Rent NBA 2K14 for PS4
view large frontback

NBA 2K14

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $12.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

707 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

nba2k14

posted by rayray706 (LAGRANGE, GA) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

excellent graphics, great control, hd to the max,overall worth the asking price

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Buy!

posted by cjkasino (INGLEWOOD, CA) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

2k14 first 2k next gen, its great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Nba game ever!!!

posted by JesusFreak1 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful



Nba 2k on Xbox 360 was great, but this one is next generation for real! I review movies and music for my magazine freakmag.com but not video games so here is my take. This is what the next generation games are supposed to look like. Ea sports isn't up to par yet with madden and FIFA soccer but this 2k games is the real thing. The players look so real you can read what is written on their tattoos! The multiple camera angles and tv look is just unbelievable. This is a masterpiece. I give it a 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Launch Title

posted by DosEggiez (NEW MARKET, AL) Nov 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is near perfect, the visuals are amazing, the gameplay is just as fluid as current gen consoles but this game does run into a couple of problems. The Menus are horrible its that all i really need to say, not like past menus at all. One more thing is that at times the ball during gameplay will just barely graise a teammate wihile walking up court thus sending the ball flying lol. But literally these are 2 very small things in a great game. I got it last night played it for 4 hours already i am going to play it some more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HMM I give it a 7

posted by Trigga313 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Ps4 version lacks the features the ps3 versions has, don't get me wrong the graphics are nice and gameplay is fine and my career mode is great but the features you cant play are Crew mode when and your online buddies can use your created players to battle other crews you cant play LeBron James story mode not that a care about that one but still these features are only on the ps3 version but The ps4 career mode is waaaaay better its an actual story on your way to the top so I hoped that helped you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible 2K Servers Make This Un-playable

posted by presidentTKO (AURORA, IL) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The 2K servers for the PS4 were so bad that I could never play this game. You have to be logged into the 2K servers to play most of the contents. There are so many bugs with the PS4 version that this game sucked so bad. The VC that you earn actually do not save, random character deletion, bought players for black top and now can't access them and have to buy them again, clothing you buy for your character does not save, etc.....so many bugs to list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

looks good

posted by FelixUngerFU (YUCAIPA, CA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game itself looks great worth seeing once. That said if you haven't played nba2k yet this game has a ton to learn and offers little help. After finishing tutorial played a quick game and started a career. After only a half hour frustration set in game back in mail. Bottom line if you haven't played the nba2k series yet don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst basketball game ever

posted by mrburnstick (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Jan 19, 2014

Member since May 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

graphics on player models was amazing but that's about the only redeeming quality about this game. the game play became very stale after a couple of hours and your teammates rarely passed the ball to you. controls were also pretty awful stick with 2k baseball don't bother with this boring experiment of a game. also mention it way to easy. will never rent another basketball game from this company

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All hail 2k!

posted by yomamasmellbadd (MONTICELLO, IN) Oct 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Great game love career mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game

posted by lilman50 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Some is wrong with this game scratched or something, but will not play at all tried to clean it and nothing works.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

turnovers n 2k14

posted by Marlo574 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Aug 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Excellent video game in almost every way, that until i talk about passing n this almost flawless simulation of NBA basketball. I need for 2k15 to deliver a more crisp and accurate passing system thats more user friendly so we're not left with the way waaaaaaaay too OFTEN lazy passes! its so frustrating to see ur man wide open and u try to get him the rock and ur PG rolls the ball str8 n2 the defenders legs or throw the laziest lame duck pass which sooooo often leads to fast break points i mean aren't I suppose to feel like im in control? Well with the current passing system n NBA 2k14 I dont. Please fix for the next installment of this legendary sports franchise. PS. Im fiendishly anticipating NFL2K'Z Awsome return! (Can't Wait!! In my Bart Scott Voice)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by xbdamsx (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I really do love this game. The graphics are beautiful inside and out! The player animations are highly realistic and it is a great basketball simulation. The only thing that I didn't like is that the My Player mode wasn't properly finished. NBA 2k15 should be a polished gem, while 2k14 was an awesome start on the next generation system!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Boss

posted by Sincere91285 (ROSENBERG, TX) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game KILLS NBA "Live."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

POSTERIZER!

posted by BlackburnD81 (TIPP CITY, OH) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I have been enjoying the 2k series for a few years now. I was an NBA Live fan up until it's demise. When I made the switch to the 2K series it was a head slap moment that it took me so long. 2K14 is no exception. Let's start with the obvious. The graphics on the PS4 are amazing. I still find myself just staring at the amazing player models this game produces. I'm going to be honest, and say I can't speak on the GM mode, as I haven't really played it. MyTeam is decent, but it's slow going, and new packs cost a lot of coins. Coins I would much rather use in my favorite mode MyCareer. I have loved this mode since it's inception, and it's still great today. Like always I maintain my same complaint year in and year out. Why does EVERY single voice sound black? Why can't there be just one corny white dude voice in these games? Fortunately though, it adds to the hilarity that is the dialogue in MyCareer. If you go into MyCareer, and try to take it seriously you will be angry. The things that are said are just foolish, and I can't imagine it wasn't supposed to be some blown out of proportion joke. Once you get MyPlayer good enough you can also hit the courts online and play in many different pick ups games with other players. This mode is also a lot of fun, but a total point fest.

Bottom line NBA2K14 is a beautiful game that plays really well. I love some of the new controls, and I continue to love MyCareer. Want a basketball game to play? This is it.... Meet me online and get Posterized

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice!

posted by sworth14 (CARTERSVILLE, GA) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

The graphics are amazing. I really like the MyGM mode on here and that they interview players. The interviewing does get repetitive though with the same players. You Can tell it got rushed with the main menu and I am sure next years will be incredible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice!

posted by chechogm20 (HIALEAH, FL) Jan 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Some kind of good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must play!

posted by barbosa202003 (NORMAN, OK) Jan 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Probably one of the greatest NBA games. I enjoy the game play, commentating, music, and the graphics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!!!

posted by Harlemprince101 (GREENLAWN, NY) Jan 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

GREAT GREAT GAME I HAVE IT FOR THE PS4 AND I MEAN I'VE BEEN PLAYING 2K SINCE 2K2 AND THIS GAME BRINGS BACK THAT FEELING I FIRST HAD WHEN I FIRST PLAYED 2K2 SO MANY YEARS AGO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

online drm

posted by Steven_E (PITTSBURG, CA) Dec 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

You gotta be connected online. Otherwise you cant access your mycareer or mygm. The patch ruined some of the fun because of this. The graphics are not all that "Amazing" like people are saying. I'd rate them 8 out of 10 because I wasn't blown away by them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Navigation was a little difficult

posted by RJ84 (SYLMAR, CA) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

The last time I played an NBA 2K game was on the Sega dreamcast (yes, I live under a rock). However, NBA 2K14 was very difficult for me to get around. I struggled trying to utilize the street mode and playing with others. Moreover, I was very confused. But on a good note the graphics were spectacular!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2k puts out another winner

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

First of all, the graphics are just INSANE, the players look as real as real can be, alot better than the PS3 version for sure.
The only flaw and i know im nit picking is that you cannot shut off some of the penalties in this game like you can the PS3 2k14 game, mainly the " 3 in the key" penalty. Very upsetting because i get called for 3 in the key alot and it sucks.
If they would have had that on this game, i would have given it a 10.
Other then that, its pure perfection, light years better than NBA live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good b-ball sim, could be better

posted by SDPinc (SPENCER, MA) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Overall, if you have to choose between Live 14 and 2K14, that isn't even a competition. They're not even in the same league. Pun intended. 2K14 is better in every single regard when compared to Live 14. Hands down. The graphics are top notch. Controls aren't too bad, compared to games I've played in the past. Surprisingly small amount of features for next gen. Quick game, MyCareer and MyGM are about it. The two My modes are pretty scripted, with way too obvious rivalries, etc. Corny at times, but more engaging than most attempts at it. It's the little things that really irritated me. Like being drafted in the first round, yet being rated a 66. And even after you spend your VC points to upgrade, you're still terrible. Realistically, if you were as bad as that in real life, you wouldn't even get drafted in the WNBA, never mind the real deal. I understand you shouldn't come in as the next Jordan, but realistically I think they should start your stats better in the basic areas. Close and mid range shots. Let's face it, you might not be the best at everything coming into the league, but if you can't hit a basket from within ten feet on a consistent basis, why would you be getting drafted in the first round? Other points of contention would be with the interactions with players, GM's, coaches, etc. You talk and they just stare at you without moving their mouth, as text scrolls across the screen and they gesture emphatically. Holds no weight without actual audio. And in MyGM, it's similar except you are sitting face to face with the owner and the exchanges are done via text. How hard would it be to convert that to audio? Overall a good game if you're patient, but lacks some refinement and substance. Needs more options for playing, hopefully they'll continue to improve for next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game, minus all the freezing!!!!

posted by Yamahizzafzr100 (ALLEN PARK, MI) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Great game, but in my career it keeps freezing at the same point, when they invite me to the rookie showcase game on all star weekend. The game just freezes, EVERY TIME!!!! I tried uninstalling the game, reinstalling, reloaded and still the same thing. Been reading other people have this trouble and 2k knows this, and is developing a patch. It just sucks cause I started out 6-13 on the season and was at 28-20 and a fifth seed in the playoffs and on a 9-1 run!!!! Plus, who really cares about all star weekend, I want the playoffs son!!!! So, even though I wanted to keep this game for a couple more weeks I sent it back in to get a different one because right now the game is useless. If I didnt have the freezing problem I would give this game a very solid 9, its amazing. But with the consistent freezing problem not letting me play, I have to give it a 5 right now, release that patch and I'll gladly rate a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »