Rent NBA 2K11 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

3210 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K11

posted by MrFeaRZ (New York, NY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

33 out of 34 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Its truly amazing what 2K Sports has done to this game in a one year cycle. Some things that stand out are:

-Improved player movement. No sliding; players have weight to them.

-Toned down CPU points in the paint big time. CPU shoots mid-range shots finally.

-Improved almost every aspect of Association. Better AI trade and team building logic, better draft, better presentation (dynamic attendance).

-Play calling is more responsive and vital to playing well. Sorry arcade lovers but this is no unrealistic dunk fest. You need to have some idea of how an NBA team plays.

O, and i didnt even mention it features some dude named Jordan and all his classic Bulls teams as well as other 80's and 90's rival teams. I dont remember this Jordan guy but he seems pretty talented.

Bottom line, 2K11 is the greatest representation of the NBA in videogame history. This game is a love letter to NBA die-hards like myself. GET THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rent then Buy...

posted by Nexus85 (BRIDGEPORT, PA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Fanfare versus Gamer-
If you have ever played basketball competitively or you are a fan and understand the sport, you will be grinning hear to ear while playing this game. It plays like basketball in real life. Now its not so realistic that its not fun to play, its not easy to play at first, you have to learn how to play the game because it challenges you like a good video game ususally does.

-Modes- There are no throw away modes in this game.
The Jordan experience has two great modes:
1. The Jordan Challenge- This is 10 of Jordans greatest moments that you get to relive. You have to meet certain goals in each challenge to replicate what Jordan did in that game.
2. Creating a Legend- You can play as Jordan in today's NBA and see how he stacks up against today's superstars.
-My Player Mode- Where I spend most of my time.
You level up your player with every game you play. You really feel like this player you are building up. From getting drafted to becoming a starter, and hopefully becoming an all-star and winning championships. This mode has very high replay value, am a SG right now and plan on trying every position in this mode (Which I know will take me Months and Months). I do not what you to think this sounds like a chore, its honestly that fun to play this mode. You can even play online with the player you are leveling up against other people's player. You do this in pick up games, where you can gain experience and test how good you are against other gamer's created player.
-Team up mode- You can play as your "My Player" with other users "My Player". You can assemble a crew and go up against other people's crew.
-Online Experience-
To put it briefly, it is actually enjoyable.
-Summary-
This game will easily last until the next installment. I will even say that you might not even want the next NBA2K because this one is just that good.
Once you rent this game you will hit the "Keep" button.
-If you can afford it :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do NOT rent this game!!!!!

posted by KMeezy9 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game should not be rented by anyone on this site!!! You must go to the store and purchase this game. It is not only the best sports game ever, it is the best game created in any genre, period. The Jordan mode would be a 10/10 game itself and knowing EA if they created it, they would charge separately and make it it's own game. Lucky for us 2K didn't do this and I will repeat once again, if you are reading this, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME! GO BUY IT RIGHT NOW! It will be the best 60 bucks you have ever spent. Hope this helps and good luck!

Cheers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Great Game

posted by Maturesun (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have never played a 2K game before this one but when I saw they were putting JORDAN in it I said I have to get it. It has matched my anticipation/expectations and then some. The different modes are great, the JORDAN Challenges are great, the commentary, and even the music. The only drawback for me was getting used to the controls which is the only reason it didn't get a 10, i would have given it a 9.5 or 9.8 if given the option. If I were you I would go out and buy this if you don't have it already because you won't be able to get it on here anytime soon.....and yes I'm keeping mine so you're out of luck!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Purchase Only!!!

posted by JPoppie (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you are thinking about renting this game don't waist gamefly's postage unless your going to buy from gamefly. Best sports game ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K11

posted by daking863 (HAINES CITY, FL) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is serious. The graphics, commentary, voice over, and moves are off the chain. Forget Elite 11. Want the best basketball game this is it. This game too SERIOUS!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA2k!!

posted by rekj316 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i just rented this game and the game wont load. 2K said its my ps3 thats bad...but every other game i have works fine. Really wanted to play this game, but will be sending it back!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad for PS3

posted by Thunder351700 (ORLAND, CA) Jul 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing on xbox 360 but it dissapoints on ps3 with slow choppyness in gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NBA2K11 A FLOP

posted by RandomJ205 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'd been watching my family members play this on xbox 360.
I've been wanting to get this on my ps3 and I was hyped to play it, especially since they put M.J. in it.
He looks great , graphics from the game are awesome.
But the gameplay is where it flopped, 2ksports droppedthe ball, they changed the shooting system, they should've left it the way it was in other 2k games , I would've been happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rocket Science

posted by Batenzi (HOMESTEAD, FL) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Just too complicated for a B-Ball game. Seriously, I want to press a button and release it at the top of my jump to shoot 3-pointers. Took too long to figure out all of the controls, and play calling. Overly complicated in my opinion. Call me crazy, but I want to be able to customize my 'custom' players to superhero caliber -99 in everything- without having to go through all the boring drills. It's my player, let me do what I want. I wanted a game I could pick up and play, this game isn't that. Some folks might like all the intricacies of basketball and want them in their game, that's fine. But, make passing and shooting easier for the lazy.

I hated this game and returned it the day after receiving it. I wanted to like. I just don't want to get another college degree to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Basketball Simulation (best one ever)!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

One thing people like to overrate is the Jordan modes. Personally I don't care about Jordan, or any of that Legend garbage. I like this game for what it is, Basketball. I haven't run into any glitches as of yet, and it really does run smooth. The competition had to delay the game due to poor quality, but this game is superb.

Let me just get one thing straight. This actually drives me crazy. The game still doesn't look good, it is very bumpy. They really need to up the detail work, but it seems to be a bit better than NBA 2K10, which was almost like playing PS2 games (no offense). But still, with games like Uncharted and Metal Gear, there should be no reason to leave a project like this. Needs to be cleaned up even more. Cannot wait till the year they make the game actually "pretty". But don't get me wrong, it is NOT bad, just not as sharp as I want a concentrated game to be. With 10 guys only on court, in my expectations, this should look amazing, but doesn't.

I play these games just for Basketball. I love the Franchise mode along with creating my own superstar and going through a journey. The modes are almost the same. I wish they put more work into these, as it's what I play all the time. I spend hundreds of hours in these two modes, and this game will not be any different. This game is the BAR for Basketball games on consoles, or anywhere else. And this year around, the Trophies aren't glitched. You can actually earn the Platinum. As far as the look, it's a lot more simple and organized compared to the last few years.

Oh yea, last thing. Online is still awful and unbearable. I don't mind it cause I never liked to play it to begin with, but warning to you fans. Don't get this for its multiplayer modes, you will be HUGELY disappointed. While there are many flaws, this has what I want, and for me this game is perfect (outside the mediocre graphics).

OVERALL = 9.1 (out of 10)

Pros: Controls and game-play are simplistic!
Cons: Graphics and online is strenuous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nba2k11

posted by kzerking35 (COLEBROOK, NH) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game wouldn't load past title screen ever got to play got game monday sent back tuesday. just to let you no that the game is bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best

posted by mondayraw (STOUGHTON, MA) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If u want a good realistic basketball game then this is your game! Not only is it good to play regular basketball games there are modes like My player and mj creating a legend mode. In MJ you can recreate the career of Michael Jordan but your way. For My player mode(my favorite) you can try to try to make the NBA as yourself where you start of in the draft combine and eventually ou will be drafted. then comes the summer circut where you get to play with your teammates and so on. So the bottom line is if u want a great basketball game then get NBA2k11!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Weak game

posted by KSmith (PEABODY, MA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good and bad. The good, the facial expressions are good, cometary is believable, the players look like the players (most of them), they have what moves the players do.

The bad. Its very sluggish, for example if on defense if someone breaks you will end up moving atleast 1 seconds after and in the wrong direction. Also when inbounding if the ball is thrown over your head and you press triangle, there will be no response until it seems the ball is officially in play.

I was hoping for NBA Elite (NBA Live 11) but thats delayed so I guess I'm just going to have to go with NBA Live 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lets clear the AIR

posted by Arman10 (OAKLAND, CA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok been playing 2k for a couple of years now. I was so excited to hear that Jordan... His Airness is going to be in this year installment. Than I got even more excited that I was able to play with some of the classic teams..
But once I started playing frustration started seeping in 4 turn overs in the first quarter!!! Than I looked at the graphics I can say that it is the worst 2k graphics ever!! I don't understand?? This should have been the pinnacle?
I agree with one of the other member and if you can just wait or better yet buy last year version which looks better and is a lot funner and just download the great teams.. I will not pay full price for this game which I was prepared to do but instead this game was full with a whole lot of hot AIR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA2K11

posted by JerDawgSarZA (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

the game assumed that you already know how t play it! There is no Tutorial!!! beginners like me.. won't dig it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Who's idea was it for the shooting?

posted by Kiara1 (EMERADO, ND) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok I am going to start by saying that the shooting was such BS that it was almost impossible to shoot. I mean why do you use the right analog stick for shooting, why does the timing got to be perfect. It's almost like it goes in by random. I will admit the game modes would have been fun if it weren't for the gameplay being so stupid. I like my player and the association, those consept of game modes where fun but the gameplay was terrible, I thought the graphics sucked, they where only good close up, why did they have to stop making NBA Live, ea sports knew how to make the basketball games, in fact I dont know which sport they dont make good. Their graphics were amazing, the shooting, spectacular, I just wish they would have the game modes that 2k 11 does. So, if you are a person who gets mad really easily, or not the best corridinated person, and likes good graphics, then don't get this game. I think I went crazy playing this game because it pissd me off so much that i couldn't even see straight. 2k sports suck and should just stop making sports games and let ea sports take over, either that or improve your gameplay controls and graphics dramaticlly. I mean no affecnce to you 2k sports, I am a nice person but I get pissd off easliy and you made me made this past 3 weeks trying to master your game. But, I love the idea of making a game of Micheal Jordon and all those previous teams, it reminded me of the good old days of basketball, when some of the best players played ball. That was one thing you did that ea sports just could not do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad.

posted by AlienXXI (BRADENTON, FL) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not a BIG fan about NBA, I do like it, but not as much as I like Football. I have never tried a 2K Sports video game before, but I heard that they make great sports games so I had to give it a shot. Overall I have to say it is a good game, I did not give it a 10 because as I said I am not a BIG NBA fan.

Graphics and animation are great, if I did not know any better and I glanced at the TV while someone else was playing the game, I would think it was a real life basketball game playing on TNT or some station.

Presentation is great also, the commentaries are fun to listen to, and how they present things looks really cool.

Gameplay is really cool. It takes awhile to learn the controls, at least it did for me, but after that I was sinking a ton of shots and winning games!

Online... I have not tried this out much, but from my experience, it is not all that bad. Servers don't lag as much as EA servers do.

If you are a NBA fan or just like sports games, I recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome palying jordan

posted by hehateme81 (WESLACO, TX) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

every year i have been buyin nba 2k since like dreamcast ....every year to me was the same but this year is like no other JORDAN finall..controls to me seem kinda robotic but everything else is smooth ..2k really somked it this year now just waiting for 2k to produced a football game ...HATE MADDEN SERIES,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game play needs work

posted by mysalsa123 (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game has great potential. It just does not meet accurate game play that I'm use to. So for me this game scored low in that department. If your a NBA 2k Sports fan, then this game is for you. That is as far as this game goes. It is not an out of the box ready to play game. You need to get use to how the game controls work for this game. So it will take a little time to get use to how this game works completely. I love all the ideas behind this game but do not buy this game before you play it. You will be upset. I think and believe that the only good part of this game is M.J. That is all that meets the eye in this game. P.S. Move support seems cool, but had a hard time trying to connect the controller to navigate in the game. So yes this game needs work. My advice is if your in this game for M.J. buy it used in about a year. when it costs $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

nba 2k11

posted by ganggang (OXON HILL, MD) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

game keeps freezing and stopping.
i would really like too speak too someone about this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Jordan is all the hype, but the game sucks!

posted by lydemup (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because Mike is in it. However, after playing it for about 2 hours, I sealed it back up and sent it back to Gamefly! The game play is horrible! The player movement is ridiculously sluggish. Every time you try to pass the ball down court during a fast break, someone steals it. I could go on and on, but I don't even want to invest that much time on such a sorry game. I just hated it...period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game error

posted by damack33 (WILLINGBORO, NJ) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

the game did not work with my PS3, it keep freezing up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not that great

posted by diver1990 (TAMPA, FL) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It looks pretty much the same as any basketball game that has been released in the last 5 years. The controls in this game is why I gave it such a low rating, I played it for about 1 week and still couldnt make hardly any shots or free throws. just an overpriced ps2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by neffter (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is just bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse