Rent NBA 2K12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K12

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PSP Games, PS3, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

3709 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing game offline & broken online

posted by DikoNYaL1p (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like my title says offline this game is by FAR the most realistic sim bball game EVER, no if, ands, or buts about it. From the presentation to the gameplay, you feel like your watching a real NBA game. The CPU could come off as cheap at times, but you can fix that by adjusting the sliders and difficulty. I'm not a fan of my player, I mainly play the association (online and off now ha) and team-up and ranked matches.

Which brings me to my problems with this game, online is a horrendous broken mess. When a player can hoist 20-30 contested threes and hit 10-15 of them every game! Something is wrong. Between that and not being able to draw fouls when the oppossing player calls a zone is brain numbingly frustrating. On top of players cutting to the basket, when they are wide open for an uncontested shot, resulting in an easy tip pass or interception of the ball because the person I'm playing called a zone, which was the reason why my guy was sooo open to begin with. All those things coupled with steals being absurdly easy online, someone could reach randomly and most likely get the ball from me, makes online extremely disappointing. It could of been something special, but with all those bugs and exploits, on top of the lag on team up, it falls short...

All those negatives aside, offline is one of the best sport game experiences ever. Online will make you hate the game! So if you're a competitor and hate being cheated do NOT play online. Stick with offline. IF you like getting frustrated and being on the verge of raging out, play online ranked matches and team up.

Nba 2k12 offline score: 9.5
Nba 2k12 online score (ranked matches and team up): 6.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

We're playin basketball!

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Oct 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The guys at 2K have done it again and this time they have created the best basketball game ever. Lets start with My Player, because thats the mode i always dive into first, they've gotten rid of the summer circuit and draft combine and instead put you at the big rookie game(announcers included) with some decent stats this time. Play good and you'll get interviewed by some big teams, if not well...have fun on the Wizards. The Association mode isn't a mode i get crazy on but it is fun and they put online in it, which is awesome. NBA's greatest is a mode that pits you in a team at the height of its skill, like the 91' Bulls with Jordan and Pippen, while going against Mugsy's Hornets. Beat those games to unlock those teams.

Gameplay is just as good as 2k11 if not better, the defense isn't as extremely brutal, but will be challenging to get by. The Graphics aren't RAGE status but they are decent enough to look at, except the Draft itself, looks awful, luckly its not that long.

Enough of the details lets get to the Verdict!

The Goods:
-The sheer amount of modes will make you play this till next year, in fact My player mode itself will kill some time!
-The gameplay, they've fixed the broken defense so you can pass to a teammate now! But not from wing to wing of course.
-The Broadcast, every game feels like a game on TV, they've added a new announcer this time, now its Clark Kellogg, Kevin Harlan and Steve Kerr, which adds to less repetitive announcing during games.
-The soundtrack is straight up basketball.

The Meh:
-While they have fixed Kobe's alien looking face, they've still gotta work on the faces and hair.
-My Player mode can be frustrating if you don't practice, or get on a bad team.
-The NBA's greatest mode is pretty short, but thats not a bad thing.
-When i played online it was laggy the first game, but it improved the next few games, so its very unpredictable.

The BAD: Nothing too bad except some of the minor graphics in the game look awful.

Overall, BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

12 out of 10

posted by mpatrissnyc (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Best sports game of all time period case closed!
Yes there may be a lockout there may not be roster updates but who needs that when you can spend days in a row just playing my player or the awesome legend challenges.

SPOILER ALERT

The Bill Russell challenge is incredible!!
You really feel like your back in the days watching it on your old black n white.
Looks like my wife wont be getting anymore sleep thanks to 2k12!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This has to be the greatest sports game of alltime

posted by Champ223 (HIGHLAND, CA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I can't imagine any other basketball video game topping this until next gen. This is a must own game, even for non-basketball fans. There are a few bugs here any there. But, it nothing that will spoil the fun. You earn it to yourself to give it a shot. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2K12

posted by Buttaexpress (HARTFORD, CT) Oct 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I wasnt looking foward to this game comming out because of the lock out and how garbage 2k11 was. Im glad the developers took all the extra stuff out the game and focused on the gameplay itself. The rotation of the ball along with the movement of the playes is almost flawless. Good ball movement plus bad defence equals open 3 pointer. Last year I was afraid to take a open 3 in a close game because of the missed shots. This year, if its open it falls. Also the play calling is easily understood by all. With play calls like "pressure shooters" or "clog middle", its gonna be a long season for your oppenent if you take advantage of this new play calling system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k Can't get any better

posted by VisMee (POWAY, CA) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Lockout or no lockout, if you're a basketball fan, then you have to pick this up. They improved so much from commentary (adding Steve Kerr), to adding a music intro before each game. The my player mode is a lot more in depth this year allowing you to speak to the owner of the team whether or not you want to play with them. And of course the legendary teams, it's not focusing only on the legendary bulls like last year, but also the 91' Lakers, '89 Celtics, and even the '65 Celtics, where the color is actually black and white. So I like the innovation 2k brought this year and for an NBA fan, It's a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cant get better then this

posted by luis1213 (SILT, CO) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

its the best game ever its goin to be really hard for 2k13 to top this game its simple you just cant get better then this its a game i recomend for all nba player not only do i love and play the sport but my fantasys becomes true in 2k12 its game your not goin to return i really recomend for everyone to buy this game or aleast give it a try

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than last years

posted by ManOfWar2 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Better gameplay
Feels more releastic
MyPlayer mode is way better

Cons:
Took away Crew mode
Team Play doesnt work
Some of the players faces look weird

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game !!!

posted by faisalbilal (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Amazing game i love the graphic defenetly worth 60 bucks i would recommend it to all of my friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET !!!

posted by KillaCity (OLATHE, KS) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is AWESOME !!! Legendary players actually play like themselves, but they hardly ever miss like Jerry West. Definite Buy... Jordan handles like he is suppose to in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best

posted by AntdatGamer1 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It provides realism

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stick with 2k11

posted by iamdelicious (WAUKESHA, WI) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ive been an avid fan of the nba 2k series since the dreamcast days. The past few years it has been the same flaw in all of them - online play. Servers are quite bad. They eventually make it to where they arent so unbearable, but this year they did something really crooked.. They removed one of the best modes of the game CREW MODE. Thats right all that hard work you spend making your myplayer to take him on the court with your friends is non-existant thanks tot he hexers making 99 rated 7'5 point guards.

Their solution instead of just writing a code/keeping myplayers on their servers to avoid this was to remove the mode entirely. On top of that leagues are now removed and replaced with Online Association, which is cool - however it also has flaws. You cant have a flex schedule, admins cant reset games that were auto simmed due to the auto advancement of the thing.

So basically to sum this up if you like 2k series games you'll love this. ESPECIALLY if you are an offline player you'll have no problem and may even love the new modes. For someone like myself who is more competitive and requires online play to be great and non bugs you may as well just stick to 2k11. At least there you can enjoy the beloved crew and leagues that work.

I give this a generous 7, but in my opinion with no rival and it being similiar to the previous version i would rate it a 5. I bought this game at midnight as i have for the past few years and this is the first time i felt bad about doing so wishing i just rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NBA2K12

posted by boog211 (IOWA CITY, IA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I love the game. I just wish they would have had more of The Greatest Players The '93 Suns, '01 Kings, Tim Hardaway and Mourning Miami Heat, what about the Lakers and Trailblazers of 2000 or Reggie miller's Pacers I guess he was forgotten again First the Hall Of Fame Ballot now NBA 2k12. What about making the Greatest availiable in franchise mode as Draftable rookies or free agents or add a comeback mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My Player Mode needs fixing

posted by Sephiroth1975 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've trying to refrain from posting about this mode, but this is the ONLY mode I play.

I'm sick of the CPU trolling me in this game. By trolling I mean, jumping in front of clear passes and knocking the ball away or stealing it, Jumping up breaking up Alley-oop passes.

Your teammates lack of BBIQ, your sudden inability to make normal shots. Your teammates inability to make simple layups, or not taking shots with the clock winding down.

I'm sick of the CPU all of a sudden getting on fire and you not being able to make a shot at the same time. My player has above 80's in all shooting categories, yet I can shoot with him during games. I'm constantly going 5-21 or worse. I can't make passes when my guy is right next to his teammate. And forget about fast breaks, you have to run into the opposing player just to be able to make a pass. I was just beating the Bulls by 20+ points going into the 4th qtr. they out scored me (while my player was resting on the bench) 28-10 by the time he was subbed in. The Bulls won the game in a game that I was cruising to a win early in.

I also cannot stand how you have all stars on your team and yet they are dumb as Yinka Dare. On my Utah Jazz roster I have Ron Artest, Lamar Odom, Adrew Bynum, Andre Igudola, Jordan Crawford, Zaza Pachulia and yet, these guys play dumb as rocks out there, passing up open shots, Bynum dribbling around the court or passing me the ball back.

I'm a high assist type of player, and I can barely get ANY assists on this game. Fouls are so random, and they never call traveling on the CPU, even when they do a spin move, an up and under and a step through all in succession, after a jump stop. This is getting ridiculous.

Also, why is it the CPU can bomb away from three, yet I can't shoot 3's to save my life?

I'm a 2K fan, have been since Dreamcast. I played NFL and NBA 2K from the beginning and never touched Live or Madden since. So this is not out of malice that I'm saying this. Fix This GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT 2k11...But Solid

posted by JBiRD (MANDAN, ND) Nov 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I think 2k sports is the sports main stay, they dominate basketball. And if they had the football they would domniate that too. But this year they dropped the ball. The controls are too clunky, and I have the feeling the response of the players aren't as quick as my hands.

Instead of revamping the game engine, 2ksports should have just perfected 2k11. But it is still the best basketball sim out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by momo123 (EAST ORANGE, NJ) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game blows

posted by bigtimhorner16 (MORRISTOWN, TN) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the my player mode sucks, the worse one i've played, the controles suck. I think NBA 2K11 is so much better. This is not the number 1 NBA game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big step back from 2k11

posted by nexler19 (POUGHKEEPSIE, NY) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start out with the pros:

-Presentation is solid, way better than 2k11.
-Loving the new music.
-My player is way more interesting, with contract negotiations and endorsements.
-I was a bit caught off guard when they decided to get rid of categorizing the shot releases by names, but they did make those releases way more customizable.
-New post game system is pretty good.

Now for the cons:

-CPU A.I is dumb, especially for your team, your teammates will constantly switch off they're assignment for no reason, leaving the CPU with an open 3.
-The CPU makes crazy shots, well outside the player's skill level. I heard people fixed this by changing the game sliders but I've yet to see evidence of this.
-My player is frustrating. I constantly get the ball stolen from me when driving or posting, most of the shots I take bounce out of the basket WITH THE SAME ANIMATION EACH TIME.
-Way too many blocks in this game down low.
-CPU draw fouls way too much, I once got called on 17 fouls before the 1st half ended, my star PF was one foul away from being fouled out.
-You can't make open shots consistently, no matter how good your timing is, again people said they fixed this by adjusting game sliders don't know if this is true.

Overall, don't buy this game. Its worth a rent but 2k really took a big step behind with this game, hopefully they will release a patch soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Presentation is misleading

posted by 1010111 (COVINGTON, LA) May 30, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The presentation is by far the best of any game I've ever played. Everything from the commentators down to the dance teams. Even aerial shots of the actual arenas are shown from real NBA broadcasts. It goes even deeper by previewing upcoming games from your own franchise mode or real games online.

My favorite part was the classic NBA teams. Some of the greatest teams ever assembled are unlockable through a mode called "the greatest ever." The best part of these is, once again, the presentation. The classic teams' games are shown in era correct broadcasting, with black and white Bill Russel, grainy seventies Jerry West, and 90's style Micheal Jordan.

But all this presentation is let down by one thing: a poor game. The controls are more like suggestions, with the players doing what they feel like instead of what you want them to do. If you press the shot button, there may be a pass, press the left stick one way, you point guard runs the other At no point does it ever feel like playing an actual basketball game, or even a game for that matter. Next year, I suggest a lockout on this game until the players get a better representation of themselves in video game form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

one of the most frustrating yet wonderful games

posted by ishuz702 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ever pretty much....i play mostly my player.....and any time that i didn't wait for the auto save to be over my player would be erased and i had to start all over....on my last player he was a beast 99 in game 5 of the finals 2 time mvp about to win my first title with a not so good team i starred for.....the game freezes....i restart my xbox....my player is gone....i instantly made nba 2k12 a frisbee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good game.

posted by Cwillzz (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I'm a huge sports fan. I have bought every 2k game since 2k6 came out. They all kill any EA nba game for sure. NBA 2k12 is no different. It's a very good game. Theres really three things that stick out to me about this 2k game compared to others. The first thing is the much improved post system. Posting up is a huge part of basketball and the improvements to this aspect in 2k12 is pretty awesome. The game allows much more total control over what post moves you make. The 2nd thing is the much better my player mode. It is way way way way better then 2k11. It does not have many of the annoying issues 2k11 had such as blaming you for a turnover that wasn't even your fault. Finally the 3rd thing is the presentation. Year after year it continues to be uped by nba 2k. However, there are still a few issues. First finishing around the rim is sometimes impossible !! Players hardly ever fight through contact !! I mean seriously a little nudge and they miss 9 out of 10 times !! It's very annoying. Finishing in traffic and through contact should be way easier. 2nd creating your own playbook is way more confusing then 2k11. Thats the one area I thought 2k12 actually dropped off from 2k11. Finally the realism of what a player can and cant do in real life could still get better but it's way better then any other bball game. Finally (and just nit picking) they need more jerseys and more custimization to create a character. I love the different jerseys in the nba but the game only has a handful. It needs the throwbacks that real teams have for this season. Also you can't put googles or a two colored shooters sleeve on a created player And more legend teams couldn't hurt !! But still this game is already got me excited for 2k13 !! Great game, 2k always does a good job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best baSketball game

posted by Bossdonbrim (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This year feature is wayy better than the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 2K11 pt. 2

posted by GarKeith (CLARKSBURG, WV) Feb 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much improvement over last year. Not worth buying. Thank god for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2k12 is the best game out right now

posted by dizz3000 (HORSHAM, PA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Nba 2k12 is on heavy rotation right now the game play is more realistic and the myplayer mode upgrades this year are fantastic ...i talked it up about to play it now...see ya

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome but....

posted by bballchamp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The my player is awesome but it sucks without the rookies. It is alot more polished with the shooting more things to choose from. I was wondering if i should get the game because of MJ back on the cover but it is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse