Rent NBA 09 The Inside for PS3
view large frontback

NBA 09 The Inside

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.2

971 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Give this a chance..

posted by COLTSbaby1 (PALM COAST, FL) Dec 9, 2008

Member since May 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Some of the other reviews really bashed this game. Believe me it is not as bad as they make this out to be. The graphics are good, the create a player feature is fun to me, you earn points each game you play to buy attributes and equipment which make your player the next Michael Jordan. As for the themes and music bias being Ebonic, get over it brother, this IS part of reality and basketball today. Unless your from the backwoods closet, I just do not get that comment. Give the game a chance. If you play it for awhile you will like it. I will say the main downfall is the lack of defense as others have stated. Other than that this is a good game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

nba 09 the inside

posted by amcwashguy (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

well i have been a member of gamefly and had this game on my list to get it from here but could not wait for it in mail so went out and bought the game amazing game love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

NBA 09 The Inside

posted by SignOfZod (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game play of the A.I. are very unreal. Music jukebox is a good thing for only at times the songs sound distorted. The number one problem is the trophies system. I play and earn trophies that I can only see under the part under data save. The trophies are NOT adding to my game card nor level at all, plus you can't compare the trophies at all(see for yourself) PSN ID: SignOfZodiac

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not that bad

posted by BLE619 (STUART, VA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is ok, it is not worth a buy, you have to be out of your mind to buy this game. It does include trophies, 21 I do believe. The trophies are somewhat difficult because you have to complete them on the hardest difficulty. The Life Mode is really cool, that's about it though. I would say this game is Fair, not too good, not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Probably the worst basketball game I've played

posted by Rokstr81 (FARIBAULT, MN) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics = Excellent. But that's probably the only saving grace of this game. AI is below average. It's almost impossible at times to play any sort of defense. Blatant traveling is not called and there are a lot of ghost fouls (well OK, that may be SCEA's effort to be more realistic to the current real-life NBA game). Plus there can be about a full 5 sec delay in a foul being called, very frustrating. Mini-games are fun however, and there are some challenging trophies to get. Online needs work because you cannot get the in-game and therefore XMB trophies for online wins if someone quits on you. There are also some lag issues. Don't get it for The Life either as it's not as fun as it is tiresome and repetitive (and a bit racist IMO, but that's another story). There are much better NBA sims out there, don't waste your time with this one unless you really LOVE trophies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHY is there only "THUG" Story modes.....

posted by MrKENNEDY (GOSHEN, IN) Oct 27, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible. How do games like this even keep getting made? Create a player is horrible, and to boot, if you do one of the 3 "Life" story modes, your forced to having a story with endless ebonics and thug like talking....horrible, horrible game.....and Sony, FYI....there are white kids who play nba games that dont talk like they are from SOUTH CENTRAL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Sim and Worst BBall game Ever!! Ever!!

posted by McLovinit (Charlotte, NC) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

THis game is trash, no defense, mostly weak cut scenes, bad gameplay, poor sound (I thought this was Blu ray) Sony did not take advantage of their own Blu ray capabilities this is easily a ps2 game, actually 07 for ps2 was better, both gameplay and graphically

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NBA 09 the life

posted by suicidepuppy (LORTON, VA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

great game. the storyline is sick. its a really fun and interesting game i really think this game is one of the best basketball games around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

NBA 09 the inside

posted by thegrizz (CANTON, OH) Aug 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

It is a fairly good game but needs a lot of work. The passing.draft.trading and moving of the player needs work. Other then that it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

do not get this

posted by pope34 (SELMA, AL) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

do not,get,this nba game sucks don't wasn't your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SMH

posted by ElPsyko (YONKERS, NY) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

SADDEST EXCUSE FOR A BASKETBALL GAME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just so boring!

posted by jreid2488 (SALEM, OR) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The Story part of this game was very interesting and parts were fun. I liked the whole idea but it was way too short and repetitive. The rest of the game was terrible. I am so glad that I did this through game fly because it would not been worth the eight dollars at blockbuster or hollywood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not that good

posted by cutter4 (FLORENCE, KY) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

too simplistic! the gameplay is decent, and you can light it up from downtown; but when michael redd is 20 for 20 from 15 or more, there is a definite issue. As far as the folks interested in franchise mode, like me, its lacking terribly bad! The life mode is alright, but as a basic breakdown I recieved the game on a tues. and put it back in the mail a day later (wed.). RENT AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont Do It

posted by sizzle11 (PITTSBURG, KS) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is quite possibly the most frustrating basketball title ever. Defense is non-exsitent and the AI never screws up or misses a freethrow. graphics are horrible as is the commentary. everyone can throw down a windmill dunk, including jason kidd and mike bibby. trash

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Inside

posted by steve2 (COVINGTON, KY) May 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

this game loaded to long. called goshed fouls and skipped alot during different game modes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad

posted by khaled (AUSTIN, TX) May 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I don't know why everyone else is giving this game a hard time. I actually think its pretty good. The game is too easy on rookie and too hard on other settings for me, but its not bad. You should at least try it. I enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All style, no substance

posted by evovled (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I wont lie, I did get this game for the trophy support..I was surprised that there were so many golds for this game, but i see why being that it needs that many to sell this game...too many sterotypes in this for me to count..in any case, I am sending this back the next day after it arrived, the best part of the game is the mini games and skills competition..the online experience was descent..gameplay is good though and the crowd is right on top of you..more looks of a college court than pro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Not That Bad

posted by BigxAnt101 (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

The game is not as bad as the others amke it out to be. REALLY! Just because they didn't like it doesn't mean you won't like it. I personally like the shooting system it helps me shoot better in other games like live 09. The shooting is also like a mini game. That one guy who was complaining about the story mode should just not play story mode and get over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by 64goe5 (NARRAGANSETT, RI) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Very good graphics. Fun game to play, entertaining and awesome dunks the rim goes down really far when u dunk with a big man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game play

posted by devin0401 (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I loved the overall game play and the graphics but I would have to say that as far as toughness for a game goes I think that the creators of this game could have made a little more challenging considering how hard it is to really get into the N.B.A.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

hip-hop story

posted by jasonkerry (ACUSHNET, MA) Feb 4, 2009

Member since May 2006

This game is great one of the most realistic basketball games out. Unlike the other basketball games you have to work to get better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, just not for me

posted by jayrocko21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I am a huge fan of basketball and this game is great. I just couldn't get all the way into it. Overall i felt this was a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

almost...not quite though

posted by cjmauney (CHAPEL HILL, NC) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I had problems from the beginning with this one. I have a panasonic viera TV that came with a panasonic surround system. I couldn't get the sound to play on the game and no matter what I tried it wouldn't work. With that said, the game may have a little more value if you can understand what the characters are saying. Even without the sound though it didn't take me long to realize there was something missing from the gameplay. The controls are a little awkward which sometimes makes it hard to getting the passing and shooting down correctly. The defensive side of the ball will make you want to put a Dualshock through the wall; good luck not fouling someone down low every time down the court. Locking on to an offensive player is virtually impossible as well. With that said, the arcade feel to the game is a nice change from all the sim games like NBA Live and the 2K series. I didn't make it to playing through the "Life" mode, mostly because I got tired of not hearing any sound. So maybe it's more entertaining that the franchise mode. Earning points gives the game a little replay value but the items you unlock from the points you earn are less than exciting. You can get some new floors to play on and some clothes for your character but that's about it. If you want a faint reminder of how awesome the arcade feel of NBA Jam was its worth your time but anyone who needs even a little depth to their basketball experience should steer clear and just stick with the 2K series or EA's NBA Live series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NBA 09 The Inside Terrible

posted by ShockerDre (VISTA, CA) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I am a big fan of the NBA and love NBA2k9, I have never played NBA 0X before but playing MLB 08 Road to the Show I was expecting more for this game.
The "Life" part of the game was extremly weak. I created a white 7'0 center and the cut scenes at home with my black father seemed a little odd. Also, you cannot even choose a Left Handed player in create a player.
The "Golf" game you play in the backyard is extremly tedious and VERY boring.
Then you get thrust in to the Semi Finals of the NBDL with 15 seconds left, what?!?!
You go from that to the finals, then to Game 7 of the NBA Finals, that is a big leap. 3 hours before tipoff you play a game of 1 on 1 with Kenny "The Jet" Smith, are you serious? 3 hours before the tip off of game 7 of the NBA final you are playing one on one?..hmm..lame.
Regarding game play, there is no Defense, none at all. I played as the Jazz and hit 30 straight 3 pointers. I could not guard anyone and they could not guard me. I scored 170+ points over 4-5minute quarters. This game makes NBA Live 09 look like gold.
Stay far away from this pile of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad game

posted by lora44 (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

the lafe mode compared to the others sucks this game is only good if you are playing exibition or franchise any other part sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse