Rent NBA 2K14 for Xbox One
view large frontback

NBA 2K14

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, PS4
GF Rating
7.7

598 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

...Era of In Game Micro Transactions

posted by S61 (BRAINTREE, MA) Dec 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Career mode was enjoyable but annoying after you realize that gone are the days where you can actually play how you want.

If you want to make an all star character/team you need to buy the in-game currency with real world dollars to buy in game upgrades...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by DeeSweatt (DAYTON, OH) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is Great they made several changes that has positively impacted the 2k series, the My Career mode is now better than ever along with evry other game mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

2K should honestly do all sports games

posted by balexanderdx (MCMECHEN, WV) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

As expected NBA 2K14 offers nothing but the best. Same old controls you have came to love, fast paced basketball, and just overall fun.

If you haven't seen or heard about the graphics in this game let me be the first to tell you that this is the pinnacle of what you expect out of a next gen console. The only way the graphics could be any better is if you literally took control of the real life Lebron.

Gameplay is still smooth. Many critics who have probably never watched a basketball game in their life I have been complaining about how the ball gets knocked around the court a lot but let me tell you that if you've ever seen Jeremy Lin play you'd understand that NBA players don't have flawless dribbling up and down the court.

The only problem I've had with the game is that when I had to do the mandatory install my game kept stalling at 50% but I kept uninstalling it and doing it over again and it finally worked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Basketball game I have ever played!!!!

posted by alg555 (NEW HARTFORD, NY) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Hands Down! The best basketball game I ever played! I was a die-hard Live player my whole life & this game might be the end of that franchise. Nice graphics. smoothe control. great career-mode. Really couldn't ask for much more maybe extend on the career n make small polishing to the game. 2K defiantly has the right recipe for basketball games! DONT CHANGE THE NUCLEUS OF THE GAME. BEAST MODE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GO 2K14!

posted by shawnraycarico (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Sep 26, 2014

Member since May 2012

Very loyally this production and there is lot of positive thing to talk about today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is really bad

posted by FrankAguera (MIAMI, FL) Sep 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I am NOT recommend this game anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLEASE!

posted by anabernice (NEWARK, DE) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

I never got this game and I REALLY want to play this game!!! PLEASE, can I get this game in the mail! PLEASE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All is well:-D

posted by Blueson (NEWARK, NJ) May 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

I enjoy this game a whole lot I will hold on to it another month it keeps me system I truly love yall buissnes and offerings thanx..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love it

posted by fatebigbub (FORT SMITH, AR) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2006

love it love it love it I buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One Team only Control

posted by Starsc4eam (BERWICK, PA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

You can only control one team, no co-op and you cannot select just any game to play, it must involve the one team you choose at the beginning of your franchise/mycareer).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly surprised

posted by jperk211 (MCKEESPORT, PA) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

Haven't enjoyed playing a basketball in over 5 years. This game on the next gen system is for the most part entertaining, with a few exceptions. Cut scenes in my player have many flaws, players and coaches don't actually talk to you, there is to many and you can't skip them, so if you want to play a game expect it to take about an hour. Controls are fairly good minus them trying to incorporate the right analog as a way to shoot. You should not use the same button as a way to juke and shoot. Playing online with friends gets old because if you lose a game you have to wait for another to end and there is no guarantee you will play with your friends. Hopefully minor fixes come next year and this game would be one of the best sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun multiplayer I guess

posted by fcl4l (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

It's fine if you want to just play quick pick up games online or with friends. Career mode is spent mashing buttons to skip all the cut scenes(it won't). GM mode is just babysitting different option screens(hope you remember them all). MyTeam is a mess they tried to add on at the end of production. Defense is beyond difficult so good luck completing the Lebron challenges. Anything fun will come at the price of coins via micro-transactions. I hear NBA Live isn't much better. Maybe next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Definitive Sports Game

posted by scarbizzle (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

NBA 2k takes the NBA and displays what is arguably the most defined sports game ever. NBA 2k14 takes what you know about NBA basketball and gloriously succeeds at simulating almost every facet of what could be possible in a video game. From the bevy of recognizable players, to the sounds and sights of the arena's and announcers, 2k melds an almost one to one control over your player and allows you to feel as close to watching a live broadcast and then some. No other sports game brings so much depth and personality of it's real life counterpart. Its a crying shame that Madden was supposed to go next gen during the 360's and ps3's lifecycle. Unfortunately EA clammed up the rights to the NFL using their brand leverage and greedily took advantage of their loyal gamers by hardly ever making "game changing" adjustments to their yearly titles. 2k brought new depth through each 360 and ps3 iteration of their franchise and this next gen version finally seems like the definitive sports title the entire sports world has been waiting for. This game is going to help sell the NBA brand and too bad EA and the NFL cant say the same about Madden. Hopefully the NFL takes heed and sees what they are missing when it comes to showcasing their brand in a videogames. Now, Im not trying to make this a review about bashing, but I had to make a comparison to explain how a game should be advancing through the years and as mentioned before, this game is a culmination of take two's vision of what a sports game CAN be. Now I must mention when 2k14 was released in November it was still somewhat buggy and a tad unresponsive at time. Fortunately take two has patched up the issues leading to a smoother and more responsive experience and it only looks like they will continue to upgrade what is already a wonderful game! There is so much to do in this game you could literally play it for years to come. If you are an NBA fan or just looking for that "must play" title, 2k14 will amaze you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great NBA Game

posted by beankenobi (COMPTON, CA) Feb 19, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Not really into sports games, but this one got me really into them. The mechanics and controls are awesome. Graphics are GREAT! I recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by twoDeeP92 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Great graphics better game play then 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Looks good. Feels Good. Is Good.

posted by ZakHead (SANTA ANA, CA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Looks real. Feels like all the rest of the nba2k's. That's all I ask for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Now this is next gen...with some online issues.

posted by Dwoop33 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jan 24, 2014

Member since Jan 2006

I had to see if this game was as good looking as it looked in movies and magazine reviews and I can state without a doubt, that it IS the best looking next-gen game to date. It's like watching an actual broadcast and has the subtle touches like showing actual video of the city you are currently in and of course 2K's up to date commentary to keep you in the game. The only downside is the online seems to have some hiccups and lag/disconnect issues but that will be fixed with a patch or two as it is on a brand new system. Must Rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by reborngamer (COLUMBUS, GA) Jan 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Great game with a few bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best 2k yet!!!

posted by robppool (PERRYOPOLIS, PA) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

2k did a great job. The controls are and graphics are nice. The presentation is sweet. It's a decent game if you like basketball. Only negative thing for me is the absence of create a player. (very dissapointed about that 2k)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Missing features on next gen

posted by Windycity (CYPRESS, TX) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is missing features on next gen but the gameplay and graphics made up for it. This game felt like it was rushed to be releases. I'm a huge 2kfan can't wait for next season when the kinks get worked out. But this is definitely a must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

problem?

posted by mrpickles79 (LA PINE, OR) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Is anyone else having problems with it ? It downloaded fine for me and it starts up right but then all the players are shadowey and I called xbox support for it and they tried fixing it and it wouldn't work still so I brought it back and got another and it did the same thing ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great gameplay. Terrible function

posted by DaBoss2008 (NORFOLK, VA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

So I have played 2k11 and 2k13 and loved them both. The gameplay, if you're able to get to it is great. First off is that half the time the game doesn't respond to the controller. You have to restart. Sign in and out and eventually it works. Next is that nothing functions right. Saved games to the cloud have problems syncing. Ie I've never been able to sync my account even if it's from my console. The game modes crash to the main menu half the time. I've never been able to play a game over a few minutes per quarter without it just going to the main menu and not gaining any vc. Another problem was my my player got corrupt because the xbox crashed and I lost the character and all points invested. But on to the modes

Gameplay is about the same. The pass stick is pretty cool.
The mygm mode seems great but everything you unlock with vc then costs much more vc to even use the abilities

My player is different in that there's a ton of cutscenes. And of course it takes a ton of vc to make your player decent.

There is no Lebron mode in this version in case you didn't already know

I would wait til they work out the bugs before buying. The game is just extremely frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Smooth

posted by Dank_OG (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This game plays really smooth. The daily updates, Dunk Contest, city views and fresh roster are clutch. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say this is the best 2K yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best than other 2k series

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

LBJ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »