Rent NBA 2K10 for Wii
view large frontback

NBA 2K10

Not Rentable

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.9

237 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

nba 2k10, pretty good

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Dec 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

nba 2k10 ultimetely is the best basketball game on the wii. much better than live 09 for the wii. nba 2k10 has nba today, so the announcers in the game will talk about whats actually happening in the nba. also, my player mode, where you create a player, is pretty interesting. however, the graphics aren't very good, but they dont take away from game experience. gameplay is as good as for the other consoles such as the ps3. the only bad thing is that its hard to play a fluid game with the wii remote. sometimes randomly, your player will try to block a nonexistent shot, or will just heave a shot randomly from half court. these take away from the experience, making it hard for younger kids to learn. if you were planning to rent this for a little kid or for a family game night, dont, rent live 09 all play. the controls are too complicated and too deep to enjoy a nice game. however, this game is the best bball game on the wii, and if you are hardcore gamer that knows all of the rules of basketball and wants an indepth basketball game, pick this one up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bounces off the rim - it's no good

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 21, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For those of you who are looking for a simplistic basketball simulation, you're going to have to look somewhere else to find it. NBA 2K10 is no lightweight- the controls can easily confuse many players.
You don't just shoot the basketball - you have to determine if you do a fade away, a hook shot, a jump shot and with which hand. Each shot is a motion on the Wiimote, and it's easy to get them confused.
There are even three different controls for dunks - from the simple to the show them up dunk.
But wait, there's more. If you want to fake out a defender, then it's a combination of Wiimote motion and a push of the B or Z buttons (or both). You also have to figure out which way the "ball hand direction" and the "opposite ball hand" is to pull some moves off.
What makes this worse is basketball is a team game, and you're at the mercy of the AI. Looking for the inside pass or the alleyoop? You'll have to wait for the AI controlled player to move to the basket (and recognize when that happens.) Defense? There's none when the other team pulls off a perfect pass and shot. Many a games I've played that I end up losing by a dozen or more points because of this defect. I can't play all five guys at the same time.
Beginners really have to rely on another human player or players to help them get into the flow of the game.
It's too bad the controls are confusing; this game has a great line up of features - from the single game to the season mode to playing online. There's something for almost all basketball fans to sink their teeth into.
And those looking for a more authentic basketball simulation may find it here.
It's just that I had no fun with the convoluted controls and the merciless AI in NBA 2K10. SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awseome

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Nov 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

best nba in the history the graphics are great, the gameplay is great i dont know how u could make this awseome game better. my opinion is that if u like this game buy it u wont regret it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Older is better

posted by kamrynsmom (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Graphics were disparaging. Kobe looked like a cross between Snoop Dogg and a street thug. Controlling the players were difficult. My kid just got frustrated and quit playing. He liked the older version better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best

posted by tammy912 (NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

best game game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All I can say is that there are many pros and cons

posted by obamalover (SAN PEDRO, CA) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

This game is fun but it's to hard to control. When I try to run to the other side of the court, it won't let me. Instead " I " try to shoot the ball From the other side of the court!

...not cool but cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA 2K10

posted by GAMER30007 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

How can I write a review?! The people who had that disc before me scratched it all up! What kind of immature person scratches a game that doesn't belong to them! So GameFly I did not bring any harm to this game. When I put it in it was working up until it started to synchronize then it started to make this horrible beeping noise. Any who thanks for your patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Best Wii basket ball game BUT...

posted by simimike (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

the controls are very complicated, not only the playing controls but the menus are complicated. Personally i would prefer a game with much simpler controls and less complicated options. This game is great for the die hard basketball fans but for a regular player it's much too complicated and has too many features.
The wii controller is a bad idea, if you have the classic controller, use it! The graphics look bad to me, i would rather have cartoon looking character than a blurry semi rendered image of kobe. Simply put this game feels like it was made for Xbox/PS3 and was just modified to work on Wii, which it was.
Stay away unless your a die hard basketball fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by ptown1 (PERRYTON, TX) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I was excited when i first oppened the game but shortly after playing i was greatly disapointed. The graffics were horrible at the begginning of a game a player dunked it with his head still stuck on the goal while his body floated down. You cant tell the players apart, difficult controls, and limited gameplay. Horrible game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

UGH

posted by AHEINZ26 (BUENA PARK, CA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

graphics are non existent. the my player mode is great. but its hard to controle wit the nunchuck. id recomend a classic controller. ratings of players are horrible. start up menu is kinda hard to understand. i hated the contoles. it does go indep wit the player moves. i only enjoy this game because this is the only basketball game on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2k10

posted by halleluyah (GUYTON, GA) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I enjoy the game. Still trying to find out how to play competitively online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »