Rent NBA 2K14 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K14

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

379 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Really?

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No messing getting to it. I dont like sports games cause there is no skill involved. Its all algorithms. That being said there is clearly a algorithm way off when it comes to shooting. No bull. Its there, even if 2k wont admit it. I noticed when a full court shot was made even with good D. No bull. Yet wide open shots build houses. Go figure. Dont like having to listen to L. James every time i turn on the game. For real, it gets old.

Animations and stills are beautiful. Tons of customizations in huge amounts. The presentations are cool highlighting your career mode character...most of the time. Highlights of upcoming games, mvp, player of the month billboards. The list goes on.

Music and sounds. Epic of course. I mean Jay Z did it. Sounds are what you'd come to expect from a basketball game.

Gameplay. Alright, this is where things go way south fast. It took a while to get use to things. My beef is the shooting system. Wide open shots with feedback showing excellent and A+ miss, whereas feedback showing D+ or even F with poor make and ill never forget the full court shot. It tastes like vomit when you commit to a $60 title and you can see the error in front of your eyes. Its sloppy at best. Sluggish controls, non responsive, just bad all round. You see the computer AI doin things you only wish you could and it leaves you just wanting to attain this but you know you never can.

For the poor gameplay, it gets worse. The game is all bout the signature skills. It gives a sense of uniqueness to your character. However, its painful how long it takes to get there. with VC coming in tiny amounts per game its either grind or pay for VC. There it is. You pay for a game to pay to make your character awesome. Sad. Overall, If you like basketball this is all there is out there and its not gonna get any better. Rent it, decide, go from there. Thanks for your time and as always game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by cjmh08 (DALEVILLE, AL) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is an absolute shame that this is the only real option for a basketball game. this game is pathetic. In my career mode it does not matter how good your rating are you can only shoot a certain percent and you can never make more than 2 shots in a row regardless of how wide open you are and how close they are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ok Game but could be better!!!

posted by BW23018 (SOMERSET, KY) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and good concept, but NBA2K13 is way better. The graphic have a lag to them, movements are to stiff. Shooting is way to hard to time. The greatest thing about the game is the new animations on just about everything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game , with realist pro stick control.

posted by GameFlow (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game , with realist pro stick control

- the pro stick control are rebuild.

- the game still fast pace but you won't be too easy getting points underneaths.

- my crew are back

- the public online league are back

- all the C PF rating are rebuild

- Different layup Index

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not that great!

posted by Anton54 (MATTOON, IL) Oct 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not that great! Its hard to navigate the menus for someone who has never played before. The voice quality its not that great. It is hard to control your guy without going all over the place. When I got drafted in mycareer it sat at the billboard screen for over 5mins I pushed every button to skip but it wouldn't. Pass this game up!! Not even worth the rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not That Good!

posted by JustMe34 (MATTOON, IL) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This game is not as good as everyone says it is. The graphics are not really that good at all. You can see this at the post game interviews. Doing the post game interviews is boring and you cannot tell what each response will say or how it will effect your fans or support. If you try to make a steal and fail your are so off balance that your opposing player will zoom past you and layup or dunk and it is so hard to recover from and you guy will be so off balance. There is a major problem with Knockout drill. If the ball gets kicked over way off court the guy might run over and just stand there over it for minutes and you have wait or quit. Also when they pass it sometimes they will not catch it and it will go all the way down court. Movement is really sloppy and it is really easy for you to get your guy off balance and you get scored on if this happens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

do NOT listen to the haters!!!

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

this game is fantastic. are the servers the best? no. but the game is great all around. with a great and smooth pro stick and a shooting mechanic that works so well it should be illegal.

Haters say the game has bad servers, which it does from time to time, they are still good all around. however, lag from euro players can be rage quit worthy. haters also say the game has to easy AI. ya if you play at default level. ont eh harder levels, the game becomes a chess match that will surely keep any b ball purist happy.

The My Player modes do not work as well as they should. WARNING:

DO NOT UP YOUR MY PLAYERS 3PT SHOT PAST 82!!!! JUST DONT DO IT!!!!

Some of the things to do in these modes are very gimmicky and just feel out of place. and the constant needing of changing of the shots to have a chance of having anything that's not a layup go in is annoying( although playing around with shots from legends like MJ and Kobe and making your own mix of there shots is actually really fun)

Overall this a great b ball game that any NBA fans should pick up. the servers can be moody and the my player modes could have been done a lot better, but the game is still great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

????

posted by newfoundchad (PEORIA, IL) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

If I ever get the game a put on my list I will write a review, but right now things aren't lookin' to good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average..

posted by jeremy52048 (YUBA CITY, CA) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

worst online servers ive ever played on, i mean literally! GTA V opening day was better than this.

online leagues are terrible, cant do my player leagues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

My Player

posted by rican_ena38 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Unless you are playing on Hall of Fame difficulty, the gameplay is very easy. You can become unstoppable as a rookie will a very low overall. Please note that this depends mostly on the skill level of the player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »