Rent NBA 2K10 for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 2K10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

1595 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New to 2k

posted by texas24 (MONTROSE, CO) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am new to 2k over just the last couple of years use to love nba live but with the new installment and how dissapointing nba live was will be playing 2k. First of all the gameplay is much better in 2k players move like there suppose to, player free throw routines and real life animations are awesome player dna is free not 14.99 if u rent nba live, game seems to just flow like a real game as if u were wathing it on tv. Player models look real not plastic like in live court looks authentic. The only reason i gave this game an 9 is because the grading system in the new my player mode is sketchy u call for the ball once and get downgraded for calling for the ball to much, if u hold on to the ball to long get called for hoging the ball, overall i love this new mode even has my last name Turk which u dont find in games much but the grading system needs improvment. The only other thing i didnot like at first was the shot stick but after getting use to it i love it i will not go back to live switching to 2k.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NBA22K10

posted by CANEPRIDE5 (MIAMI, FL) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SOLID GAME AWESOME GRAPHICS AND FINALLY YOU CAN PLAY EFFECTIVE DEFENSE I JUST GOT TIRED OF NBS LIVE AND MISSING BLOCKS AND NOT ROTATING WHY DO THESE GAMES GET UNDER GRADED THIS GAME IS A 8.5 AND I AM A HEAT FAN MY TEAMS NOT GONNA BE GOOD TILL NEXT YEAR AND I STILL ENJOYED IT BECAUSE OF THE D I STAYED IN EVERY GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2k10

posted by tweeze16 (QUEENS VILLAGE, NY) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i was always loving nba live den i decided to try 2k9 and now im playing 2k10 and its simply the best basketball game ever and im da best that u will ever c im simply da greatest 2k player ever i should go into the hall of fame SN Tweeze16 come try ur luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Hands Down!!

posted by AirJoe (FORT WORTH, TX) May 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. When it first came out in 2009, it had its flaws. But hats off tho the 2K people for actually listening to their loyal customers & taking action. The My Player mode is the most awesome basketball feature of all time. It is down right addictive. You become immersed in making your player the best thing the NBA has ever seen. And right now, LeBron asks my guy for his autograph. (JK) But seriously, the franchise mode is great & the online play is phenominal. There is a My Crew mode that is ridiculous. NBA live should be NBA Dead compared to the 2K series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NBA 2k sucks

posted by Ivorywade (SAINT PAUL, MN) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought i was getting NBA Live, not 2k so that was my mistake, 2k is more of a online type game, and the game have a very bad delay with the running and stoping part so u wont stop on time. There's no point of getting 2k cause it suck in all ways, No One Play Online By the way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by kobebryant (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i got to say this game is the best there is kobe everyone i would give it a 200\10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Geat, but could use some improvment

posted by chewbaca21 (Denver, CO) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love every basketball game, but NBA 2K10 is the best one yet. The graphics are the best and it feels like a real game. Living Rosters keep you up to date with the latest romurs and game scores and stats. NBA Today is a site in the game and gives you a list of games that are coming on that day. It gives the choice to play those games or look at previous game stats. The new Mode called My player is an intresting game mode, and the least of my favorites. It is fun but after a while, like in your 3rd game, it gets really boring. I recomend The Acossiation Mode or The Play-Offs mode than that one. The one thing that I love about this game is that, every player is unique, no player is the same. Different jump shots, cross-overs and even different styles. D-Wade has a tendessee to take it to the paint and score rather than take 3pt shots or pass first like Steve Nash. this game can't get any better but there is still room to Improve. Hopefully, They'll try to fix there very small mistakes next year in NBA 2k11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best 2K Yet

posted by omarjbrown (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

20 out of 27 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game is the greatest I mean like the game play is real, the graphics are astonishing, the moves are crisp and clean, the reaction to big plays are heart-racingly spectacular. The game makes you rave over and over again if you get tired playing this game you simply aren't into sports games as much as you think you are. Everything from last year that was good is great...2K stepped up this year haven't played Live yet but 2K is definitely a keeper whether Live is good or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Holycow

posted by raddy5 (AMARILLO, TX) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im sooooooooooooooo hooked on this game and i just got it yesterday!
funnest game ever! it really rocks. 1,000,000 times better than nbalive10. omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

posted by KRSOne (BUENA PARK, CA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is my initial reaction to the game after about 5 days and 50 games.

The Good:
Best graphics ever for a basketball game. You can see the players sweating and they look like themselves more than ever.
Most realistic basketball gameplay i've yet to play.
Improved post move control.
My player mode adds another way to learn how to play and adds another dimension to the game.

The Bad:
PS3 online has been unbelievably unstable.
No more online lobbies.
You can't pick who your going to play against online.
Alley-oops are too easy to execute and are a problem.
New iso-motion control which made chaining moves together less prevalent

The UGLY:
Lead passing is impossible to stop.
There is a slight delay for online games so makes timing the release of free-throws and jump shots unreasonably difficult.
There is no way to customize and save online settings so you must reset it for every match.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DOPE

posted by Laronis13 (ANTIOCH, CA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE DOPEST GAME EVER I DONT EVAN PLAY B-BALL WELL I DO BUT IT AINT MY BEST SPORT I PLAY FOOTBALL IM DOPE AT THAT BUT YEAH I SWEAR THE WAy U CAN CREAT A PLAYER AND BRING HIM FROM TRYOUTS TO THE NBA DRAFT IS DOPE I LOVE THE WAY THAT EVERY THING IS MORE REALISTIC AND KOBE IS ON THE FRONT COVER WHEN I WAS PLAYING IT GOT BORING BUT WHEN YOU GET THE HANG OF IT ITS UNBELIEVABLE LIKE WOWWWWW IDK IF THERES ANY WAY TO TELL YOU THIS BUT IF YOUR INTO SPORTS YOU NEED TO GET NBA 2K10 BECOUSE LARONIS13 SAID SO LOL PLUSE YOU CANT FORGET THAT IT HAS KOBE BRYANT ON THE COVER. IM OUT PEACE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the review of nba 2k 10 the game is great

posted by cincysharp (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 29 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I really like how they had updated the graphics as they use to be good like now the fans look real while playing the game not oonly when the pre game is happening. The controls are so smooth now like dribbling and crossovers are great when they was so hard to really use, when you uase to always charge somebody defending you. The AI is better than before they are now tough to play aganist so the game can be more changelling as well as fun at the same time. IT has also a great new feature when you can make an star in the nba now as a rookie that i love way better than that 24/7 they had awhile ago this feature is actually really fun to be able to do that. I have been somebody who has been waiting for somebody to do this cause i want that feature foreal not just create a player and act like that doe to make him a star but now he actualy will be one. This game is the best i played so far that i have gotten out of all the nba games i have played but this game is for everybody that loves basketball it really is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could have been great but feel very short

posted by BigDuke (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The graphics are great.

The gameplay is good considering how tough basketball games are to make fun for playing both the CPU and a human opponent.

But the My Player mode doesn't function correctly and freezes after the first season, online doesn't work properly and there are way to many glitches during the game.

At first I thought this is a very, very good game but as I played more I was very disappointed. I think I gave it such a low rating because this game had so much potential. It is a shame!

Whether it was rushed or not, it feel very short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Let's be honest

posted by McLovinit (Charlotte, NC) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know there is a 2K live war and I have been a fan of 2k for the last 3 years but i will not sit here and act like this game is great just to be loyal to the series. 2K10 has tons of glitches and issues.
issues: The game literally has no defense.
shot percentages are unrealistically high (i lost a game shoot 75% on superstar because the CPU shot 86%, the real NBA is more like 44-57% for the winning team) i am yet to play a game where the losing team shot less than 59%.
Open shots miss waay!! too much.
Cutting big men make every basket.
thousands of alley oops thrown and completed.
did i mention defense is non-existent.
AI Offense moves GREAT without the ball, AI defense never follows, never.
Glitches:
backcourt, overdribbling, bad passes on fast breaks (shouldn't have to direct pass on a fast break). Out of bounds, stupid refs.
good things:
animations
turbo system
blocking shots (when the slider is up)
my player (gets repetitive)
commentary
At the end of the day it's hard to justify playing a basketball game without good playcall excution and defense. Theres offense and theres defense that's what makes it a sport. 2k10 is not a sport it's a game. A good game but a horrible sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOD GAME

posted by whoopde (GILROY, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

2k did the same thing with servers last year when '09 debuted. CANNOT ACCESS ONLINE FUNCTIONS. I think they want everyone to try the other stuff before they open up online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

custom soundtrack

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave it a 10 on xbox 360 cause of custom soundtrack & that made the game better for me hope it return in 2k11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best one yet!!!!

posted by rico8302 (DETROIT, MI) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

the game has it all if you are a b-ball fan you will love it. the dunks crossovers, the gameplay was even better than last year and i didnt even think that could even happen. so if u aint got it get from gamefly fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitch City

posted by MikeyJ7 (LINCOLN PARK, MI) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I never really followed the 2K series, but if this game is any indication of how the series has been, then I haven't missed much.
The game is very glitchy. Screens of stats pop up and forgot to go away, which is very furstrating when your trying to play the game around a stat box thats stuck in the middle of the screen. COmputer never misses a shot. Picking the lakers and still losing to the oklahoma thunder can make a man sick. Great graphics is all this game has going for it. Menus are frustrationg and difficult to use, Online is pointless since you cant choose your match, and the game is just generally not good and feels like it was rushed out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game but MY Player mode needs improvement

posted by CoryFear (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

NBA2K10 is a good game, don't let anybody say else. My player mode is unbelieveable, there's just somethings that need to be changed. First after you do the Summer league trying to ger a invite to training camp the game say you've been cut and you have to choose another team to play with after that you'll be playing with the team you got drafted with or you picked the first time and you'll also be playing with the team you chose the second time. this messes upi you stats cause you coul dbe having a good year with one and having a poor season with the other. 2K needs to fix this problem. Another thing the lead passing are unstoppable no matter how many time you press the steal button. the alley oops are to much, i never seen that much alleys in one game, this reminds me of NBA Shootout. all and all this game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than I expected!

posted by BALLisLIFE (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I'm a NBA Live fan 100%,, well that was until I played this years NBA 2K. This is the biggest improvement I have ever seen in a game before. I really have no words for this except for buy it.. You will want to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Many Bugs

posted by RogerH (EMERYVILLE, CA) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First, the game is fun to play. Motion control is better than EA's version and pressing the pass button the majority of the time it passes it to the person you want. EA's Basketball the pass was mostly unpredictable.

As long as you play the quick games and do not venture into the games deeper modes, like My Player which allows you to develop a singe player and have a whole career, the game is fun. This is the only reason for a 4 rating, otherwise I would give it a 1 as explained below.

If you want to play the game deeper than the quick games, you are taking a risk as the game data can corrupt. After checking the forums, I found that this is a quite common problem and you simply have to start over, despite, like I did, putting in two weeks into developing a character. You simply can't play any more. For me this is inexcusable. No game should corrupt your saved games.

In Addition, NBA2k suffers from a lot of bugs. Strange substitutions - sometimes you are only in the game for 3 seconds before being subbed out. You do well you are sent to the D-League, lots and lots of poorly formed AI. Sometimes you are even in games in which your character isn't even in the roster. Still, most of these bugs are manageable.

Play this game for quick fun, but do not invest any time into it. In fact, if you want 2k Sports a message that their Quality Control process NEEDS FIXING, then do not even get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by Mike345465 (EPHRATA, PA) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It seems like it's always a toss up between NBA 2k and NBA Live. Neither franchise seems adamant about perfecting their games, rather, they just do what they need to do to get buy. I played both the demos and thought live had both the better graphics and game play, but the reviews and, in particular, the my player mode pulled me to 2k10.

The gameplay is enjoyable.. at first but the more I played the easier and worse it got. It's just too easy to get past the defender and take it inside. The teammate AI, especially on defense, is horrible. The default dribbling controls suck (you have to hold down L2 while using the right stick), and when you get a defender to bid on a pump fake it's like an invisible wall is holding you back from getting past him. On defense, it always takes too long to recover from a failed block or steal attempt, but the cpu usually doesn't take advantage. There's also no easy way to prevent off-ball cpu players from getting under the basket.

But all these things could be overlooked and this considered a decent basketball game if it wasn't for all the glitches. A lot of them are so minor and obvious that it seems impossible to miss them if they actually tested the game before release. Cross-over dribbles often skip the motion and just have the player "transfer" back and forth. There are a couple of plays where the cpu is almost guaranteed to get offensive 3 in the key. Despite all of the patches there is still a "clone glitch" in the my player mode that causes you to be stuck in the d-league indefinitely, no matter how well you play. Not to mention you don't have access to the rules or difficulty settings after you start a "my player." And the in game coaching settings do not save.

In my 10+ years of playing video games I've never written one review. But this game, and the blatant lack of effort in testing and fixing it, is just too frustrating. Don't waste your time or money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game....some flaws....still better than Live

posted by MisterC78 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

NBA 2K10 is a pretty good game. However, if the creators of the game would just fix some minor flaws, then the sky is the limit for this basketball franchise.

First, there are A LOT of morphing. When I pass the ball to my teammates, sometimes the ball would go right through the defenders face.

Second, the defensive reaction is pretty poor. I could drive by my defender to the basket uncontested and slam it in with a big jam.

With the minor flaws of this game, NBA 2K10 still outperforms NBA Live 2010 by a long shot. If the team who made NBA 2K10 would just fix these issues, then they would dominate the basketball genre for video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect! Balanced!

posted by beweekly (VALLEJO, CA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Perfect! nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Basketball Game I ever Played

posted by SoLuvly (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So far this one sets the bar...This game is so very realistic...Unbelievable coverage of the game from photos to play by play commentary...If you like basketball, you can't go wrong with this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse