Rent NBA 2K13 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K13

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
8.5

1263 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Ball Went Through My Hand Coach!

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Immediately into playing this game I knew how many bugs there were going to be and I am not surprised at how many there were. The main menu navigation is confusing and not explained at all, at the title menu you are given 3 options: My character, Quick play, and My Career. At first I thought they got rid of modes like Association or Dunk Contest because of this. I first tried the My Career which the system to create your character is still large and diverse however it throws you directly into the action with your character who will suck going against players like LeBron James in your first game along with a confusing upgrade system. I wanted to change the difficulty and rules for in game but since the menu navigation was confusing I couldn't even find the options section. Yes the graphics received much more detail however I still managed to watch the ball go through my hands on rebounds, players jumping through me to either dunk or get rebounds. It does not tell you any of the controls except for the new features but not how to call for a pick and roll. What did manage to impress me was how in depth they went with the My Career now making you focus on how you play, answering interviews, having a fan base, and signing contracts. However gameplay is annoying to figure out, free throw shooting is impossible, glitches still occur almost the entire game, and the menu navigation is terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Addicting

posted by AC3_fan (WASHBURN, ND) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so addicting I can not believe it. I was not really a fan of 2k12 and really didn't get into the MyPlayer game mode. I think the MyPlayer in this installment is much better and funner than 2k12 MyPlayer. I am now a 99 overall and the best player in the league at 10 years pro. The only small problem I had with this game was online. When I would play with friends sometimes the game would freeze, become glitchy, or just throw me out of the game. Oh forget about that only small problem, I have one more. I was playing MyPlayer and while a finished a game I exited out and came back a couple minutes later and it said can not connect to the 2k server. Would you like to switch to SP. So I selected yes, little did I know that I could not change back to VC unless I called the company, and they would have had to reset my MyPlayer, deleting all my progress that took for ever to get. The graphics in this game a pretty great, for instance, my uncle walked into the room and said "Oh my god, is that a video game, I thought you were watching a game." The gameplay is great and fun. The announcers are spot on in this game and that adds to the experience. Overall this game is great aside from the minor problems this game is very addicting. So beware if you get into MyPlayer trust me you will never stop playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best basketball sim ever...but,

posted by ALeonard28 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're reading this, odds are you're debating on whether or not to either rent or purchase this game. If that is indeed the case, then I urge you to try this game. The 2k franchise exploded with NBA 2k9, and has only gotten better since. Every year 2k astounds me with improvements. This year, the gameplay is more realistic than ever. Players play like their real life counterparts, and individual teams have their own styles and it shows. And this year with the addition of Signature Skills, players strengths are more well implemented than ever. They are not meant to make great players greater, but further define role players. With infinite contact animations and new physics, NBA 2k13's gameplay is more realistic than ever.

Onto game modes. There is, of course, the return of My Career. And boy is it amazing. From getting drafted and coming off the bench in your first game to leading your team to the NBA Finals, NBA 2k13's My Career mode is a wild ride. As you become more noticed, Nike and Jordan will attempt to sign you, you'll be put onto billboards, and you'll get your own commercials. As you get used to your teammates, your chemistry will increase. And it is very noticeable. Soon it will feel as if your teammates know your next move before you make it. A timely pick, or a great entry pass can be that extra something to win a close game. And all of that comes with chemistry. Franchise is also back, of course, along with My Team (very similar to Madden's Ultimate Team), Create A Legend and more.

Overall, this game is a blast. There are a few animations that are very common and will occur so often you will be able to predict them before they happen. That and the inability to defend dunks can become annoying, but the rest of the game shines so much it hardly takes away from the overall experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game. Lives Up to the hype

posted by Doc_smokey (MADISON, TN) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

NBA 2k13 lives up to the hype. The game has improved dramatically. Dunk animations are now gone. The game now accounts for contact on all angles including dunks, dribbling moves, shots to include the up and unders. The presentation of the game is great. One big con is that they changed the controls around to more of a NBA Live feel. Plus speed matters in this years game. Point guards will now outrun big men on fastbreaks..

PROS:
Presentation is great, Controls are now more user friendly to new 2k players, Great soundtrack, Player models look great, The game runs very smooth and looks more real.

CONS:
If you are a 2k veteran the change of controls is frustrating, Defense is a lot harder to play now, too much Jay-Z in the game.

Overall great game. Too much Jay-Z, and defense issues are annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Cheating CPU!!!!!

posted by Jeff1995 (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I only gave it a 4 because of the CPU is on steroids on all-star difficulty.Sending this back until 2K releases a patch. This game gets so frustrating and boring when the CPU is always getting rebounds,shots,steals.The CPU cheats so much!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO FAR IT GOOD

posted by winkyd (DALLAS, TX) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

it is more much more fun to play my player and my career even if u finish with yr player u can always go to blacktop and do yr thang

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Basketball? Yeah Right. Whatever You Say

posted by RPG_FPS_GOD (TOPEKA, KS) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

first off take everything you thought was bad about NBa 2K12 (developer's mediocre understanding the rules and everything else basketball for that matter, glitchy movements, players not playing their positions correctly, etc.) and make it worse. then take everything else and break it too and you've got a pretty accurate description of this game

i know being a famous black rapper makes everyone want your products but was it really that smart to let the guy whos team set the NBA record for WORST start of all time executive produce your game? Jay-Z's complete lack of basketball knowledge is made more apparent in this game

they made the reach-in fouls super extra sensitive so like 7 times out of 10 you'll get called for it. the movements are so glitchy now that its nearly impossible to play tight D without going into post def. position. the AI blatantly works against you whenever it feels like - BS shots fall like free throws, your player will stumble or the button wont register and your man has free points, shorter players will come up with 3 or 4 or 5 offensive rebounds in a row, wide open perfect quality shots (A+) you put up will bounce off the rim (usually out of bounds), etc.

about the improvement over NBA 2K12 is the player stats seem to have a larger effect on overall preformance

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST NBA GAME EVER

posted by gameJay (RIVER GROVE, IL) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2004

10 out of 28 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

T I G H T - G A M E !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k13 4 life

posted by JAY_DRIZZLE (BOYNTON BEACH, FL) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE BEST NBA GAME IN YEARS!!! I dont need to say anything more!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointment City, Is this NBALive2013?

posted by NET2KG720 (BELLFLOWER, CA) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Feels like the EA NBALive controls. Maybe the reason EA canceled NBALive is because 2K bought it from them and slapped a 2K sports box and ChaChing $$$$.

Movement is like being under water and the graphics are not anything special either. The dribble stick is a joke and the shooting is just the same a joke.
The sound track bites and the online is Glitch City.

The only Pro so far is Blake Griffin on the cover but the they made him look like and old man in the game.

They should just charge a Annual renewal on 2K12 with DLC for the 2012-13 roster.

Gave a Six for I am hopeful that the game will get better with some patches and the start of the season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K13

posted by cmaclions (HAMDEN, CT) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Best sports game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful

posted by Neotidus (WHITTIER, CA) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I think this game is awful. The menu layout is pathetic. It is very disorganized and doesn't make much sense. When you make a choice you often can't go back to the previous screen. Gameplay control isn't very good often not letting you go where you want to go. The graphis could be much better. EA Sports... please come back to basketball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best NBA game ever

posted by Akr1 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Step down for 2K.

posted by Jaydee626 (LA PUENTE, CA) Oct 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I didn't expect a lot of good things about this game. Because I always know 2K has the worst gameplay for their sports games. And the worst graphics ever as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKKKKKKKKKSSSSSSSS

posted by logikclay (FARLEY, IA) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game is HORRIBLE!!! Where should i start on saying whats wrong? From the horrible voice acting to the unrealistic CPU! The MYPLAYER aspect of this game is AWFUL! Unrealistic goals..(i.e . Your team is down my 20 with 30 secinds left in the fourth and your supposed to tie up or win the game) The graphic (outside of gameply) are Nintendo 64-ish! . It takes forever to build up your player and when you finally do, they;re still horrible!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same Greatness....

posted by MrSilverNBlack (TACOMA, WA) Jun 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2012

Not suprised that I love this game...prob the best sports franchise around...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Big step forward

posted by Vhinn (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I love what they have this year for 2k. In this 2k the gameplay to me was greatly enhanced the contact defense and dribbling makes it more challenging than it did in the previous 2k games with easy driving.
The myplayer is the biggest challenge in this game if you wanna make an allstar. The ai is really tough on the offensive and defensive end and there were alot of complaints online about the difficulty of the computer,but that just makes the game better than before you cant just do easy drives or off the dribble shots now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA 2K 13

posted by slicksteveb21 (QUITMAN, GA) Apr 29, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The game was hard to control, and in career mode you barely got to play.. the shooting sucked and the dribbling was not like it really seems.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2K Good

posted by concept99 (CARSON, CA) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Great game. My Player is much deeper and better. There was just way too much Jay-Z. As an NBA Fan, I would like to see them include actual in game line-up announcements. It would put a much authentic feel into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good

posted by kenel Apr 12, 2013

:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing!!!!

posted by powerfab5000 (SYRACUSE, NY) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

very well played good graphics but online was lagging but other than that amazing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love playing it !

posted by jraww31 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It's hard not to get bored playing 2k, even if you play it almost everyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazinnngg.

posted by tmahart1 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game is 100% great. I like the online play, I love driving with rudy g and lebron. Great Game guys.
Only disadvantage is the 3 point and defense. It's hard to defend the 3. Other than that it's pretty awesome sauce.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA 2k13

posted by twinzfan7 (RACINE, WI) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

NBA 2k13 was a great game. lots of new game types. the online was good. the my team is the only thing i had issues with. some players are glitched and you cannot sell them but you know. the my player is great and franchise and playoff mode is good. A new addition to the game is called creating a legend. you can take any player in the NBA and start him off like you would in the my player mode... its pretty cool and i think youll have a great time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by toddschurtz1 (CEDAR CITY, UT) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

very good game good through and through

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse