Rent NBA 2K6 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K6

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
6.8

2656 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not much different from previous outings

posted by jasoncourt (ARLINGTON, VA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K6 is as good as it has ever been, but that is also its downfall. If you've played previous NBA 2K games you're basically getting it with a decent graphical boost. If you haven't played it before then there is a fresh deep basketball experience waiting for you.

pros-looks good, has deep franchise modes, game play is solid, so are the voice-overs.

cons-feels a little stale if you've played previous 2K basketball games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Want achievement points?

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

22 out of 29 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

As the title states if you want a quick 1000 achievement points then rent this game. Personally, I don't think it's that great of a game - then again i was never a fan of basketball games.

You can seriously earn all of the achievements in on game.... I have no other thoughts whatsoever on this game, so if you like sports game do not based your opinion on renting/buying this game from what was stated above. Only base it if you want to earn a quick 1k achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA 2K6 For Xbox 360

posted by RememberMe (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K6 i am going to say is a very deceiving game. At first it may appear to be a stinking pile of bad, because to any gamers new to the title or any in it's series the game has a much stepper learning curve than its counterpart NBA Live 06 witch has very simple controls. But NBA 2K6's games once you climb up the learning curve will be very rewarding and you just might not be able to put it down it's so good. In short, all this game takes is a little time to get to know it, but once you understand to at first confusing (to me anyhow) shot stick and master dule player control this could possibly be one of the best NBA basketball games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you have a 360, read this!

posted by nicgonzo (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you can count your fingers, than you can collect all five achievements (1000 pts) in this game. Best of all, you can do it easily in the first match. Achievement difficulty - 1/10. 10 being the hardest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best NBA Game on 360 Hands Down!!

posted by hoodSTAR (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is game is the best NBA game on xbox 360 to date. I've played NBA Live 06 and 2K6 blows it out of the water. The signature styles of each player and facial expressions are perfect. The designers of this game went the extra mile to make the game play as real as possible. From the jersey that move independent of the player, to the progressive beads or sweat as the player get more and more playing time. I especially like the commentator during the half time break. Overall this is a great game to play alone, with friends or online with XBOX Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mommy, Shaq's Stuck in the TV Again

posted by MrAlaska (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the world of gaming there are two basketball games that have really been competing to see who has the best franchise, and this year it was easy to see that NBA 2K6 is definitely the better of the two. It has way better graphics for 360 and Xbox 1( on the original Xbox, Live looks like they have midgets running around on the court). The next gen version has stunning visuals, great deep gameplay, and some great online play with frequently updated rosters. The animations look great and the shot stick gives you great control over your shots. Also with the shot stick you can pull off great dunks that make you think your actually watching Dwayne Wade through down against Dirk Nowitzki. Also you can get very easy gamerscore( around 1000 points I think). This is a deep great all around game with some great multiplayer. Thanxx.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Only good for achievements

posted by Pushing (DENHAM SPRINGS, LA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had heard how much better this game was supposed to be versus Live and I couldn't disagree more. It is too easy to just drive down and dunk or shoot 50% or higher on 3s. Also to me the grapics look like cartoons during gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by jumpman5802 (NEW YORK, NY) May 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

NBA 2K6 is a good game the music listing is good the gameplay is good the achievements are easy to get good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Achivments!

posted by DPShouse (BIG CABIN, OK) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Took me about 10 minutes to get all 1000g!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a sports fan...but

posted by Fabiocrow1983 (COVINGTON TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I'm Not a sports fan by any stretch of the imagination but I did really like this game. Fun to play,not frustrating at all,got the full 1000g in about a half hour or so and I still played after I got all achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by hayet (AZUSA, CA) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

The graphics look like theyre N64.

Only played this game to get the achievements that XBOX Live screwed up when I updated my profile.

EASIEST ACHIEVEMENTS EVER, TAKES LITERALLY 2 HOURS TO GET THE 10000

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easy achievements

posted by ChartyC (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

I got all 1000 gamerscore in 20 minz. Soooo simple

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

1000 G

posted by eyemhigh (WAYNE, MI) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Easy 1000G, took me 24 minutes. Simply max out your sliders and completely deplete the CPU's sliders. Put the skill on rookie and BOOM. You'll beat the CPU 211-0. (that was my score) Only worth renting if your achievement hunting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

easy points

posted by chaedog (PETOSKEY, MI) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Older game that is an easy 1,000 points to your gamerscore. You can get all 1,000 points in one game of basketball. The game itself is pretty dated, but hey most of you renting an older game like this are just doing it for the points anyways, so yeah have at it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Dont Like Sports Games....But

posted by djyes2 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1000 gamerscore in 30 min. or less using the sliders. Im sure if you like sports games this could be fun...but i rented purely for GS. And given that i give it a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by Veredicto (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

lol you kno why this is a great game b/c it took me 40 mins from the time i put the game in my xbox and played i got 1000 gamerscore...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gamerscore

posted by GameFan09 (SAGINAW, MI) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

easyest gamerscore ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Attention Achievement Lovers

posted by xKiR3Dx (PAULS VALLEY, OK) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is your game. one game with 5 min quarters and the west team, you can have a full 1k G easy. plug in the second controller and turn your 3pt sliders up all the way and go to town.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not that good

posted by joshmgraha (WINTER PARK, FL) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

there are no mini games or game modes all you can do is play a normal game
nothing special

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

easy achivements

posted by Gangst3r (POMONA, CA) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

if you r a achivement freak just rent this game 1 game will get u all 1000 points...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for achievements

posted by lv70warlok (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

Great for getting 1000 points in one sitting.
Also the graphics were good for the time that it came out given that most other sports games were still playing catch up and could hardly muster graphics worthy of the 360 at this point in time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy, but entertaining.

posted by murderous (New Glarus, WI) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game like most early 2006 basketball games looked short, easy, and anything but extraordinary. But once you play a few games and realize your picking up in-game award points for your VIP crib it becomes anything but ordinary. The creators of this game had the right idea in their mind when they created the award system for certain actions like (steal 15 times with any player) but had they integrated those awards into achievements this game would have lasted longer in entertaining me than it did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Basketball Game

posted by Sensewu (VISALIA, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

NBA 2K6 is a great basketball game that has been good throughout the whole series. NBA 2K6 brings better graphics and gameplay to the 360.

The graphics of this game are great, all the players look just like/or similar to the real person, which is a big plus for this game. The fans look better than they do in previous installments, which is good. Overall, you won't be disappointed w/ the graphics in this game.

The sound/music in this game is also alright, most of the types of music that are in the other games, Some Hip-Hop etc.

The controls in this game are very good in my opinion, and the players are quite easy to control. After a few minutes you can already have the controls down and learned.

The multi-player on this game is basically what makes it good. Getting started in a game against someone else is easy, even though I've experienced some frequent connection issues where it has trouble connecting to the other player.

Overall, NBA 2K6 for 360 is a GREAT basketball game, the online play is great, and the achievements are also VERY easy to get! So for the people out there looking for a really quick and easy 1000 gamer points, this is the game to get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much better than NBA Live '06

posted by Squiggler (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This game was not great, but it did offer some decent game play. Players were fairly easy to control (for a basketball game) and the graphics were not bad. The achievements are extremely easy to get, so for those who are trying to boost their gamer score, this is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Quick and Easy 1000/1000 Gamerscore

posted by FunkDog (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

If you're looking to boost your gamerscore, this is the perfect game to do it with. You can easily get 1000/1000 in a single game in less than an hour. Be sure to switch the sliders down to easy settings and you'll be home free. It will even work for two players if you are playing against each other (both people will get the achievements).

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse