Rent NBA 2K13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K13

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Wii U, Wii, PSP Games, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.5

1808 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why?

posted by KillaCity (OLATHE, KS) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

17 out of 25 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I have mixed emotions about this game. The controls I think bother me the most about this game. It's just a matter of getting use to the right analog stick change for dunking\shooting. I hate using the Left Trigger for these new features, but I guess I'll get use to it. The game just seems a lot stiffer compared to the last two years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Keep it simple

posted by joeschmo (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I kinda like last years gameplay better. The game is still fun but the offense is too much one on one rather than using the whole team. The dribbling is a lot different than last year's which makes offense a little bit wierd

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Graphics like always are awesome, gameplay changed a little in a good way. One of my favorite 2k games out of the series. With that said this would be a great buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA 2K13 = Great.

posted by RyanEdwards (DALLAS, TX) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

What a great game, I love the game of basketball and I have to say that NBA 2K13 truly feels real. The players are real, the crowds are real. It's all real. The shooting and ball movement are much easier now with the new analog stick, do you know how good it feels to cross over Lebron James with Derrick Rose?? Lovely. My only complaint about the game would be the soundtrack. Obviously Jay-Z helped produced this game but there is a little TOO much Jay-Z on it (it can get annoying.) I like other artists, I like other genres of music. More variety is all I ask. I give it a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by dhackney (ROCKLEDGE, FL) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love this game n best of all i like dat u can use the kinect to call out ur plays makes it easier

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing and amazing.... wait

posted by cawestlake11 (MANHEIM, PA) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok im pretty sure at least 1 of a million people in this world read the 2k12 review and i thought it was my longest review ive done before. now im going out with a limb and saying this is problably the best basketball game ea has ever made. i was getting ready to rent the game until i saw the "low" availibilty sign and i was really annoyed.I already played the game (and i guess you already knew that already) but i loved it so much, i could do a marathon for 2-4 hours! the only reason im getting nba 2k12 is because its low on stock and personaly 2k12 is a little harder than 2k13.guess what.... its time for the good and the baaaaaaadd!!!!

good
-the controls are super easier and i can do the stuff i could never do!
-the roster is really on time wether you have xbox live or not!
-my career is amazing! (as always)
-the amazing team/player creation

bad?
-i actually dont have a reason

ps.you are now reading my longest review i have ever wrote

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best sports game out, from a non-Basketball fan

posted by SaintJames012 (AMES, IA) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

So I'm not a basketball fan, other than Kobe Bryant, KD, or any of the other highly publicized players, I can't name who's the point guard for the Knicks or any other team, but I bought this game anyway. Why? because it's freaking awesome. Presentation is amazing, gameplay is fun, and the overall experience destroys any other competitor, from any other sport for that matter. 2k13 is a game you can honestly buy for nothing more than the my player mode, as the new features and little touch ups they did for the mode make the mode that much more fun. Little things like the twitter feed also offer some sense of liveliness to the virtual world, as playing great will have praise heading your way and performing poorly will cause you to be criticized and attacked by fans. Players also trash talk to, an instance is that Meta World Peace tweeted "@LightsOut5 (my virtual twitter name in 2k13) who!? Rockets ain't nothing." this is a game that destroys all competition, so hurry up and rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Great.

posted by Bell_SKA (CARY, NC) Mar 9, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very well put together addition to the franchise. Controls are standard and the visuals are all great. Navigation menus get a bit clunky at times, but I've never seen menus by 2K that weren't. I really enjoy how quick and easy it is to get into online games. My biggest problem is also with the online games. Far too many times I've gotten into online games against other human players, only to have those players leave and then you're playing against the computer. The computer never subs out so you're left with teammates 'gassed' for entire halves. 2K needs to update the online match up games so that you can enter a game already in progress or join friends currently playing games already in progress. The games are far too long to wait for the completion. What usually happens is someone will drop out and a whole party leaves to rejoin each other. The questions after games during your normal season are boring and old. I hardly care what feedback I get. Play well and no one cares. They should dump the post game press conference speech or allow you to sim it. I highly recommend this game even if you're novice at sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Sports Game of 2012

posted by hugecrowd3 (BELLEVUE, NE) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the best sports game of 2012. Unlike Madden, this game sticks to the basics while adding up-to-date flair and excitement. Perhaps these developers can give a few pointers to the developers of the latest Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Sports Sim Game on the Market

posted by waras9ers2 (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

2k13 is fantastic. Another quality installment in the series. Best sports game (and sports game making company, sorry EA) on the market. Wish they could make Football again...this game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where's the defense?

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 29 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I'll skip the good because there isn't really that much of positive to say. So on to the bad, let's start with making a legend. You don't make a legend, you pick a guy on the current roster or some of the old great teams.

There is no actual tutorial or much of anything else really. Make a legend and get shoved into a season, you can do drills and a new thing, legend drills which sounds great, except costs points and probably the tutorial.

Playing the game doesn't take as long as the EA versions but still slow to get there. So once you are past the presentation stuff you get to the actual gameplaying. You move fairly quickly though the other guys seem to move a little faster when they are on offense.

You get slowed down for no apparent reason edging around another guy, on your team or theirs. There is a newish feature that is automatically on, I never saw it happen but it's supposed to be active, auto contest a shot. So obviously, you have to jump when he does. Stealing doesn't happen so it's not worth it to even press the button.

You simply stand in front of the guy and wait for him to take a shot. Course since they move faster than you do, he gets one step to either side and he is past you to score. Their defense is just as absent, you want to press in and do a layup or a close shot, feel free.

Graphically this game looks like last year or the year before. The players are a little more detailed and they all finally look like they actually do, or did. Shooting is simple enough, and really besides the lack of defense it's the best baseketball game I've seen in years. I do wonder what happened to making up a brand new player, you get to design your own player but then they don't really seem to appear again.

Worth a rental, buy if you are a die hard basketball fan and well it is better than any other new basketball games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2K 13

posted by gokusupersaiyen (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 34 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

IF YOU ONLY PLAY THESE GAMES FOR THE CAREER MODE(called my player in 2k 12) THEN DONT GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1. Because when ever you play your first nba game it freezes when the game is over , just like it does when you win the championship in 2k 12. when you do FINALLY GET PAST THE FIRST GAME IT FREAKING KEEPS FREEZING AFTER THE SECOND GAME. it wont stop freezing NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO. I HAVE BEEN EXCITED ABOUT THIS GAME ALLL YEAR AND FOR WHAT, FOR THIS CRUD!!!!!!????? GOD they need to fix it NOW i mean because they wont be satisfied until every one rents this game before buying it then see it freezes and decide not to buy this piece of CRUD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOWOWOWOWOWOW

posted by Nyknicks7 (DETROIT, MI) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing in all aspects. 2K really out did themselves...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A step back

posted by ronmd24 (Oak Lawn, IL) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I've only played the demo (don't understand a one quarter demo), but I can already tell that they really took a step back on this one. I've played all of the 2K games (going back to dreamcast) and this is the worst one yet. First of all, they basically removed the shot stick. So it's frustrating having to get used to new controls after about 7 years of the same control. The AI of your teammates still suck. I don't know if it's just the demo, but there is no commentary. I truely believe that all of the good reviews of this game are coming from first time 2K gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It sucks!

posted by Stephanie7 (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

In my career mode it always freezes after the 1 st nba game This makes the game suck!! Dont bother to get it wow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst basketball game i ever played

posted by ronaldo91 (NEW RINGGOLD, PA) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i play the 2k career and ill score 30 points and the cpu in my team will lose the game for me yeah game is retarted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game

posted by zachos (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

I like how realistic it is, you can have cold and hot streaks. Plus you can build yourself into a niche player or a star player. It's really sweet. Oh yea, and the music isn't too shabby either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bored

posted by JackHot (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

I got the game and it was all scratched up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nba2k13

posted by Savagelife187 (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 30, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

i give this game a 10 because i really enjoy the new features

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

nba 2k 13

posted by puregamng13 (BOWIE, MD) Aug 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

well i'm not really a basketball player in any way and the only reason I got this game was that my friends really liked but I hated t bot because I was terrible , well it was horrible. Anyways the story is too complex no easy shoots. And just not my type.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best 2k so far, still bugs

posted by jben33 (MIDLAND, TX) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

I love the game and almost everything about it. Personally, the JayZ filled playlist gets repetitive and boring, although 1901 by phoenix was great. Music definitely needed wider variety. The only complaint I have about gameplay is that the 3point game can be exploited so easily. After playing a heavy amount of myteam and online association, I get tired of superstar filled teams losing to teams with ray allen, steve novak, mike miller, shane battier and stephen curry. If you know the release point, the 3 point game is virtually impossible to stop. Otherwise, this game deserved the 9/10, still room for improvement though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible controls.

posted by Th3AntiJake (BOTHELL, WA) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

Just try running up the court, you will send it back. All the animations that your player will do after every dunk and layup will have him late back on defense every time. 2k9 was better, i'm completely serious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k13

posted by FRESHMONEYINC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

its so fun and cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best version yet

posted by theboneycrony (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Be careful...this game can get very addicting. Thanks to Jay-Z, this soundtrack is awesome and the gameplay is so realistic. The real bonus is the all-star weekend, which has the all-star game, rising stars, dunk contest, and 3 pt shootout. The dunk contest was made very well, while the shootout has some lag to it. Overall, the game is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K13

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

I have beatten the season mode

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse