Rent NBA 2K14 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K14

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox One, PS4, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

457 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Practice? Practice? You talkin about practice?

posted by fergalicious (BELLA VISTA, AR) Oct 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets start this off with obvious truths. This game is almost identical to last yrs game. To give it a (1) for a rating is absurd, although I wouldn't go over an (8). You can only make so many of these games before you run out of ideas. If you are a true nba2ker, you wont be disappointed. They added a new mode using LeBron James. Its ok. I buy this game for the myplayer mode. It improved a little bit. I felt like it was easier to make money, unlike last yrs mode. Basically, the most improved part of this whole game is the motion captioning/ gameplay. Yes they did change the controls again. They WILL frustrate you at first, but like last yr, it didn't take long to get used to them. You WILL love the new blocking system. Blocks that i couldn't get last yr, i can get now. Also fouls are called more frequently (like in real life) so you actually get to the line...unlike last yrs game. This game feels very real. I wouldn't recommend a buy (unless its super cheap) (or you're a hardcore fan) But its a definite rent. And just like it says up top.....PRACTICE. Once you master the controls.....you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Come On 2k

posted by pretteboy25 (ELK GROVE, CA) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly this game was just like 2k13 just new animations and dunks. Its to easy to get blocks and you can get steals bumping into the ball handler with your legs which is over the top unrealistic this game deserves a rating of 7 at most. True NBA Basketball fans know what im saying. good luck next year 2k. NBA live 14 won't be such a bad idea after all. This game needs to go back to the drawing board. New dunks and animations are nice the myteam was more creative which i liked but the gameplay needs work. 2K is now transitioning from realistic gameplay to arcade like gameplay. And last year stole NBA live's dribbling controls which is just lazy on 2ks part. NBA 2k11 remains the best basketball game on the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

just being honest

posted by whytemic2009 (MESA, AZ) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well 2k14 is here and it is an ok for 2k i like the lebron theme as well as the new blocking formality but i have isue with the movement of the players the control is out of control and very hard to stable plus the my player mode is the reason i got the game and it is the same as last year as far as i am concerned is that the game got too much hype for what it is and that isn't ok for 2k so i give it an eight and wish it could get better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not Buy this game, crashes corrupt data

posted by TheShow (RESEDA, CA) Nov 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I buy this game every year. This is the worse experience I have ever had. I was having a hard time with My Player's low rating and purchased several VC money packs to improve the My Player. Well during My Player season, the game has crashed over a dozen times. This is out of less than 30 games. It seems to crash during the 3rd or 4th quarter while skipping a dead ball animatation to hurry up play. I play 12 minute quarters and the crash is a huge waste of time. I had the game crash 4th quarter the last 3 times in a row I played the game. I'm a big enough fan I keep playing even though I know its going to crash 40% of the time. The there's the straw that broke the came's back. The last time the game crashed, it CORRUPTED the My Player save. I contacted 2K support and they are freaking clueless. I'm done with 2K games. Don't play this for another 2-3 months, it shouldn't even be out. The game crashed 3 out the first 4 games I played. If your going to rent/buy this for My Player, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by tykecraft (ROSEVILLE, CA) Oct 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is almost excatly like nba2k13. Everything is the same except for minor details, and they messed with the controls again. I thought that nba2k13 controls were perfect, but for some reason they have to change the controls AGAIN. There are many bugs that 2K needs to fix but they wont listen to community like always. Dont get this game.

Hopefully NBA2K14 on Next Gen console will blow us away, even though im not getting a next gen console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba2k14

posted by booooobad (COVINGTON, LA) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

B ball still fun

posted by Tommy062870 (VERSAILLES, KY) May 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

the game is still fun but what NEEDS to be improved are some of the little things in the game ( better hair and face choices and new tattoos when you make a player they have used the same ones for years now )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA 2K13 2

posted by jkylem22 (ODENVILLE, AL) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The exact same as NBA 2K13 with the addition of LeBron Mode. It's not that it isn't good, it's just that I didn't expect the same game that I've already played enough of. 2K Sports should know the improvements from year to year need to be better. As listed below it became too easy to block shots with my guard. Plus somehow you can get steals just by pushing up against the ball handler while they're dribbling.

Things could have been fine-tuned to be made a lot cleaner looking/running and Superstar mode needs updated design options (almost 100% the same as 13). Although if you haven't played 2K13 then you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible

posted by Arzelius (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

The game is a significant waste of money and time. Over the last couple of years, the game has become increasingly worse. The biggest factor of the game (gameplay) is terrible.

The dominating mode of the game, Myplayer, is a total failure.
A+ shots are missed 90 percent of the time
Dribble moves are useless
Defense is horrible (players just SLIP by)
Opposing defenders stick to you like glue
Passing is lacking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by sammidavis (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

There's nothing I can say wrong about this game. They fixed the one issue I had with the NBA 2K series BLOCK SHOTS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ballin' it up eryday recovering from surgery!

posted by blakedawg831 (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game got me through many painful days pre/post surgery and now I am on the court again! Thanks for the motivation! Only thing I noticed was the game doesn't always count your assists. As long as you're not John Stockton sittin' at home doing the same as me, you should be amped on 2K14!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2K THE NEW EA SPORTS FOR BASKETBALL GAMES??

posted by GRITTG4M3R28 (ELK GROVE, CA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

OK LETS START OFF BY SAYING THIS GAME IS MUCH LIKE THE LAST ONE BUT THIS ONE MAY BE MORE FLAWED WITH THE BROKEN BEYOND REPAIR REBOUNDING AND THE ALL DAY KICK BALL FOR STEALS..LIKE THE LAST COUPLE 2K'S AND NBA LIVE GAMES THE 3 POINT LINE IS YOUR BEST FRIEND I FEEL LIKE ITS TOO EASY TO SCORE AND THE DEFENSIVE A.I ISN'T ALL THAT GREAT..2K HAS IMPLEMENTED TOO MANY ANIMATIONS AND YOU GET STUCK IN THEM OFTEN AND PRETTY EASILY..FOR THIS GAME TO BE RATED AN 8 IS ABSURD ITS MORE LIKE A 5 FOR EFFORT SO BECAUSE OF THAT IT GETS A 1 FROM ME..THE ONLY REASON I RECOMMEND TO GET THIS GAME IS BECAUSE ITS THE ONLY HALFWAY DECENT ONE ON THE MARKET..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

exsplaing

posted by jimmyd031 (ESTILL, SC) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I said I didnt recevie the game but I didnt give it enough time to come

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good Game

posted by BigMess209 (STOCKTON, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

The graphics are fantastic in this years 2k. The gameplay is pretty fluid. I only have a few problems with the game. The 2k servers aren't so great. I run into "2k servers unavailable" more than i would like to. "The Park" is a great game mode when playing with friends online. All in all the game is good and its worth giving it a try. Not to mention there aren't many other basketballs games out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome

posted by merkboi37 (HEADLAND, AL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

the game worked good didn't have any problems with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken!!!

posted by Drydin (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 30, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

My GM Crashes

My Career Crashes

Game does not play VC you buy gone forever They finally patched it waited weeks still don't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best NBA Basketball game but lacks any innovation

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Dec 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

It's a great and fun game to play but when compared to 2k13 it hasn't change that much at all...2k13 from 2k12 was a bigger jump at the time and 2k12 was perhaps the most innovative NBA 2k game in the last few years but if you really love NBA games then get this or if the last you got was like 2k12

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K 13.5

posted by Bell_SKA (CEDAR FALLS, IA) Nov 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Welp, you're playing an updated roster version of 2K 13...more or less. besides the re-addition of Crew not much has changed besides the shooting dribbling controls. But lets be honest. 2012 should have given way to a more intuitive right analog dribbling/ shooting feel. Rebounding is still broken beyond repair and my Romanian PF MyPlayer still has an African American accent. A few upgrades but I get the sense 2K had it's eyes focused on the next gen prize. Still incredibly fun and addicting so I can't go lower than a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

worth it if u love basketball

posted by motownbeast (FLAT ROCK, MI) Nov 8, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

alright let me start this off. DONT listen to the IDIOTS that say this game is the same as last year its NOT! its improved in a lot of ways like more realistic dribbling features and more realistic drives to the basketball and shot blocking has been improved also. they also made shooting harder to so u cant just jack 40 3's a game anymore.

if u love or really like basketball than look no farther than this game right here. worth a rent if ur a casual bball fan worth a but if ur big basketball junky. 9.5 wasnt an option so i gave it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Literally the same exact game as last year smh

posted by Longhairdntcare (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 28, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

Almost quite literally the same exact game. I mean literally......I hope the next gen isn't bare minimum just because it's next gen. But this game has nothing new except Lebron mode which is the same thing as any other mode lol. They changed controls a bit which is frustrating lol. But it's the same game As 2k13. And AI is still horrible in my player. I'm giving it a 3 because the graphics got a smige better. Don't waste your time unless your dieting for a ball game...might as well try out live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »