Rent NBA 2K11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

NBA 2K11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games, PS2, Wii
GF Rating
8.3

5228 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Beautiful Game

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

52 out of 56 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game is rich and deep. It has every thing anyone could want. You can build a career as Michael Jordan, you can build your own career, you can play a season, or as a franchise. You can even play an arcade style game with NBA Blacktop.

The presentation is unparalleled and unprecedented. There is absolutely so much to do with such beautiful presentation to it all. The Jordon Challenge takes this game over the top.

The graphics are BEAUTIFUL! The animations show that the creators put a ton of care and work into the game. There have been absolutely no issues with frame dip rate or some kind of weird movements through the time I have been playing the game. The players faces look like the players (which is saying a lot with most sports games).

The sound is great. The sound track is solid. I am not a rap fan but the beats held to the game tempo that you want. Although, with every sports game there is some repeatative commentary, but I dunno how you really get around that.

The game play has been hit dead on. I haven't seen any bugs or AI glitches yet. And it is just an overall fun game for all ages and skill set.

The lasting appeal is definately there. I think the Jordan Challenge could easily be a game in itself, and I applaud 2K for not adding it as DLC. You also get franchise mode, season mode, and if you can handle the slowness of it; My Player mode. There is litterally something for everyone with NBA 2K11.

This game is an easy rent and if you can an easy buy. I won't have any qualms at all for pressing the "keep" button for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest NBA Franchise game to date

posted by Kass1nova (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of NBA Live games ever since Sega Genisis but up until the 2009-10 season, when NBA 2k10 dropped, i have converted over to the 2k SPorts games. NBA 2k10 was the greatest game since NBA 2k on Sega Dreamcast. NBA2k11 controls are fantastic and more realistic than ever. The career mode is awesome because they added plenty of new and exciting features like endorsements, after game press conference interviews, and much more. But the career mode is alot longer than 2k10's version. You're going to spend alot of time in the D-League of the NBA before you even get drafted and it sucks to me because honestly who cares about the D-League anyway?! The Jordan career mode is great but you have to unlock achievements in 10 different greatest games of Jordan's career before you can unlock the game. All in all, 2k11 is a must have game and if you're a fan of NBA games you will feel really bad not having this game in your possession.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Where Amazing Happens

posted by hmongswagg (LANCASTER, MA) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have played and owned all Nba2k basketball games and I have to say there was a huge learning curve in Nba2k11. This game is very challenging and very fun. You have to play smart and use your basketball I.Q. If you're new to 2k basketball games or new to basketball in general. This game will make you want to slam your $60 dollar controller right into the floor. This is a simulation. This is not NBA Jam. This is for Nba fans. I find a casual basketball fan would find this game too fustrating. If you don't know who jose barea, ronnie turiaf or andre blatche is then I assume your a casual fan. This is for TRUE NBA FANS ONLY!!! I love this game. I thought 2k10 was fantastic and they keep surprising me with each new edition. The crossovers are great and work great too, and when the first crossover doesnt work you can counter with another move and counter again. The defense works as well. Yes, it does but you have to work on it. They sell you a fake and if you buy it. Boom! they are gone! You have to work to be great! Just like the Great MJ. It doesn't come easy. The online game lags a bit it is still fun and enjoyable. I recommend you playing by yourself online against someone else. When you play street or team every one thinks they are Lebron and they just want to score!! Ball hogs!!! The shooting is fine you just have to learn the shooting styles. Every style has a different release point. The same goes for free throws. The passing is probably the hardest part of the game that you must get use to. You cannot throw passes into a crowd or cross court passes or into the post when your man doest not have clear position. Just like in real basket ball ill advise passes like those will be picked off resulting in a fast break for the other team!!! Play smart!! It's not the games fault you threw a bad pass! The difficulty makes you appreciate NBA stats that much more. Its definitely not easy to throw 20 assists like Steve Nash or grab 20+ boards like Dennis Rodman!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by jbkilla91 (EASLEY, SC) Oct 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I honestly didnt think this game would be good. i HATED 2k10. I played the demo for nba elite and thought it was better than the demo for 2k11 but i figured i would give 2k11 a try since nba elite doesnt come out til march. After 2 weeks of playing 2k11 i was amazed. it doesnt really get old. There is so much to do in this game. the controlls take some getting used to and the online play is great, i havent had it lag at all. the ppl that complain about this game probably either aren't true basketball fans or havent spent enough time with the game. One thing i really like is the defense controlls. I like that i can cut people off from driving to the hole and that makes it easier to win online. Im probably gonna get nba elite when it comes out just to see which i like better, but this game is a definate buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the greatest sports game ever

posted by ta4life29 (DEWEY, OK) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

how could any one in i mean anyone hate on this game. the game is beast why even make an nba 2k12 next year just update the roster. this game is so good u get scare they ll mess 2k12 up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EA sports Should start making bad mitten games..

posted by Vulcan911 (NEPTUNE, NJ) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The title sums up this game this franchise, and the future of NBA games. Since about 2008 its been considered Total Blasphemy to even consider Buying an NBA live Title. I mean WHy would you? 2k Is Mountains better then NBA Live in every aspect.

Adding MICHAEL JORDAN to the mix just put the Icing on the Cake.
Let me break it down.

Jordan Mode, By far the best Could be Downloadable ccontent ever incorporated in a sports games since the Big Bang.
it pits you smack in the middle of ten Very Difficult Scenarios (if done on hall of fame). I found myself constantly sayin "What???? this game is Cheating!!! (like a 10 year old). But after some understanding of the new mechanics of the game i found that it was just the challenge i wanted. Kudos to 2k For not making this DLC

Graphics, 2k Graphics have always been better than Live Graphics.
Player movement and momentum is alot more realistic.

The Franchise mode had made one of the best improvement s ever with some added Content by the name of PLayer finder and Trade finder. Overall this is the best sports game to ever grace a Console.
<BUY IT>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do NOT rent this game!!!!!

posted by KMeezy9 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

20 out of 29 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game should not be rented by anyone on this site!!! You must go to the store and purchase this game. It is not only the best sports game ever, it is the best game created in any genre, period. The Jordan mode would be a 10/10 game itself and knowing EA if they created it, they would charge separately and make it it's own game. Lucky for us 2K didn't do this and I will repeat once again, if you are reading this, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME! GO BUY IT RIGHT NOW! It will be the best 60 bucks you have ever spent. Hope this helps and good luck!

Cheers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K11 ROCKS! THIS GAME IS THE BEST!

posted by zicoshmico (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is unbelievable. i love this game. This game rocks! thank you so much for whoever made this game! you have finally created an NBA game that has Michael Jordan in it!!! i know that millions of basket ball fans appreciate this game so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Spot On

posted by Rody2k6 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I been a 2k Basketball fan ever since NBA 2k5 where Big Ben graced the cover, ever since the day I bought that game for $20.00, I was hooked.

Nba 2k11, takes the basketball experience to a whole new level, there is just something special when you can control MJ and drain sixty nine points on the Celtics or go in a dunk contest vs Lebron James, or play alongside Kobe on the Lakers.

This game has a long lasting appeal.

We got:
Association mode
Blacktop (dunk contest, 3pt shootout, 21, and street style gameplay)
My Player
Season
Playoffs
and most importantly Jordan Challenge, which to me is the highlight of the game and it gets better complete all 10 challenges and you can use MJ in your My Player mode and get drafted to any team (well that will want you)

This game has so much replay value, it will keep you hooked.

The controls are so smooth, the shooting especially, there is just something special when you can drive to the paint, stepback and hit that jumper with that silky smooth fadeway a-la Kobe Bryant style.

You should definately RENT this game and then KEEP IT!

Or buy it all together if you can't wait for the shipping times lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Holy God! Purchase now!

posted by jpsych (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the best addition to the NBA2K series yet. The addition of the Michael Jordan challenges and just Michael Jordan period is enough reason to buy this game. They have all of his signature moves from each stage in his career and the tongue is hanging out as you dunk over Charles Oakley or reverse it to the other side of the basket.

Easily a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must have

posted by mbling82 (WHITTIER, CA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is so good that I dont believe it from the starting of the game you jump into action as MJ himself in the 1991 nba finals it lets you play game 1 of the finals for the intro. Graphics are so crispy and the new controls only make it better this game is going to have a long range in fun factor because I can not see myself getting tired of this game until 2k12 comes out the servers are way better than last year so that alone is a majore plus but this is the sports game of the year hands down they stepped there game above last year and I didnt even think that was possible but theis is the game to get trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have!!!!!!!!!!

posted by LookAgain7 (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

From the moment you put this game in you feel like you are at an NBA game. Playing as Jordan against the Lakers in the 91 series is awesome! The first next-gen game to have Jordan in it!!!!

The controls are great, a little difficult at first but once you get them down pat, its very easy to make passes and crossovers and such. The AI is very upgraded form last year. They will clog passing lanes and double you up on D with a quickness. Not to mention that they are much improved on offense as well. Taking advantage of defensive match-ups a lot!

The Jordan challenges are great. This will keep you busy in itself. Much improvements to the Franchise and season modes. The one area lacking improvements and still needing work is the My Player mode. But with the Jordan challenges, creating a legend Jordan mode (once you beat all 10 Jordan challenges) and the Franchise mode, you'll be plenty busy.

If you are a HC NBA gaming fan you need to get this game!!!!!! You will not be disappointed!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Basketball Simulation!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One thing people like to overrate is the Jordan modes. Personally I don't care about Jordan, or any of that Legend garbage. I like this game for what it is, Basketball. I haven't run into any glitches as of yet, and it really does run smooth. The competition had to delay the game due to poor quality, but this game is superb.

Let me just get one thing straight. This actually drives me crazy. The game still doesn't look good, it is very bumpy. They really need to up the detail work, but it seems to be a bit better than NBA 2K10, which was almost like playing PS2 games (no offense). But still, with games like Uncharted and Metal Gear, there should be no reason to leave a project like this. Needs to be cleaned up even more. Cannot wait till the year they make the game actually "pretty". But don't get me wrong, it is NOT bad, just not as sharp as I want a concentrated game to be. With 10 guys only on court, in my expectations, this should look amazing, but doesn't.

I play these games just for Basketball. I love the Franchise mode along with creating my own superstar and going through a journey. The modes are almost the same. I wish they put more work into these, as it's what I play all the time. I spend hundreds of hours in these two modes, and this game will not be any different. This game is the BAR for Basketball games on consoles, or anywhere else. And this year around, the Trophies aren't glitched. You can actually earn the Platinum. As far as the look, it's a lot more simple and organized compared to the last few years.

Oh yea, last thing. Online is still awful and unbearable. I don't mind it cause I never liked to play it to begin with, but warning to you fans. Don't get this for its multiplayer modes, you will be HUGELY disappointed. While there are many flaws, this has what I want, and for me this game is perfect (outside the mediocre graphics).

OVERALL = 9.1 (out of 10)

Pros: Controls and game-play are simplistic!
Cons: Graphics and online is strenuous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great but Flawed

posted by 00Domwin (PIEDMONT, SC) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game does a lot of things well, but it does some critical things wrong.

The gameplay is generally fun, especially online. I did find a few flaws in My Player with my AI teammates being both unable to score and playing like complete idiots half the time. I played 20 games so far in My Player on the easiest difficulty as a point guard and I cannot get my teammates to score regardless of what i try to do.

My other primary gripe is with the new My Crew mode. I find it gamebreaking that teams can use NBA players of the NBA team of their choosing. You will see nothing but Kobe Bryant, LeBron, and Duncan in every game. My friends and I all wanted to use our freshly created my pro characters and our first matchup is against the Boston Celtics.

Another problem we ran into was the matchmaking. It often takes at least 3 minutes, upwards of 15, to get into a game with everybody in the session. Sometimes a few of us will get in while others don't, other times we just wont be able to find a match up.

There also is a stat boosting exploit of some kind, and we often were facing teams utilizing it. They would show all NBA players at the matchup screen, take in immediate timeout or intentional foul, then sub in all 7'5" players that move like lighting, pass the ball at sonic speeds, rarely miss shots, and can dribble around any defender. I don't fault 2k for exploits like that, but it really kills the experience when 5 guys who are 7'5" can all easily out run our 5'10" PG when the game is supposed to have mechanics in place to prevent that.

When this game works, it's very fun and enjoyable. Sadly bugs, exploits, and some shoddy AI succeed in completely killing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BUY THIS GAME

posted by Shane30 (OLNEY, MD) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Buy this game no doubt i give it a ten out of 10 because they a everything with jordan they remade the halftime show and one of the greatest things is my player they put in press conferences trade talks and contract talks as to last year you couldnt pick your contract.One of the biggest things no glithces like Nba elite 11 has the gameplay is great GO BUY THIS GAME best sixty dollars i ever spent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the bests

posted by mrwest01 (COVINGTON, WA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its crazy how nba 2k11 is so nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

holy smokes

posted by austis6 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 22 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

now ive played alot of nba games in my time i remember when i loved the nba live series listening to remember the name while i destroyed the lakers (or at least i tried to) anyway this game is just so good its unheard of it has all you can ask for in franchise mode and even though this is good and bad no longer can you offer a first round draft pick and get dwayne wade ai just dont go for it. the only thing i can complain about is the star mode which takes forever to build but if you hang in their youll really enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best sports game created.

posted by bash91 (MOUNT AIRY, MD) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing Madden for years and years I became growingly disgusted by it and its blatant lack of effort by EA. The gameplay is always lacking and while EA makes promises of things every year, the game never seems to have all that is promised. Basic plays and game elements are obvious are left out. It was extremely frustrating that Madden couldn’t get even the simplest things down, nor make a challenging game. Even the soundtrack was brought down by laziness, as the EA crew decided to go with old songs that they knew people had heard instead of going out and finding new music.

I thought that this was the best that sports games had to offer. Then I bought NBA2k10.

The game was challenging yet fun.

When NBA2k 11 came out I knew I had to get it. The gameplay from 10 to 11 was vastly different, making driving the lane so much more difficult, and forcing you to play more like the actual NBA does.

The game is challenging, fun, and going through in franchise mode is the most fun I have ever had in a sports game. This game is great because of its gameplay elements, and those elements will addict you to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game is not what you may think

posted by stevejkl (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first, some of the shots i put up didn't go. Even though i was open. It has good graphics but its really hard. second, the players are hard to control. To sum it up its a fun and exciting game,but it has its flaws.

IT MAY NOT BE WHAT YOU THINK IT IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 2K11 REVIEW

posted by Vjplatinum (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Every single aspect of NBA 2k11 says, we own basketball for the gaming consoles. I can even see a lot of fans making that switch over to NBA 2K11 and this is why.

Michael Jordan being a part of the game was one thing, but from the 1st load, to pressing start will bring a tear to any Jordan fan. You immediately jump into the 1992 finals against Magic Johnson and the Lakers. How will you play out history?

You can of course play as Jordan, including in customizing him to teams, once completing all challenges. 10 challenges: The Arrival, Shootout, Bad Boys, 1991 NBA Finals, The Shrug, Double Nickel, Father’s Day Victory, The Flu Game, and Michael’s Last Dance must e finished to start his path to victory with any NBA team.

That’s just a tease of the Jordan story. As said before in my article on first impressions, controls are everything! Matchups play well, and big Shaq will not run around court like a 99 player. Each player’s body movement is authentic in terms to how fast they can run, drive down court, etc. Highly recommended, practice shooting with different players and teams, as everyone has their own jumpshot. In the passing game, make sure you play smart! When throwing the ball down court, you can almost as easily throw a turnover. To realistic gamers, this isn’t a bad at all. In real life, you can’t throw the ball off perfectly down court and maintain a good passing percentage. In NBA 2K11, the AI has caught on to the schemes, and 75% of the time beats you to the punch.

That’s not all the AI is good for in 2K11, their difficulty is well-rounded no matter how you play. When playing on defense, don’t expect easy steals, even with low difficulty settings. The AI will be looking for the opening, taking their time with possession, and going for the best open shots. Offense is just the same; doesn’t matter if your playing as Jordan himself, the AI will be putting the pressure on and trying to keep you out the paint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun b ball action.

posted by rickniner (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this was a fun game i liked the my player mode most. the jordan challenges seemed very hard to accomplish. so i gave up on them

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Online play sucks.. Not as good as Live.

posted by jskillz82 (CORTEZ, CO) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Getting into a VS or team game is horrible. Hard to find a good game and the connection always sucks. Only got the game to get through till Live comes out with a new game. But now there waiting another year what the F.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A interesting game.

posted by Kade88 (COVERT, MI) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K11 from a graphics, and a game play stand point is beyond a shadow of a doubt a great game. Also the Michael Jordan challenges are fun and not as challenging as some people make them to be.

My only problem with the game is the My Player mode with a created player. I am someone who enjoys this on the NCAA Football and Madden series. So unless you have amazing skills and a good judge of how to play this game. This mode will lose your interest quick with how much time and effort required to make your player with anything.

Overall, to be honest I'm probably being harsher on the game with my score then I should. I've seen a lot of 8 and higher scores which may be closer to accurate.

One of the things I've noticed is various reviewers saying this game isn't for the casual fan. It is for those hardcore basketball/basketball video game fans. I 100% agree with them. If you just are the casual bball gamer you will be ready to toss this game out of the window. If you are a hardcore bball gamer, this is the one for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not for the casual basketball player

posted by GoDawgz (RISING FAWN, GA) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 28 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I really want to like this game. I really do. That being said, I HATE IT! I have no idea why everyone is giving it such good reviews. It's not for someone who just wants to have some fun playing basketball. The pacing is slow and the controls are frustrating. Before you even get to play the real game, you have to play a game of the Bulls/Lakers championship series. If I wasn't Jordan, I wasn't scoring and even then I wasn't doing much. Through 4 quarters I was able to take it to the hoop exactly ONE time. AS JORDAN! Give me a break. Anytime you get close to the basket (and by close I mean inside the 3pt line) and a defender stops you, you stop dribbling and must pass.
Don't even think about trying My Player if you want a fun experience, because you will suck. Sure there are drills you can do to get better, but good luck with that. Even getting a bronze in these takes nothing short of a miracle. Then after giving up on improvement you are thrust into a game at the combine in hopes of raising your draft stock. TOO BAD YOU SUCK! Because you are facing NBA rookies. They don't suck. You also have a "teammate rating" that you try to improve from a C-. I say try because it goes down. A lot. Ask for the ball and even if you are wide open, if your teammate can't see you, you get dinged for requesting a bad pass. Miss your shot, you get dinged. If you are away from the ball (patiently waiting for it to be thrown to you because you dare not ask for it) and the other team steals it for a fast break, if the man you are supposed to be guarding scores, you get dinged.
Maybe I just don't know how to play this game. Perhaps I'm one of those in the minority who think sports games are becoming too complicated (I also thought Madden sucked last year [and the year before]) but I like my games to be fun. If you do too, then stay away. If not...
Good luck. I hate this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Online Play

posted by PapaDragon (FRESNO, CA) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I rented this game (with interest in buying) mainly for the online multiplayer. It turned out to be horrible. I have a very good connection and play many games on xbox live and have never had issues regarding connection. Every single online game I played had a horrible lag. I had to release my shot far before the appropriate time to have any chance at making a shot. And the lag, especially with a shot, was different with every game. 3 pointers and even free throws were near impossible. Instead of proper basketball strategy, online players leave their opponents great 3 point shooters beyond the arch wide open, tempting them to take a shot, which they should, and miss horribly. Intentional fouling by hitting the back button when caught in a mismatch is also very common. This is not basketball at all. However, this does not apply to offline gaming in which the timing is perfect and the game feels and plays real. I am extremely disappointed with this game and I am sending it back for NBA Live 10 and waiting for Elite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse