Rent NBA 2K12 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

2253 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Worst Game I've ever played!

posted by IanMalcolm839 (MAGNOLIA, DE) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The controls are terrible - you go to move one way, and it either takes three seconds for your character to move that way, or he keeps going and then suddenly seems to decide "Oh, maybe that way looks good." The graphics are bad, it looks like PS2 graphics instead of PS3. I wouldn't buy this game if it was in the bargain bin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online....

posted by JustMike1 (BRONX, NY) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game was great, the myplayer was fun and online was exceptional. But..... around the time 2K13 came, the online for the game didn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Freeze City

posted by pervector (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

What little I've been able to play the game I liked, however it freezes all the time. Last time it froze, I waited for about 45 minutes then finally gave up. When I tried to start it back up again, it froze on the loading screen! Sorry guys up until now, no complaints. This one however just doesn't cut it, instant return!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not good but not bad

posted by iamawsome (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

i like it but then i dont a first its boring but then it gets fun but then boring agian i did like it but then i didnt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

STOP THE FREEZING 2K....PLEEEEEEZE!

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2K Sports has improved on the gameplay of 2K12. The addition of the extra moves you can do will keep defenses honest.

Playing as some of the NBA Greats in action is awesome, but some characters could have been combined to use other stars. Combining Stockton & Malone would have worked to free up that extra slot for some one like Barkley.

The online play and the Association would make for great competion if not for one troubling aspect. FREEZING. The game freezes constantly in the Association if you change uniforms, so I didn't. The glitching of the announcers commentary made the gameplay stall at times. I had a difficult time dowloading shared rosters, so I let the computer generate rosters in my Association. After a couple of seasons, everybody looked the same; No matter the race.

Don't get me wrong. By the sound of the review, you'd think I hated the game but that is not the case. I enjoyed the game WHEN IT PLAYED CORRECTLY.

Instead of making new moves and spectacular dunks, 2K needs to work on the look of the AI, and the constant freezing and glitching must be addressed.

Final Review:

Visuals: 8.0/10
Gameplay: 7.5/10
AI intel: 8.5/10

Overall Satisfaction: 7.0/10 This would be an 8.0, however I must deduct 1pt for the constant gliching and freezing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game cause of of my player it's fun

posted by Pootz11 (OAK LAWN, IL) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

To play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game would be great if it didn't freeze so much!

posted by nrsjr09 (HACKENSACK, NJ) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If this game's loading times weren't half an hour or if the game didn't freeze every time I went into myplayer... it would have been great. Great graphics, awesome gameplay...when you can actually get into a game. I called 2K offices and they said my PS3 was bad...funny because I have two and the same thing happened. I deleted all my game utility and saved data and still nothing, no improvements. So I called Sony to address the issue, they said they have been getting a butt load of calls on this game because of the same issue. Wish the 2K offices would actually care for a bit instead of trying to promote 2K13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2KIncredible

posted by mstief (BELGRADE, MT) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best sports sim of all time. My player mode simply bring it all to the table. Multiplayer still can be a bit sketchy, but aside from that, it's all here...the announcing spot on, the realism almost better than the true real thing, and the gameplay has not gotten boring even after 2 complete seasons. EA has a big task on their hands to compete with the 2K series for the 13 version. Good luck to you EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by datkidunstopabl (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

A good game but ps move doesn't work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First Time For Everything

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always been kinda 'Ehhh' or 'Blahhhh' about Basketball or Basketball Video Games. I enjoy watching the playoffs but the Regular Season is just TOO long for me. I just recently got really into the NBA. I have NEVER enjoyed ANY basketball game beside the NBA Street series (minimal enjoyment). I tried 2K12 out at a friends and was hooked. It's amazing visually, the controls are simple enough. I'm hooked. Great game. A MUST RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LA FAN

posted by Jay_Rawww (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

KOBE'S A MONSTER.. LEGGO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Downgrade from 2k11

posted by Anton54 (MATTOON, IL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In nba 2k11 you could use the ps move in all game modes like my player which i liked. but in 2k12 you cannot use ps move in my player which is a downgrade from 2k11. you can only use ps move in on the move mode which is like quick match and you don't even get to control your person in on the move mode like moving around and stuff. the people move around by themselves and you just click on them and go from there.

graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by yolo123 (CICERO, IL) Jun 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too many issues with freezing

posted by jklivin22 (ORINDA, CA) Jun 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K12 was by far the worst PS3 game that I have ever played. I never was able to play more than one game consecutively without it freezing.

Maybe 2K Sports should concentrate on making a quality product without issues before they worry about the bells and whistles. You can customize your shoes, but good luck playing the game for any amount of time. And it isn't like the gameplay and graphics are amazing either. They are subpar at best for a blueray PS3 game in 2012. EA Sports does a much better job with realistic sports AI and graphics. It is a shame they don't put out a basketball game.

NBA 2K12 froze during My Player mode at halftime, mid game, and during drills, during Association (Franchise) mode during free throws and mid game, and throughout simple quick game matches. I never even tried Legend mode because I spent so much time waiting for the thing to load and restart due to freezing. I spent well over 6 hours trying to troubleshoot the freezing issues. I contacted the game manufacturer, 2K Sports, for feedback, and it turns out this has been an issue for this title since day one. They continue to build new patches and updates, but as soon as they fix one another pops up. They should all be unemployed. I followed their instructions to delete the game data utility and reinstall and it didn't fix the problem. Very frustrating, and a massive waste of my time. My advice is don't waste your time renting the game, and definitely don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA

posted by raulg (SEALY, TX) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is weird and dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA2K12= basketball gone awesome!

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) May 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am not a big fan of basketball. It is my most favorite sport though. Well to watch at least the game i thought would be boring but to a guy who is not sporty. It was sick great graphics great game play and best of all makes you feel like your in the stadium watching at the same time controlling the players. Great work!!!! Go Nets

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A BIG step back

posted by JohnnyBoi1 (STOCKTON, CA) May 27, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everything with this game is broken. its pretty much the last years model with a different name with added Legends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by laprieta (LAWRENCE, MA) May 19, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is so fun to play its addicting.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

need to play it

posted by winkyd (DALLAS, TX) May 17, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

man l really need this game for next my shpping

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game!!!

posted by misteviouse (TUSTIN, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Game is great, but it takes forever to load!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love this game

posted by yohan2 (STOCKTON, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Feels over done

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
====================
I wish developers would get back to focusing on gameplay. All of the sports games are getting tons of modes and complicated controls schemes. It just seemed too complicated and convoluted to me. I tried the "training mode" and had an awful time trying to replicate many of the moves with the right stick.

I'm all for realism....but it should still be fun to play. I just didn't find it fun to play. However, if you are a fan of the series I'm sure you'll love this game as it is very similar to 2K11 with some additions.

Pros
==================
1) nice graphics (slick presentation)
2) hmm....nothing else stood out to me

Cons
==================
1) advanced controls seemed too cumbersome
2) too much glitz results in messy menus

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by boobearkittie (SURPRISE, AZ) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a horrible game to play. The gameplay is so off in all aspects. I would go for a steal on a guy at the 3 point line and next thing you know im running out to the mid court range. Your allstar in allstar mode is so horrible you cant make a shot or do anything half way decent. And you cant even play as jordan unless you buy game or the aditional content. all I wanted to do was make a toon and put jordan on my team for a few seasons and i couldnt even do that. Played it for 2 hours and now its back in its sleeve in the mailbox to be picked up tomorrow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smooth Baby

posted by BlackMane (COMPTON, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I love this game my whole family enjoys playing it from 7 & 4 year old dauthers and my wife and mother.
Graphics are smooth flowing and sound is great. Best of all the controls are easy. Overall a great game 9.0 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by DJBlackice (DETROIT, MI) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Thiz iz basketball at it'z best NBA2K12 AllDay!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse