2K series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must Have!!!!

posted by sherengo3 (AZUSA, CA) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is one of the the best games for PS3. The graphics are awesome and the franchise and game play is fun. It's just a fun entertaining game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by kraftd12 (SMITHFIELD, VA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

good graphix, good gameplay, and great presentation, but troubled range online. a nine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

have a ps3? then get 2k7!

posted by ps3stheman (LEXINGTON, MA) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

NBA 2K7 makes NBA 07 look like it was designed by a bunch of 3rd graders(very, very close to flawless). The shot stick is very intuitive, the graphics are great, the players' shot motions are amazing, and there are enough things to do in the game modes they have that you never will get bored. also create-a-player is ridiculously fun because of how many ways you can customize your player. the association (franchise mode) is very in depth and fun to do. my only complaints are that the computer makes horrendous decisions for you when simulating (pretty sure salim stoudamire never would take 17 threes while serving as the 4TH scoring option in my celtics franchise). also the 24/7 mode is AWFUL, do not bother playing it. i noticed that people have complained about the computer stealing your passes every time. if you can't pass in this game, you dont deserve to write about it. because this game is realistic (unlike 07) it forces you to make smart passes and not throw up hail marys in the middle of 4 people and expect to come down with it. this game is not for the idiots who want to score 300 points with kobe bryant; this game is for the people who want an actual game. BOTTOMLINE: pick this game up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Sort of boring

posted by PS3vidscom (AVONDALE, AZ) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I didn't like this game much. The game play was choppy and the replays were badly timed. A massive Shaq dunk, for example, go no replay but a layup did.
Forcing a replay is really hard to do because you have do it with the controls. It doesn't just replay it. More at ps3vidscom

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

2K7 Just Isn't It

posted by Arress (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Respectively, this game on its own is a decent basketball title. However, in a world of game competition, I find this game lacking in many aspects. The menu navigation is pretty good, as well as the depth to "The Association" (franchise mode) and commentary. The games controls, however, is where the meat of the game should be and I feel they did not accomplish what they were going for in total reality in a game. The "Shoot Stick", controlled by the Right Analog, can be annoying at best, and the tilt control free throw shooting is outrageously sensitive, even to the Tony Parker-like free throw shooters. Graphically, the game is decent, although facial expressions do not attain the reality as sought for in other games. If I were to choose, I would pass on this one and go for NBA 07 as my PS3 Basketball choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse